DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 6/26/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 11-12, 15 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected.
Claim 12 is objected to as allowable.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s arguments were persuasive therefore the restriction requirement has been withdrawn.
Notes
Applicant’s specification para 0212-0220 appears to describe Figure 1 and Figure 2 as admitted prior art.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 recite “purposes of the plurality of data processing purposes are specified data processing purposes, and wherein a data processing purpose of the plurality of data processing purposes indicates a purpose of processing the data associated with the user.” This limitation appears to be circular and/or if not further limiting.
This limitation appears to define data processing purpose as a data processing purpose. It is not clear how defining a data processing purpose as a purpose to process data provides a further limitation on the claim or if this is a grammatical error.
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities: “specified purpose no belonging” should read “specified purpose not belonging”.
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities “and that corresponds to the specified purpose” should read “and that the data corresponds to the specified purpose”
Claim 16 objected to because of the following informalities: “data processing purposes,;” should read “data processing purposes[[,]];”.
Claim 17 objected to because of the following informalities: “data processing purposes,.” should read “data processing purposes[[,]].”.
Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 16. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea - mental process without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the steps of obtaining, determining and processing. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because (a) the steps recited in claim limitations, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, could be performed in the human mind or using paper and pencil therefore the claims fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas; (b) Additionally, the claims recite methods of organizing human activity. The generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “the first data is free of the data that is associated with the user and that corresponds to the specified purpose” renders the claim indefinite because the first data is a response message form a user which corresponds to consent for a specific purpose. The first data must necessary be both associated with a user (because it is from a user and about a user’s preferences) and corresponding to a specific purpose (because it is asking for consent regarding that specific purpose).
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by over Sasi (U.S. 20240137746).
Regarding claim 1,
Sasi discloses: A communication method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first access network device, a data processing requirement, wherein the data processing requirement indicates a requirement for processing data associated with a user for a specified purpose; and (Sasi [0031-0049, 0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0152-0162] teaches obtaining, by the network apparatus (first access network device) user consent (processing requirement) for collecting user data which includes an indication regarding “The user consent needs to be given to whom, to which entity and on what purpose needs… including analysis of location/traffic patterns/suspicious events/ect.” (processing requirement/specific purpose… for which the data is being collected)
determining, by the first access network device, based on first user consent information and the data processing requirement, whether to process the data associated with the user; (Sasi [0031-0049, 0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0152-0162] teaches determining, for a specific purpose, whether to processes a request based on whether a user has provided consent for data to be collected for a specific purpose)
wherein the first user consent information indicates whether the user consents to processing of the data associated with the user for a plurality of data processing purposes, wherein the data processing purposes of the plurality of data processing purposes are specified data processing purposes, and wherein a data processing purpose of the plurality of data processing purposes indicates a purpose of processing the data associated with the user. (Sasi [0031-0049, 0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0142, 0152-0162] teaches that user consent can be access the user's information and/or perform some action on their behalf; the user consent data includes a plurality of purposes such as read and/or write and/or storage and/or to perform analytical on the data and/or tracking of the device and/or features supported by the application and/or like so)
Claim 13 recites limitations substantially similar in scope as claim 1 above, therefore, is also rejected under the same rationale set forth above. Additionally claim 13 discloses: A communications apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory memory coupled to the at least one processor and having program instructions stored thereon wherein the non-transitory memory and the program instructions are configured, with the at least one processors, to cause the communications apparatus to at least: (Sasi [0040, 0077-0083] teaches memory and processor… instructions on a non-transitory storage medium causing the apparatus to…)
Regarding claims 2 and 14,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining, by the first access network device, the first user consent information in response to the data processing requirement. (Sasi [0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0142, 0152-0162] teaches at step 4: by using the Nudm_SDM_Get (UE_Id (for e.g., SUPI), user consent for UE data collection), the AMF (200f) may retrieve the user consent for UE data collection before triggering some UE data specific data collection)
Regarding claims 3 and 15,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 2 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 2, further comprising performing, before the obtaining the first user consent information: determining, by the first access network device, that no user consent information associated with the specified purpose exists locally. (Sasi [0090-0099, 0173-0184, 0191-0206, 0152-0162] teaches determining whether a user consent, for a specific purpose, is available in the stored user consent data and if consent data is not available then requesting the user’s consent for the specific purpose)
Regarding claims 4, 16, and 17,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first user consent information comprises the plurality of data processing purposes; and (Sasi [0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0142] teaches that user consent can be access the user's information and/or perform some action on their behalf; the user consent data includes a plurality of purposes such as read and/or write and/or storage and/or to perform analytical on the data and/or tracking of the device and/or features supported by the application and/or like so)
wherein the determining, whether to process the data associated with the user comprises: (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0162] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
determining, by the first access network device, to process the data associated with the user in response to the specified purpose belonging to the plurality of data processing purposes; or (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0162] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
determining, by the first access network device, not to process the data associated with the user in response to the specified purpose not belonging to the plurality of data processing purposes. (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0162] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
Regarding claims 5 and 18,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first user consent information comprises the plurality of data processing purposes and a user consent result corresponding to each data processing purpose of the plurality of data processing purposes, and wherein the user consent result indicates whether the user consents to processing of the data associated with the user for a data processing purpose corresponding to the user consent result; and (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0162] teaches use consent information includes consent information, and corresponding consent results, for multiple different data processing purposes each consent indicating consent for the corresponding purpose)
wherein the determining whether to process the data associated with the user comprises: (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0162] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
determining, by the first access network device, to process the data associated with the user in response to the specified purpose being a first data processing purpose in the plurality of data processing purposes and a user consent result corresponding to the first data processing purpose is "consent"; or (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0162] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
determining, by the first access network device, not to process the data associated with the user, in response to at least one of the specified purpose not being a first data processing purpose in the plurality of data processing purposes or a user consent result corresponding to the first data processing purpose not being "consent". (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0162] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
Regarding claim 6,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first user consent information comprises the plurality of data processing purposes and an identifier of a first network, and wherein the identifier of the first network indicates whether the user consents to processing, in the first network, of the data associated with the user; and (Sasi [0092-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0171] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose; the consent information includes a network identifier)
wherein the determining whether to process the data associated with the user comprises: (Sasi [0092-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0171] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
determining, by the first access network device, to process the data associated with the user, in response to the specified purpose being one of the plurality of data processing purposes and the first access network device belonging to the first network; or (Sasi [0092-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0171] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose; the consent information includes a network identifier)
determining, by the first access network device, not to process the data associated with the user in response to at least one of the specified purpose not being one of the plurality of data processing purposes or the first access network device not belonging to the first network. (Sasi [0092-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0171] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose; the consent information includes a network identifier)
Regarding claim 7,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 1, wherein the first user consent information comprises the plurality of data processing purposes, a user consent result corresponding to each data processing purpose of the plurality of data processing purposes, and an identifier of a first network, wherein the user consent result indicates whether the user consents to processing of the data associated with the user for the data processing purpose corresponding to the user consent result, and wherein the identifier of the first network indicates whether the user consents to processing, in the first network, of the data associated with the user; and (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0171] teaches use consent information includes consent information, and corresponding consent results, for multiple different data processing purposes each consent indicating consent for the corresponding purpose; the consent information includes consent related to data sharing for a specific network which is identified)
wherein the determining whether to process the data associated with the user comprises: (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0171] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
determining, by the first access network device, to process the data associated with the user in response to the specified purpose being a first data processing purpose in the plurality of data processing purposes, a user consent result corresponding to the first data processing purpose being "consent", and the first access network device belonging to the first network; (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0131-0133, 0142-0144, 0152-0171] teaches use consent information includes consent information, and corresponding consent results, for multiple different data processing purposes each consent indicating consent for the corresponding purpose; the consent information includes consent related to data sharing for a specific network which is identified including processing if consent is given and not processing if consent is not given)
determining, by the first access network device, not to process the data associated with the user in response to the specified purpose not being a first data processing purpose in the plurality of data processing purposes, or a user consent result corresponding to the first data processing purpose not being "consent", or the first access network device not-belonging to the first network. (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0131-0133, 0142-0144, 0152-0171] teaches use consent information includes consent information, and corresponding consent results, for multiple different data processing purposes each consent indicating consent for the corresponding purpose; the consent information includes consent related to data sharing for a specific network which is identified including processing if consent is given and not processing if consent is not given)
Regarding claims 8 and 19,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 4 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 4, further comprising performing, in response to the first access network device determining not to process the data associated with the user: (Sasi [0091-0115, 0173-0182, 0183-0189, 0190-0203, 0204-0210] teaches determining if consent to process data for a specific purpose has elapsed (determining not to process))
determining, by the first access network device, not to collect data that is associated with the user and that corresponds to the specified purpose; (Sasi [0058, 0091-0115, 0173-0182, 0183-0189, 0190-0203, 0204-0210]] teaches in response to identifying that the consent is elapsed, expired or if new consent is required not processing data and not collecting data when without consent to process)
sending, by the first access network device, a data collection message to a terminal device, wherein the data collection message comprises a non-collection indication, and wherein the non-collection indication indicates that the data that is associated with the user and that corresponds to the specified purpose is not to be collected; and (Sasi [0091-0115, 0173-0182, 0183-0189, 0190-0203, 0204-0210] teaches in response to identifying that the consent is elapsed, expired or if new consent is required sending a “user consent invalid indication in the Notification message” and “DL NAS Transport message the User Consent request” requesting user consent which can include; [0120] “consent for… storage and/or to perform analytical on the data…”; the request message is sent to the UE (terminal device) by the first access network device)
receiving, by the first access network device, a response message from the terminal device, wherein the response message comprises first data, and wherein the first data is free of the data that is associated with the user and that corresponds to the specified purpose. (Sasi [0091-0115, 0173-0182, 0183-0189, 0190-0203, 0204-0210] teaches At steps 6-7: UE (300) verifies the MAC-IAUSF and if verification is successful, then the UE (300) checks for the pre-configured data and then the UE (300) sends the UC Data, UC-MAC-IUE and CounterUC in the UL NAS Transport message);
Regarding claim 9,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 4 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 4, wherein the obtaining the data processing requirement comprises: (Sasi [0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0152-0162] teaches obtaining user consent for collecting user data which includes an indication regarding a specific purpose for which the data is being collected)
receiving, by the first access network device, the data processing requirement from a trigger network element; and (Sasi [0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120-0137, 0173-0182, 0183-0189, 0190-0203, 0204-0210] teaches a NWDAF (trigger network element) triggering a consent request, which is required for processing the data, and sending that request to the first device)
wherein the method further comprises performing, in response to the first access network device determining not to process the data associated with the user: (Sasi [0091-0115, 0173-0182, 0183-0189, 0190-0203, 0204-0210] teaches determining if consent to process data for a specific purpose has elapsed (determining not to process))
sending, by the first access network device, a trigger response message in response to a trigger message to the trigger network element, wherein the trigger response message comprises a cause value, and wherein the cause value indicates that user consent is not obtained or the data that is associated with the user and that corresponds to the specified purpose is not collected. (Sasi [0091-0115, 0120-0126, 0131-0133, 0142-0144, 0152-0171, 0173-0182, 0183-0189, 0190-0203, 0204-0210] teaches use consent information includes consent information, and corresponding consent results, for multiple different data processing purposes each consent indicating consent for the corresponding purpose; the consent information includes consent related to data sharing for a specific network which is identified including processing if consent is given and not processing if consent is not given)
Regarding claims 10 and 20,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 4 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 4, further comprising performing, in response to the first access network device determining to process the data associated with the user: (Sasi [0093-0115, 0120-0126, 0142-0144, 0152-0162] teaches proceeding data for a specific purpose if consent is available for that specific purpose and not proceeding if consent is not available for that specific purpose)
sending, by the first access network device, a data collection message to a terminal device, wherein the data collection message is used to obtain the data associated with the user; (Sasi [0102-0145] teaches sending a data collection request to the user’s UE which is used to obtain associated user data)
receiving, by the first access network device, a response message from the terminal device, wherein the response message comprises the data associated with the user; and (Sasi [0102-0145] teaches in response to sending a data collection request to the user’s UE obtaining associated user data)
processing, by the first access network device, the data associated with the user for the specified purpose. (Sasi [0102-0145] teaches in response to obtaining a data from user’s UE, processing it for the specific purpose which was consented to)
Regarding claim 11,
Sasi discloses all the limitations of claim 1 above, Sasi additionally discloses: The method according to claim 1,further comprising: A communication method, comprising:
obtaining, by a second access network device, second user consent information, wherein the second user consent information indicates whether the user consents to processing of data associated with the user for a plurality of second data processing purposes, wherein the second data processing purposes of the plurality of second data processing purposes are specified data processing purposes, and wherein a second data processing purpose of the plurality of second data processing purposes indicates a purpose of processing the data associated with the user; (Sasi [0031-0049, 0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0152-0162] teaches obtaining, by the network apparatus (first access network device) user consent (processing requirement) for collecting user data which includes an indication regarding “The user consent needs to be given to whom, to which entity and on what purpose needs… including analysis of location/traffic patterns/suspicious events/ect.” (processing requirement/specific purpose… for which the data is being collected)
determining, by the second access network device, the first user consent information based on the second user consent information; and (Sasi [0031-0049, 0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0152-0162] teaches determining, for a specific purpose, whether to processes a request based on whether a user has provided consent for data to be collected for a specific purpose; [0034-0036, 0043-0045] teaches that the receiving device identifies if consent information corresponding to a request has been received and determines whether to processing the request accordingly)
sending, by the second access network device, the first user consent information to the first access network device. (Sasi [0031-0049, 0058, 0090-0092, 0093-0115, 0120, 0152-0162] teaches determining, for a specific purpose, whether to processes a request based on whether a user has provided consent for data to be collected for a specific purpose; [0034-0036, 0043-0045] teaches a second device sending consent information to the first device; the method includes sending, by the network apparatus, a request message to the UE to check whether the network apparatus provides the subscribed event information to the NWDAF in response to determining the user consent is available for the corresponding requests from the NWDAF. Further, the method includes receiving, by the network apparatus, the response message from the UE. The response message includes a consent indication allowing the network apparatus to provide the subscribed event information to the NWDAF)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Pancorbo Marcos 2022-05-06 (U.S. 20240250883) teaches A method for event subscription management in a communications network performed by a Network Function producer (NFp) and a Network Function consumer (NFc). The method comprises establishing a subscription to an event from the NFc to the NFp and transmitting from the NFp to the NFc a notification including an indication to trigger the cancelation of the subscription. In some embodiments, the method may further comprise triggering at the NFc a subscription modification based on the received notification. In some embodiments, the subscription modification triggered at the NFc comprises at least one of cancelling or terminating the subscription with the NFp and removing the subscription context at the NFc. In some embodiments, the subscription modification triggered at the NFc comprises at least one of selecting a different NFp and establishing a new subscription to the different NFp.
Kunzmann 2021-07-30 (U.S. 20230297717) teaches Systems, methods, apparatuses, and computer program products for supporting user consent management, tracking of user specific data and UE specific data requiring user consent, and distributing information about revocation of the user consent to involved network entities, are provided.
THOMAS A. CARNES
Examiner
Art Unit 2436
/THOMAS A CARNES/Examiner, Art Unit 2436