Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by MATTA et al. (US 20190367012 A1).
Re claim 1. MATTA discloses (abstract) a vehicle (FIG.1) comprising:
at least one sensor configured to obtain image data indicating a surrounding environment of the vehicle;
[0026] The vehicle is provided with environmental condition measuring devices for measuring conditions of the environment around the vehicle, including a front camera 10f, a front radar 11f, a rear camera 10r, a rear radar 11r, a left front camera 12L, a right front camera 12R, a left rear camera 13L and a right rear camera 13R. Those environmental condition measuring devices send information about lane marks, obstacles, and asymmetrical markers around the vehicle to the AD ECU 1.
a controller configured to control at least one operation of the vehicle;
[0028] The vehicle is provided with an engine 21, an electronically controlled brake system 22, an electronically controlled differential mechanism 23, and an electronically controlled steering system 24. The AD ECU 1 gives drive signals to actuators included in those systems 22, 23 and 24 on the basis of values of manipulated variables given by the driver and/or environmental conditions such as the detection of asymmetrical markers or engagement of various autonomous modes for the vehicle system as described herein. When the vehicle needs to be accelerated, the controller 1 gives an acceleration signal to the engine 21. When the vehicle needs to be decelerated, the controller gives a deceleration signal to the electronically controlled brake system 22. When the vehicle needs to be turned, the AD ECU 1 gives a turn signal to at least one of the electronically controlled brake system 22, the electronically controlled differential mechanism 23 and the electronically controlled steering system 24.
a communication interface; and
[0032] FIG. 1(b) illustrates a plurality of vehicle systems and a management apparatus, in accordance with an example implementation. One or more vehicle systems 101-1, 101-2, 101-3, and 101-4 as described with respect to FIG. 1(a) are communicatively coupled to a network 100 which is connected to a management apparatus 102. The management apparatus 102 manages a database 103, which contains data feedback aggregated from the vehicle systems in the network 100. In alternate example implementations, the data feedback from the vehicle systems 101-1, 101-2, 101-3, and 101-4 can be aggregated to a central repository or central database such as proprietary databases that aggregate data from systems such as enterprise resource planning systems, and the management apparatus 102 can access or retrieve the data from the central repository or central database. Such vehicle systems can include human operated vehicles such as cars, trucks, tractors, vans, and so on depending on the desired implementation.
at least one processor configured to: (FIG.7)
identify, based on the image data, a unique marker (i.e. initial marker placed at entrance of parking lot section 300-1) installed in a parking lot; (FIG.3(a))
[0009] In an example implementation involving AVP, the markers are placed at the entrance of the parking lot and along the trajectory. The location of the marker recognized by the cameras is compared with that on a map provided by an offline map positioning unit. The cameras utilize image processing functions, to calculate the position and the orientation of the vehicle with respect to these markers. This information is provided to the Autonomous Driving Electronic Control Unit (AD ECU) in the vehicle via CAN (Controller Area Network). Prior to this, the Electronic Control Unit (ECU) also receives the expected initial position and orientation of the vehicle from the map positioning unit. The difference between the expected and current coordinates of the vehicle is then calculated by the ECU and used for trajectory correction. This technique is useful to localize one independent vehicle however in the presence of another preceding vehicle, there needs to be a common control center that would control the movement of all the vehicles in the parking lot to avoid any collisions. Such example implementations involve the use of a telematics control unit which communicates the position of the vehicle to the control center real-time. The control center in turn ensures that no two vehicles are in close proximity by sending commands to the following vehicle to stop in case of a potential collision.
[0041] As shown in FIG. 3(a), the parking lot can be divided into several sections by the map positioning unit, based on the location of the markers. In the example of FIG. 3(a), the parking lot is considered to have sections 300-1, 300-2, 300-3, 300-4, and 300-5. Section 300-1 is the entrance way to the parking lot in which a vehicle can be dropped off and the AVP mode can be engaged. In an example implementation, the AVP mode can be engaged upon receiving an instruction from a management apparatus or from instructions stored in the vehicle system after the vehicle system detects an initial marker. In another example implementation, the human operator of the vehicle system can manually engage the AVP mode, whereupon the vehicle will operate through the parking lot autonomously. As illustrated in FIG. 3(a), the vehicle will navigate along a trajectory based on the instructions through various sections of the parking lot until it encounters a marker that instructs the vehicle to either adjust the trajectory as illustrated in sections 300-2 and 300-3, or engage automatic parking as illustrated in section 300-4. When the parked vehicle needs to be retrieved, instructions from management apparatus 102 of FIG. 1(b) can be transmitted to the parked vehicle, wherein the vehicle can be changed to a retrieval mode in which the vehicle is guided to a marker indicative of a pick-up location as illustrated in section 300-5. The vehicle then stops in proximity to the marker indicative of a pick-up location, whereupon a human operator can retrieve the vehicle.
[0052] FIG. 4(b) illustrates an example flow for handling non-detection of a marker after the autonomous system is engaged through detecting a marker. In this example flow, the autonomous system is engaged at 420 when a marker is detected, either automatically or through a manual instruction within the vehicle system to engage the autonomous system in response to marker detection. At 421, the vehicle system will proceed along the trajectory and speed indicated by the initial detect marker while attempting to detect a marker along the trajectory. The detecting can occur based on proceeding along the provided trajectory until another marker is expected. If a marker is detected (Yes), then the vehicle continues along the trajectory at 425 or adjusts the trajectory based on instructions associated with the detected marker. Otherwise (No) the process proceeds to 422 to utilize dead reckoning results for conducting localization and determine the error of the results from dead reckoning to the expected location of the marker. In such an example implementation, the vehicle system interpolates the current position of the vehicle based on the current speed and orientation of the vehicle system. At 423, a determination is made as to whether the error is less than a certain threshold (e.g., within a certain expected distance of the expected marker). If so (Yes), then the vehicle continues along the trajectory at 425 or adjusts the orientation/speed of the vehicle to correct for the error, otherwise (No) the flow proceeds to 424 and stops the autonomous mode. In such an example implementation, the system may be stopped by switching the vehicle to an emergency mode which causes the vehicle to proceed to a safe location and transmit instructions to the management apparatus 102 regarding the situation, or can be switched back to human operation mode with an alert to the human operator depending on the desired implementation.
set, based on the unique marker, position information of the vehicle; (FIG.3(b))
[0027] The cameras of the vehicle can be in the form of surround eye cameras, or other cameras depending on the desired implementation. In the camera system of the vehicle, the front camera 10f is provided with an image pickup unit for obtaining an image of one or more asymmetrical markers around the vehicle, and an output unit that provides signals representing the positional relation between the vehicle and the one or more asymmetrical markers. The front radar 11f detects and locates other vehicles and pedestrians and provides signals representing positional relation between the vehicle and those objects. The rear camera 10r, the left front camera 12L, the right front camera 12R, the left rear camera 13L and the right rear camera 13R are similar in functionality to the front camera 10f, and the front radar llf and the rear radar 11r.
[0052] FIG. 4(b) illustrates an example flow for handling non-detection of a marker after the autonomous system is engaged through detecting a marker. In this example flow, the autonomous system is engaged at 420 when a marker is detected, either automatically or through a manual instruction within the vehicle system to engage the autonomous system in response to marker detection. At 421, the vehicle system will proceed along the trajectory and speed indicated by the initial detect marker while attempting to detect a marker along the trajectory. The detecting can occur based on proceeding along the provided trajectory until another marker is expected. If a marker is detected (Yes), then the vehicle continues along the trajectory at 425 or adjusts the trajectory based on instructions associated with the detected marker. Otherwise (No) the process proceeds to 422 to utilize dead reckoning results for conducting localization and determine the error of the results from dead reckoning to the expected location of the marker. In such an example implementation, the vehicle system interpolates the current position of the vehicle based on the current speed and orientation of the vehicle system. At 423, a determination is made as to whether the error is less than a certain threshold (e.g., within a certain expected distance of the expected marker). If so (Yes), then the vehicle continues along the trajectory at 425 or adjusts the orientation/speed of the vehicle to correct for the error, otherwise (No) the flow proceeds to 424 and stops the autonomous mode. In such an example implementation, the system may be stopped by switching the vehicle to an emergency mode which causes the vehicle to proceed to a safe location and transmit instructions to the management apparatus 102 regarding the situation, or can be switched back to human operation mode with an alert to the human operator depending on the desired implementation.
identify, based on the image data, an anonymous marker installed in the parking lot; (FIG.3(c))
[0052] FIG. 4(b) illustrates an example flow for handling non-detection of a marker after the autonomous system is engaged through detecting a marker. In this example flow, the autonomous system is engaged at 420 when a marker is detected, either automatically or through a manual instruction within the vehicle system to engage the autonomous system in response to marker detection. At 421, the vehicle system will proceed along the trajectory and speed indicated by the initial detect marker while attempting to detect a marker along the trajectory. The detecting can occur based on proceeding along the provided trajectory until another marker is expected. If a marker is detected (Yes), then the vehicle continues along the trajectory at 425 or adjusts the trajectory based on instructions associated with the detected marker. Otherwise (No) the process proceeds to 422 to utilize dead reckoning results for conducting localization and determine the error of the results from dead reckoning to the expected location of the marker. In such an example implementation, the vehicle system interpolates the current position of the vehicle based on the current speed and orientation of the vehicle system. At 423, a determination is made as to whether the error is less than a certain threshold (e.g., within a certain expected distance of the expected marker). If so (Yes), then the vehicle continues along the trajectory at 425 or adjusts the orientation/speed of the vehicle to correct for the error, otherwise (No) the flow proceeds to 424 and stops the autonomous mode. In such an example implementation, the system may be stopped by switching the vehicle to an emergency mode which causes the vehicle to proceed to a safe location and transmit instructions to the management apparatus 102 regarding the situation, or can be switched back to human operation mode with an alert to the human operator depending on the desired implementation.
adjust, based on the anonymous marker, the position information of the vehicle; and
[0041] As shown in FIG. 3(a), the parking lot can be divided into several sections by the map positioning unit, based on the location of the markers. In the example of FIG. 3(a), the parking lot is considered to have sections 300-1, 300-2, 300-3, 300-4, and 300-5. Section 300-1 is the entrance way to the parking lot in which a vehicle can be dropped off and the AVP mode can be engaged. In an example implementation, the AVP mode can be engaged upon receiving an instruction from a management apparatus or from instructions stored in the vehicle system after the vehicle system detects an initial marker. In another example implementation, the human operator of the vehicle system can manually engage the AVP mode, whereupon the vehicle will operate through the parking lot autonomously. As illustrated in FIG. 3(a), the vehicle will navigate along a trajectory based on the instructions through various sections of the parking lot until it encounters a marker that instructs the vehicle to either adjust the trajectory as illustrated in sections 300-2 and 300-3, or engage automatic parking as illustrated in section 300-4. When the parked vehicle needs to be retrieved, instructions from management apparatus 102 of FIG. 1(b) can be transmitted to the parked vehicle, wherein the vehicle can be changed to a retrieval mode in which the vehicle is guided to a marker indicative of a pick-up location as illustrated in section 300-5. The vehicle then stops in proximity to the marker indicative of a pick-up location, whereupon a human operator can retrieve the vehicle.
[0051] The vehicle position coordinates obtained from the Road Marker Detection method are first used by the AD ECU to determine orientation of the vehicle and then for trajectory correction. The AD ECU is provided the default global coordinates of the markers by the map positioning unit. If the vehicle follows a trajectory along points other than the pre-decided coordinates, the Road Marker Detection method can be used to identify the difference. Based on this difference in position along with the difference in orientation, the actuators are commanded by the ECU to make up for the difference during navigation by adjusting position, orientation, and/or speed of the vehicle as necessary. This method also permits the control center to ensure that two vehicles never collide in the parking lot or in other scenarios, such as a toll gate or locations where autonomous driving is engaged. Thus, through FIG. 4(a), the vehicle system can thereby adjust at least one of a position, orientation, and speed from the calculated distance and/or instructions associated with the detected marker. The instructions can be pre-stored in the vehicle system of FIG. 1(a) or transmitted from a management apparatus 102 as illustrated in FIG. 1(b).
control, based on the adjusted position information of the vehicle, an autonomous parking operation of the vehicle.
[0041] As shown in FIG. 3(a), the parking lot can be divided into several sections by the map positioning unit, based on the location of the markers. In the example of FIG. 3(a), the parking lot is considered to have sections 300-1, 300-2, 300-3, 300-4, and 300-5. Section 300-1 is the entrance way to the parking lot in which a vehicle can be dropped off and the AVP mode can be engaged. In an example implementation, the AVP mode can be engaged upon receiving an instruction from a management apparatus or from instructions stored in the vehicle system after the vehicle system detects an initial marker. In another example implementation, the human operator of the vehicle system can manually engage the AVP mode, whereupon the vehicle will operate through the parking lot autonomously. As illustrated in FIG. 3(a), the vehicle will navigate along a trajectory based on the instructions through various sections of the parking lot until it encounters a marker that instructs the vehicle to either adjust the trajectory as illustrated in sections 300-2 and 300-3, or engage automatic parking as illustrated in section 300-4. When the parked vehicle needs to be retrieved, instructions from management apparatus 102 of FIG. 1(b) can be transmitted to the parked vehicle, wherein the vehicle can be changed to a retrieval mode in which the vehicle is guided to a marker indicative of a pick-up location as illustrated in section 300-5. The vehicle then stops in proximity to the marker indicative of a pick-up location, whereupon a human operator can retrieve the vehicle.
Re claim 2, 12 and 17. MATTA discloses [0032-0033]
wherein the at least one processor is configured to set the position information of the vehicle by:
receiving, from a server via the communication interface, a digital map indicating a position of the unique marker and a position of the anonymous marker; and
identifying a position of the vehicle based on the position of the unique marker as indicated in the digital map, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to adjust the position information of the vehicle by:
adjusting the position of the vehicle based on the position of the anonymous marker as indicated in the digital map.
Re claim 3, 13 and 18. MATTA discloses [0041, 0052, 0059]
wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: reset, based on the unique marker being identified, a path, of the vehicle, to a destination.
Re claim 5. MATTA discloses (FIG.3(b))
wherein the at least one processor is configured to identify the anonymous marker by: identifying, based on the image data, a sign provided in the parking lot.
Re claim 6 and 20. MATTA discloses (FIG.3(a-d))
wherein the sign comprises at least one of: a signboard mandated to be installed in the parking lot, a word or a symbol provided on a ground, a guidance board, or an advertisement board, and wherein the sign is predetermined to be used as the anonymous marker.
Re claim 7. MATTA discloses [0034-0042] the vehicle of claim 2, wherein the digital map indicates that a characteristic and a position of a mapped sign that corresponds to the anonymous marker, wherein the at least one processor is configured to adjust the position information by: identifying, based on the image data, an observed sign in the parking lot; determining, based on the image data, a characteristic of the observed sign; determining, based on a comparison of the characteristic of the observed sign with the characteristic of the mapped sign, that the observed sign matches the mapped sign; and adjust the position information of the vehicle further based on the observed sign.
Re claim 8. MATTA discloses (FIG.2(a-g)) the vehicle of claim 7, wherein the characteristic of the observed sign comprise at least one of: a type of sign, components of the sign, a color of the sign, or relative position information of the components of the sign.
Re claim 9. MATTA discloses [0034-0038] the vehicle of claim 8, wherein the components comprise at least one of a character or a symbol, and wherein the characteristic of the observed sign comprises at least one of: character information, relative character position information, symbol information, or relative symbol position information.
Re claim 10. MATTA discloses [0034] the vehicle of claim 1, wherein at least one of the unique marker or the anonymous marker comprises at least one white rectangle disposed in a black rectangular background, and wherein the unique marker has a greater complexity than the anonymous marker.
Re claim 11. MATTA as for claim 1, an autonomous parking server comprising:
data storage configured to store a digital map;
[0040] FIG. 3(a) illustrates an example implementation involving a parking lot. These markers are also assigned an ID and compared with those stored in the map positioning unit. These markers help the car continuously correct its trajectory lest the deviation from the desired path exceeds a certain threshold. Not only does the map positioning unit receive these coordinates but also the control center which then decides if it is safe for the vehicle to proceed based on comparison with coordinates received from other vehicles in the parking lot as shown in FIG. 3(a).
[0060] FIG. 7 illustrates an example computing environment with an example computer device suitable for use in some example implementations, such as for facilitating functionality to an AD ECU 1 and map positioning unit 6 of a vehicle system as illustrated in FIG. 1(a), or a management apparatus 102 as illustrated in FIG. 1(b). All functions described herein can be implemented at the management apparatus 102, at the vehicle system, or through a system based on some combination of such elements, depending on the desired implementation.
[0061] Computer device 705 in computing environment 700 can include one or more processing units, cores, or processors 710, memory 715 (e.g., RAM, ROM, and/or the like), internal storage 720 (e.g., magnetic, optical, solid state storage, and/or organic), and/or I/O interface 725, any of which can be coupled on a communication mechanism or bus 730 for communicating information or embedded in the computer device 705. I/O interface 725 is also configured to receive images from cameras or provide images to projectors or displays, depending on the desired implementation.
a communication interface for communication with a vehicle; and (FIG.1(b))
at least one processor configured to:
receive, from the vehicle, image data indicating a surrounding environment of the vehicle;
[0032] FIG. 1(b) illustrates a plurality of vehicle systems and a management apparatus, in accordance with an example implementation. One or more vehicle systems 101-1, 101-2, 101-3, and 101-4 as described with respect to FIG. 1(a) are communicatively coupled to a network 100 which is connected to a management apparatus 102. The management apparatus 102 manages a database 103, which contains data feedback aggregated from the vehicle systems in the network 100. In alternate example implementations, the data feedback from the vehicle systems 101-1, 101-2, 101-3, and 101-4 can be aggregated to a central repository or central database such as proprietary databases that aggregate data from systems such as enterprise resource planning systems, and the management apparatus 102 can access or retrieve the data from the central repository or central database. Such vehicle systems can include human operated vehicles such as cars, trucks, tractors, vans, and so on depending on the desired implementation.
[0033] Management apparatus 102 can be configured to receive position information from vehicle systems 101-1, 101-2, 101-3, and 101-4 which transmit the position of the corresponding vehicle system relative to a marker as described in FIG. 4(a), and further configured to transmit instructions to the vehicle systems 101-1, 101-2, 101-3, 101-4 that are indicative of a trajectory for the vehicle until a next marker, and/or to adjust an operation mode, position, speed, and/or orientation.
identify, based on the image data, a unique marker installed in a parking lot;
set, based on the unique marker, position information of the vehicle;
identify, based on the image data, an anonymous marker installed in the parking lot;
adjust, based on the anonymous marker, the position information of the vehicle; and
cause, based on the adjusted position information of the vehicle, the vehicle to perform an autonomous parking operation.
Re claim 16. MATTA as for claim 11, a method performed by an apparatus of a vehicle, the method comprising:
receiving, from at least one sensor of the vehicle, image data indicating a surrounding environment of the vehicle;
identifying, based on the image data, a unique marker installed in a parking lot;
setting, based on the unique marker, position information of the vehicle;
identifying, based on the image data, an anonymous marker installed in the parking lot;
adjusting, based on the anonymous marker, the position information of the vehicle; and
controlling, based on the adjusted position information of the vehicle, an autonomous parking operation of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MATTA et al. (US 20190367012 A1) in view of NORDBRUCH (US 10655972 B2).
Re claim 4 and 14. However, MATTA fails to explicitly disclose:
wherein the digital map comprises:
a first layer comprising physical three-dimensional space information,
a second layer comprising static information,
a third layer comprising temporarily static information,
a fourth layer comprising dynamic information, and
a fifth layer comprising unknown dynamic information, and wherein the static information, of the second layer, comprises information on the unique marker and the anonymous marker.
NORDBRUCH teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, a digital map including various layers of information. (c.5-c.6)
(42) In another specific embodiment, it is provided that the data allocated to the mobile object(s) are encompassed by a dynamic layer of the digital map, and that the digital map has a static layer, which includes positional data of one or more stationary object(s) located within the parking facility.
(43) In other words, the digital map has a static layer and a dynamic layer. The static layer includes the static components of a digital map, which here are especially the stationary objects, i.e., in particular information about these static objects. Such information, for example, are positions and/or dimensions or measurements of the static objects. The dynamic layer of the digital map in particular includes the dynamic or mobile components of the digital map, in this case, in particular the mobile objects, i.e., information about the mobile objects. Information about the mobile objects includes positions, future routes or movements of the mobile objects, for example, and/or the type (vehicle, person, animal, . . . ) of mobile object(s).
(44) By subdividing the digital map into a dynamic and a static layer, it is advantageously possible to transmit or send only the dynamic layer to the vehicle, i.e., generally to the user of the communication network, if a change has occurred in the mobile objects. The static layer, which will usually not change in the course of the navigation, must therefore not be transmitted again to the user, in particular to the vehicle.
(48) According to another alternative specific embodiment, a single digital map exists exclusively, which includes a single layer that encompasses both the dynamic components and the static components. In other words, according to an alternative specific embodiment, it is provided that the digital map includes a single layer, which holds the data allocated to the mobile object(s) as well as the positional data of one or more stationary object(s) located within the parking facility.
(57) According to another specific embodiment, it is provided that the processor is developed to integrate data allocated to the mobile object(s) as a dynamic layer into the digital map; the digital map includes a static layer which includes the positional data of one or more stationary object(s) located within the parking facility. The communication network is designed to transmit the dynamic layer separately from the static layer via the communication network to the user of the communication network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try including multiple layers within the digital map to provide plenty of necessary information of a parking lot in order to improve safety and accuracy of the autonomous parking operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 2/27/2026