DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/14/2026 has been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 1-12 and 14-21 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 12, 14, 17 and 19 have been amended, claim 13 has been canceled and claim 21 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the present rejection constitutes a new ground of rejection. The present rejection no longer relies only on, Guichard, Hill, Patro and Dutta for the disputed limitations, but instead relies on Aziz, Guichard, Hariguchi, Patro, Dutta and Baugher for teachings set forth in the rejection. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments directed to the prior combination are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-12 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Aziz et al.( US 5416842 A)[hereinafter” Aziz”] in view of Guichard et al.(US 7620975 B2) [hereinafter “Guichard”] and in view of Hariguchi et al.( US 20020080798 A1)[hereinafter ”Hariguchi”].
As per claim 1, Aziz discloses a method implemented by a first network device, (Aziz,[col.1 ln35-42]” only the firewall servers need to participate in the SKIP scheme”) wherein the method comprises:
generating, at the first network device and based on the first parameter, at least one key, (Aziz,[col.2 ln4-19],[col.7 ln35-40]” Node I provides a data packet including IP data and a destination address for the intended receiving computer node J, to firewall FWA. Firewall FWA is provided with a secret value a, and a public value .varies..sup.a mod p. Similarly, firewall FWB is provided with a secret value b and a public value .varies..sup.b mod p. The firewall FWA obtains a Diffie-Hellman (DH) certificate for firewall FWB and determines the public value .varies..sup.b mod p from the DH certificate. Firewall FWA then computes the value of .varies..sup.ab mod p, and derives a key K.sub.ab from the value .varies. .sup.ab mod p. A transient key K.sub.p is generated randomly and is configured for use with a predetermined number of data packets” and “The first time the IP firewall, such as firewall FWA, which has been provided with the secret value a, communicates with the firewall FWB which has been provided with a secret value b, the firewall FWA computes the shared secret .varies..sup.ab mod p. The firewall FWA can then cache this shared secret as the long-term key K.sub.ab. FWA then generates a random key K.sub.p and encrypts this key using K.sub.ab”)
wherein the at least one key is used to encrypt a data packet from the first network device to a network indicated by the routing prefix or [decrypt a data packet from the network indicated by the routing prefix to the first network device;] (Aziz,[Abstract]” K.sub.p is used to encrypt the data packet to be transmitted by firewall FWA to firewall FWB” and “Upon receipt of the transmission packet from firewall FWA, firewall FWB obtains a DH certificate for firewall FWA, and determines the public value of .varies..sup.a mod p from the DH certificate. Firewall FWB computes the value of .varies..sup.ab mod p, and derives the key K.sub.ab. Firewall B utilizes the key K.sub.ab to decrypt the transient key K.sub.p, and using the decrypted transient key K.sub.p, firewall FWB decrypts the encrypted data packet received from FWA”).
indicates to encrypt, (Aziz,[col.1 ln47-49]” When a firewall receives an IP packet from an interior site node intended for a remote firewall, it encrypts the IP packet and sends it encapsulated in another IP packet destined for the remote firewall.”) before a data packet whose destination address belongs to the network is forwarded, (Aziz,[col.5 ln56-58]” Referring now generally to the flowcharts of FIGS. 3 and 4, utilizing the map a firewall determines whether a data packet is intended for a remote node across the public part of the Internet 20, and if that is the case, the firewall looks up the corresponding IP address of the remote firewall.”) the data packet using the at least one key generated at the first network device. (Aziz,[col.7 ln40-45], [col.2, ln19-21” FWA then generates a random key K.sub.p and encrypts this key using K.sub.ab. As illustrated in flow chart of FIG. 3, FWA encrypts the IP packet in key K.sub.p including the original IP header and data” and “K.sub.p is used to encrypt the data packet to be transmitted by firewall FWA to firewall FWB”).
Aziz does not disclose
receiving a first route advertisement packet comprising a routing prefix and first encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, wherein the first encryption extended information comprises a first parameter; and
generating, based on the first route advertisement packet, a routing entry comprising the routing prefix,
However, Guichard in the same field of endeavor discloses
receiving a first route advertisement packet([Guichard, (col.4, ln50-60)” The first Customer Edge (CE) device in the first customer site receives an advertisement from a Customer (C) device in the first customer site indicating links, the subnets to be encrypted, and the security group identifiers.”) comprising a routing prefix and first encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, ([Guichard, (col.1 ln60-65)” a method of providing routing protocol support for distributing encryption information wherein a message indicating subnet prefixes within a first customer site that are to be encrypted ….”) wherein the first encryption extended information comprises a first parameter([Guichard, (col.1 ln50-52)”… Also identified are security groups the subnet prefixes belong to.”)
generating, based on the first route advertisement packet, a routing entry comprising the routing prefix, ([Guichard, Abstract, (col.5 ln 1-5)” The advertisement indicates links, subnets to be encrypted, and security group identifiers. The prefixes and the security group identifiers are then propagated across a service provider network to a second CE device located in a second customer site” and “Once the routing control plane has been established, encrypted packets may be transmitted from the first C device to a second C device, from the first C device to a second CE device, or from a first CE device to the second C device.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Aziz to include receiving a first route advertisement packet comprising a routing prefix and first encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, wherein the first encryption extended information comprises a first parameter; and generating, based on the first route advertisement packet, a routing entry comprising the routing prefix as suggested by Guichard. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Aziz requires “providing the firewalls with a map of all valid IP addresses “(Aziz, col.5, ln 44-45), and Guichard teaches distributing such prefix and encryption information through the routing protocol” such that encryption can be used from a device in one customer site, across the service provider network, to another device in a second customer site”(Guichard, col.1 ln46-47), thereby allowing the first network device to learn the protected prefixes and key-generation parameter dynamically from route advertisements instead of by static provisioning.
The combination of Aziz and Guichard fails to disclose
wherein the routing entry indicates an outbound interface on the first network device to the network indicated by the routing prefix and
However, Hariguchi on the same field of endeavor discloses
wherein the routing entry(Hariguchi, [0079]” the route entry table 124 stores a destination IP address 136, a prefix length 138, a next hop's IP address 140 and address port information 142 that is associated with the return route pointers”) indicates an outbound interface on the first network device (Hariguchi, [0028],[0067], [0066]” The router has output ports for transmitting the message” and “output ports 90 over which to transmit packets”) to the network indicated by the routing prefix(Hariguchi, [0076]”The routing table 80 determines whether at least a portion of the destination address matches a stored address and supplies next hop information to the prepend address logic 86 based on a match, if any, between at least a portion of the destination address and the stored address.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Aziz to include receiving a first route advertisement packet comprising a routing prefix and first encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, wherein the first encryption extended information comprises a first parameter; and generating, based on the first route advertisement packet, a routing entry comprising the routing prefix as suggested by Guichard to further include wherein the routing entry indicates an outbound interface on the first network device to the network indicated by the routing prefix as taught by Hariguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hariguchi teaches that “The return route pointer determines which one of the output ports routes the message.” (Hariguchi, [0028]) and that “Because the number of levels in the routing table is predetermined, the routing table circuit performs a search in a fixed amount of time” (Hariguchi, [0030]), thereby enabling the first network device to quickly select the port on which to forward the encrypted data packet toward the network indicated by the routing prefix.
As per claim 2, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 1. Guichard further discloses wherein the first route advertisement packet comprises a first type-length-value (TLV) field, ([Guichard, (col.7 ln1-5)” OSPF is also used for signaling Tunnel endpoint information and utilizes an OSPF IPv4 tunnel capability Type Length Value (TLV) that is carried within the OSPF router information LSA”)and wherein the first TLV field comprises the first parameter. ([Guichard, (col.7 ln 30-33), (col.5 ln25-33)” For DGVPN peer mode operation it is necessary to advertise the IPSec endpoint address and this will be carried within the "Tunnel Endpoint Address" field of the OSPF IPv4 Tunnel capability TLV. The Tunnel ID and Tunnel-Group ID are set to NULL” and “Group members, therefore, collectively include the customer routers that will apply the encryption and have access to the DGVPN mechanisms that distributed the encryption policy parameters”).
As per claim 3, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 2. Guichard further discloses wherein the first encryption extended information further comprises information indicating a first encryption network topology, ([Guichard, Abstract]” The advertisement indicates links, subnets to be encrypted, and security group identifiers…The prefixes and the security group identifiers are then propagated across a service provider network to a second CE device located in a second customer site”)a plurality of network devices forming the first encryption network topology, ([Guichard, (col.4 ln22-30)]” DGVPN, provide for encryption from CE 18 across the service provider network through PE 28, through backbone 30, PE 32 to CE 36. By way of the present invention the encryption is extended into the customer sites such that encrypted packets can travel from C router 20 to CE 18, PE 28, backbone 30, PE 32, CE 36 and C 38. The encryption messages received by CE 18 from C 20 in the first routing protocol may be converted into the appropriate messages for the second routing mechanism used between CE 18 and PE 28.”)and that the plurality of network devices is allowed to establish an encrypted connection. ([Guichard, (col.3 ln55-60)]” encryption and authentication is expanded further into a customer site as customer devices are able to indicate to a service provider network infrastructure and other customer devices in other customer sites which local destinations require encryption/authentication.”).
As per claim 4, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 3. Guichard further discloses wherein the first route advertisement packet comprises further comprises a second TLV field, and wherein the second TLV field comprises the information. ([Guichard, (col.9 ln20-23)]” Regardless of which mode of operation is used, a further TLV is used so as to indicate which prefixes require encryption. This sub-TLV is of the following format and may carry multiple prefix/prefix mask entries”).
As per claim 5, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 4. Guichard further discloses wherein the first route advertisement packet is a Border Gateway Protocol (BGP) message or an Interior Gateway Protocol (IGP) message. ([Guichard, (col.4 ln5-10)]” The service provider network 14 includes a first Provider Edge (PE) router 28 which is coupled to CE router 18 of customer site 12. The Service Provider network 14 also includes a second PE router 32 which is coupled to the CE router 36 of the customer site 16. Within the Service Provider network 14, each PE router 28 and 32 is coupled to a backbone 30. The customer sites 12 and 16 utilize a first routing mechanism such as an Internal Gateway Protocol (IGP). Examples of IGPs include Open Shortest Path First (OSPF), Enhanced Interior Gateway Routing Protocol (EIGRP) and Routing Information Protocol (RIP). The Service Provider Network 14 uses a different routing mechanism than the ones used by the customer sites 12 and 16. The Service Provider Networks may use an Exterior Gateway Protocol (EGP) such as Border Gateway Protocol (BGP).”).
As per claim 7, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 5. Guichard further discloses wherein the first route advertisement packet is an Open Shortest Path First (OSPF) message([Guichard, (col.7 ln1-5),(col.8 ln30-33)]” OSPF is also used for signaling Tunnel endpoint information and utilizes an OSPF IPv4 tunnel capability Type Length Value (TLV) that is carried within the OSPF router information LSA” and “The Security Gateway Identifier (SGI) information is carried within a sub-TLV ”) comprising a link state advertisement sub-TLV field, and wherein the link state advertisement sub-TLV field comprises the first TLV field and the second TLV field. ([Guichard, (col.6 ln42-46)]” For CE to PE peer mode operation with OSPF, a router informational Link State Advertisement (LSA) with Opaque type of 4 and Opaque ID of 0 is used.”).
As per claim 8, the references as combined above disclose the method of claim 1.Aziz further discloses obtaining a target packet; (Aziz,[col.1 ln47-49]” When a firewall receives an IP packet from an interior site node intended for a remote firewall, it encrypts the IP packet and sends it encapsulated in another IP packet destined for the remote firewall.”)
the target packet using the at least one key based on an indication of the routing entry.( [col.7 ln35-40], [col.5 ln 49-54]” FWA then generates a random key K.sub.p and encrypts this key using K.sub.ab. As illustrated in flow chart of FIG. 3, FWA encrypts the IP packet in key K.sub.p including the original IP header and data” and “utilizing the map a firewall determines whether a data packet is intended for a remote node across the public part of the Internet 20, and if that is the case, the firewall looks up the corresponding IP address of the remote firewall.”) and Guichard further discloses
encrypting, when a destination address of the target packet matches the routing prefix in the routing entry, ([Guichard, (col.5 ln25-30)]” The subnet prefix identifies the subrange of addresses to which encryption should be applied to packets when forwarded toward the said subnet…The CE router identifies a communication as belonging to a group when the packet of such a communication is within one of the address prefixes, or subranges, of the group. ”).
As per claim 9, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 3. Guichard further discloses wherein the first TLV field comprises an identifier of one or more network devices([Guichard, (col.7 ln1-5), (col.7 ln30-33)]” OSPF is also used for signaling Tunnel endpoint information and utilizes an OSPF IPv4 tunnel capability Type Length Value (TLV) that is carried within the OSPF router information LSA” and “For DGVPN peer mode operation it is necessary to advertise the IPSec endpoint address and this will be carried within the "Tunnel Endpoint Address" field of the OSPF IPv4 Tunnel capability TLV. The Tunnel ID and Tunnel-Group ID are set to NULL. The Security Gateway Identifier (SGI) information is carried within a sub-TLV as follows…”) that need to establish an encrypted connection to a second network device in the first encryption network topology, ([Guichard, (Col. 5 ln29-43), (col.6 ln21-30)]” Group members, therefore, collectively include the customer routers that will apply the encryption and have access to the DGVPN mechanisms that distributed the encryption policy parameters. …The gateway router then employs the group key corresponding to the group ID for encrypting the communication before sending the communication to the remote CE router protecting the customer site subnet” and “In such an environment 10, a customer host 40 on subnet 46 is operable to send a message to a customer host 26 using encryption between CE 36 and CE 18, because each subnet 46 and 48 is a member of the group and served by the respective router PE 32 and PE 28 having the group routing information in the routing table”) and wherein the second network device is a border device in the network. ([Guichard, (Col.5 ln20-25), (col.5 ln45-46)]” Group IDs are used to identify the parameters to use when encrypting/decrypting traffic to/from customer edge routers, which are devices operable to protect a particular subnet, identified by a subnet prefix” and “CE router 18 is operable to control access to a subnet including a plurality of customer hosts 22, 24 and 26.”).
As per claim 10, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 4. Guichard further discloses wherein the second TLV field indicates the first encryption network topology to which one or more network devices belong and an identifier of the one or more network devices, ([Guichard, (Col. 5 ln29-43)” Group members, therefore, collectively include the customer routers that will apply the encryption and have access to the DGVPN mechanisms that distributed the encryption policy parameters. ”) and wherein the second network device is a border device in the network. ([Guichard, (col.4 ln1-5),(col.4 ln 6-10)]” The customer site 12 includes a Customer Edge (CE) router 18. CE router 18 is coupled to a customer C router 20 ” and “The service provider network 14 includes a first Provider Edge (PE) router 28 which is coupled to CE router 18 of customer site 12. The Service Provider network 14 also includes a second PE router 32 which is coupled to the CE router 36 of the customer site 16.”).
As per claim 11, the references as combined above discloses the method of claim 1. Guichard further disclose the method comprising: generating second encryption extended information comprising a second parameter for key generation and information about a second encryption network topology, wherein the information indicates a plurality of network devices forming the second encryption network topology and that the plurality of network devices is allowed to establish an encrypted connection; ([Guichard, (Abstract),(col.4 ln49-55)]” The advertisement indicates links, subnets to be encrypted, and security group identifiers. The prefixes and the security group identifiers are then propagated across a service provider network to other CE devices located in one or more customer sites” and “The encryption information is distributed by identifying subnet prefixes reachable on a first customer site and by identifying, with security group identifiers, security groups the subnet prefixes belong to”) replacing the first encryption extended information in the first route advertisement packet with the second encryption extended information to obtain a second route advertisement packet; ([Guichard, (col.4 ln60-65)]” The receipt of an advertisement from a C device in the first customer site is done using a first routing mechanism (e.g. OSPF) and the propagating of the prefixes and the security group identifiers across the service provider network is done using a second routing mechanism (e.g., BGP). As a result, the advertisement is converted from an advertisement associated with the first routing mechanism to an advertisement associated with the second routing mechanism.”)and sending the second route advertisement packet to a neighbor device. ([Guichard, (col.4 ln 55-60)]” The CE device propagates the prefixes and the security group identifiers across a service provider network to a second CE device located in a second customer site”).
As per claim 12, Aziz discloses a network device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, (Aziz,[col.4 ln40-45]” a data processing system in accordance with the teachings of the present invention. Shown is a computer 10, which comprises three major components. The first of these is an input/output (I/O) circuit 12 which is used to communicate information in appropriately structured form to and from other portions of the computer 10. In addition, computer 10 includes a central processing (CPU) 13 coupled to the I/O circuit 12 and a memory 14. ”) cause the network device to:
generate, at the first network device and based on the first parameter, at least one key, (Aziz,[col.2 ln4-19],[col.7 ln35-40]” Node I provides a data packet including IP data and a destination address for the intended receiving computer node J, to firewall FWA. Firewall FWA is provided with a secret value a, and a public value .varies..sup.a mod p. Similarly, firewall FWB is provided with a secret value b and a public value .varies..sup.b mod p. The firewall FWA obtains a Diffie-Hellman (DH) certificate for firewall FWB and determines the public value .varies..sup.b mod p from the DH certificate. Firewall FWA then computes the value of .varies..sup.ab mod p, and derives a key K.sub.ab from the value .varies. .sup.ab mod p. A transient key K.sub.p is generated randomly and is configured for use with a predetermined number of data packets” and “The first time the IP firewall, such as firewall FWA, which has been provided with the secret value a, communicates with the firewall FWB which has been provided with a secret value b, the firewall FWA computes the shared secret .varies..sup.ab mod p. The firewall FWA can then cache this shared secret as the long-term key K.sub.ab. FWA then generates a random key K.sub.p and encrypts this key using K.sub.ab”).
wherein the at least one key is used to encrypt a data packet from the first network device to a network indicated by the routing prefix or [decrypt a data packet from the network indicated by the routing prefix to the first network device;] (Aziz,[Abstract]” K.sub.p is used to encrypt the data packet to be transmitted by firewall FWA to firewall FWB” and “Upon receipt of the transmission packet from firewall FWA, firewall FWB obtains a DH certificate for firewall FWA, and determines the public value of .varies..sup.a mod p from the DH certificate. Firewall FWB computes the value of .varies..sup.ab mod p, and derives the key K.sub.ab. Firewall B utilizes the key K.sub.ab to decrypt the transient key K.sub.p, and using the decrypted transient key K.sub.p, firewall FWB decrypts the encrypted data packet received from FWA”).
indicates to encrypt, (Aziz,[col.1 ln47-49]” When a firewall receives an IP packet from an interior site node intended for a remote firewall, it encrypts the IP packet and sends it encapsulated in another IP packet destined for the remote firewall.”) before a data packet whose destination address belongs to the network is forwarded, (Aziz,[col.5 ln56-58]” Referring now generally to the flowcharts of FIGS. 3 and 4, utilizing the map a firewall determines whether a data packet is intended for a remote node across the public part of the Internet 20, and if that is the case, the firewall looks up the corresponding IP address of the remote firewall.”) the data packet using the at least one key generated at the first network device. (Aziz,[col.7 ln40-45], [col.2, ln19-21” FWA then generates a random key K.sub.p and encrypts this key using K.sub.ab. As illustrated in flow chart of FIG. 3, FWA encrypts the IP packet in key K.sub.p including the original IP header and data” and “K.sub.p is used to encrypt the data packet to be transmitted by firewall FWA to firewall FWB”)
Aziz does not disclose
receive a first route advertisement packet comprising a routing prefix and first encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, wherein the first encryption extended information comprises a first parameter; and
generate, based on the first route advertisement packet, a routing entry comprising the routing prefix,
However, Guichard in the same field of endeavor discloses
receive a first route advertisement packet([Guichard, (col.4, ln50-60)” The first Customer Edge (CE) device in the first customer site receives an advertisement from a Customer (C) device in the first customer site indicating links, the subnets to be encrypted, and the security group identifiers.”) comprising a routing prefix and first encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, ([Guichard, (col.1 ln60-65)” a method of providing routing protocol support for distributing encryption information wherein a message indicating subnet prefixes within a first customer site that are to be encrypted ….”) wherein the first encryption extended information comprises a first parameter([Guichard, (col.1 ln50-52)”… Also identified are security groups the subnet prefixes belong to.”)
generate, based on the first route advertisement packet, a routing entry comprising the routing prefix, ([Guichard, Abstract, (col.5 ln 1-5)” The advertisement indicates links, subnets to be encrypted, and security group identifiers. The prefixes and the security group identifiers are then propagated across a service provider network to a second CE device located in a second customer site” and “Once the routing control plane has been established, encrypted packets may be transmitted from the first C device to a second C device, from the first C device to a second CE device, or from a first CE device to the second C device.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Aziz to include receiving a first route advertisement packet comprising a routing prefix and first encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, wherein the first encryption extended information comprises a first parameter; and generating, based on the first route advertisement packet, a routing entry comprising the routing prefix as suggested by Guichard. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Aziz requires “providing the firewalls with a map of all valid IP addresses “(Aziz, col.5, ln 44-45), and Guichard teaches distributing such prefix and encryption information through the routing protocol” such that encryption can be used from a device in one customer site, across the service provider network, to another device in a second customer site”(Guichard, col.1 ln46-47), thereby allowing the first network device to learn the protected prefixes and key-generation parameter dynamically from route advertisements instead of by static provisioning.
The combination of Aziz and Guichard fails to disclose
wherein the routing entry indicates an outbound interface on the first network device to the network indicated by the routing prefix and
However, Hariguchi on the same field of endeavor discloses
wherein the routing entry(Hariguchi, [0079]” the route entry table 124 stores a destination IP address 136, a prefix length 138, a next hop's IP address 140 and address port information 142 that is associated with the return route pointers”) indicates an outbound interface on the first network device (Hariguchi, [0028],[0067], [0066]” The router has output ports for transmitting the message” and “output ports 90 over which to transmit packets”) to the network indicated by the routing prefix(Hariguchi, [0076]”The routing table 80 determines whether at least a portion of the destination address matches a stored address and supplies next hop information to the prepend address logic 86 based on a match, if any, between at least a portion of the destination address and the stored address.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Aziz to include receive a first route advertisement packet comprising a routing prefix and first encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, wherein the first encryption extended information comprises a first parameter; and generate, based on the first route advertisement packet, a routing entry comprising the routing prefix as suggested by Guichard to further include wherein the routing entry indicates an outbound interface on the first network device to the network indicated by the routing prefix as taught by Hariguchi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Hariguchi teaches that “The return route pointer determines which one of the output ports routes the message.” (Hariguchi, [0028]) and that “Because the number of levels in the routing table is predetermined, the routing table circuit performs a search in a fixed amount of time” (Hariguchi, [0030]), thereby enabling the first network device to quickly select the port on which to forward the encrypted data packet toward the network indicated by the routing prefix.
As per claim 14, the references as combined above discloses the network device of claim 12. Guichard further discloses
wherein the first route advertisement packet comprises a first type-length-value (TLV) field, ([Guichard, col.7 ln1-5]” OSPF is also used for signaling Tunnel endpoint information and utilizes an OSPF IPv4 tunnel capability Type Length Value (TLV) that is carried within the OSPF router information LSA. The format of this TLV is as follows:”) and wherein the first TLV field comprises the first encryption extended information, (col.7 ln30-33)]” For DGVPN peer mode operation with Group Domain of Interpretation (GDOI) group key derivation, it is necessary to advertise the IPSec group identity (GID) as well as the IPSec endpoint addres”)
wherein the first encryption extended information further comprises information indicating a first encryption network topology, ([Guichard, Abstract]” The advertisement indicates links, subnets to be encrypted, and security group identifiers…The prefixes and the security group identifiers are then propagated across a service provider network to a second CE device located in a second customer site”)a plurality of network devices forming the first encryption network topology, ([Guichard, (col.4 ln22-30)]” DGVPN, provide for encryption from CE 18 across the service provider network through PE 28, through backbone 30, PE 32 to CE 36. By way of the present invention the encryption is extended into the customer sites such that encrypted packets can travel from C router 20 to CE 18, PE 28, backbone 30, PE 32, CE 36 and C 38. The encryption messages received by CE 18 from C 20 in the first routing protocol may be converted into the appropriate messages for the second routing mechanism used between CE 18 and PE 28.”)and that the plurality of network devices is allowed to establish an encrypted connection. ([Guichard, (col.3 ln55-60)]” encryption and authentication is expanded further into a customer site as customer devices are able to indicate to a service provider network infrastructure and other customer devices in other customer sites which local destinations require encryption/authentication.”), wherein the first encryption extended information is further carried in a second TLV field in the first route advertisement packet, and wherein the second TLV field indicates the information. ([Guichard, (col.9 ln20-23)]” Regardless of which mode of operation is used, a further TLV is used so as to indicate which prefixes require encryption. This sub-TLV is of the following format and may carry multiple prefix/prefix mask entries”).
As per claim 15, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 5. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 6. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 7. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 18, the substance of the claimed invention is identical or substantially similar to that of claim 8. Accordingly, this claim is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Guichard et al.(US 7620975 B2) [hereinafter “Guichard”] and in view of Patro et al.(US 8954601 B1)[hereinafter ”Patro”].
As per claim 19, Guichard discloses a network device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, ([Guichard, (col.2 ln 40-45)]” the computerized device includes a memory system, a processor, communications interface in an interconnection mechanism connecting these components.”)cause the network device to:
obtain encryption information related to a service, ([Guichard, (Abstract)]” The advertisement indicates links, subnets to be encrypted, and security group identifiers. The prefixes and the security group identifiers are then propagated across a service provider network to other CE devices located in one or more customer sites” )wherein the encryption information indicates an object to which service encryption is applied; ([Guichard, (col.4 ln 45-50)]“The encryption information is distributed by identifying subnet prefixes reachable on a first customer site and by identifying, with security group identifiers, security groups the subnet prefixes belong to”)
generate a route advertisement packet based on the encryption information, ([Guichard, (col.4 ln 65-67)]” the advertisement is converted from an advertisement associated with the first routing mechanism to an advertisement associated with the second routing mechanism”)
wherein the route advertisement packet comprises a routing prefix and encryption extended information related to the routing prefix, ([Guichard, (col.4 ln50-55),(col.10, ln 5-10), (col.10 ln 20-23)]” subnet prefixes reachable on a first customer site are identified” and “ Security group identifiers are used to identify the security groups” and further “subnets to be encrypted, and the security group identifiers.”)and
wherein the encryption extended information comprises a parameter for key generation; (col.7 ln30-33)]”For DGVPN peer mode operation with Group Domain of Interpretation (GDOI) group key derivation, it is necessary to advertise the IPSec group identity (GID) as well as the IPSec endpoint address”).
send the route advertisement packet to a neighbor device(Guichard, [col. ln]” The CE device propagates the prefixes and the security group identifiers across a service provider network to a second CE device located in a second customer site” and “ propagated across a service provider network to other CE devices located in one or more customer sites.”).
Guichard does not disclose
establish, based a preset identity key, an authentication relationship with a first network device for receiving the route advertisement packet;
encrypt, for the first network device and after establishing the authentication relationship, the encryption extended information using the preset identity key;
However, Patro in the same field of endeavor discloses
establish, based a preset identity key, (Patro, col.4, ln 31-34]” Provider edge routers 4 and/or customer edge routers 7 may be pre-configured with security keys for use with authentication and encryption for secure associations”) an authentication relationship with a first network device for receiving the route advertisement packet; (Patro, col.8, ln 66-col.9 ln2]” For this security association, router 20 provides authentication information as a specified authentication credential to the peer router in order to authenticate router 20 to the peer router. In addition, entry 66 specifies that an encryption key identified as "KEY.sub.--1" is to be used when encrypting and decrypting communications for the particular security association.”).
encrypt, for the first network device and after establishing the authentication relationship, (Patro, col.7, ln 49-58]” Upon router 20 negotiating a secure OSPF routing session with the peer using IPSec, including a key exchange using the IKE protocol, rules 47 may create a new entry within descriptor sets 28, by applying rules and taking into account the routing protocol, for identification of the corresponding flow of routing protocol communications with the OSPF peer. Rules 47 also update security associations 38 to store any authentication information and encryption information associated with the OSPF peering session”) the encryption extended information(Patro, col.10, ln 15-18]” Upon selecting the appropriate security association, SMH 46 applies the security association to encrypt/decrypt the outbound/inbound routing protocol communication (92).”) using the preset identity key; (Patro, col.9, ln 2-5]” In addition, entry 66 specifies that an encryption key identified as "KEY.sub.--1" is to be used when encrypting and decrypting communications for the particular security association.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Guichard to include establish, based a preset identity key, an authentication relationship with a first network device for receiving the route advertisement packet;
encrypt, for the first network device and after establishing the authentication relationship, the encryption extended information using the preset identity key as suggested by Patro. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Patro teaches that “the techniques may provide stronger authentication techniques than, for example, MD5, which is weak and easily broken. In addition, the payloads of packets conforming to certain protocols, including OSPFv2, typically cannot be encrypted using MD5” (Patro, col.3 ln11-15), thereby protecting the encryption extended information that Guichard advertises in the OSPF router information LSA.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Aziz et al.( US 5416842 A)[hereinafter” Aziz”] in view of Guichard et al.(US 7620975 B2) [hereinafter “Guichard”] and in view of Hariguchi et al.( US 20020080798 A1)[hereinafter ”Hariguchi”]as applied to claim 5 and further in view of Dutta et al (US-20220124186-A1) [hereinafter “Dutta”].
As per claim 6, the combination of Aziz, Guichard and Hariguchi discloses the method of claim 5. The combination fails to disclose wherein the first route advertisement packet is a BGP update message comprising an extended path attribute field, and wherein the extended path attribute field comprises the first TLV field and the second TLV field.
However, Dutta in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the first route advertisement packet is a BGP update message([Dutta, [0001],[0026])” a BGP session can exchange thirty or more different types of network layer reachability information (NLRI) …” and “Some embodiments of BGP are extended to support the exchange of network layer reachability information (NLRI)”. The Examiner interprets the disclosure of exchanging Network Layer Reachability Information (NLRI) between BGP routers as occurring via a BGP update message in the BGP protocol.)comprising an extended path attribute field, ([Dutta, [0064]-[0068])” FIG. 7 is a common Type-Length-Value (TLV) format 700 according to some embodiments. The TLV format 700 is used in some embodiments of the BGP hello message 500 shown in FIG. 5”… ” A Hello Message carries one or more of the following six TLVs”. The Examiner interprets these TLVs as corresponding to the claimed attribute field)and wherein the extended path attribute field comprises the first TLV field and the second TLV field. ([Dutta, [0062])” Hello messages[ include TLVs] that convey the state and parameters of the local interface and adjacency to other routers on the link.”. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Aziz, Guichard and Hariguchi to include wherein the first route advertisement packet is a BGP update message comprising an extended path attribute field, and wherein the extended path attribute field comprises the first TLV field and the second TLV field as suggested by Dutta. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating Dutta’s TLV-based BGP extension would have predictably allowed additional routing/security parameters to be carried with BGP reachability information in an extensible format, thereby enabling Guichard’s advertised prefixes and security group identifiers to be prepared using BGP while preserving compatibility with existing BGP signaling.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Guichard et al.(US 7620975 B2) [hereinafter “Guichard”] and in view of Patro et al.(US 8954601 B1)[hereinafter ”Patro”] as applied to claim 19 and further in view of CAO et al (EP 4297346 A1) [hereinafter “CAO”].
As per claim 20, the combination of Guichard and Patro discloses the network device of claim 19. The combination failed to disclose wherein the object comprises an address family or a virtual private network (VPN) instance for which an encrypted connection needs to be established, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the network device to further generate the route advertisement packet based on the routing prefix belonging to a network prefix in the address family or the VPN instance, and wherein the routing prefix indicates a second network device that is a border device in a network indicated by the routing prefix.
However, CAO in the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the object comprises an address family or a virtual private network (VPN) instance for which an encrypted connection needs to be established, ([CAO, Summary]”the first BGP route advertisement message may indicate that the network address of the first next hop is the private IP address, or may indicate that the first VPN route is a private network route.”) wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the network device to further generate the route advertisement packet based on the routing prefix belonging to a network prefix in the address family or the VPN instance, ([CAO, Abstract]” A control management device advertises a VPN route to a PE device based on a VPNv4 address family, a VPNv6 address family, or an L3EVPN address family, where the VPN route includes an IP address prefix of a destination host and a network address of a next hop to the IP address prefix,” and “”) and wherein the routing prefix indicates a second network device that is a border device in a network indicated by the routing prefix. ([CAO, Abstract]” The PE device generates, based on the VPN route, a VRF entry including the IP address prefix and outbound interface information, where the outbound interface information identifies an outbound interface that is of the PE device and that is connected to the next hop”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination of Guichard, and Patro to include wherein the object comprises an address family or a virtual private network (VPN) instance for which an encrypted connection needs to be established, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the network device to further generate the route advertisement packet based on the routing prefix belonging to a network prefix in the address family or the VPN instance, and wherein the routing prefix indicates a second network device that is a border device in a network indicated by the routing prefix as suggested by CAO. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because incorporating CAO’s VPN/address-family route advertisement teachings would have allowed Guichard’s encrypted-prefix routing information to be applied in VPN/VRF routing contexts, so that protected prefixes associated with a VPN instance or address family could be advertised to a PE border device and used to generate appropriate forwarding information for encrypted/private-network-traffic.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Aziz et al.( US 5416842 A)[hereinafter” Aziz”] in view of Guichard et al.(US 7620975 B2) [hereinafter “Guichard”] and in view of Hariguchi et al.( US 20020080798 A1)[hereinafter ”Hariguchi”] as applied to claim 1 and in view of Baugher et al.( US 7234063 B1) [hereinafter ” Baugher”]
As per claim 21, the combination of Aziz , Guichard and Hariguchi discloses the method of claim 1. Guichard further discloses wherein the first parameter comprises a second router identifier of a second network device,(Guichard, [col.7 ln30-33]” For DGVPN peer mode operation it is necessary to advertise the IPSec endpoint address and this will be carried within the "Tunnel Endpoint Address" field of the OSPF IPv4 Tunnel capability TLV”).
The combination of Aziz , Guichard and Hariguchi does not disclose
wherein the at least one key is generated based on the second router identifier and a first router identifier of the first network device, and wherein the at least one key is unique in the network indicated by the routing prefix.
However, Baugher in the same field of endeavor discloses
wherein the at least one key is generated based on the second router identifier and a first router identifier of the first network device, (Baugher, [col.11 ln34-40]” Assume that router 502A is designated as group member A and router 502B is designated as group member B. For group member A to communicate with member B, both A and B generate a pairwise key designated Kab. Both A and B must be able to compute the same key value independently. In one embodiment, the computation is: Kab=PRF(Kg|IPa|IPb) wherein PRF is a pseudorandom function, and IPa and IPb are the IP addresses of A and B, respectively.”) and wherein the at least one key is unique in the network indicated by the routing prefix. (Baugher, [col.8 ln10-16]” Both the source and destination identity values of the first and second group members may be used. This ensures that the pair-wise key is distinct from any other pair-wise key that other peers may derive.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system created by combination of Aziz , Guichard and Hariguchi to include wherein the at least one key is generated based on the second router identifier and a first router identifier of the first network device, and wherein the at least one key is unique in the network indicated by the routing prefix as suggested by Baugher. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Baugher teaches that “ the group members can determine a pairwise key for use in encrypting the point-to-point communications with zero additional key management latency. Thus, the disclosed approaches avoid the multi-roundtrip message exchanges and expensive computation that are required in conventional asymmetric cryptography approaches”( Baugher, col.4 ln39-46), and because Guichard’s devices already share a GDOI group key and advertise their IPsec endpoint addresses, which are the exact inputs Baugher uses to derive the pairwise key.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Mahesh et al, (US 20220279421 A1) discloses “containerized router with a generic data plane interface“.
Ravi et al, (US 11425022 B1) discloses “Service-based Tunnel Selection Scheme for Mapping Services To Tunnels”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2493
/CARL G COLIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2493