Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 8 is vague and indefinite since the recitation is misdescriptive to applicant’s device. The recitation in claim 8 that “wherein the first anterior vertical frame member and the second anterior vertical frame member are attached to the upper horizontal member and the one or more lower frame members” is incorrect. The first and second anterior vertical frame members (206) is not attached to the one or more lower frame members (208), figure 2). The vertical frame members 206 are attached to the lower horizontal member (112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9-12, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Emmitt et al (US no. 11214401).
Regarding claim 1, Emmitt discloses a material rack (10) comprising: an upper horizontal member (41t, figure 2); a lower horizontal member (54r, figure 1) and one or more vertical frame members (20r, 24r, figure 1), wherein the one or more vertical frame members (20r, 24r) are attached to the upper horizontal member (41t) and the lower horizontal member (54r, figure); and a horizontal frame channel (54f, figure 1, note applicant’s ‘horizontal frame channel’ is defined as “shaped as cuboidal rods (or may be cylindrical rods) that may be hollow or solid” see paragraph [0038]) and one or more lower frame members (50I and 50r, figure 1), wherein the one or more lower frame members (50I, 50r, figure 1) are attached to the lower horizontal member (54r) and the horizontal frame channel (54f), and wherein the upper horizontal member (40t), the lower horizontal member (54r) and the horizontal frame channel (54f) are aligned parallel to each other.
Regarding claim 2, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 1 further comprising one or more vertical member attachment bars (40t, figures 1 and 2), wherein the one or more vertical member attachment bars (40t) are attached to the upper horizontal member (41t, figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 1, wherein the one or more vertical frame members (20r and 24r) comprise a first interior vertical frame member (20r) and a second interior vertical frame member (24r), and wherein longitudinal axes of the first interior vertical frame member (20r) and the second interior vertical frame member (24r, figure 1) are perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the lower horizontal member (54r, figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 4 further comprising one or more anterior vertical frame members (20f).
Regarding claim 6, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 5, wherein the one or more anterior vertical frame members (20f) are disposed parallel to the first interior vertical frame member (20r) and the second interior vertical frame member (24r).
Regarding claim 7, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 5, wherein the one or more anterior vertical frame members comprise a first anterior vertical frame member (20f) and a second anterior vertical frame member (24f, figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 5, wherein lengths of the one or more anterior vertical frame members (20f and 24f) are equivalent to lengths of the one or more vertical frame members (20r, 24r).
Regarding claim 10, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 1 further comprising one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (60, figures 1 and 2) attached to the horizontal frame channel (54f) and the lower horizontal member (54r).
Regarding claim 11, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 10, wherein the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (60) comprise a first loader fork receptacle tube (60) and a second loader fork receptacle tube (the other tube 60).
Regarding claim 12, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 10, wherein the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (60) comprise openings (60, figure 1) disposed at edges of the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes that are attached to the horizontal frame channel (54f), and wherein the openings are configured to receive forks of a mechanical material loader (column 3, lines 62-65).
Regarding claim 18, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 1, wherein the material rack is oriented in a horizontal position when the one or more vertical frame members (20r, 24r) are oriented substantially parallel to ground, and wherein the material rack is oriented in a vertical position when the one or more vertical frame members (20r, 24r) are oriented substantially perpendicular to the ground (figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Emmitt discloses a material rack (10) comprising: an upper horizontal member (41t) and one or more vertical member attachment bars (40t), wherein the one or more vertical member attachment bars (40t)are attached to the upper horizontal member (41t); a lower horizontal member (54r, figure 1) and one or more vertical frame members (20r, 24r), wherein the one or more vertical frame members (20r, 24r) are attached to the one or more vertical member attachment bars (40t) and the lower horizontal member (54r); a horizontal frame channel (54f) and one or more lower frame members (50I, 50r, figure 1), wherein the one or more lower frame members (50I, 50r) are attached to the lower horizontal member (54r) and the horizontal frame channel (54f), and wherein the upper horizontal member (41t), the lower horizontal member (54r) and the horizontal frame channel (54f) are aligned parallel to each other; and one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (60) attached to the horizontal frame channel (54f) and the lower horizontal member (54r), wherein the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (60) comprise openings (60, figure 1) disposed at edges of the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes that are attached to the horizontal frame channel (54f), and wherein the openings are configured to receive forks of a mechanical material loader(column 3, lines 62-65).
Claims 1-4, 10,12, 13, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schroder (US no. 4824317).
Regarding claim 1, Schroder disclose a material rack comprising: an upper horizontal member (52, figure 1); a lower horizontal member (50) and one or more vertical frame members (20, 22), wherein the one or more vertical frame members are attached to the upper horizontal member and the lower horizontal member; and a horizontal frame channel (54) and one or more lower frame members (11, 12), wherein the one or more lower frame members (11) are attached to the lower horizontal member (50) and the horizontal frame channel (54, note: applicant’s ‘horizontal frame channel’ is defined as “shaped as cuboidal rods (or may be cylindrical rods) that may be hollow or solid” see paragraph [0038]), and wherein the upper horizontal member (52), the lower horizontal member (54) and the horizontal frame channel (54) are aligned parallel to each other.
Regarding claim 2, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 1 further comprising one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26, figure 1), wherein the one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26) are attached to the upper horizontal member (52).
Regarding claim 3, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 2, wherein the one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26) comprise a first vertical member attachment bar (24) and a second vertical member attachment bar (26), wherein the first vertical member attachment bar (24) is attached to a proximal portion of the upper horizontal member (52), and wherein the second vertical member attachment bar (26) is attached to a distal portion of the upper horizontal member (52).
Regarding claim 4, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 1, wherein the one or more vertical frame members (20, 22) comprise a first interior vertical frame member (20) and a second interior vertical frame member (22), and wherein longitudinal axes of the first interior vertical frame member and the second interior vertical frame member are perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the lower horizontal member (50).
Regarding claim 10, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 1 further comprising one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (12) attached to the horizontal frame channel (54) and the lower horizontal member (50).
Regarding claim 12, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 10, wherein the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (12) comprise openings (16) disposed at edges of the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (12) that are attached to the horizontal frame channel, and wherein the openings are configured to receive forks (36) of a mechanical material loader.
Regarding claim 13, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 12 further comprising one or more diagonal braces (32) attached to the upper horizontal member (52) and the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (12).
Regarding claim 18, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 1, wherein the material rack is oriented in a horizontal position when the one or more vertical frame members (20 and 22) are oriented substantially parallel to ground, and wherein the material rack is oriented in a vertical position when the one or more vertical frame members are oriented substantially perpendicular to the ground (figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Shroder discloses a material rack comprising: an upper horizontal member (52) and one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26), wherein the one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26) are attached to the upper horizontal member (52); a lower horizontal member (50) and one or more vertical frame members (20, 22), wherein the one or more vertical frame members (20, 22) are attached to the one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26) and the lower horizontal member (50); a horizontal frame channel (54) and one lower frame member (11), wherein the one lower frame member (11) are attached to the lower horizontal member (50) and the horizontal frame channel (54), and wherein the upper horizontal member (52), the lower horizontal member (50) and the horizontal frame channel (54) are aligned parallel to each other; and one loader fork receptacle tube (12) attached to the horizontal frame channel (54) and the lower horizontal member (50), wherein the one loader fork receptacle tube (12) comprise opening (16) disposed at edges of the one loader fork receptacle tube (12) that are attached to the horizontal frame channel (54), and wherein the opening (16) are configured to receive forks (36) of a mechanical material loader.
Regarding claim 20, Shroder discloses a material rack comprising: an upper horizontal member (52) and one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26), wherein the one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26) are attached to the upper horizontal member (52); a lower horizontal member (50) and one or more vertical frame members (20, 22), wherein the one or more vertical frame members (20, 22) are attached to the one or more vertical member attachment bars (24, 26) and the lower horizontal member (50); a horizontal frame channel (54) and one lower frame member (11), wherein the one lower frame member (11) are attached to the lower horizontal member (50) and the horizontal frame channel (54), and wherein the upper horizontal member (52), the lower horizontal member (50) and the horizontal frame channel (54) are aligned parallel to each other; and one loader fork receptacle tube (12) attached to the horizontal frame channel (54) and the lower horizontal member (50), wherein the one loader fork receptacle tube (12) comprise opening (16) disposed at edges of the one loader fork receptacle tube (12) that are attached to the horizontal frame channel (54), and wherein the opening (16) are configured to receive forks (36) of a mechanical material loader, and one or more diagonal braces (32) attached to the upper horizontal member (52) and the one loader fork receptacle tube (12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emmitt et al (US no. 11214401) in view of Garcia (US No. 4243354).
Regarding claim 16, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 12 as discussed above except for further comprising one or more loader fork tensioning bolts attached to the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes, wherein the one or more loader fork tensioning bolts are configured to securely retain the forks of the mechanical material loader in the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes. Garcia (US No. 4243354) teaches a material rack comprising a vertical frame member (29, figure 3) and a lower horizontal frame member (19, figure 4) a horizontal member (23) and loader fork receptacle tubes (17) with openings (17, figure 3); wherein one or more loader fork tensioning bolts (25) attached to the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (17), wherein the one or more loader fork tensioning bolts (25) are configured to securely retain the forks (13) of the mechanical material loader in the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the material rack of Emmitt such that one or more loader fork tensioning bolts are provided to attach to the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes, wherein the one or more loader fork tensioning bolts are configured to securely retain the forks of the mechanical material loader in the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes as taught to be desirable by Garcia.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Emmitt et al (US no. 11214401) in view of Campbell (US no. 5439152)
Regarding claim 17, Emmitt discloses the material rack of claim 1 except further comprising one or more material retention chain eyelets attached to the upper horizontal member, wherein the one or more material retention chain eyelets are configured to receive and attach one end of a material retention chain used to secure goods on the material rack. Campbell (US no. 5439152) teaches in a material rack (figure 2) with upper horizontal member (124) and lower horizontal member (70), and vertical frame members (110 and 80) attached to the upper and lower horizontal members wherein
one or more material retention chain eyelets (114) attached to the upper horizontal member (124), wherein the one or more material retention chain eyelets (124) are configure to receive and attach one end of a material retention chain (128) used to secure goods (126) on the material rack
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the material handling rack of Emmitt such that one or more material retention chain eyelets attached to the upper horizontal member, wherein the one or more material retention chain eyelets are configured to receive and attach one end of a material retention chain used to secure goods on the material rack as taught to be desirable by Campbell.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroder (US no. 4824317) in view of Garcia (US No. 4243354).
Regarding claim 16, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 12 as discussed above except for further comprising one or more loader fork tensioning bolts attached to the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes, wherein the one or more loader fork tensioning bolts are configured to securely retain the forks of the mechanical material loader in the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes. Garcia (US No. 4243354) teaches a material rack comprising a vertical frame member (29, figure 3) and a lower horizontal frame member (19, figure 4) a horizontal member (23) and loader fork receptacle tubes (17) with openings (17, figure 3); wherein one or more loader fork tensioning bolts (25) attached to the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (17), wherein the one or more loader fork tensioning bolts (25) are configured to securely retain the forks (13) of the mechanical material loader in the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes (17). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the material rack of Schroder such that one or more loader fork tensioning bolts are provided to attach to the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes, wherein the one or more loader fork tensioning bolts are configured to securely retain the forks of the mechanical material loader in the one or more loader fork receptacle tubes as taught to be desirable by Garcia.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroder (US no. 4824317) in view of Campbell (US no. 5439152)
Regarding claim 17, Schroder discloses the material rack of claim 1 except further comprising one or more material retention chain eyelets attached to the upper horizontal member, wherein the one or more material retention chain eyelets are configured to receive and attach one end of a material retention chain used to secure goods on the material rack. Campbell (US no. 5439152) teaches in a material rack (figure 2) with upper horizontal member (124) and lower horizontal member (70), and vertical frame members (110 and 80) attached to the upper and lower horizontal members wherein one or more material retention chain eyelets (114) attached to the upper horizontal member (124), wherein the one or more material retention chain eyelets (124) are configure to receive and attach one end of a material retention chain (128) used to secure goods (126) on the material rack
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the material handling rack of Schroder such that one or more material retention chain eyelets attached to the upper horizontal member, wherein the one or more material retention chain eyelets are configured to receive and attach one end of a material retention chain used to secure goods on the material rack as taught to be desirable by Campbell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The remaining cited prior art of record further demonstrate material rack of interest.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc