Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I with claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) for determining sleep conditions using generic processor and memory to perform data gathering and other processing operations. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because with additional generic computer elements, the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional limitations only store and retrieve information in memory, these are well-understood, routine, conventional computer functions as recognized by the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d).
Claim 1. A first mobile device comprising:
at least one memory; and (generic computer components)
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first mobile device to: (generic computer components)
receive first user state data that correlates to a user sleep condition and a sleep level state from multiple sleep level states for the user sleep condition; (data gathering)
receive a notification while the user sleep condition is active; and (data output)
trigger an escalating vibration output based at least in part on the sleep level state and the notification.
concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation (from data gathering of user sleep condition), evaluation (required for data processing to trigger based on sleep condition), judgment (determinization of trigger condition)
Similar analysis is applied for claims 21-22.
Claims 2-3 is directed to data transfer.
Claim 4 is directed to data transfer and output.
Claims 5-6 is directed to data processing.
Claim 7-10 is directed to data output.
Claim 11 is directed to data gathering and output.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KUMAR et al. (US 11166128 B2).
Re claim 1. KUMAR discloses (abstract) a first mobile device 110 (FIG.1-2) comprising:
at least one memory (a memory 150); and
at least one processor (a processor 140) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the first mobile device (FIG.5) to:
receive first user state data that correlates to a user sleep condition and a sleep level state from multiple sleep level states for the user sleep condition; (steps 503 - FIG.3-5 – c.8, l.12-23)
receive a notification while the user sleep condition is active (steps 507 – c.8, l.24-38 – FIG.5 – notification based on data from a call received); and
trigger an escalating vibration output (step 511) based at least in part on the sleep level state and the notification (…device may optionally ring the ringer in a progressively louder fashion to ensure that the user is awakened hut without unduly alarming the user – ringer function determined on step 503 – user in deep sleep – and step 507 – user receiving call within time window).
Re claim 2. KUMAR discloses (c.4, l.33-44) the first mobile device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first mobile device to receive the first user state data from a second mobile device 203.
Re claim 3. KUMAR discloses (c.4, l.24-32) the first mobile device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first mobile device to transmit, to the second mobile device, a query for the first user state data. (FIG.2 – processor 140 of mobile device 110 controls various functions including communicating with mobile device 203 to obtain sleep data thru detector 180)
Re claim 5. KUMAR discloses (FIG.3-4) the first mobile device of claim 1, wherein each of the multiple sleep level states is based on a different respective set of sleep data indicators.
Re claim 6. KUMAR discloses (c.4, l.1-4) the first mobile device of claim 5, wherein each set of sleep data indicators comprises a respective set of sensor data.
Re claim 7. KUMAR discloses (c.6, l.5-33) the first mobile device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first mobile device to trigger an escalating audio output in conjunction with the escalating vibration output, and based at least in part on the sleep level state and the notification.
Re claim 8. KUMAR discloses (c.5, l.57 – c.6, l.4) the first mobile device of claim 1, wherein each sleep level state is associated with a different respective vibration escalation profile for the escalating vibration output.
Re claim 9. KUMAR discloses (c.5, l.46 – c.6, l.33) the first mobile device of claim 8, wherein each vibration escalation profile comprises a different increase in vibration intensity over time.
Re claim 10. KUMAR discloses the first mobile device of claim 1, wherein the first user state data comprises sensor data received from a second mobile device 203, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first mobile device to:
map the sensor data to sleep level data for the multiple sleep level states to determine the sleep level state from the multiple sleep level states. (FIG.1-6)
Re claim 11. KUMAR discloses (FIG.6 – c.6, l.49-55) the first mobile device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first mobile device to:
receive second user state data that indicates a transition from the user sleep condition to a user wake condition; and
disable, based at least in part on the user wake condition, the escalating vibration output.
21. (As for claim 1) A method performed by a first mobile device, the method comprising: receiving first user state data that correlates to a user sleep condition and a sleep level state from multiple sleep level states for the user sleep condition; receiving a notification while the user sleep condition is active; and triggering an escalating vibration output based at least in part on the sleep level state and the notification.
22. (As for claim 1) One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media storing instructions that are executable by a computing device to perform operations comprising: receiving first user state data that correlates to a user sleep condition and a sleep level state from multiple sleep level states for the user sleep condition; receiving a notification while the user sleep condition is active; and triggering an escalating vibration output based at least in part on the sleep level state and the notification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUMAR et al. (US 11166128 B2) in view of CHOU (US 20220218293 A1).
However, KUMAR fails to explicitly disclose:
Re claim 4. The first mobile device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the first mobile device to transmit, to the second mobile device, an instruction to implement the escalating vibration output while the notification is pending.
CHOU teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention (FIG.8-10) [0233], the function of using a secondary mobile device to implement a vibration output (i.e. speaker or buzzer to generate sounds) while a notification is needed for a user, to awaken such user wearing and using mobile devices 800/900, such functions are controlled by way of first mobile device 800.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try using the second mobile device to perform the escalating vibration output during the functions of generating vibration output in order to more comfortably wake a user who is in a sleep state.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 8/6/2026