DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claims 26 (2nd instance) and 28 have been renumbered as claims 28 and 29.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-24 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bauer (US 4,331,514).
Regarding claim 19, Bauer discloses a fluid sensor adapter comprising: a first chamber, wherein the first chamber comprises a first segment 4b, a third segment 15 and a second segment 4 between the first and the third segments (see Figure); wherein the third segment 15 comprises at least one vent (17,17a), an O-ring 15b, and a plug 13; and wherein the first segment comprises an O-ring 4c.
Regarding claim 20, Bauer discloses that the first segment comprises a shoulder that facilitates a decrease in diameter from the first segment 4b to the second segment 4 (see Figure, segment 4b has a sloped shoulder that narrows to segment 4).
Regarding claim 21, Bauer discloses that the second segment 4 comprises a shoulder (at entrance to duct 14, the periphery of the opening to 14 is a rim or shoulder) that facilitates a narrowing at an entrance to the third segment 15 from the second segment 4 (see Figure).
Regarding claim 22, Bauer discloses that the plug 13 and the O-ring 15b are located at a top of the third segment 15 (see Figure).
Regarding claim 23, Bauer discloses that the at least one vent 17,17a is located at a bottom of the third segment 15 (see Figure).
Regarding claim 24, Bauer discloses that an entrance (at duct 15a) to the third segment 15 from the second segment is adjacent an inlet of the at least one vent 17,17a (see Figure, inlet to vent next to entrance duct 15a along the same side of segment 15 with nothing or no openings in between).
Regarding claim 26, Bauer discloses that the at least one vent 17,17a has a substantially horizontal portion (see Figure, portion at top of U bend in pipe 17 is horizontal, also top opening of vent part 17a is horizontal in that the opening is aligned along the horizontal direction).
Regarding claim 27, Bauer disclose that the third segment 15 includes two vents (vent 17,17a and vent 13) that each vent to opposite sides of the fluid sensor adapter and each vent has a substantially horizontal portion (see Figure, vents are located at opposite ends of segment 15, and both have some portion or surface that is “horizontal”).
Regarding claim 28 (as renumbered), Bauer discloses that the third segment 15 includes two vents that are spaced apart 180° from each other (vent 17,17a and vent 13 are spaced such that fluid direction travel toward one from entrance 15a is 180º from the fluid direction travel to get to the other one, see Figure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heath (US 1,366,382).
Regarding claim 1, Heath discloses a fluid sensor adapter comprising: a first chamber (2,3,24) comprising an inlet (shown at lower left of element 2 in Fig. 1, not labeled) configured to receive diesel exhaust fluid (see Fig. 1, chamber with inlet on part 2 is capable of receiving any fluid, including a diesel exhaust fluid); wherein the first chamber includes a first segment 2 at a proximal end of the fluid sensor adapter, a third segment 24 at a distal end of the sensor adapter and a second segment 3 in between the first and the third segments; wherein a diameter of the second segment 3 is less than a diameter of the first segment 2 (see Fig. 1); and wherein the decrease in diameter from the first segment to the second segment and an entrance to the third segment from the second segment comprise a tortuous vent pathway configured to prevent air in a fluid from reaching a sensor 25 (see Fig. 1, the path from space 2 to 3 to 24 is tortuous and necessarily would function to prevent any air in the fluid from reaching sensor 25).
Heath does not disclose a controller in communication with a vehicle’s electronic control circuit to communicate a warning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included together with the fluid sensor adapter of Heath, a conventional vehicle such as an automobile, which are and have been known to include a controller of some kind in communication with an electronic control unit that communicates warnings, i.e. all modern automobiles include some type of controller in communication with an electronic control unit that communicate warnings like tire pressure and check engine notifications. It would have been obvious because it would allow the fluid sensor adapter device to be easily transported by the vehicle/automobile. Note that the claim language does not require any type of relationship between the controller/vehicle and the fluid sensor adapter other than that they are part of the same “assembly.”
Regarding claim 2, Heath discloses the entrance to the third segment 24 from the second segment 3 is more narrow than the diameter of the second segment (see Fig. 1, narrow passage that leads from part 3 to part 24).
Regarding claim 9, Heath does not disclose that the first segment includes an O-ring, but does disclose there is a connection between the first segment 2 and the narrow tubular passage to the entrance to the second segment 3 (see Fig. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would have known that o-rings are known and routinely used to facilitate a seal on a tubular connection such as this. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an o-ring between the upper opening of Heath’s first segment space 2 and the tubular connected passage at the lower end of the second segment 3, because it would ensure a fluid seal at the connection.
Regarding claim 11, Heath discloses the sensor adapter further including a second chamber 13, wherein the second chamber is positioned adjacent the first chamber but is fluidly isolated from the first chamber (see Fig. 1, chamber 13 is next to first chamber and fluidly isolated).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,181,321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent each fully include all of the limitations of the claims of the application (with claim 1 of the patent corresponding to claims 1-3 of the application and claims 2-9 of the patent corresponding to claims 4-11 of the application, respectively), except that claim 1 of the application also requires the additional limitation of a controller in communication with a vehicle’s electronic control circuit to communicate a warning. A vehicle with some type of controller communicating with its electronic control circuit to communicate a warning is characteristic of nearly all modern automobiles that include any type of sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a modern vehicle as part of an assembly with the fluid sensor adapter of the claims of the patent because these types of vehicle control elements allow a user to know when errors are present, such as items that would trigger a check-engine light.
Claims 12-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,181,321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 8 includes or requires of all of the limitations of claims 12-15 of the application except that claim 12 of the application also requires the additional limitation of a controller in communication with a vehicle’s electronic control circuit to communicate a warning. A vehicle with some type of controller communicating with its electronic control circuit to communicate a warning is characteristic of nearly all modern automobiles that include any type of sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a modern vehicle as part of an assembly with the fluid sensor adapter of claim 8 of the patent because these types of vehicle control elements allow a user to know when errors are present, such as items that would trigger a check-engine light.
Claims 16-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,181,321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 14-16 of the patent include or requires of all of the limitations of claims 16-18 of the application except that claim 12 (from which claims 16-18 depend) of the application also requires the additional limitation of a controller in communication with a vehicle’s electronic control circuit to communicate a warning. A vehicle with some type of controller communicating with its electronic control circuit to communicate a warning is characteristic of nearly all modern automobiles that include any type of sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have included a modern vehicle as part of an assembly with the fluid sensor adapter of claims 14-16 of the patent because these types of vehicle control elements allow a user to know when errors are present, such as items that would trigger a check-engine light.
Claims 19-21 and 26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,181,321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 14 of the patent requires all of the limitations required by claims 19-21 of the application and claim 15 of the patent includes or requires all the limitations required by claim 26 of the application.
Claim 29 (as renumbered) is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,181,321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the patent includes or anticipates all of the limitations of claim 29 of the application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-18 and 28 would be allowable if the non-statutory double patenting rejection were overcome with the filing of the properly executed terminal disclaimer.
Claims 3-8 and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including double patenting rejection were overcome with the filing of the properly executed terminal disclaimer.
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 12, Heath fails to disclose or suggest the third segment including a plug and an o-ring.
With regard to claim 28, Heath fails to disclose or suggest the second segment and the third segment having approximately the same diameter.
With regard to claim 3, Heath fails to disclose or suggest the diameter of the second segment and a diameter of the third segment being approximately equal.
With regard to claim 10, Heath fails to disclose or suggest the third segment including a plug and an o-ring.
With regard to claim 25, Bauer fails to disclose or suggest the entrance and the inlet being separated by a shelf and fluid flow from the entrance to the inlet requiring a 180º turn.
Conclusion
/PAUL M. WEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855