DETAILED ACTION
This action is a non-final, first office action on the merits in response to applicant’s communication filed on 12/26/2024, wherein claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged with an effective filing date of 1/2/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show how the lift arms 26 are preferably pivotably connected to the crossmember 25 to allow inward and outward pivoting of the distal ends 32 of the lift arms 26 relative to each other as described in the specification at Par. [0020]. It is unclear whether the arms pivot toward each other in a clamping motion and/or solely up and down in relation to the truck bed. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract is objected to under 37 CFR 1.72(b). The opening sentence, "A flatbed truck bed for coupling a trailer to includes a base unit and a lifting assembly," is grammatically defective.
Additionally, the specification is objected to for the following reasons:
(a) Par. 0028 recites "the first and second mounting section side walls 43 and 44." Par. 0026 designates those walls as 42 and 43 and designates 44 as the forward wall. Reference character 44 denotes two different structures.
(b) Element 39 is called the "hitching or mounting section" at Par. 0025, the "hitching section" at Par. 0027, Par. 0029 and Par. 0031, and the "mounting section" at Par. 0026 and Par. 0036. Consistent terminology is required.
(c) The relationship among "trough floor 38" (Par. 0022), "mounting section floor 41" (Par. 0026) and "inlet section floor 48" (Par. 0028) is unclear. Applicant should clarify whether elements 38 and 41 denote the same structure.
(d) Par. 0021 states that hitch ball 33 "does not extend above the loading surface 22," while Par. 0027 states that trough floor 38 extends below the loading surface "a distance less than the height of the hitch ball 33 secured within the trough." These statements appear inconsistent.
(e) The abstract recites a "lifting assembly," whereas the claims and detailed description recite a "lift arm assembly 12."
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because "the mounting section" lacks literal antecedent basis, claim 17 reciting a hitching section. The specification identifies element 39 as the "hitching or mounting section" at Par. 0025, so the intended scope is reasonably ascertainable and no rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is entered on this ground. See MPEP 2173.05(e). Amendment to "the hitching section" is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 11,632,910).
Regarding Claim 1, Johnson discloses:
A truck bed, comprising (see FIGS. 1 through 6A, transport vehicle 15 having flat bed 13 and hay bale lifting apparatus 11):
a base unit having a truck bed floor with a loading surface – (see FIGS. 1 and 2, flat bed 13 defining the exposed top planar surface). Johnson states at col. 4 that apparatus 11 is installed within flat bed 13 of transport vehicle 15 and that the rear bed area defines “a generally rectangular shaped, exposed top planar surface 13”;
a crossmember pivotably mounted along a rear end of the base unit, the crossmember pivotable between a retracted position and an extended position about an axis extending transverse to a longitudinal axis of the truck bed – (see FIGS. 2 through 6A, mounting assembly 31 pivotally mounted on round bar 43 about pivot axis 39; FIGS. 1, 2 and 4 retracted; FIG. 6A extended). Johnson states at col. 5 that mounting assembly 31 is operatively connected to hydraulic cylinder 41 for movement “around a pivot axis” between the fully retracted and fully extended positions and that mounting assembly 31 is pivotally mounted on round bar 43 carried in tube 44 welded between vertical frame members 45 and 47 located in the rear bed of the truck;
a pair of lift arms connected to opposite ends of the crossmember – (see FIG. 3, elongate hay bale spikes 21 and 23 having connecting ends 27 affixed at opposite portions of mounting assembly 31 through connector tubes 35 and 37). Johnson states at col. 5 that “the connecting ends 27 are affixed to a mounting assembly 31 so that the spikes 21, 23, are spaced apart a fixed distance and are arranged in a plane parallel to one another”;
a trough formed in the truck bed floor centrally between opposite sides of the truck bed floor, the trough extending downwardly from the truck bed floor and extending rearwardly through a rear end of the base unit – (see FIG. 1, unlabeled trough that sits atop the depressed open space 19 centrally placed in flat bed 13 and extending below the surrounding loading surface to the rear of the bed). Johnson states at col. 4 that “The flat bed 13 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 has, in this case, a large rectangular opening” on which the trough sits atop and at col. 5; and
a recess centrally oriented between opposite ends of the crossmember, the recess alignable with the trough – (see FIGS. 1 through 3, mounting assembly 31 comprising raised connector tubes 35 and 37 at opposite portions thereof and rectangular tube 33 extending therebetween at a lower elevation, thereby defining a centrally recessed portion between connector tubes 35 and 37; FIG. 1 showing the central recess aligned with elongated trough that sits atop open space 19 in the retracted position). Johnson states at col. 5 that rectangular tube 33 “supports a pair of connector tubes 35, 37,” each connector tube being a square tube.
The Examiner relies on FIGS. 1 through 3 for the disclosed structural relationship and alignment of the unlabeled trough atop the depressed opening 19, rectangular tube 33 and connector tubes 35 and 37, and not for unbounded numerical dimensions or proportions. See MPEP 2125.
Regarding Claim 2, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 1, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses:
wherein a linkage mounts the crossmember to the rear end of the base unit and the linkage is actuatable to pivot the crossmember between the retracted position and the extended position – (see FIGS. 4 through 6A, hydraulic cylinder 41, output shaft 49, pivot links 51 and 53, round bar 43 and mounting assembly 31). Johnson states at col. 5-6 that hydraulic cylinder 41 is operatively connected to mounting assembly 31 through a pivot assembly and that each output shaft 49 is connected by pivot links 51 and 53 to the mounting assembly, “whereby actuating the hydraulic cylinders causes the respective output shafts to be extended and retracted, thereby causing the mounting assembly to rotate about the round bar 43” and move the spikes between the retracted and extended positions.
Regarding Claim 3, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 1, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses:
wherein the trough is sized sufficiently wide to accommodate traversal of a trailer coupler thereacross – (see FIGS. 1 and 2, large rectangular trough that sits atop open space 19 centrally in flat bed 13). Johnson expressly characterizes open space opening 19 under the rectangular trough that sits atop it as a “large rectangular opening” and discloses that the spaced-apart pair of spikes 21 and 23 and associated mounting assembly 31 are received within the opening when the apparatus is retracted.
The limitation “sized sufficiently wide to accommodate traversal of a trailer coupler thereacross” recites a functional capability of the trough rather than a particular structural dimension. Johnson's trough that sits atop open space 19 inherently possesses sufficient width to accommodate traversal of a trailer coupling member thereacross. The claim does not require accommodation of any specified type or dimension of trailer coupler. See MPEP 2114; In re Schreiber.
The Examiner further relies on FIGS. 1 and 2 for the plainly depicted structural width and unobstructed extent of the trough that sits atop open space 19, and not for precise numerical dimensions derived from the drawings.
Regarding Claim 4, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 3, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses:
wherein the trough is an approximately rectangular prism – (see FIG. 1, elongated trough that sits atop open space 19 centrally placed in flat bed 13).
Regarding Claim 6, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 3, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses:
wherein a cross-section of the recess is sized similar to a cross-section of the trough, construed as set forth above – (see FIGS. 1 through 3, central recess of mounting assembly 31 between connector tubes 35 and 37 aligned with and received at trough that sits atop open space 19 of Fig. 1 when mounting assembly 31 is retracted).
FIGS. 1 and 2 show that the cross-sectional profile of the central recess corresponds to the elongated trough of Fig. 1 sufficiently for the respective structures to mate and align. The Examiner relies on the disclosed mating relationship and not upon numerical dimensions derived from the drawings. See MPEP 2125.
Regarding Claim 9, Johnson discloses:
A truck bed, comprising (see FIGS. 1 through 6A):
a base unit securable to a truck frame, the base unit having a chassis with a truck bed floor mounted thereto, the truck bed floor having a loading surface – (see FIGS. 1, 2 and 4B, flat bed 13 of transport vehicle 15 supported by the rear-bed structural framework including frame members 45 and 47 and tube 44). Johnson describes vehicle 15 as a conventional flatbed pickup and states at col. 5 that tube 44 is welded between vertical frame members 45 and 47 located in the rear bed of the truck;
a trough extending downward from the loading surface, the trough having a mounting section and an inlet section, the mounting section disposed between the inlet section and a forward end of the trough, and the inlet section extending rearwardly through a rear end of the truck bed floor – (see FIG. 1, elongated trough that sits atop open space 19; the forward longitudinal portion of said trough corresponding to the mounting section and the rearward longitudinal portion corresponding to the inlet section). The forward portion is disposed between its rearward portion and its forward end, while the rearward portion extends to and through the rear portion of flat bed 13;
a crossmember pivotably mounted along a rear end of the base unit and pivotable about an axis extending transverse to a longitudinal axis of the truck bed and between a retracted position and an extended position – (see FIGS. 2 through 6A, mounting assembly 31 pivotally mounted about round bar 43 and pivot axis 39; FIGS. 1, 2 and 4 retracted; FIG. 6A extended);
the crossmember having a pair of outer tube sections with an offset centrally disposed therebetween, the offset alignable with the trough – (see FIGS. 2 and 3, connector tubes 35 and 37 forming the opposed outer tube sections of mounting assembly 31, with the centrally lowered portion defined by rectangular tube 33 between connector tubes 35 and 37 forming the offset; FIG. 1 showing that offset aligned with elongated trough that sits atop open space 19). Johnson states at col. 5 that rectangular tube 33 supports “a pair of connector tubes 35, 37,” each connector tube being a square tube; and
a linkage mounting the crossmember to the base unit, the linkage actuatable to pivot the crossmember between the retracted position and the extended position – (see FIGS. 4 through 6A, hydraulic cylinder 41, output shaft 49, pivot links 51 and 53, round bar 43 and mounting assembly 31). Johnson states at col. 5-6 that actuation of hydraulic cylinders 41 extends and retracts output shafts 49, thereby causing mounting assembly 31 to rotate about round bar 43 between the retracted and extended positions.
Regarding the mounting and inlet sections, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the forward and rearward longitudinal portions of continuous elongated unlabeled trough satisfy the mounting section and inlet section according to the relative positions expressly recited by the claim.
Regarding Claim 14, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 9, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses:
wherein a cross-section of the offset is sized similar to a cross-section of the mounting section, and the cross-section of the offset is sized similar to a cross-section of the inlet section, construed as set forth in the 112(b) section above – (see FIGS. 1 through 3, the central offset of mounting assembly 31 aligned with elongated unlabeled trough in Fig. 1 that sits atop open space 19 in the retracted position, the forward and rearward portions of said trough respectively defining the mounting and inlet sections).
The mounting section and inlet section are longitudinal portions of the same continuous elongated unlabeled trough and therefore correspond in cross-sectional size and profile. FIG. 1 further show the central offset between connector tubes 35 and 37 sized to align and mate with that opening when mounting assembly 31 is retracted. The Examiner relies on the disclosed mating and alignment relationship and not upon numerical dimensions derived from the drawings. See MPEP 2125.
Regarding Claim 15, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 14, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses:
wherein, when the crossmember is pivoted to the retracted position, a first offset side wall and a first mounting section side wall and a first inlet section side wall extend in an approximately common plane, and a second offset side wall and a second mounting section side wall and a second inlet section side wall extend in an approximately common plane – (see FIG. 1, opposite side walls of trough that sits atop open space 19 extending continuously along the forward mounting section and rearward inlet section, with the corresponding opposite side walls of the central offset between connector tubes 35 and 37 aligned therewith when mounting assembly 31 is retracted).
The mounting section and inlet section are longitudinal portions of the same continuous trough. Accordingly, the first mounting-section side wall and first inlet-section side wall are portions of the same continuous side wall, and the second mounting-section side wall and second inlet-section side wall are portions of the opposite continuous side wall. FIGS. 1 and 2 further show the corresponding side walls of the central offset aligned with those continuous side walls when mounting assembly 31 is retracted. The Examiner relies upon the depicted structural alignment and not upon numerical dimensions or proportions derived from the drawings. See MPEP 2125.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 11,632,910).
Regarding Claim 7, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 6, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses wherein a first recess side wall is generally aligned with a first trough side wall and a second recess side wall is generally aligned with a second trough side wall when the crossmember is pivoted to the retracted position – (see FIGS. 1 and 2, opposite side walls of the central recess between connector tubes 35 and 37 aligned with the respective opposite side walls of elongated unlabeled trough that sits atop open space 19 in FiG. 1 when mounting assembly 31 is retracted). FIG. 1 show the respective recess and trough side walls extending and generally aligned with one another in the retracted configuration. The Examiner relies on the disclosed structural alignment and not upon numerical dimensions or proportions derived from the drawings. See MPEP 2125.
However, Johnson does not appear to explicitly disclose “wherein a first recess side wall is flush with a first trough side wall and a second recess side wall is flush with a second trough side wall.”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have dimensioned and positioned the opposed side walls of Johnson’s central recess so that they are flush with the corresponding opposed side walls of the trough when mounting assembly 31 is in the retracted position. Johnson already aligns the central recess with the trough in that position, and providing the corresponding side walls in a common plane would maintain a continuous unobstructed passage through the aligned structures and avoid projecting wall portions that could interfere with passage through the trough or with retraction of mounting assembly 31. Such modification would have involved no change in the operating principle of Johnson and would have been the predictable geometric alignment of cooperating structures already arranged to register with one another. See KSR; MPEP 2143(A) and 2143(D).
Claims 5, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 11,632,910) in view of Mann (U.S. Patent No. 4,657,274) (Cited on IDS of 1/17/2025).
Regarding Claim 5, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 3, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson does disclose wherein a trough floor extends below the loading surface of the truck bed floor (FIG. 1, unlabeled trough that sits atop the depressed open space 19).
However, Johnson does not disclose a hitch ball secured within that region or any dimensional relationship between the depth of that region and the height of a hitch ball, i.e. a distance less than the height of a hitch ball secured within the trough.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed, Mann discloses:
a hitch ball secured on a depressed surface of a truck bed (a king pin 17 whose upper end is a ball 23, received in a rectangular opening 14 cut within the top surface 13 of the bed 10 and held by a housing 15 disposed beneath that surface, FIGS. 1 and 2; "Cut within the top surface 13 is a rectangular opening 14 which is preferably closed by hinged covers 16 which form a flat surface when closed" (Col. 2, lines 29-32); "the king pin may have various shapes of its upper end of which the round ball type is the most common and is illustrated at 23" (Col. 2, lines 44-47)).
Overlap between the references: Johnson and Mann both address housing equipment below the plane of a flat truck bed while preserving the bed for general cargo use, Mann stating that its arrangement permits the driver to "readily convert the truck from a fifth wheel tractor to a cargo carrying flatbed truck with no protrusions in the flatbed" (Col. 1, lines 62-66). Each discloses a centrally disposed feature on the longitudinal axis of the bed, Johnson in the form of the recessed region and Mann in the king pin 17 "preferably equally distant from each side edge 11" (Col. 2, lines 32-34).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the hitch ball of Mann, together with its supporting housing 15, within the recessed trough region of Johnson in order to provide a centrally located towing connection positioned below the surrounding loading surface so that the ball does not obstruct the bed when loads are moved across it. Such modification would have been the predictable use of a known centrally mounted hitch arrangement in an existing recessed region of a known truck bed. See KSR; MPEP 2143(A) and MPEP 2143(D).
Further, the depth of the recessed region relative to the height of the hitch ball secured therein is a result-effective variable. The depth determines whether the upper portion of the ball remains accessible to a trailer coupler advanced across the bed and determines how far the trailer must be raised to clear the bed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select that depth as less than the height of the hitch ball in order to keep the coupling surface of the ball reachable by the coupler while still recessing the ball relative to the surrounding loading surface, because the discovery of an optimum or workable range of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05(II) and MPEP 2144.05(III)(A).
As so modified, a trough floor extends below the loading surface of the truck bed floor a distance less than the height of a hitch ball secured within the trough.
Regarding Claim 8, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 1, which are met as set forth above.
As cited above, Johnson discloses a trough floor extending below the loading surface of the truck bed floor.
However, Johnson does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein a hole is formed in said trough, the hole providing access to a hitch ball mount secured to the base unit below the truck bed floor.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed, Mann discloses:
wherein a hole is formed in a depressed surface below a flat bed floor (“The housing 15 has a vertical bore 21 … and a horizontal plate 20 welded or otherwise secured to the transverse frame members 19." (Col. 2, lines 34-44));
the hole providing access to a hitch ball mount secured to the base unit below the truck bed floor (a housing 15 comprising a guide 18, transverse frame members 19, and a horizontal plate 20, disposed beneath the bed surface and receiving the king pin 17 and its ball 23, FIGS. 1 and 2; "The king pin 17 is disposed in the housing 15 which includes transverse frame members 19, a guide 18 and a horizontal plate 20 welded or otherwise secured to the transverse frame members 19" (Col. 2, lines 34-38); Mann claims "a housing secured to the flat bed below the flat bed surface and having a vertical bore and an intersecting horizontal bore" (Col. 4, lines 18-22). Mann secures the housing 15 to the transverse frame members 19 rather than to a base unit; Johnson supplies the base unit).
Overlap between the references: as set forth for claim 5 above.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a floor in the recessed trough region of Johnson, to form an opening in that floor as taught by Mann, and to secure Mann's housing 15 to the base unit of Johnson beneath that floor with the ball 23 projecting upwardly through the opening, in order to place the hitch mounting structure below the surrounding loading surface and thereby keep the ball and its supporting hardware clear of the deck when loads are moved across the bed, which is the same result Mann achieves by locating its housing beneath the bed surface so that the truck may be used for cargo "with no protrusions in the flatbed" (Col. 1, lines 62-66). Such modification would have been the predictable use of a known through-the-floor hitch mounting arrangement in the existing recessed region of Johnson's truck bed. See KSR; MPEP 2143(A) and MPEP 2143(D).
As so modified, a hole is formed in a trough floor extending below the loading surface of the truck bed floor, the hole providing access to a hitch ball mount secured to the base unit below the truck bed floor.
Regarding Claim 16, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 9, which are met as set forth above.
However, Johnson does not appear to disclose:
wherein a hole is formed in a mounting section floor, the hole providing access to a hitch ball mount secured to the chassis below the mounting section floor.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed, Mann discloses:
wherein a hole is formed in a mounting section floor (“The housing 15 has a vertical bore 21 … and a horizontal plate 20 welded or otherwise secured to the transverse frame members 19." (Col. 2, lines 34-44));
the hole providing access to a hitch ball mount secured to the chassis below the mounting section floor (a housing 15 comprising a guide 18, transverse frame members 19, and a horizontal plate 20, the guide 18 being "welded or otherwise secured to the transverse frame members 19" of the truck (Col. 2, lines 40-42) and the housing being disposed beneath the bed surface, FIGS. 1 and 2; Mann claims "a housing secured to the flat bed below the flat bed surface" (Col. 4, lines 18-19)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form an opening in the floor of the mounting section of Johnson as taught by Mann and to secure Mann's housing 15 to the chassis of Johnson beneath that floor, with the ball 23 projecting upwardly through the opening, in order to anchor the hitch to the load-bearing frame of the vehicle while keeping the mounting structure below the surrounding loading surface and clear of the deck when loads are moved across the bed. Such modification would have been the predictable use of a known through-the-floor hitch mounting arrangement in the existing recessed region of Johnson's truck bed. See KSR; MPEP 2143(A) and MPEP 2143(D).
As so modified, a hole is formed in a mounting section floor, the hole providing access to a hitch ball mount secured to the chassis below the mounting section floor.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 11,632,910) in view of Ramer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0295801 A1), hereinafter “Ramer.”
Regarding Claim 10, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 9, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses:
each of the pair of lift arms being pivotable between a stowed position and an extended position (lift arms 21 and 23 connected to opposite portions of mounting assembly 31 and moving with mounting assembly 31 between stowed and extended positions).
However, Johnson does not appear to expressly disclose:
a pair of lift arms pivotably connected to opposite ends of the crossmember.
In the same field of endeavor, Ramer discloses:
a pair of lift arms pivotably connected to opposite ends of the crossmember – (see FIGS. 1 and 3, arms 20 attached to crossmember 16). Ramer states at Par. [0020] that “An arm 20 is pivotally attached to each end of the cross-member” and that actuators 22 are configured to pivot distal ends of arms 20.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pivotably connect the pair of lift arms of Johnson to opposite ends of mounting assembly 31, as taught by Ramer, in order to permit additional movement of the arms for selectively engaging and releasing a load while retaining the established pivotal movement of the crossmember. See KSR; MPEP 2143(A) and MPEP 2143(D).
As so modified, the truck bed has a pair of lift arms pivotably connected to opposite ends of the crossmember, each of the pair of lift arms being pivotable between a stowed position and an extended position.
Claim 11, 12, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 11,632,910) in view of Pettit (U.S. Patent No. 5,346,240) (Cited on IDS of 1/17/2025).
Regarding Claim 11, Johnson discloses:
The limitations of claim 9, which are met as set forth above.
However, Johnson does not appear to explicitly disclose an access hatch having a recessed portion, the access hatch pivotably attached to the chassis proximate a trailing edge of the mounting section, the access hatch pivotable about an axis extending transverse to a longitudinal axis of the truck bed, whereby the recessed portion of the access hatch defines the inlet section of the trough.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed, Pettit discloses:
the access hatch pivotably attached to the chassis – (see FIGS. 3, 6 and 8, mounting 18 embodiment, mounting frame 32 carrying floor plate 40 and pivotally mounted in trunk 22 on pivot shaft 42, col. 3, lines 3-5, the trunk walls being secured to the truck chassis, col. 2, lines 52-57); and
the access hatch pivotable about an axis extending transverse to a longitudinal axis of the truck bed – (pivot shaft 42, "attached to both said first and second side walls of said trunk and extending across said trunk," col. 4, lines 43-45).
Pettit's floor plate 40 is flat rather than recessed, lying "in the same plane as the flatbed surface 14" when closed (col. 3, lines 1-3), Pettit's opening 20 being "a substantially square opening" in a planar deck (col. 2, lines 57-58).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have closed Johnson's trough opening with Pettit's pivoting deck closure, in order to restore a load-bearing loading surface over the trough while retaining access to the coupling (Pettit, col. 1, lines 18-25). Pettit conditions its closure on filling the opening it closes and sitting even with the surrounding floor (col. 1, lines 33-43); conforming that closure to Johnson's downwardly recessed inlet section accordingly yields a closure having a recessed portion of that profile rather than a flat plate. A flat panel at loading-surface level would further obstruct the passage by which the coupling traverses the trough. Conforming a known closure to the shape of the opening it closes is within the level of ordinary skill, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), and yields the predictable result of a selectively closable trough, MPEP 2143(A) and 2143(D).
As so modified, the truck bed has "an access hatch having a recessed portion" – (Pettit's closure conformed to Johnson's trough opening, the contoured region being the recessed portion); "the access hatch pivotably attached to the chassis proximate a trailing edge of the mounting section" – (mounting frame 32 on pivot shaft 42, located at the boundary between Johnson's mounting and inlet sections); "the access hatch pivotable about an axis extending transverse to a longitudinal axis of the truck bed" – (pivot shaft 42); and "whereby the recessed portion of the access hatch defines the inlet section of the trough" – (the recessed region bounds that section in the closed position).
Regarding Claim 12, Johnson/Pettit discloses:
The limitations of claim 11, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson/Pettit further disclose:
wherein the access hatch has a pair of shoulder plates extending horizontally in diametrically opposite directions – (see Johnson in view of above combination, FIG. 1, the side walls of the trough terminating at the loading surface of flat bed 13 in laterally projecting shoulder portions extending outwardly in opposite directions; per the modification set forth in claim 11, Pettit’s pivoting hatch is conformed to the profile of the trough section it occupies, which profile includes those shoulder portions); and
each one of the pair of shoulder plates structurally supported by a hatch frame disposed across a lower surface thereof – (see Pettit in view of above combination, mounting frame 32, comprising front bar 34, back bar 36, left flat bar 38, and right flat bar 39 fastened together “to define a rectangular structure of considerable strength” with floor plate 40 secured thereto (Col. 2, Lines 59-67).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have carried Pettit’s hatch frame (mounting frame 32) disposed across a lower surface to support the combined Johnson/Pettit access hatch with shoulder plates as set forth above. Carrying the existing frame out beneath the shoulder distributes the load into the frame, and is no more than an extension of a known reinforcing structure to the region of the trough/truck bed that carries the load. This is the use of a known technique to improve a similar device in the same way. See KSR; MPEP 2143(C) and 2143(D).
As so modified, the access hatch has a pair of shoulder plates extending horizontally in diametrically opposite directions, each one of the pair of shoulder plates structurally supported by a hatch frame disposed across a lower surface thereof.
Regarding Claim 17, Johnson discloses:
A truck bed, comprising (see FIGS. 1 through 6A, flat bed 13 of transport vehicle 15):
a base unit secured to a truck frame, the base unit having a truck bed floor with a loading surface – (see FIGS. 1, 2 and 4B, flat bed 13 and supporting rear-bed structure including frame members 45 and 47);
a pair of lift arms disposed proximate opposite sides of the base unit – (see FIGS. 1 through 3, elongate spikes 21 and 23 positioned on opposite lateral portions of flat bed 13);
a trough centrally oriented between opposite sides of the base unit and extending downwardly from the loading surface, the trough having a hitching section – (see FIG. 1, elongated unlabeled trough that sits atop the depressed open space 19 downward from the loading surface placed in flat bed 13, with the forward longitudinal portion of said trough corresponding to the hitching section);
a crossmember pivotably mounted along a rear end of the base unit, the crossmember pivotable about an axis extending transverse to a longitudinal axis of the truck bed between a retracted position and an extended position – (see FIGS. 2 through 6A, mounting assembly 31 pivotally mounted about round bar 43 and pivot axis 39); and
an offset centrally oriented between opposite sides of the crossmember – (see FIGS. 1 through 3, mounting assembly 31 comprising connector tubes 35 and 37 at opposite portions thereof and rectangular tube 33 centrally disposed at a lower elevation therebetween, thereby defining the central offset). Johnson further shows in FIGS. 1 and 2 that the central offset of mounting assembly 31 is aligned with elongated unlabeled trough that sits atop the depressed open space 19 downward from the loading surface placed in flat bed 13 when mounting assembly 31 is in the retracted position.
However, Johnson does not appear to explicitly disclose: an access door having a recessed portion, the access door pivotably attached to the base unit proximate a trailing edge of the hitching section, the recessed portion alignable with the hitching section nor the offset alignable with the recessed portion.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed, Pettit discloses:
the access door pivotably attached to the base unit – (see FIGS. 3, 6 and 8, mounting 18 embodiment, mounting frame 32 carrying floor plate 40 and pivotally mounted in trunk 22 on pivot shaft 42, col. 3, lines 3-5, the trunk being secured to the truck bed and chassis, col. 2, lines 52-57, said frame occupying the rearward portion of the trunk opening with shaft 42 at the forward boundary of that region, col. 3, lines 21-23).
Pettit's floor plate 40 is flat rather than recessed, lying "in the same plane as the flatbed surface 14" when closed (col. 3, lines 1-3), Pettit's opening 20 being "a substantially square opening" in a planar deck (col. 2, lines 57-58).
Given the chain of claim 17, in which the trough and the offset are each recited as "centrally oriented," "alignable with" is given its broadest reasonable interpretation as requiring capability of registry along the common longitudinal centerline of the trough; it does not require that the recessed portion overlie, define or bound the hitching section. See MPEP 2111.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have closed the rearward longitudinal portion of Johnson's elongated trough opening with Pettit's pivoting deck closure, in order to restore a substantially continuous loading surface while retaining the closure on the vehicle (Pettit, col. 1, lines 18-25). Pettit conditions its closure on filling the opening it closes and sitting even with the surrounding floor (col. 1, lines 33-43); conforming that closure to Johnson's downwardly extending trough accordingly yields a closure having a recessed portion of that profile rather than a flat plate. A flat panel at loading-surface level would further obstruct the passage along which the coupling is received and would interfere with the retracted position of mounting assembly 31. Conforming a known closure to the shape of the opening it closes is within the level of ordinary skill, MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B), and yields the predictable result of a selectively closable trough, MPEP 2143(A) and 2143(D).
As so modified, the truck bed has "an access door having a recessed portion" – (Pettit's closure conformed to Johnson's trough, the contoured region being the recessed portion); "the access door pivotably attached to the base unit proximate a trailing edge of the hitching section" – (mounting frame 32 on pivot shaft 42, the closure occupying the rearward longitudinal portion of Johnson's trough with shaft 42 at the forward boundary of that region, which boundary is the trailing edge of the hitching section identified above); "the recessed portion alignable with the hitching section" – (both occupy longitudinally successive portions of the same centrally oriented trough and lie on its common longitudinal centerline); and "the offset alignable with the recessed portion" – (Johnson's central offset is aligned with elongated unlabeled trough that sits atop the depressed open space 19 downward from the loading surface placed in flat bed 13 in the retracted position, and the recessed portion occupies that same opening).
Regarding Claim 19, Johnson/Pettit discloses:
The limitations of claim 17, which are met as set forth above.
Johnson further discloses:
at least one linkage mounting the crossmember to the base unit, the at least one linkage actuatable to pivot the crossmember between the retracted position and the extended position – (see FIGS. 4 through 6A, hydraulic cylinder 41, output shaft 49, pivot links 51 and 53, round bar 43 and mounting assembly 31). Johnson states that actuation of hydraulic cylinders 41 extends and retracts output shafts 49 and causes mounting assembly 31 to rotate about round bar 43 between its retracted and extended positions.
Regarding Claim 20, Johnson/Pettit discloses:
The limitations of claim 17, which are met as set forth above.
The newly added limitation is “wherein a cross-section of the mounting section is sized similar to a cross-section of the offset, and the cross-section of the mounting section is sized similar to a cross-section of the recessed portion,” construed as set forth in the 112(b) section above and read in light of the objection to claim 20 set forth above, with “mounting section” understood as referring to the hitching section of claim 17. The specification identifies element 39 as the “hitching or mounting section.”
Johnson further discloses:
wherein a cross-section of the mounting section is sized similar to a cross-section of the offset –
(see FIGS. 1 through 3, the forward portion of elongated trough corresponding to the mounting/hitching section and the central offset of mounting assembly 31 disposed between connector tubes 35 and 37). Johnson shows the central offset aligned with and received at elongated opening 19 when mounting assembly 31 is retracted. Accordingly, under the construction of “sized similar to” set forth above, the cross-section of the central offset corresponds sufficiently in size and profile to the cross-section of the mounting/hitching section to mate therewith. The Examiner relies on the disclosed mating and alignment relationship rather than numerical dimensions derived from the drawings. See MPEP 2125.
Furthermore, Pettit supplies the recessed portion of the access door as set forth regarding claim 17. In the combination, Pettit's recessed access-door portion is fitted within and defines the rearward portion of Johnson's continuous elongated trough. The forward mounting/hitching section and the rearward recessed access-door portion therefore correspond in cross-sectional size and profile sufficiently to mate as portions of the same continuous trough. Accordingly, “the cross-section of the mounting section is sized similar to a cross-section of the recessed portion.”
Thus, Johnson supplies the claimed cross-sectional relationship between the mounting section and the offset, while the Johnson/Pettit combination supplies the claimed cross-sectional relationship between the mounting section and the recessed portion.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 11,632,910) in view of Pettit (U.S. Patent No. 5,346,240), and further in view of Gleason et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0284193 A1), hereinafter “Gleason.”
Regarding Claim 13, Johnson/Pettit discloses:
The limitations of claim 12, which are met as set forth above.
Pettit further discloses:
at least one spring attached to the hatch frame – (coil spring 52 wrapped around pivot shaft 42, "[t]he tail 54 engages inside of front bar 34," col. 3, lines 28-32). Front bar 34 is a member of mounting frame 32 (col. 2, lines 59-67) and therefore of the hatch frame identified in claim 12. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the engagement of tail 54 within front bar 34 reasonably satisfies "attached to the hatch frame," because the spring end is mechanically engaged with that frame member and transmits spring torque thereto.
However, Johnson/Pettit do not appear to disclose "the at least one spring engageable to bias the access hatch to a closed position; and at least one dampener attached to the chassis, the at least one dampener contactable with the hatch frame." Pettit's spring 52 is oppositely oriented, urging the frame toward its open position (col. 3, lines 33-36).
Reasonably pertinent to the problem of controlling movement of a pivoting vehicle closure, Gleason discloses:
at least one dampener attached to the chassis, the at least one dampener contactable with the hatch frame – (see FIGS. 2 and 3, damper 10 embodiment, housing 100 having base plate 115 with "at least one aperture 120 that affords for the attachment of the damper 10 to a truck body," and damping insert 200 having tailgate portion 222, which "can be a shaft that is operable to be fixedly attached to a tailgate shaft of the tailgate" (Pars. [0024-0025])); and
the orientation of a bias spring toward the closed position – (see FIGS. 9 and 10, torsional spring 450, "the first end 452 being attached to the damping insert 400 and the second end 454 being attached to the housing 300," wound as the closure is lowered so as to assist its return (Par. [0029])).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reoriented Pettit's spring 52 to bias the access hatch to a closed position and to have added a chassis-mounted dampener contactable with the hatch frame, as taught by Gleason. Gleason states that known restraining mechanisms "do not prevent the tailgate from opening in a freefall fashion and coming to an abrupt stop," which "can damage and wear the tailgate and/or the restraining mechanism," (Par. [0003]). The same concern attends the access hatch of the combination, which forms part of the load-supporting bed structure when closed; Pettit itself recognizes the hazard of its frame moving too rapidly (col. 3, line 68 to col. 4, line 2). Reversing the bias is the selection of one of two known orientations for a spring already carried on the hatch pivot, MPEP 2144.04(VI) and 2143(B), and the dampener is a known technique applied to a similar device in the same way, MPEP 2143(C) and 2143(D).
Pettit's contrary disclosed orientation does not negate the combination. Pettit biases toward opening because its operator must raise the frame and its fifth wheel into the active position, a purpose absent here, where the hatch is opened only for access; Pettit nowhere criticizes or discourages biasing such a panel closed. See MPEP 2145(X)(D)(1).
As so modified, the truck bed further comprises "at least one spring attached to the hatch frame" – (coil spring 52, tail 54 engaging front bar 34); "the at least one spring engageable to bias the access hatch to a closed position" – (spring 52 reoriented per Gleason FIGS. 9 and 10); "at least one dampener attached to the chassis" – (damper 10, base plate 115 attached to the truck body through aperture 120); and "the at least one dampener contactable with the hatch frame" – (damping insert 200, tailgate portion 222 fixedly attached to the shaft of the pivoting closure carried by the hatch frame).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson (U.S. Patent No. 11,632,910) in view of Pettit (U.S. Patent No. 5,346,240), and further in view of Antal (U.S. Patent No. 4,722,651).
Regarding Claim 18, Johnson/Pettit discloses:
The limitations of claim 17, which are met as set forth above.
However, Johnson/Pettit does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the rear end of the base unit comprises a bumper structure disposed beneath the truck bed floor, the bumper structure including a pair of hinges defining the axis about which the crossmember is pivotable.
Reasonably pertinent to the problem addressed, Antal discloses:
wherein the rear end of the base unit comprises a bumper structure disposed beneath the truck bed floor – (see FIGS. 1 and 4; col. 3, lines 30–45). Antal discloses a truck box 10 mounted upon chassis 12 having chassis members 13 and 14, the rear ends 15 of which normally receive a conventional bumper mount. Antal further discloses brackets 16 and 17 extending rearwardly from chassis members 13 and 14 and a transverse beam 19 forming part of a replacement rear bumper structure. Antal expressly states that the device is attached in replacement of the conventional bumper, and that the frame member and folded arms constitute the rear bumper; and
the bumper structure including a pair of hinges defining the axis about which the crossmember is pivotable – (see FIG. 1; col. 3, lines 40–50). Antal discloses a pivot coupling 18 mounted at the rear end of each of brackets 16 and 17 and states that transverse beam 19 carries a pair of flanges 20 attached to the pivot couplings 18, “so that the beam 19 can pivot about a horizontal axis defined by the couplings 18.” Thus, the pair of pivot couplings 18 corresponds to the claimed pair of hinges defining the pivot axis of the transverse crossmember.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support the rear pivoting crossmember of the Johnson/Pettit combination on the rear bumper-support arrangement taught by Antal, including a pair of laterally spaced pivot couplings defining the transverse pivot axis, in order to mount the pivoting bale-lift crossmember to the vehicle chassis at the rear of the truck while permitting the crossmember to function as part of the rear bumper structure. Antal expressly teaches mounting its bale-lift transverse beam on pivot couplings carried by chassis-mounted brackets in replacement of the conventional rear bumper.
As so modified, the rear end of the base unit comprises a bumper structure disposed beneath the truck bed floor, the bumper structure including a pair of hinges defining the axis about which the crossmember is pivotable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Luke, U.S. Patent No. 5,934,736A, describes a novel covering apparatus that adjusts to fit pickup truck boxes having a variety of widths and lengths and that in one embodiment provides a removable trough floor that allows use of the same tailgate with both stock fifth-wheel trailers and RV fifth-wheel trailers. Krogmann, U.S. Patent No. 6,099,228, discloses a stowable bale lift assembly received in recesses formed in the rear of a truck bed. Kim, US 20050093342 A1, relates in general to a swing-up tailgate, and, more particularly, to an overslam bumper for a vehicle swing-up tailgate adapted to absorb impact upon closure of the tailgate. Roach, US 20040212210 A1, describes a control mechanism for controlling movement of a vehicle gate between a first and a second position comprising a dampener assembly and a lift assembly that are incorporated within the gate. Nania, US 20220001728 A1, relates generally to a tailgate assembly for a vehicle and, more particularly, to a tailgate assembly having a door that can be opened to, among other things, help a user access cargo within a cargo bed of the vehicle. Mann, U.S. Patent No. 4,657,274A, relates to tractor vehicles having a retractable king pin to which a trailer vehicle may be connected and has particular reference to a vertically moveable king pin that is operated from a remote part of the vehicle. Wiens, U.S. Patent No. 4,368,674A, relates to an improved hatch cover for railroad hopper cars and to a novel method of constructing the hatch cover.
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/FATHI K. ABDELSALAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3655