CTNF 19/001,881 CTNF 101705 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-9, 12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, Claims 1 and 14 recite the limitation “a plurality of frequency offset compensators.” Claims 1, 14 and their dependents then use the singular limitation “the frequency offset compensator.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimura (EP2475114B1) in light of Niu (M. Niu, J. Cheng and J. F. Holzman, "MIMO architecture for coherent optical wireless communication: System design and performance," in Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, vol. 5, no. 5, pp. 411-420, May 2013) . Regarding Claim 1 , Tanimura teaches A spatial multiplexing optical receiver comprising: a plurality of coherent receivers (FIG. 13: 23-1, 23-2) configured to coherently receive each of signals of a plurality of modes spatially multiplexed ([0077] (“The optical receiver 3 may divide the signal band of the optical signal into three or more partial bands. In the example illustrated in FIG. 13, the signal band of the optical signal is processed after being divided into n partial bands”)) and transmitted, by using independent continuous-wave light for each mode as local oscillator light (FIG. 13: 22a, 22b); a plurality of frequency offset compensators configured to perform, independently for each mode (FIG. 9: 52a, 52b), frequency offset compensation based on a correlation between a known training signal and a signal of each mode for each of the signals of the plurality of modes being coherently received ([0056] (“The frequency offset estimator 51a estimates the frequency offset of the signal component of the partial band with respect to the local oscillation light 26a using the reference signal”)); Tanimura does not teach and a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) signal processing circuit configured to perform MIMO signal processing on the signals of the plurality of modes subjected to the frequency offset compensation in the frequency offset compensator. Niu teaches and a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) signal processing circuit configured to perform MIMO signal processing on the signals of the plurality of modes subjected to the frequency offset compensation in the frequency offset compensator. (FIG. 1) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transceiver taught in Tanimura such that Niu’s MIMO circuit was placed after the frequency offset compensators for combining the signals. Such a combination would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Wherein, the predictable result is a transceiver with separately offset compensated signals being combined using a MIMO circuit. Tanimura and Niu are both relate to optical communication systems and are therefore analogous art. Regarding Claim 11 , the combination of Tanimura and Niu teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein the independent continuous wave light for each mode is supplied to the coherent receiver from a laser light source to be disposed independently for each mode (FIG. 6: 22a, 22b). Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transceiver taught in Tanimura such that Niu’s MIMO circuit was placed after the frequency offset compensators for combining the signals. Such a combination would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Wherein, the predictable result is a transceiver with separately offset compensated signals being combined using a MIMO circuit. Regarding Claim 12 , the combination of Tanimura and Niu teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 1, further comprising a filter configured to compensate for static distortion included in the coherently received signal for each of the coherently received signals of the plurality of modes on a front stage of the frequency offset compensator. ([0004] (“the digital signal processor may also provide a function to compensate for characteristics of the optical transmission link (for example, chromatic dispersion)”)) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transceiver taught in Tanimura such that Niu’s MIMO circuit was placed after the frequency offset compensators for combining the signals. Such a combination would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Wherein, the predictable result is a transceiver with separately offset compensated signals being combined using a MIMO circuit. Regarding Claim 13 , the combination of Tanimura and Niu teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 12, wherein the filter compensating for static distortion includes a filter configured to perform chromatic dispersion compensation. ([0004] (“the digital signal processor may also provide a function to compensate for characteristics of the optical transmission link (for example, chromatic dispersion)”)) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transceiver taught in Tanimura such that Niu’s MIMO circuit was placed after the frequency offset compensators for combining the signals. Such a combination would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Wherein, the predictable result is a transceiver with separately offset compensated signals being combined using a MIMO circuit. Regarding Claim 14 , Tanimura teaches A spatial multiplexing optical transmission system comprising: a transmitter configured to transmit signals of plurality of modes to a receiver via a transmission path (FIG. 3); and a receiver comprising a spatial multiplexing optical receiver comprising: a plurality of coherent receivers (FIG. 13: 23-1, 23-2) configured to coherently receive each of signals of a plurality of modes spatially multiplexed ([0077] (“The optical receiver 3 may divide the signal band of the optical signal into three or more partial bands. In the example illustrated in FIG. 13, the signal band of the optical signal is processed after being divided into n partial bands”)) and transmitted, by using independent continuous-wave light for each mode as local oscillator light (FIG. 13: 22-1, 22-2); a plurality of frequency offset compensators configured to perform, independently for each mode (FIG. 9: 52a, 52b), frequency offset compensation based on a correlation between a known training signal and a signal of each mode for each of the signals of the plurality of modes being coherently received ([0056] (“The frequency offset estimator 51a estimates the frequency offset of the signal component of the partial band with respect to the local oscillation light 26a using the reference signal”)); Tanimura does not teach and a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) signal processing circuit configured to perform MIMO signal processing on the signals of the plurality of modes subjected to the frequency offset compensation in the frequency offset compensator. Niu teaches a multi-input multi-output (MIMO) signal processing circuit configured to perform MIMO signal processing on the signals of the plurality of modes subjected to the frequency offset compensation in the frequency offset compensator. (FIG. 1) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transceiver taught in Tanimura such that Niu’s MIMO circuit was placed after the frequency offset compensators for combining the signals. Such a combination would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Wherein, the predictable result is a transceiver with separately offset compensated signals being combined using a MIMO circuit. Regarding Claim 15 , Tanimura teaches A spatially multiplexed optical reception method comprising: coherently receiving each of signals of a plurality of modes spatially multiplexed (FIG. 13: 23-1, 23-2) and transmitted by using independent continuous-wave light for each mode as local oscillator light (FIG. 13: 22-1, 22-2); performing, independently for each mode, frequency offset compensation (FIG. 9: 52a, 52b) based on a correlation between a known training signal and a signal of each mode for each of the coherently received signals of the plurality of modes ([0056] (“The frequency offset estimator 51a estimates the frequency offset of the signal component of the partial band with respect to the local oscillation light 26a using the reference signal”)); Tanimura does not teach and performing multi-input multi-output (MIMO) signal processing on the signals of the plurality of modes subjected to the frequency offset compensation. Niu teaches and performing multi-input multi-output (MIMO) signal processing on the signals of the plurality of modes subjected to the frequency offset compensation. (FIG. 1) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the transceiver taught in Tanimura such that Niu’s MIMO circuit was placed after the frequency offset compensators for combining the signals. Such a combination would merely be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Wherein, the predictable result is a transceiver with separately offset compensated signals being combined using a MIMO circuit . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimura (EP2475114B1) in light of Niu (M. Niu, J. Cheng and J. F. Holzman, "MIMO architecture for coherent optical wireless communication: System design and performance," in Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, vol. 5, no. 5, pp. 411-420, May 2013) and in further light of Kisaka (US Pat. App. Pub. 2016/0065326 A1) . Regarding Claim 2 , the combination of Tanimura and Niu teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 1, wherein the frequency offset compensator provides a phase rotation associated with each frequency offset amount to the coherently received signal for each of a plurality of frequency offset amounts ( Tanimura, FIG. 11; [0061] (“the frequency offset compensator 52a is realized by a phase rotator”)), calculates a cross-correlation between the signal provided with the phase rotation and the training signal ( Tanimura, [0062] (“adjusts the frequency of the signal component of the partial band 29a using the frequency offset obtained based on the reference signal”)), the combination of Tanimura and Niu does not teach and determines a frequency offset compensation amount, based on intensity of a peak of the cross-correlation. Kisaka teaches and determines a frequency offset compensation amount, based on intensity of a peak of the cross-correlation. ([0069] (“the known signal detector 215 may obtain a cross correlation between the known signal sequence stored in the receiver side and the digital received-signal sequence, and detect a peak position of the cross correlation as the insertion position of the known signal sequence”); FIG. 6: 216) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the peak of the cross-correlation technique taught by Kisaka . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on the peak of the cross-correlation. Tanimura and Kisaka are both relate to optical communication systems and are therefore analogous art. Regarding Claim 4 , the combination of Tanimura , Niu , and Kisaka teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 2, wherein the frequency offset compensator compares intensity of the peaks detected for each of the plurality of frequency offset amounts, and determines the frequency offset compensation amount, based on a comparison result of the detected intensity of the peaks. ( Kisaka , [0069] (“the known signal detector 215 may obtain a cross correlation between the known signal sequence stored in the receiver side and the digital received-signal sequence, and detect a peak position of the cross correlation as the insertion position of the known signal sequence”); FIG. 6: 216) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the peak of the cross-correlation technique taught by Kisaka . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on the peak of the cross-correlation. Regarding Claim 5 , the combination of Tanimura , Niu , and Kisaka teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 2, wherein the frequency offset compensator determines, as the frequency offset compensation amount, a frequency offset amount having a largest intensity of the peak among the plurality of frequency offset amounts. ( Kisaka , [0069] (“the known signal detector 215 may obtain a cross correlation between the known signal sequence stored in the receiver side and the digital received-signal sequence, and detect a peak position of the cross correlation as the insertion position of the known signal sequence”); FIG. 6: 216) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the peak of the cross-correlation technique taught by Kisaka . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on the peak of the cross-correlation. Regarding Claim 6 , the combination of Tanimura , Niu , and Kisaka teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 2, wherein the frequency offset compensator controls the frequency offset amount for each of the plurality of modes ( Tanimura, [0062] (“adjusts the frequency of the signal component of the partial band 29a using the frequency offset obtained based on the reference signal”)), provides a phase rotation associated with the controlled frequency offset amount for the coherently received signal ([0061] (“the frequency offset compensator 52a is realized by a phase rotator”)), calculates a cross-correlation between the signal provided with the phase rotation and the training signal ( Tanimura, [0062] (“adjusts the frequency of the signal component of the partial band 29a using the frequency offset obtained based on the reference signal”)), detects intensity of a peak in the calculated cross-correlation, and determines a frequency offset compensation amount, based on the detected intensity of the peak of the cross-correlation. ( Kisaka , [0069] (“the known signal detector 215 may obtain a cross correlation between the known signal sequence stored in the receiver side and the digital received-signal sequence, and detect a peak position of the cross correlation as the insertion position of the known signal sequence”); FIG. 6: 216) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the peak of the cross-correlation technique taught by Kisaka . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on the peak of the cross-correlation. Regarding Claim 7 , the combination of Tanimura , Niu , and Kisaka teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 6, wherein the frequency offset compensator provides a plurality of phase rotations each associated with a plurality of frequency offset amounts to the coherently received signal ( Tanimura, [0062] (“adjusts the frequency of the signal component of the partial band 29a using the frequency offset obtained based on the reference signal”)), calculates, for each of the plurality of frequency offset amounts, a cross-correlation between the signal provided with the phase rotation and the training signal ( Id. ), detects, for each of the plurality of frequency offset amounts, intensity of a peak in the calculated cross-correlation ( Kisaka , [0069] (“the known signal detector 215 may obtain a cross correlation between the known signal sequence stored in the receiver side and the digital received-signal sequence, and detect a peak position of the cross correlation as the insertion position of the known signal sequence”); FIG. 6: 216), determines a frequency offset compensation amount, based on the detected intensity of the peak for each of the plurality of frequency offset amounts ( Id. ), and provides a frequency offset amount determined as the frequency offset compensation amount to the coherently received signal. ( Tanimura, [0062] (“adjusts the frequency of the signal component of the partial band 29a using the frequency offset obtained based on the reference signal”)) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the peak of the cross-correlation technique taught by Kisaka . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on the peak of the cross-correlation. Regarding Claim 8 , the combination of Tanimura , Niu , and Kisaka teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 6, wherein the frequency offset compensator detects a peak position with respect to the cross-correlation after the frequency offset compensation amount is determined. ( Kisaka , [0069] (“the known signal detector 215 may obtain a cross correlation between the known signal sequence stored in the receiver side and the digital received-signal sequence, and detect a peak position of the cross correlation as the insertion position of the known signal sequence”); FIG. 6: 216) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the peak of the cross-correlation technique taught by Kisaka . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on the peak of the cross-correlation. Regarding Claim 9 , the combination of Tanimura , Niu , and Kisaka teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 8, wherein the frequency offset compensator averages the cross-correlation calculated in each of the plurality of modes and detects a position of a peak in the averaged cross-correlation. ( Tanimura , [0066] (“A summation calculator 83 obtains the sum of the calculation results of the 4th power calculator 82 for N symbols, where N is a block size for averaging calculation and is determined, for example, depending on ASE noise and phase noise of the light source that generates the local oscillation light.”)) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the peak of the cross-correlation technique taught by Kisaka . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on the peak of the cross-correlation. Regarding Claim 10 , the combination of Tanimura , Niu , and Kisaka teaches The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 8, wherein the detected position of the peak is used for frame synchronization. ([0068] (“output the position as timing information (frame synchronization information) to the buffers 211x and 211y”)) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the peak of the cross-correlation technique taught by Kisaka . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on the peak of the cross-correlation . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanimura (EP2475114B1) in light of Niu (M. Niu, J. Cheng and J. F. Holzman, "MIMO architecture for coherent optical wireless communication: System design and performance," in Journal of Optical Communications and Networking, vol. 5, no. 5, pp. 411-420, May 2013) and in further light of ‘694 (JP 7393694 B2) . Regarding Claim 3 , the combination of Tanimura and Niu teach The spatial multiplexing optical receiver according to claim 2, wherein the frequency offset compensator provides a phase rotation associated with each frequency offset amount to the coherently received signal ( Tanimura, [0062] (“adjusts the frequency of the signal component of the partial band 29a using the frequency offset obtained based on the reference signal”)) the combination of Tanimura and Niu does not teach while changing the frequency offset amount in a predetermined sweep range. ‘694 teaches while changing the frequency offset amount in a predetermined sweep range. (p. 4-5 (“The coefficient updating unit 272 optimizes the coefficients so that the evaluation function regarding the output signal obtained using the inverse characteristic response model and the simulated received signal is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold”)) Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tanimura’s frequency offset compensator to use the predetermined range technique taught by ‘694 . Such a combination would merely be applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. Wherein, the predictable result is a frequency offset compensator that bases the offset compensation amount on a predetermined range. Tanimura and ‘694 both relate to optical communication systems and are therefore analogous art. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PAUL M BROCK whose telephone number is (571)272-7257. The examiner can normally be reached 8-4:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kenneth Vanderpuye can be reached at (571) 272-3078. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PAUL MORGAN BROCK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2634 June 9, 2026 /KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 2 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 3 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 4 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 5 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 6 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 7 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 8 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 9 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 10 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 11 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 12 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 13 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 14 Art Unit: 2634 Application/Control Number: 19/001,881 Page 15 Art Unit: 2634