It is noted that the instant application is a continuation of US Patent Application No. 17/865,053, filed July 14, 2022, issued as US Patent No. 12,202685. Any information considered in the parent application has been considered in the instant application.
The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of December 26, 2024 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on March 28, 2025. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimomura (USPN 8978873) in view of Schoenberger (USPN 10434699), Babbit et al. (USPN 8733146) and German Document (DE29724903U1, copy and machine translation attached, hereafter ‘903).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Shimomura (USPN 8978873) teaches a method comprising: operating, by a controller (control means 14), a series of servo motors (M1-M5) synchronously within a series of modules (“units”), wherein each module of the series of modules includes a respective servo motor of the series of servo motors that rotates a corresponding turret (4-12) for passing articles through the series of modules or for modifying a shape of the articles; detecting, by the controller, an error condition within the series of modules [Col. 4:27-39, “in case an abnormality occurs in any unit”, “abnormality occurring in the filler 9 here means a case where the third servomotor M3 cannot be controlled”], and stopping, by the controller, the operating of the series of servo motors within the series of modules based on the detecting of the error condition by stopping each servo motor individually within the series of modules [Col. 4:58-63, “control means 14 output a control pulse for stopping the servomotors M1, M2, M4 and M5…while activated the third brake”]. Shimomura fails to teach the error condition being at least one servo motor of the series of servo motors exceeding a torque threshold, a position threshold, or a combination of the torque threshold and the position threshold, the error condition indicating damage to at least one of the articles, a jam of at least one of the articles in a corresponding turret of the at least one servo motor, or a combination thereof; and wherein each servo motor of the series of servo motors is mechanically connected to the corresponding turret within the corresponding module by one or more gears, and the one or more gears of adjacent modules are mechanically isolated from each other. Schoenberger (USPN 10434699) teaches a sensor device that detects a torque [Col. 6:53-67] and if the torque rises, indicating a jam, a servo drive is switched off [Col. 7:1-11]. This protects machine components from the “detrimental consequences” of jams. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Shimomura such that the error condition being at least one servo motor of the series of servo motors exceeding a torque threshold, a position threshold, or a combination of the torque threshold and the position threshold, the error condition indicating damage to at least one of the articles, a jam of at least one of the articles in a corresponding turret of the at least one servo motor, or a combination thereof as taught by Schoenberger. The machine components would then be protected from “detrimental consequences”. Babbit et al. (USPN 8733146) teaches a machine arrangement having modules (20) and teaches a motor (90) mechanically connected to a turret (60) through one or more gears (66, 94). ‘903 teaches turrets (1, 5, 6) having motors (M1, M5, M6, respectively) driving each respective turret, the motors being mechanically isolated from each other. This reduces noise, as gears between turrets are no longer needed. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Shimomura such that each servo motor of the series of servo motors is mechanically connected to the corresponding turret within the corresponding module by one or more gears, and the one or more gears of adjacent modules are mechanically isolated from each other to reduce noise. As gears between turret modules are no longer needed, the noise from those gears interacting is absent.
Regarding Claim(s) 2, Shimomura teaches disabling, by the controller, the at least one servo motor to allow manual rotation of the corresponding turret separate from the series of turrets [Col. 3:47-49, “servomotor M1 turns into a free running state”], yet fails to teach the error condition is the jam of the at least one article. Schoenberger teaches the error condition is the jam of at least one article (due to the rise in torque). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the error condition be the jam of at least one article. Detecting the jam would reduce damage to the components.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, Shimomura teaches disabling, by the controller, one or more adjacent servo motors of the at least one servo motor to allow manual rotation of corresponding turrets of the one or more adjacent servo motors separate from the series of turrets [Col. 4:40-44, “the drive shaft of the third servomotor M3 to turn into the free-running state”].
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Shimomura teaches the series of servo motors comes to a full stop in 4 seconds or less upon the stopping of the operating [Col. 3:57-63, “stop the star wheels…in about 1 second”].
Regarding Claim(s) 9, Shimomura teaches the series of servo motors comes to a full stop in 2.5 seconds or less upon the stopping of the operating [Col. 3:57-63, “stop the star wheels…in about 1 second”].
Regarding Claim(s) 11, Shimomura teaches one or more turrets within the series of modules have different moments of inertia (the wheels are illustrated in different sizes; therefore, the wheels would have different moments of inertia).
Claim(s) 3, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimomura in view of Schoenberger, Babbit et al. and ‘903 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sorbi (USPN 10450179).
Regarding Claim(s) 3 and 5, Shimomura teaches the limitations described above, yet fails to teach aligning the series of servo motors amongst each other according to a virtual axis prior to the operating of the series of servo motors; and re-aligning, by the controller, the at least one servo motor with the virtual axis after the removing of the at least one container. Sorbi (USPN 10450179) teaches a synchronization system having rotating wheels (25, 29, 35, 39) and teaches a virtual axis (V), the physical axes of rotation of the wheels 35 and 39 being coupled to and tracking the axis [Col. 5:35-40]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to align and re-align the servo motor with a virtual axis. Aligning the servo motor to the virtual axis would reduce the time needed for synchronization [Col. 8:13-20].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,202,685. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter of the instant claims is fully encompassed by the subject matter of the patented claims.
Regarding Claim(s) 1, ‘685 teaches a method comprising: operating, by a controller, a series of servo motors synchronously within a series of modules, wherein each module of the series of modules includes a respective servo motor of the series of servo motors that rotates a corresponding turret for passing articles through the series of modules or for modifying a shape of the articles [Claim 1]; detecting, by the controller, an error condition within the series of modules, the error condition being at least one servo motor of the series of servo motors exceeding a torque threshold, a position threshold, or a combination of the torque threshold and the position threshold, the error condition indicating damage to at least one of the articles, a jam of at least one of the articles in a corresponding turret of the at least one servo motor, or a combination thereof [Claim 1]; and stopping, by the controller, the operating of the series of servo motors within the series of modules based on the detecting of the error condition by stopping each servo motor individually within the series of modules [Claim 1], wherein each servo motor of the series of servo motors is mechanically connected to the corresponding turret within the corresponding module by one or more gears, and the one or more gears of adjacent modules are mechanically isolated from each other [Claim 12].
Regarding Claim(s) 2, see claim 2 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 3, see claim 3 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 4, see claim 4 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 5, see claim 5 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 6, see claims 1 and 6 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 7, see claims 1 and 7 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 8, see claim 8 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, see claim 9 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 10, see claim 13 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, see claim 14 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 12, see claim 15 of ‘685.
Regarding Claim(s) 13, see claim 16 of ‘685.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 10434699 discloses monitoring the torque of a motor for a turret.
/WILLIAM R HARP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653