DETAILED ACTION
Examiner cites particular columns or paragraphs, and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
In reply to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 1/23/2026, the applicant has filed a response on 4/14/2026. No claim has been amended or added. Claims 4 and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-17 and 19-22 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 15-17 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mio (US 2016/0366740), in view of Ko (US 2020/0201115), and further in view of Hu et al. (US 2021/0029788).
Regarding claim 1, Mio discloses an electronic device (see liquid crystal display device 1 in Fig. 2; para[0038]), comprising:
a local dimming circuit, configured to generate a dimming control signal according to a current control command (see dimming determination circuit 10 in Figs. 1 and 3 configured to “generate a control signal for driving the constant current circuit 11 based on a dimming ratio input from the dimming signal 9”; see control signal 10a (claimed dimming control signal) in Figs. 1 and 7; para[0040]; para[0042]);
a current driving circuit, configured to generate a driving signal with a first current for a general current control command or to generate the driving signal with a second current for a high current control command according to the dimming control signal, wherein the second current is greater than the first current (see constant current circuit 11 in Figs. 1 and 3 configured to generate a driving signal to cause electric current to flow through LEDs 70, based on the control signal 10a (see Figs. 1 and 7) for driving the constant current circuit 11; the current 7b for each channel in Fig. 1 is “varied based on the value of the current control signal 10a” (claimed dimming control signal) according to “a dimming ratio input from the dimming signal 9” (claimed current control command based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations); “When the constant current driving circuit is used, if the dimming ratio is 100%, each of the currents 7b-1, 7b-2, and 7b-3 is a setting Max current value”; “as the dimming ratio decreases, the current value decreases”; see e.g. regarding Figs. 7-9 a first current according to a dimming ratio of 50% input from the dimming signal 9 (claimed general current control command) and a corresponding proportional current control signal 10a, and a second current according to a dimming ratio of 100% input from the dimming signal 9 (claimed high current control command) and a corresponding proportional current control signal 10a, wherein, as shown, the second current greater than the first current; para[0037]; para[0040]; para[0042]; para[0045]-para[0049]; para[0053]); and
a light-emitting diode zone, configured to receive the driving signal and emit light according to the driving signal (see LED circuit 7 in Figs. 1 and 3 “LEDs 70 of an LED circuit 7 are dimmed based on a voltage and an electric current generated by an LED control circuit 4”; “As the anode voltage generating circuit 14 applies the voltage to the anode side of the LED group of the LED circuit 7, the cathode sides of the LEDs 70 connected in parallel are connected to the constant current circuit 11, and the constant current circuit 11 causes the electric current to flow, the LED 70 is turned on”; para[0037]; para[0040]; para[0048]-para[0049]),
wherein the light-emitting diode zone comprises a first zone and a second zone (see e.g. LED groups 7a-1 and 7a-2 in Fig. 3), the first zone comprises at least two light-emitting diodes (see in Figs. 1 and 3 LED group 7a-1 comprises at least two LEDs 70), and the second zone comprises at least one light-emitting diode (see in Figs. 1 and 3 LED group 7a-2 comprises at least one LED 70).
However, Mio does not appear to expressly disclose the first zone is an edge zone, the second zone is a non-edge zone, the at least two light-emitting diodes are electrically connected in parallel, and the first zone has a brightness higher than a brightness of the second zone.
Ko discloses a light-emitting diode zone comprises a first zone and a second zone, the first zone is an edge zone, the second zone is a non-edge zone, and the first zone has a brightness higher than a brightness of the second zone (para[0008]; para[0010]; para[0035]; para[0040]-para[0041]; see in Figs. 1-4 edge zones 54 and central zones 52 comprising e.g. Organic Light-Emitting Diodes (OLEDs); “the light-emitting intensity of… at least one edge zone is greater than the light-emitting intensity of the central zone”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Mio’s invention, with the teachings in Ko’s invention, to have the first zone is an edge zone, the second zone is a non-edge zone, and the first zone has a brightness higher than a brightness of the second zone, for the advantage of compensating light-emitting efficiency of an extending portion of a display apparatus to make the display apparatus have an improved and uniform display effect (para[0010]; para[0040]).
Both Mio and Ko do not appear to expressly disclose the at least two light-emitting diodes are electrically connected in parallel.
Hu discloses a first zone comprising at least two light-emitting diodes, the at least two light-emitting diodes are electrically connected in parallel (see e.g. in Figs. 1-2 first zone A1 comprising at least two light-emitting diodes electrically connected in parallel between node N1 and current regulation module 150).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Mio’s and Ko’s combination, with the teachings in Hu’s invention, to have the at least two light-emitting diodes are electrically connected in parallel, for the advantage of a configuration that allows linearly regulating current of strings in a zone at a reduced cost (para[0021]; para[0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, in the combination Hu discloses each of the at least two light-emitting diodes is electrically connected to a channel of a current driving circuit (see in Figs. 1-2 each of the at least two light-emitting diodes in first zone A1 electrically connected to a channel of current regulation module/circuit 150 (e.g. channels corresponding to terminals ISEN1 and ISEN8), respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have each of the at least two light-emitting diodes is electrically connected to a channel of the current driving circuit, as also shown by Hu, for the advantage of independently and individually enable and disable control of current regulation (para[0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, in the combination Hu discloses the at least two light-emitting diodes are electrically connected to two channels of the current driving circuit (see in Figs. 1-2 the at least two light-emitting diodes in first zone A1 electrically connected to two channels of current regulation module/circuit 150 (e.g. channels corresponding to terminals ISEN1 and ISEN8), respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the at least two light-emitting diodes are electrically connected to two channels of the current driving circuit, for the advantage of independently and individually enable and disable control of current regulation (para[0021]).
Regarding claim 5, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, in the combination Hu discloses a second zone comprising at least one light-emitting diode, the at least one light-emitting diode is electrically connected to two channels of a current driving circuit (see e.g. in Figs. 1-2 second zone A2 comprising at least one light-emitting diode electrically connected to two channels of current regulation module/circuit 150 (e.g. channels corresponding to terminals ISEN1 and ISEN8), based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed limitations).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the at least one light-emitting diode is electrically connected to two channels of the current driving circuit, for the advantage of for the advantage of independently and individually enable and disable control of current regulation (para[0021]).
Regarding claim 7, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Mio discloses wherein the current driving circuit comprises:
a first current circuit, configured to provide a first current (see e.g. constant current circuit 11a in Fig. 1 configured to provide current 7b-1; para[0049]);
a second current circuit, configured to provide a second current (see e.g. constant current circuit 11b in Fig. 1 configured to provide current 7b-2; para[0049]);
a selection circuit, configured to output the first current or the second current according to the dimming control signal (see switches 15 in Figs. 1 and 6; para[0045]-para[0049]; “ON/OFF of the electric current is controlled by switching the connection of the switch 15a at the previous stage of the constant current circuit 11a by the switching signal 12a from the sequence control circuit 12 in the constant current circuit 11a”; “The constant current circuit 11b and a switch 15b, as well as the constant current circuit 11c and a switch 15c have a similar relation”; “As the current control signal 10a is input to the constant current circuits 11a, 11b, and 11c via the switch 15, the current values of the currents 7b-1, 7b-2, and 7b-3 are driven”); and
a driving circuit, configured to generate the driving signal with the first current or the second current according to the first current or the second current (see e.g. circuitry of 11a or 11b in Figs. 1 and 6, configured to generate the driving signal to cause electric current 7b-1 or 7b-2 to flow through LEDs 70; the currents 7b for each channel being “varied based on the value of the current control signal 10a”; para[0045]-para[0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Mio discloses the electronic device further comprises: a power source, electrically connected to the first zone (see anode voltage generating circuit 14 connected to LED group 7a-1 in Fig. 3); and wherein the first zone is different from the second zone (LED groups 7a-1 and 7a-2 in Figs. 3 and 8 being different and having different sequence driving).
In addition, in the combination Hu discloses a switching circuit, electrically connected between a second zone and a power source (see e.g. in Fig. 1, switch SW2 connected between a second LED array A2 and power source 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a switching circuit, electrically connected between the second zone and the power source, for the advantage of alternately delivering power to the second LED array/zone and reduce costs (para[0001]; para[0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Mio discloses the current control command comprises the general current control command and the high current control command (para[0040]; para[0053]; “the dimming ratio indicates the duty ratio of the dimming signal 9”; as shown in Fig. 8, “When the constant current driving circuit is used, if the dimming ratio is 100%, each of the currents 7b-1, 7b-2, and 7b-3 is a setting Max current value”; “Thereafter, as the dimming ratio decreases, the current value decreases”; based on this, the claimed current control command comprises the high current control command corresponding to a dimming ratio of 100% of the dimming signal 9, and the general current control command corresponding to a dimming ratio of 50% of the dimming signal 9).
Regarding claim 21, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Mio discloses the second current is 2 times to 20 times the first current (since the current is proportional to the current control signal 10a and the dimming ratio input from the dimming signal 9, the second current corresponding to the dimming ratio of 100% is twice the first current corresponding to the dimming ratio of 50%, as shown in Figs. 7-8; para[0048]-para[0049]; para[0053]).
Regarding claims 15-17, 19-20 and 22, these claims are analogous to claims 1-3, 5, 9 and 21, except they are a method claims (see para[0002] and e.g. Fig. 5 of Mio), and therefore are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-3, 5, 9 and 21 above.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mio (US 2016/0366740), in view of Ko (US 2020/0201115) and Hu et al. (US 2021/0029788), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (US 2018/0182298).
Regarding claim 6, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Mio, Ko and Hu do not appear to expressly disclose the local dimming circuit comprises: a first data output circuit, configured to output first data; a second data output circuit, configured to output second data, wherein a bit number of the second data is higher than a bit number of the first data; a selection circuit, configured to generate the dimming control signal according to the current control command, and to output the first data or the second data; and a pulse wave modulation circuit, configured to generate a pulse wave modulation signal according to the first data or the second data.
Jang discloses a local dimming circuit comprises: a first data output circuit, configured to output first data (see 142 in Fig. 3 outputting a pulse width modulation dimming enable signal, as best understood; para[0085]); a second data output circuit, configured to output second data (see 141 in Fig. 3 outputting a pulse width modulation value, as best understood; para[0084]), wherein a bit number of the second data is higher than a bit number of the first data (see in Fig. 2 PWM Value represented by 10 bits higher than and 1 bit used to represent PWM Dimming En, as best understood; para[0067]-para[0068]; para[0073]); a selection circuit, configured to generate the dimming control signal according to a current control command, and to output the first data or the second data (para[0061]; para[0084]-para[0086]; as shown in Fig. 3, “the pulse width modulation control unit 131 receives a selection band signal and a pulse width modulation dimming enable signal from a parameter storage unit 142 of the controller 140”, and “generates a pulse width modulation dimming value by using the pulse width modulation value and the selection band signal according to the received pulse width modulation dimming enable signal”); and a pulse wave modulation circuit, configured to generate a pulse wave modulation signal according to the first data or the second data (para[0083]; para[0095]-para[0096]; as shown in Fig. 3, “The luminance control unit 132 outputs luminance corresponding to the pulse width modulation value and pulse width modulation luminance corresponding to the pulse width modulation dimming value” according to the PWM Dimming En signal and the PWM Value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Mio’s, Ko’s and Hu’s combination, with the teachings in Jang’s invention, to have the local dimming circuit comprises: a first data output circuit, configured to output first data; a second data output circuit, configured to output second data, wherein a bit number of the second data is higher than a bit number of the first data; a selection circuit, configured to generate the dimming control signal according to the current control command, and to output the first data or the second data; and a pulse wave modulation circuit, configured to generate a pulse wave modulation signal according to the first data or the second data, for the advantage of precisely adjusting luminance by using digital values (para[0010]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mio (US 2016/0366740), in view of Ko (US 2020/0201115) and Hu et al. (US 2021/0029788), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (US 2022/0415269).
Regarding claim 10, Mio, Ko and Hu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Mio discloses a display control circuit configured to receive a processing signal and generate a display control signal according to the processing signal (para[0038]; see LCD control circuit 3 in Fig. 2; “Based on a display signal 8, the LCD control circuit 3 transfers a signal, a voltage, or the like to the LCD panel 5 and control a display of the LCD”).
However, Mio, Ko and Hu do not appear to expressly disclose a processing circuit, electrically connected to the local dimming circuit, and configured to use an algorithm to process the video stream to generate a processing signal; and the display control circuit, electrically connected to the processing circuit.
Liu discloses a processing circuit, electrically connected to a local dimming circuit, and configured to use an algorithm to process a video stream to generate a processing signal (see in Fig. 1 image processing circuit 111 connected to backlight control circuits 112 and 113; “the image processing circuit 111 may include a graphic processing unit (GPU), a central processing unit (CPU), or other devices that may run VRR techniques to generate the video stream VS1 to the panel control circuit 120”; para[0026]); and a display control circuit, electrically connected to the processing circuit, and configured to receive the processing signal and generate a display control signal according to the processing signal (see in Fig. 1 “panel control circuit 120 is coupled to the image processing circuit 111 to receive the video stream VS1”, “wherein the video stream VS1 includes one or a plurality of variable refresh rate (VRR) video frames”, and “The panel control circuit 120 may drive the display panel 130 to display an image according to the VRR video frame”; para[0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Mio’s, Ko’s and Hu’s combination, with the teachings in Liu’s invention, to have a processing circuit, electrically connected to the local dimming circuit, and configured to use an algorithm to process the video stream to generate a processing signal; and the display control circuit, electrically connected to the processing circuit, and configured to receive the processing signal and generate a display control signal according to the processing signal, for the advantage of a display equipment, an operation method thereof, and a backlight control device that solves the flicker phenomenon of a variable refresh rate (VRR) video frame (para[0005]; para[0009]).
Regarding claim 11, Mio, Ko, Hu and Liu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 10). In addition, Liu discloses a receiving circuit, electrically connected to the processing circuit, and configured to receive and output the video stream (see in Fig. 2 interface circuit 111a receives the original VRR stream 21 from the host 20 and outputs the original VRR stream 21 to the video scaler 111b; “the interface circuit 111a may include a universal serial bus (USB) interface circuit, a high-definition multimedia interface (HDMI) circuit, a display port (DP) interface circuit, or other video data transmission interface circuits”; para[0027]-para[0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a receiving circuit, electrically connected to the processing circuit, and configured to receive and output the video stream, as also taught by Liu, for the advantage efficiently transmitting video data by using a conventional interface circuits (para[0027).
Regarding claim 12, Mio, Ko, Hu and Liu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 11). In addition, Liu discloses the local dimming circuit, the receiving circuit and the processing circuit are integrated into a local dimming controller (see in Figs. 1-2, the backlight control device 110 as the claimed local dimming controller).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the local dimming circuit, the receiving circuit and the processing circuit are integrated into a local dimming controller, as also taught by Liu, for the advantage of one backlight/dimming controller that makes possible to eliminate afterimage caused by slow deflection of liquid crystal, such that a screen that the user sees is always the clearest (para[0065]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mio (US 2016/0366740), in view of Ko (US 2020/0201115), Hu et al. (US 2021/0029788) and Liu et al. (US 2022/0415269), as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2015/0365621).
Regarding claim 13, Mio, Ko, Hu and Liu disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 11). However, Mio, Ko, Hu and Liu do not appear to expressly disclose a first control circuit, electrically connected to the receiving circuit, and configured to provide the video stream and a module current control command.
Zhang discloses a first control circuit, electrically connected to a receiving circuit, and configured to provide a video stream and a module current control command (see in Fig. 3, FRC chip 101 connected to an interface to receive video data, configured to provide processed video stream data to the timing control chip 201, and command/signal to divide zones in order to facilitate centrally zoned control, by providing backlight values of the N backlight, such that “The MCU chip 102 is configured to divide the N backlight zones into M backlight areas”; para[0028]-para[0030]; para[0034]-para[0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Mio’s, Ko’s, Hu’s and Liu’s combination, with the teachings in Zhang’s invention, to have a first control circuit, electrically connected to the receiving circuit, and configured to provide the video stream and a module current control command, for the advantage of a configuration that allows performing different dimming control on backlight zones and improve the brightness contrast of video data being displayed (para[0024]).
Regarding claim 14, Mio, Ko, Hu, Liu and Zhang disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 13). In addition, Zhang discloses a second control circuit, electrically connected to the first control circuit and the local dimming circuit, and configured to receive the module current control command and output the current control command (see in Fig. 3, “The MCU chip 102 is configured to divide the N backlight zones into M backlight areas” in accordance with the signal from FRC chip 101, and sends “adjusted backlight values of the N backlight zones to the backlight drive chip” which controls “the brightness of the N backlight zones by the received backlight values” with a corresponding current; “the backlight drive chip configured to control Light Emitting Diode (LED) backlight sources of the N backlight zones by the received backlight values”; para[0008]; para[0030]; para[0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a second control circuit, electrically connected to the first control circuit and the local dimming circuit, and configured to receive the module current control command and output the current control command, as also taught by Zhang, for the advantage of further achieving the configuration that allows performing different dimming control on backlight zones and improve the brightness contrast of video data being displayed (para[0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, (and similar claim 15) the applicant argues on pages 9-11 of the remarks that “In claim 1, the first zone has been defined to have three attributes: 1) it is an edge zone; 2) it has LEDs connected in parallel; and 3) it has higher brightness”, and that “Mio, Ko and Hu, alone or in combination thereof, fail to teach or disclose at least the features as highlighted above in claim 1 of the application”. The reasons provided by the applicant for the above argument are that “Mio only discloses LED strings,…Mio fails to disclose "edge zone", "brightness relationship of LED strings" and "LEDs connected in parallel"; Ko discloses "edge zone", "brightness relationship of the edge zone and the central zone", but fails to disclose LED circuit of the edge zone and the central zone; Hu discloses LED strings is connected in parallel within LED arrays…, but also fails to disclose "edge zone" and "brightness relationship of LED strings"”; that “the common point of Mio, Ko and Hu lie in LED, but the design motivation of LED strings of Mio or LED strings connected in parallel of Hu seem independent from the design motivation of the edge zone and the brightness relationship of the edge zone and the central zone of Ko”, and that “for persons skilled in the art, based on the disclosure of Mio, Ko and Hu, it is impossible to reasonably apply LED strings connected in parallel in edge zones or brighter zones”.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In addition, it is noted that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Moreover, in response to applicant' s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, such teachings, suggestions, or motivations, are provided as shown in the above rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GLORYVID FIGUEROA-GIBSON/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628