DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024, 03/19/2025, 06/18/2025, 11/04/2025, 02/19/2026 and 07/01/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-12, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heath et al. (US 9,941,959 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Heath et al. (figures 5B and 15A-C) disclose a method, comprising: detecting an interference signal in two or more signals received via elements of an antenna system (antennas 10), the interference signal originating from an object generating a passive intermodulation (PIM) (column 43, line 45 – column 50, line 22); comparing the two or more signals, to obtain a comparison result (column 47, line 14 – column 48, line 9; and column 50, lines 25-63); and estimating a physical shape of an object generating the PIM according to the comparison result (column 50, line 64 – column 51, line 35).
Regarding claim 2, Heath et al. disclose wherein the estimating the physical shape of the object generating the PIM further comprises: determining an aspect ratio of the object generating the PIM (column 49, line 4 – column 50, line 23; and column 67, line 9 – column 70, line 52).
Regarding claim 5, Heath et al. disclose wherein the antenna system comprises an antenna array that is associated with a base station (column 14, lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 6, Heath et al. disclose wherein the antenna system comprises a plurality of antenna arrays that are associated with a plurality of base stations (column 25, line 57 – column 26, line 14).
Regarding claim 7, Heath et al. disclose wherein the interference signal is generated by mixing of one or more signals transmitted via the antenna system (column 49, line 23 – column 50, line 22).
Regarding claim 8, Heath et al. disclose wherein the interference signal results from illumination of the PIM source by one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the antenna system (column 50, lines 4-22).
Regarding claim 9, Heath et al. disclose wherein the interference signal results from illumination of the PIM source by one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by a different antenna system (column 25, line 57 – column 26, line 14; and column 50, lines 4-22).
Regarding claim 10, Heath et al. disclose wherein the method is implemented in a Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) device, a baseband unit (BBU), a remote radio head (RRH) or remote radio unit (RRU), an RRH with integrated antenna, another device in a radio access network (RAN), or a combination thereof (column 9, lines 29-46).
Regarding claim 11, Heath et al. disclose wherein the antenna system comprises a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antenna or a massive MIMO antenna (column 48, lines 10-18).
Regarding claim 19, Heath et al. (figures 5B-C and 15A-C) disclose a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor (central computer 58); and a memory (mass storage 40) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: detecting a passive intermodulation (PIM) signal in two or more signals received via an antenna system (column 43, line 45 – column 50, line 22); determining a polarization of the PIM signal, by comparing the two or more signals, to estimate a shape of a corresponding PIM source (column 47, line 14 – column 48, line 9; and column 50, lines 25-63); and generating information regarding the shape to facilitate locating of the PIM source (column 50, line 64 – column 51, line 35).
Regarding claim 12, Heath et al. (figures 5B and 15A-C) disclose a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor (central computer 58), facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: causing an antenna system to transmit a plurality of radio frequency (RF) signals (column 43, line 45 – column 44, line 21; column 49, line 5 - column 50, line 47); based on transmission of the plurality of RF signals, measuring an interference signal that is generated by a passive intermodulation (PIM) source (column 47, line 14 – column 48, line 9; and column 50, lines 25-63); and generating information regarding a physical shape of the PIM source (column 50, line 64 – column 51, line 35).
Regarding claim 16, Heath et al. disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12 above. In addition, Heath et al. disclose wherein the information identifies an aspect ratio of the PIM source (column 49, line 4 – column 50, line 23; and column 67, line 9 – column 70, line 52).
Regarding claim 17, Heath et al. disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12 above. In addition, Heath et al. disclose wherein the processing system is implemented in a Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) device, a baseband unit (BBU), a remote radio head (RRH) or remote radio unit (RRU), an RRH with integrated antenna, another device in a radio access network (RAN), or a combination thereof (column 9, lines 29-46).
Regarding claim 19, Heath et al. (figures 5B-C and 15A-C) disclose a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor (central computer 58); and a memory (mass storage 40) that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: receiving a passive intermodulation (PIM) signal in two or more signals received via an antenna system (column 43, line 45 – column 50, line 22); determining a polarization of the PIM signal, by comparing the two or more RF signals, to obtain a comparison result (column 47, line 14 – column 48, line 9; and column 50, lines 25-63); and estimating a physical shape of a corresponding PIM source based on the comparison result (column 50, line 64 – column 51, line 35).
Regarding claim 20, Heath et al. disclose wherein the information identifies an aspect ratio of the PIM source (column 49, line 4 – column 50, line 23; and column 67, line 9 – column 70, line 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heath et al. in view of Viswanathan (US 2016/0233944 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Heath et al. disclose the method of claim 2 above. In addition, Heath et al. disclose illuminating the object generating the PIM via the transmit signal, wherein the comparison result is based on the transmit signal (column 50, lines 25-63). Heath et al. do not explicitly disclose rotating a polarization of a transmit signal to obtain a rotated transmit signal. However, Viswanathan discloses rotating a polarization of a transmit signal to obtain a rotated transmit signal (paragraphs [0009], [0010], and [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of rotating a polarization of a transmit signal of Viswanathan to the operation of Heath et al. to get a better quality received signal.
Regarding claim 4, Heath et al. and Viswanathan disclose the method of claim 3 above. In addition, Heath et al. disclose performing a comparison of the two or more signals received by the orthogonally-polarized elements with two or more other signals received by the additional orthogonally-polarized elements; and estimating a location of the PIM source based on the comparison (column 48, lines 10-18; and column 49, line 4 – column 50, line 23).
Regarding claim 13, Heath et al. disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12 above. Heath et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the causing involves adjusting a polarization angle of the plurality of RF signals to be transmitted so as to facilitate identification of a polarization of the interference signal. However, Viswanathan teaches adjusting a polarization angle of the plurality of RF signals to be transmitted so as to facilitate identification of a polarization of the interference signal (paragraphs [0009], [0010], and [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of adjusting a polarization angle of the plurality of RF signals of Viswanathan to the operation of Heath et al. to get a better quality received signal.
Claim(s) 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heath et al. in view of Bisiules et al. (US 10,530,440 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Heath et al. disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12 above. Heath et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the causing involves substantially simultaneous transmission of the plurality of RF signals at the different polarization angles so as to facilitate identification of a polarization of the interference signal. However, Bisiules et al. disclose substantially simultaneous transmission of the plurality of RF signals at the different polarization angles so as to facilitate identification of a polarization of the interference signal (column 17, lines 10-33; and column 22, lines 17-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of substantially simultaneous transmission of the plurality of RF signals at the different polarization angles of Bisiules et al. to the causing operation of Heath et al. for gathering richer target data.
Regarding claim 18, Heath et al. disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12 above. Heath et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the causing involves beamforming for the plurality of RF signals at the different polarization angles. However, Bisiules et al. disclose beamforming for the plurality of RF signals at the different polarization angles (column 25, line 64 – column 26, line 16; and column 26, line 62 – column 27, line 27). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of beamforming for the plurality of RF signals at the different polarization angles of Bisiules et al. to the causing operation of Heath et al. for improving signal strength and extending range.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heath et al. in view of Bisiules et al. and further in view of Viswanathan.
Regarding claim 15, Heath et al. and Bisiules et al. disclose the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 12 above. Heath et al. and Bisiules et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the causing involves injecting, into one or more base station downlink (DL) data streams, particular data that corresponds to adjustments of the plurality RF signals to the different polarization angles. However, Viswanathan teaches injecting into one or more base station downlink (DL) data streams, particular data that corresponds to adjustments of the plurality of RF signals to the different polarization angles (paragraphs [0009], [0010], and [0021]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the teaching of adjustments of the polarization angle of the plurality of RF signals of Viswanathan to the operation of Heath et al. and Bisiules et al. to get a better quality received signal.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of pending application are either anticipated or being obvious over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522.
Regarding claim 1 of the pending application, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a method, comprising: detecting an interference signal in two or more signals received via elements of an antenna system, the interference signal originating from an object generating passive intermodulation (PIM); comparing the two or more signals, to obtain a comparison result; and estimating a physical shape of an object generating the PIM according to the comparison result.
Regarding claim 2 of the pending application, claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the estimating the physical shape of the object generating the PIM further comprises: determining an aspect ratio of the object generating the PIM.
Regarding claim 3 of the pending application, claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including rotating a polarization of a transmit signal to obtain a rotated transmit signal; and illuminating the object generating the PIM via the rotated transmit signal, wherein the comparison result is based on the rotated transmit signal.
Regarding claim 4 of the pending application, claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the antenna system comprises polarized elements, further comprising: performing a comparison of the two or more signals received by the polarized elements; and estimating a location of the object generating PIM based on the comparison.
Regarding claim 5 of the pending application, claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the antenna system comprises an antenna array that is associated with a base station.
Regarding claim 6 of the pending application, claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the antenna system comprises a plurality of antenna arrays that are associated with a plurality of base stations.
Regarding claim 7 of the pending application, claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the interference signal is generated by mixing of one or more signals transmitted via the antenna system.
Regarding claim 8 of the pending application, claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the interference signal results from illumination of the object generating PIM by one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by the antenna system.
Regarding claim 9 of the pending application, claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the interference signal results from illumination of the object generating PIM by one or more radio frequency (RF) signals transmitted by a different antenna system.
Regarding claim 10 of the pending application, claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the method is implemented in a Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) device, a baseband unit (BBU), a remote radio head (RRH) or remote radio unit (RRU), an RRH with integrated antenna, another device in a radio access network (RAN), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 11 of the pending application, claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the antenna system comprises a multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) antenna or a massive MIMO antenna.
Regarding claim 12 of the pending application, claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: causing an antenna system to transmit a plurality of radio frequency (RF) signals; based on transmission of the plurality of RF signals, measuring an interference signal that is generated by a passive intermodulation (PIM) source; and generating information regarding a physical shape of the PIM source.
Regarding claim 13 of the pending application, claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the causing involves adjusting a polarization angle of the plurality of RF signals to be transmitted so as to facilitate identification of a polarization of the interference signal.
Regarding claim 14 of the pending application, claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the causing involves substantially simultaneous transmission of the plurality of RF signals at different polarization angles so as to facilitate identification of a polarization of the interference signal.
Regarding claim 15 of the pending application, claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the causing involves injecting, into one or more base station downlink (DL) data streams, particular data that corresponds to adjustments of the plurality of RF signals to the different polarization angles.
Regarding claim 16 of the pending application, claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the information identifies an aspect ratio of the PIM source.
Regarding claim 17 of the pending application, claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the processing system is implemented in a Common Public Radio Interface (CPRI) device, a baseband unit (BBU), a remote radio head (RRH) or remote radio unit (RRU), an RRH with integrated antenna, another device in a radio access network (RAN), or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 18 of the pending application, claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the causing involves beamforming for the plurality of RF signals at different polarization angles.
Regarding claim 19 of the pending application, claim 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including a device, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising: receiving a passive intermodulation (PIM) signal in two or more radio frequency (RF) signals; comparing the two or more RF signals, to obtain a comparison result ; and estimating a physical shape of a corresponding PIM source based on the comparison result.
Regarding claim 20 of the pending application, claim 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,219,522 encompasses all the claimed limitations including wherein the operations further comprise: determining an aspect ratio of the PIM source based on the comparison result, wherein the estimating the physical shape is according to the aspect ratio.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vella-Coleiro et al. (US 2021/0099239 A1) disclose an apparatus has an ability to measure the distance to the PIM source located at or within the device under test with acceptable resolution, in the presence of a second PIM source located at the test apparatus, using a bandwidth which is sufficiently narrow to be compatible with the device under test, and without requiring sophisticated or expensive test apparatus.
Bradley (US 10,637,567 B1) teaches a measuring instrument for detecting a source of passive intermodulation (PIM) includes a first signal source, a second source and a receiver; the first and second signal sources are each connected with separate transmit antenna to transmit a first and second signal, respectively; the first transmit antenna and the second transmit antenna are arranged in a fixed relationship relative to each other such that the first signal and the second signal are combinable to generate a PIM signal at a PIM; the receiver is connected with a receive antenna and arranged in a fixed relationship relative to the first transmit antenna and the second transmit antenna to receive the PIM signal reradiated from the PIM source; the receiver is configured to receive the PIM signal and indicate detection of the PIM source in response to receiving the PIM signal.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645