CTNF 19/001,869 CTNF 78634 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1 as being anticipated by Bulovic et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20060176485) . PNG media_image1.png 300 536 media_image1.png Greyscale [0006] FIG. 2 illustrates a further embodiment of the present disclosure. Photodetectors are mounted on a substrate and each photodetector has a different thickness of the same absorbing thin film. As per claim 1, Bulovic et al. disclose a light component detector comprising: a substrate ( 23 ); at least one detecting element ( 22 ) disposed on the substrate (23); and a plurality of coated blocks ( 21 ) disposed on the at least one detecting element (22) and having a plurality of thicknesses (d 1 [Wingdings font/0xE0]d 4 [Wingdings font/0xE0] d n ), respectively, and the plurality of thicknesses corresponding to a plurality of light wavelengths, respectively (¶¶ [0013-0015]). As per claim 2, Bulovic et al. disclose a light component detector wherein the plurality of coated blocks are arranged sequentially along a direction (Fig. 2 above). As per claims 3-5, Bulovic et al. disclose a light component detector wherein the at least one detecting element comprises a plurality of detecting elements, and the plurality of coated blocks are disposed on the plurality of detecting elements, respectively (Fig. 2; (¶ [0014])); wherein the plurality of light wavelengths comprise an in-band wavelength and an out-of-band wavelength (¶¶ [0014-0015]) and wherein the substrate is a silicon wafer (Fig. 2; (¶ [0017])). As per claim 6, Bulovic et al. disclose a light component detecting method comprising: obtaining a plurality of light signals corresponding to the plurality of light wavelengths by the light component detector according to claim 1 (¶¶ [0004-0005]), wherein the plurality of light wavelengths comprise an in-band wavelength and an out-of-band wavelength (¶ [0014]); obtaining a plurality of optical radiation parameters corresponding to the plurality of thicknesses, respectively, according to the plurality of light signals (¶¶ [0014-0015]); and determining light intensity corresponding to the in-band wavelength and light intensity corresponding to the out-of-band wavelength according to the plurality of optical radiation parameters (¶¶ [0014-0015]). As per claim 7, Bulovic et al. disclose a light component detecting method, wherein obtaining the plurality of light signals corresponding to the plurality of light wavelengths comprises (¶¶ [0011-0015]): disposing the light component detector on a carrying platform (Fig. 1b; ¶ [0013]), wherein an arrangement direction of the plurality of coated blocks is parallel to a moving direction of the carrying platform (claim 13; Fig. 1b), and the moving direction intersects an illumination direction of the light source (Fig.1b; ¶ [0013]); and controlling the carrying platform to move along the moving direction for the light component detector to be illuminated by the light source (claim 13; ¶ [0013]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As per claim 8, the Examiner found no reference in the prior art that disclosed or rendered obvious a light component detecting method, wherein the plurality of optical radiation parameters comprise a plurality of transmittances corresponding to the plurality of thicknesses, respectively, and determining the light intensity corresponding to the in-band wavelength and the light intensity corresponding to the out-of-band wavelength according to the plurality of optical radiation parameters comprises: obtaining a spectral response of the plurality of light signals; multiplying the spectral response with one of the plurality of transmittances corresponding to the in-band wavelength to obtain the light intensity corresponding to the in-band wavelength; and multiplying the spectral response with one of the plurality of transmittances corresponding to the out-of-band wavelength to obtain the light intensity corresponding to the out-of-band wavelength. As per claim 9 and dependent claim 10, the Examiner found no reference in the prior art that disclosed or rendered obvious a light component detecting method wherein obtaining the plurality of optical radiation parameters corresponding to the plurality of thicknesses, respectively, according to the plurality of light signals comprises: taking turn to use the plurality of thicknesses as a target thickness, using one of the plurality of light signals corresponding to the target thickness as a first target signal, and using another one of the plurality of light signals that is adjacent to and later than the first target signal as a second target signal, and performing: multiplying a first radiation intensity value of the first target signal with a first coefficient to obtain a first value; multiplying a second radiation intensity value of the second target signal with a second coefficient to obtain a second value; subtracting the second value from the first value to obtain a third value; and multiplying the third value with a correction factor to obtain one of the plurality of optical radiation parameters corresponding to the target thickness, wherein the first coefficient is a weight coefficient between the first radiation intensity value and an initial radiation intensity value corresponding to an initial thickness among the plurality of thicknesses, and the second coefficient is a weight coefficient between the second radiation intensity value and the initial radiation intensity value. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to COURTNEY D THOMAS whose telephone number is (571)272-2496. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 9 AM - 5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Makiya can be reached at 571-272-2273. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /COURTNEY D THOMAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884 Application/Control Number: 19/001,869 Page 2 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 19/001,869 Page 3 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 19/001,869 Page 4 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 19/001,869 Page 5 Art Unit: 2884 Application/Control Number: 19/001,869 Page 6 Art Unit: 2884