DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on December 26, 2024, claim 1-10 have been examined this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 1/2/2025 and 5/23/2025 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (US 2019/0341984 A1) in view of Maltsev et al (US 2015/0288438 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhu teaches an antenna, comprising [0105 for using an antenna]:
at least one drive structure, wherein the at least one drive structure comprises [0105 for multiple RF circuits]:
a radio frequency amplifier [0105 for RF circuit may include, for example, a mixer, a filter, and an amplifier, and transmits and receives wireless signals via the antenna];
and a reconfigurable antenna group, the reconfigurable antenna group comprises [0067 for sub array determined as above, the base station may adjust e.g., increase or decrease the size of the sub array according to the channel state]:
a plurality of antenna units [0108 for multiple antennas are arranged as the antenna array];
and a plurality of optional beam directions [0098 for reason why certain user performances do not reach the best user performance is that, the direction resolution of the 36 beams];
the plurality of antenna units being in a horizontal direction [0099 for horizontal direction],
and the horizontal direction is parallel to the antenna [0093 for and the reconfigurable antenna group is configured to transmit or receive a signal in a target beam direction];
and the reconfigurable antenna group is configured to transmit or receive a signal in a target beam direction [0043 for array to generate a directional beam to transmit downlink data to the user equipment with 0097],
and the target beam direction is an optional beam direction of the plurality of optional beam directions that is closest to a target direction in the plurality of optional beam directions [0071 for angle between the normal direction and a line connecting the user equipment and the columnar curved surface array antenna is minimal with 0101 for using MIMO antennas].
Zhu fails to explicitly teach and arranged in a straight line, wherein the radio frequency amplifier is configured to drive the plurality of antenna units in the reconfigurable antenna group.
Maltsev has methods for a modular antenna array using radio frequency and baseband beamforming (abstract) and teaches and arranged in a straight line [0023 for RF beamforming antenna modules are configured in a linear array and each module],
wherein the radio frequency amplifier is configured to drive the plurality of antenna units in the reconfigurable antenna group [0018 for array of antenna elements coupled to an RF beamformer RFIC through feed lines which may be micro-strip feed lines. RFIC includes an array of phase shifting circuit with 0029].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the array placement calculations as taught by Maltsev for the purpose to decreasing the total sum of the errors of the corresponding points (Maltsev, 0018).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhu fails to explicitly teach a polygonal structure, and the polygonal structure comprises: a plurality of drive structures, and each edge of the polygonal structure comprises: at least one reconfigurable antenna group in the plurality of drive structures.
Maltsev has methods for a modular antenna array using radio frequency and baseband beamforming (abstract) and teaches a polygonal structure, and the polygonal structure comprises: a plurality of drive structures, and each edge of the polygonal structure comprises [0027 for opposite directions. A triangular arrangement may also be employed to provide an omni-directional coverage mode]:
at least one reconfigurable antenna group in the plurality of drive structures [0027 for spherical (or cylindrical) 360-degree pattern may be achieved with parallel planes of sub-arrays directed in opposite directions].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the array placement calculations as taught by Maltsev for the purpose of increased speeds for mode switching and beam steering (Maltsev, 0027).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhu teaches a method for increasing an antenna gain of an antenna, comprising [0069 for possible to make the transmitted beams have the largest gains and the narrowest widths]:
determining a target beam direction of a plurality of optional beam directions [0066 for the base station may determine the sub array composed of 3rd˜8th columns of antenna elements],
and the target beam direction is an optional beam direction of the plurality of optional beam directions that is closest to a target direction in the plurality of optional beam directions [0071 for determining the sub array to serve the user equipment by performing beam training];
and transmitting or receiving a signal in the target beam direction [0073 for determined sub array to transmit data to the user equipment],
wherein the antenna comprises at least one drive structure [0067 for antenna subarray, 0105 RF circuit with an amplifier],
the drive structure comprises a radio frequency amplifier and a reconfigurable antenna group [0105-0106],
the reconfigurable antenna group comprises the plurality of optional beam directions and a plurality of antenna units in a horizontal direction [0043 for array to generate a directional beam to transmit downlink data to the user equipment with 0061, 0097],
and the horizontal direction is parallel to the antenna [0093 for horizontal direction antenna number of each UPA is Mx=12; a vertical direction antenna].
Zhu fails to explicitly teach and arranged in a straight line and the radio frequency amplifier is configured to drive the plurality of antenna units in the reconfigurable antenna group.
Maltsev has methods for a modular antenna array using radio frequency and baseband beamforming (abstract) and teaches and arranged in a straight line [0023 for RF beamforming antenna modules are configured in a linear array and each module],
and the radio frequency amplifier is configured to drive the plurality of antenna units in the reconfigurable antenna group [0018 for array of antenna elements coupled to an RF beamformer RFIC through feed lines which may be micro-strip feed lines. RFIC includes an array of phase shifting circuit with 0029].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the array placement calculations as taught by Maltsev for the purpose to decreasing the total sum of the errors of the corresponding points (Maltsev, 0018).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhu teaches determining a target drive edge, wherein the target drive edge is at least one edge closest to the target direction in the polygonal structure [0071 for angle between the normal direction and a line connecting the user equipment and the columnar curved surface array antenna is minimal];
and the determining the target beam direction in the plurality of optional beam directions comprises: determining the target beam direction in the plurality of optional beam directions of the target drive edge [0066 for sub array corresponding to a beam with a second best channel quality].
Zhu fails to explicitly teach wherein the antenna further comprises a polygonal structure, the polygonal structure comprises a plurality of drive structures, and each edge of the polygonal structure comprises at least one reconfigurable antenna group in the plurality of drive structures.
Maltsev has methods for a modular antenna array using radio frequency and baseband beamforming (abstract) and teaches wherein the antenna further comprises a polygonal structure, the polygonal structure comprises a plurality of drive structures, and each edge of the polygonal structure comprises at least one reconfigurable antenna group in the plurality of drive structures [0018 for array of antenna elements coupled to an RF beamformer RFIC through feed lines which may be micro-strip feed lines. RFIC includes an array of phase shifting circuit with 0029].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the array placement calculations as taught by Maltsev for the purpose to decreasing the total sum of the errors of the corresponding points (Maltsev, 0018).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhu teaches determining a target drive plane, wherein the target drive plane is at least one drive plane whose optional beam direction is closest to the target direction in the plurality of drive planes [0071 for user equipment by making the normal direction of the sub array aim at the user equipment optimally];
and the determining the target beam direction in the plurality of optional beam directions comprises: determining the target beam direction in the plurality of optional beam directions of the target drive plane [0066 for to make overall performance of the system optimal, the base station may also select a sub array corresponding to a beam with a second best channel quality].
Zhu fails to explicitly teach wherein the antenna comprises a cylindrical structure, the cylindrical structure comprises a plurality of drive planes, and each drive plane of the plurality of drive planes comprises a plurality of reconfigurable antenna groups in the plurality of drive structures.
Maltsev has methods for a modular antenna array using radio frequency and baseband beamforming (abstract) and teaches wherein the antenna comprises a cylindrical structure, the cylindrical structure comprises a plurality of drive planes [0027 for substantially spherical (or cylindrical) 360-degree pattern may be achieved with parallel planes of sub-arrays],
and each drive plane of the plurality of drive planes comprises a plurality of reconfigurable antenna groups in the plurality of drive structures [0044 for multiple planes].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the array placement calculations as taught by Maltsev for the purpose of increased speeds for mode switching and beam steering (Maltsev, 0027).
Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (US 2019/0341984 A1) in view of Maltsev et al (US 2015/0288438 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Akita (US 2021/0083727 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhu fails to explicitly teach a plurality of drive planes, each drive plane of the plurality of drive planes comprises.
Maltsev has methods for a modular antenna array using radio frequency and baseband beamforming (abstract) and teaches a plurality of drive planes [0044 for multiple planes],
each drive plane of the plurality of drive planes comprises [0022 for gains may be achieved by employing additional RF beamforming antenna modules].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the array placement calculations as taught by Maltsev for the purpose of increased speeds for mode switching and beam steering (Maltsev, 0027).
Zhu fails to explicitly teach a plurality of reconfigurable antenna groups in the corresponding drive structure of the plurality of drive planes, and an angle is between a first drive plane of the plurality of drive planes and a second drive plane of the plurality of drive planes.
Akita has an electronic device comprises a first antenna includes first antenna elements on a first planar substrate, a second antenna includes second antenna elements on a second planar substrate (abstract) and teaches a plurality of reconfigurable antenna groups in the corresponding drive structure of the plurality of drive planes, and an angle is between a first drive plane of the plurality of drive planes and a second drive plane of the plurality of drive planes [0032 for the angle defined by two adjacent array antennas in the array antennas is about 120 degrees. It is possible to determine the number of side surfaces of the polygon].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the plane antennas as taught by Akita for the purpose to form beam patterns in a range of approximately 360 degrees (Akita, 0032).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhu fails to explicitly teach a first drive plane of the plurality of drive planes is connected to a second drive plane of the plurality of drive planes.
Akita has an electronic device comprises a first antenna includes first antenna elements on a first planar substrate, a second antenna includes second antenna elements on a second planar substrate (abstract) and teaches a first drive plane of the plurality of drive planes is connected to a second drive plane of the plurality of drive planes [0032 for the angle defined by two adjacent array antennas in the array antennas is about 120 degrees. It is possible to determine the number of side surfaces of the polygon].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the plane antennas as taught by Akita for the purpose to form beam patterns in a range of approximately 360 degrees (Akita, 0032).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhu fails to explicitly teach a cylindrical structure, and the cylindrical structure comprises: the plurality of drive planes.
Maltsev has methods for a modular antenna array using radio frequency and baseband beamforming (abstract) and teaches a cylindrical structure, and the cylindrical structure comprises: the plurality of drive planes [0027 for substantially spherical (or cylindrical) 360-degree pattern may be achieved with parallel planes of sub-arrays].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the array placement calculations as taught by Maltsev for the purpose of increased speeds for mode switching and beam steering (Maltsev, 0027).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhu fails to explicitly teach the cylindrical structure includes a bottom, and the bottom of the cylindrical structure comprises: at least one antenna unit of the plurality of antenna units, and is configured to transmit a signal to the bottom of the cylindrical structure.
Akita has an electronic device comprises a first antenna includes first antenna elements on a first planar substrate, a second antenna includes second antenna elements on a second planar substrate (abstract) and teaches the cylindrical structure includes a bottom, and the bottom of the cylindrical structure comprises: at least one antenna unit of the plurality of antenna units, and is configured to transmit a signal to the bottom of the cylindrical structure [0033 for Another array antenna is also arranged on the regular hexagonal bottom surface substantially horizontal surface near the ground surface of the frame of the regular hexagonal prism].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the plane antennas as taught by Akita for the purpose to form beam patterns in a range of approximately 360 degrees (Akita, 0032).
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al (US 2019/0341984 A1) in view of Maltsev et al (US 2015/0288438 A1) and Akita (US 2021/0083727 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Yin (CN 116454596 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhu teaches and the target drive plane has an optional beam direction that is closest to the target direction in the plurality of drive planes [0071 for user equipment by making the normal direction of the sub array aim at the user equipment optimally].
Zhu fails to explicitly teach a power-splitting gating network configured for selecting a target drive plane from the plurality of drive planes.
Yin has a method for a signal processing apparatus and a base station antenna, the signal processing apparatus including: a substrate (abstract) and teaches a power-splitting gating network configured for selecting a target drive plane from the plurality of drive planes [0075 for a Butler matrix type beamforming network in a completely different manner, which may act as a power combiner and switch].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the antenna array techniques, as disclosed by Zhu, further including the power splitting calculations as taught by Yin for the purpose to allow two identical polarized radio terminals to share a multi-column array of radiating elements (Yin, 0075).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Semkin et al (IEEE, 2016) has a millimeter-wave beam switching antenna.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648