DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu US Publication 2015/0229788 (hereafter “Shimizu”).
Referring to claim 1, Shimizu discloses an image forming apparatus, comprising:
a storage device storing a first built-in application for performing a first function, a second built-in application for performing a second function (paragraph 96, The bundle 501 represents the name of each application existing on the application storage area 330), and a web server application associated with the second built-in application (paragraph 52, The image processing apparatus 100 includes the Web browser 380);
an operation panel configured to receive user selections; and a processor configured to:
receive instructions to execute the first built-in application and the second built-in application in conjunction with the first built-in application (paragraph 129, A menu screen 901 is displayed when the client application 392 is executed on the Web browser 380 and used to select a function of the image processing apparatus 100 to be used);
execute the first built-in application to perform the first function (paragraph 131, When the user presses, for example, the printer button on the menu screen 901 to select the printer function, the Web browser 380 makes a transition to a print application selection screen 902);
activate the web server application associated with the second built-in application (paragraph 112, In step S701, when a user 700 presses a button (not shown) on the user input device 202 to activate the Web browser 380, the image processing apparatus 100 executes a program that activates the Web browser 380); and
after activating the web server application, execute the second built-in application to perform the second function (paragraph 258, When the menu screen 901 makes a transition to the print application selection screen (not shown), "print appli B" and "print appli SP" are displayed as selectable applications from the Intent information table 800).
Referring to claim 7, Shimizu discloses a communication interface connectable to a cloud-based environment (paragraph 69, The communication unit 381 is software that performs HTTP communication via the network device 201).
Referring to claim 8, Shimizu discloses wherein the processor is configured to end execution of the first built-in application after beginning execution of the second built-in application (paragraph 90, In step S431, the application management unit 331 executes processing of stopping the application on the application storage area 330 designated by the request instruction).
Referring to claim 9, Shimizu discloses wherein the first function is a document scanning function (paragraph 130, In this embodiment, the client application 392 includes HTML data that forms a screen to select functions such as scan, copy, fax, and printer).
Referring to claim 11, Shimizu discloses a multi-functional peripheral device, comprising:
a communication interface connectable to a cloud-based environment (paragraph 69, The communication unit 381 is software that performs HTTP communication via the network device 201);
a storage device storing a first built-in application for performing a first function, a second built-in application for performing a second function (paragraph 96, The bundle 501 represents the name of each application existing on the application storage area 330), and a web server application associated with the second built-in application (paragraph 52, The image processing apparatus 100 includes the Web browser 380);
an operation panel configured to receive user selections; and a processor configured to:
receive instructions to execute the first built-in application and the second built-in application in conjunction with the first built-in application (paragraph 129, A menu screen 901 is displayed when the client application 392 is executed on the Web browser 380 and used to select a function of the image processing apparatus 100 to be used);
execute the first built-in application to perform the first function (paragraph 131, When the user presses, for example, the printer button on the menu screen 901 to select the printer function, the Web browser 380 makes a transition to a print application selection screen 902);
activate the web server application associated with the second built-in application (paragraph 112, In step S701, when a user 700 presses a button (not shown) on the user input device 202 to activate the Web browser 380, the image processing apparatus 100 executes a program that activates the Web browser 380); and
after activating the web server application, execute the second built-in application to perform the second function (paragraph 258, When the menu screen 901 makes a transition to the print application selection screen (not shown), "print appli B" and "print appli SP" are displayed as selectable applications from the Intent information table 800).
Referring to claim 17, Shimizu discloses a printer unit for printing documents (paragraph 47, The image processing apparatus 100 also includes a printing device 207 that prints image data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 10, 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu US Publication 2015/0229788 as applied to claims 1, 9 and 11 above, and further in view of well known prior art.
Referring to claims 2 and 12, Shimizu discloses wherein
the operation panel comprises a panel display (paragraph 47, The image processing apparatus 100 includes a UI display device 203 such as a liquid crystal display that displays an operation screen), and
the processor is configured to display a selectable list of built-in applications on the touch panel display (paragraph 129, A menu screen 901 is displayed when the client application 392 is executed on the Web browser 380 and used to select a function of the image processing apparatus 100 to be used).
While Shimizu discloses an operation panel, Shimizu does not disclose expressly that the operation panel comprises a panel display.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to provide a touch panel display (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to simply the manner of receiving input from the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Shimizu to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2 and 12.
Referring to claims 3 and 13, Shimizu discloses wherein the instructions for executing the first built-in application and the second built-in application are provided by one or more user selections made via the touch panel display (paragraph 129, A menu screen 901 is displayed when the client application 392 is executed on the Web browser 380 and used to select a function of the image processing apparatus 100 to be used).
Referring to claims 4 and 14, Shimizu discloses wherein the processor is configured to end execution of the first built-in application after beginning execution of the second built-in application (paragraph 90, In step S431, the application management unit 331 executes processing of stopping the application on the application storage area 330 designated by the request instruction).
Referring to claims 5 and 15, Shimizu discloses wherein the first function is a document scanning function (paragraph 130, In this embodiment, the client application 392 includes HTML data that forms a screen to select functions such as scan, copy, fax, and printer).
Referring to claims 6, 10, 16 and 18, Shimizu discloses wherein the second function is a storing of a file resulting from execution of the first built-in application (paragraph 258, When the menu screen 901 makes a transition to the print application selection screen (not shown), "print appli B" and "print appli SP" are displayed as selectable applications from the Intent information table 800), but does not disclose expressly that the second function is cloud-based storage.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to provide a cloud-based storage application (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to allow user to store scanned images for greater accessibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Shimizu to obtain the invention as specified in claims 6 and 16.
Conclusion
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682