DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukaiyama (US 2020/0388155 A1) in view of Makke et al. (US 2022/0092978 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mukaiyama discloses an automated valet parking management system for managing automated valet parking in a parking lot (e.g. Figs. 1-2 & Abstract & [0027-0028]), the automated valet parking management system comprising: one or more processors (e.g. Fig. 1: 34 & [0041]), wherein the one or more processors are configured to
determine, when a vehicle that is compatible with the automated valet parking arrives at the parking lot (e.g. Fig. 3: S1 & [0069]), whether a usage reservation for the automated valet parking is made by the vehicle (e.g. Fig. 3: S2 & [0069]),
search for vacancy information for reservation of a parking slot in the parking lot when no usage reservation is made (e.g. Fig. 3: S3: vehicle arrives earlier than reservation means no reservation is made at the arrival time) and
when the parking slot is vacant with respect to reservation (e.g. Fig. 3: S5), proactively (broadly interpreted as action not caused by reservation, e.g. early arrival causes parking system search for alternative options and notify user proactively) notify a user of the vehicle regarding a usage proposal of the automated valet parking, via a terminal device operated by the user (e.g. Fig. 1 & [0036]: server 20 transmits information on result of determination of whether parking reservation is possible to user terminal 10).
Makke teaches search for vacancy information when no usage reservation is made at all and when the processor detects that the vehicle has arrived at the parking lot (e.g. Fig. 2 & [0034]).
Although obvious searching for parking when user arrived early (even though reservation is made at a later time) is equivalently the same as searching for a parking for user as if no reservation has made at all, Makke is further cited to teach searching vacant parking for reserved user and/or user without reservation are known in the art.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the teachings of Mukaiyama with the teachings of Makke to provide valet parking notification to user arrived at a predetermined valet parking position (with or without reservation) so as to improve parking experience for user of a garage.
Regarding claim 2, Mukaiyama discloses the usage proposal includes information indicating a vacancy in reservation for the parking slot, and information regarding confirmation of whether the user intends to use the automated valet parking (e.g. Fig. 1 & [0036]: server transmits information on result of determination of whether parking reservation is possible).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mukaiyama (US 2020/0388155 A1) in view of Makke et al. (US 2022/0092978 A1) as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Wang (US 2016/0012726 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Mukaiyama fails to disclose, but Wang teaches when a reply rejecting (e.g. [0114, 0132]: user 2 rejects a parking space offer) the usage proposal is received from the user via the terminal device, the one or more processors do not notify the user of the usage proposal, even when the vehicle, in which the user that rejected the usage proposal is riding, arrives at the same parking lot with no usage reservation for the automated valet parking again (e.g. [0114]: stop sending notification if user reject or does not respond to the notification).
Both Mukaiyama and Wang are related to parking assist, and Wang suggests user can accept or reject a suggested parking space.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mukaiyama with the teachings of Wang to allow user to accept or deny a parking space offer since the offer might not be fully satisfied by the user and it would provide freedom to user to accept or deny offer.
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches when a request indicating that notification of the usage proposal is unnecessary is received from the user via the terminal device in advance, the one or more processors do not notify the user of the usage proposal when the vehicle, in which the user is riding, arrives at the parking lot with no usage reservation for the automated valet parking, with respect to all parking lots that provide an automated valet parking service by the automated valet parking management system (e.g. [0105]: turn on or off alerts in the settings).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAM WAN MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688