DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 2, 6 – 9, 13 – 16, and 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Smith (Pub. No.: US 2009/0310570; hereinafter Smith).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a first user equipment (UE), comprising: a radio, comprising one or more antennas configured for wireless communication; a processing element operably coupled to the radio; wherein the radio and the processing element (see Fig. 5, para. 0043 – 0044, a mobile device 20 includes a processor 21 and a wireless transceiver 25 coupled to an antenna 24 for sending and receiving voice/data calls via a cellular network) are configured to: obtain synchronization information from a base station in a cellular network (see para. 0085, 0087, the mobile device may receive the base station synchronization signals, step 252, and use those signals to synchronize its clock circuit in a conventional manner, step 260); configure a device-to-device (D2D) wireless network between the first UE and a second UE (see Fig. 6, para. 0008 – 0009, 0045, … to initiate transmission of peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communications in a manner similar to that of the push to talk key on two-way radios); embed the synchronization information in a data payload of a shared channel employed for D2D communications with the second UE (see Fig. 19, para. 0089, In a payload of the synchronization symbol data packet 300 may be a synchronization symbol 306, para. 0045, 0067, … to enable users to activate the peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communication mode and, optionally, select a tactical communication channel); and transmit the signal to the second UE (see Fig. 6, para. 0045, 0067, 0069, to initiate transmission of peer-to-peer communications between mobile device 20a and mobile device 20b).
Regarding claim 2, Smith discloses wherein the shared channel is a physical sidelink shared channel (see para. 0007 – 0008, 0049, Fig. 6, allocates one of the available channels in a GSM cellular network to peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communications where peer to peer (ex: D2D) communication uses the physical sidelink shared channel for communicating).
Regarding claim 6, Smith discloses wherein the processing element is further configured to adapt the synchronization information dynamically based on detected variations in the cellular network's timing or frequency references (see para. 0087 – 0088, If cellular base station communications is lost, the leader mobile device and all other will devices may begin using GPS signals to remain synchronized…Then, if GPS signals are lost, mobile devices within the tactical communication group will remain in synchronization relying upon the synchronization signals of the leader mobile device. Whenever GPS or cellular base station signals are recovered, the leader mobile device, as well as other mobile devices within the communication group, will synchronize with those timing sources….Also, if a portion of the mobile devices within a communication group are not able to receive cellular or GPS timing signals, they will nevertheless remain synched with the group by synchronizing upon the synchronization signals transmitted by the leader mobile device).
Regarding claim 7, Smith discloses wherein the shared channel is configured for multicast or groupcast communication (see para. 0063, 0074, 0088, tactical communication groups can be established simply by assigning a common PN offset to all mobile devices within the group), and the synchronization information is configured to provide timing alignment among multiple receiving UEs (see para. 0088, if a portion of the mobile devices within a communication group are not able to receive cellular or GPS timing signals, they will nevertheless remain synched with the group by synchronizing upon the synchronization signals transmitted by the leader mobile device).
Regarding claim 8, Smith discloses a method, comprising: configuring a first user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 5, mobile device 20) to: obtain synchronization information from a base station in a cellular network (see para. 0085, 0087, the mobile device may receive the base station synchronization signals, step 252, and use those signals to synchronize its clock circuit in a conventional manner, step 260); establish a device-to-device (D2D) wireless connection between the first UE and a second UE (see Fig. 6, para. 0008 – 0009, 0045, … to initiate transmission of peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communications in a manner similar to that of the push to talk key on two-way radios); embed the synchronization information in a data payload of a shared channel employed for the D2D wireless connection with the second UE (see Fig. 19, para. 0089, In a payload of the synchronization symbol data packet 300 may be a synchronization symbol 306, para. 0045, 0067, … to enable users to activate the peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communication mode and, optionally, select a tactical communication channel); and transmit the signal to the second UE (see Fig. 6, para. 0045, 0067, 0069, to initiate transmission of peer-to-peer communications between mobile device 20a and mobile device 20b).
Regarding claim 9, Smith discloses wherein the shared channel is a physical sidelink shared channel (see para. 0007 – 0008, 0049, Fig. 6, allocates one of the available channels in a GSM cellular network to peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communications where peer to peer (ex: D2D) communication uses the physical sidelink shared channel for communicating).
Regarding claim 13, Smith discloses wherein the first UE is further configured to adapt the synchronization information dynamically based on detected variations in the cellular network's timing or frequency references (see para. 0087 – 0088, If cellular base station communications is lost, the leader mobile device and all other will devices may begin using GPS signals to remain synchronized…Then, if GPS signals are lost, mobile devices within the tactical communication group will remain in synchronization relying upon the synchronization signals of the leader mobile device. Whenever GPS or cellular base station signals are recovered, the leader mobile device, as well as other mobile devices within the communication group, will synchronize with those timing sources….Also, if a portion of the mobile devices within a communication group are not able to receive cellular or GPS timing signals, they will nevertheless remain synched with the group by synchronizing upon the synchronization signals transmitted by the leader mobile device).
Regarding claim 14, Smith discloses wherein the shared channel is configured for multicast or groupcast communication (see para. 0063, 0074, 0088, tactical communication groups can be established simply by assigning a common PN offset to all mobile devices within the group), and the synchronization information is configured to provide timing alignment among multiple receiving UEs (see para. 0088, if a portion of the mobile devices within a communication group are not able to receive cellular or GPS timing signals, they will nevertheless remain synched with the group by synchronizing upon the synchronization signals transmitted by the leader mobile device).
Regarding claim 15, Smith discloses an apparatus, comprising: first circuitry and second circuitry configured for residing in a first user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 5, para. 0043 – 0044, a mobile device 20 includes a processor 21 with portions for processing) the first circuitry configured to obtain synchronization information from a base station in a cellular network (see para. 0085, 0087, the mobile device may receive the base station synchronization signals, step 252, and use those signals to synchronize its clock circuit in a conventional manner, step 260); and the second circuitry configured to provision a device-to-device (D2D) wireless connection between the first UE and a second UE (see Fig. 6, para. 0008 – 0009, 0045, … to initiate transmission of peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communications in a manner similar to that of the push to talk key on two-way radios), embed the synchronization information in a data payload of a shared channel employed for the D2D wireless connection with the second UE (see Fig. 19, para. 0089, In a payload of the synchronization symbol data packet 300 may be a synchronization symbol 306, para. 0045, 0067, … to enable users to activate the peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communication mode and, optionally, select a tactical communication channel), and transmit the signal to the second UE (see Fig. 6, para. 0045, 0067, 0069, to initiate transmission of peer-to-peer communications between mobile device 20a and mobile device 20b).
Regarding claim 16, Smith discloses wherein the shared channel is a physical sidelink shared channel (see para. 0007 – 0008, 0049, Fig. 6, allocates one of the available channels in a GSM cellular network to peer-to-peer (ex: D2D) communications where peer to peer (ex: D2D) communication uses the physical sidelink shared channel for communicating).
Regarding claim 20, Smith discloses wherein the second circuitry is further configured to adapt the synchronization information dynamically based on detected variations in the cellular network's timing or frequency references (see para. 0087 – 0088, If cellular base station communications is lost, the leader mobile device and all other will devices may begin using GPS signals to remain synchronized…Then, if GPS signals are lost, mobile devices within the tactical communication group will remain in synchronization relying upon the synchronization signals of the leader mobile device. Whenever GPS or cellular base station signals are recovered, the leader mobile device, as well as other mobile devices within the communication group, will synchronize with those timing sources….Also, if a portion of the mobile devices within a communication group are not able to receive cellular or GPS timing signals, they will nevertheless remain synched with the group by synchronizing upon the synchronization signals transmitted by the leader mobile device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Smith (Pub. No.: US 2009/0310570; hereinafter Smith) in view of Ishii et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0153390; hereinafter Ishii).
Smith does not disclose the claimed features as recited in claims 3, 10, and 17.
Regarding claim 3, Ishii discloses wherein the synchronization information includes timing adjustments derived from Primary Synchronization Signals (PSS) or Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSS) received from the base station (see para. 0180, … performed for conventional time synchronization in LTE using PSS/SSS).
Regarding claim 10, Ishii discloses wherein the synchronization information includes timing adjustments derived from Primary Synchronization Signals (PSS) or Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSS) received from the base station (see para. 0180, … performed for conventional time synchronization in LTE using PSS/SSS).
Regarding claim 17, Ishii discloses wherein the synchronization information includes timing adjustments derived from Primary Synchronization Signals (PSS) or Secondary Synchronization Signals (SSS) received from the base station (see para. 0180, … performed for conventional time synchronization in LTE using PSS/SSS).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Smith, and have the features, as taught by Ishii, where the base station needs to have some measure of the data traffic that will be offloaded on the D2D link to efficiently assign the radio resources in the D2D link and efficiently operate the cellular telecommunications system, as discussed by Ishii (para. 0089).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0230394): METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MAINTAINING UPLINK SYNCHRONIZATION AND REDUCING BATTERY POWER CONSUMPTION
Conclusion
/ANH NGOC M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473