DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-27, 31, 33-35, 38 and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the aforementioned claims are objected to for the reasons indicted in the previously issued Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 28-30, 32, 36-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0108897 to Choi et al. (“Choi”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0032761 to Oguri (“Oguri”).
Regarding claim 21, Choi discloses an electronic device (300, as shown in fig. 5, and discussed at para. 77) comprising: i) a housing (301, as shown in fig. 5 and discussed at para. 77) comprising a through hole (e.g. first opening 311, as shown in fig. 5 and discussed at para. 81); ii) a printed (fig. 14; note the manner in which circuit board 302 carries a printed circuit thereon, by way of first member 304) circuit board (PCB) (e.g. circuit board 302, as shown in fig. 5 and discussed at para. 77) disposed within (fig. 5) the housing (301), the PCB (302) comprising a peripheral portion (e.g. outer edges, as shown in fig. 5) adjacent to (fig. 5) the through hole (311) of the housing (301); iii) an interface bracket (e.g. tray structure 305, as shown in figs. 5-9) detachably inserted into (figs. 5-7) the through hole (311) of the housing (301) and configured to carry (figs. 5-9) an interface chip (e.g. second storage medium, carried in second receiving space 354, as discussed at para. 85 and shown in figs. 8-9); and iv) an interface circuit (e.g. first member 304, as shown in fig. 14), mounted on (fig. 14) the peripheral portion (aforementioned outer edges) of the PCB (302), disposed below (fig. 17; note that the overall electronic device 300 may be easily flipped to an orientation in which first member 304 is disposed beneath tray structure 305 as desired) the interface bracket (305) that is inserted into (figs. 5-7) the through hole (311) of the housing (301), and configured to be electrically connected to (para. 83) the interface chip (aforementioned second storage medium carried in second receiving space 354) carried by (figs. 8-9) the interface bracket (305).
Choi does not disclose: i) an indicator label configured to change a state in response to exposure to moisture, attached to the peripheral portion (aforementioned outer edges) of the PCB (302) to surround a side surface of the peripheral portion (aforementioned outer edges) of the PCB (302), and positioned between the through hole (311) of the housing (301) and the interface circuit (304), ii) wherein the indicator label is aligned with respect to the through hole (311) of the housing (301) such that the indicator label is visible via the through hole (311) of the housing (301) when the interface bracket (305) is withdrawn from the through hole (311) of the housing (301).
Oguri teaches the concept of providing an indicator label (e.g. moisture detection label 10, as shown in fig. 3) configured to change state in response to exposure to moisture (para. 57), disposed within an electronic device (e.g. cell phone discussed at para. 107).
Given that Choi concerns a mobile phone (para. 54) containing sensitive electronic components therein (fig. 5), potentially vulnerable to an intrusion of moisture (e.g. when tray structure 305 is removed from first opening 311) and Oguri concerns a moisture detection label to be incorporated within a mobile phone (para. 107), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose an Oguri moisture detection label 10 within the entrance of the Choi first opening 311, attached to the outer edges of the Choi circuit board 302, between said Choi first opening 311 and first member 304, such that the Oguri moisture detection label 10 is visible through said Choi first opening 311 when the Choi tray structure 305 is removed from Choi’s first opening 311, in order to provide the benefit of yielding a resultant Choi mobile phone device that is capable of providing an automatic indication of its prior exposure to moisture in the event that it is being inspected for repair service for malfunctions arising from such an exposure to moisture.
Regarding claim 22, Choi in view of Oguri discloses the electronic device of claim 21, further comprising a sealing (e.g. waterproofing member shown but unnumbered in Choi fig. 5; note that an analogous element is more clearly shown as element 455b in fig. 19) disposed between (Choi fig. 5) the interface bracket (Choi 305) and an inner surface (e.g. interior, as shown in Choi fig. 5) of the through hole (Choi 311).
Regarding claim 28, Choi in view of Oguri discloses the electronic device of claim 21, wherein the housing (Choi 301) further comprises a side wall (e.g. Choi bezel 301a, as shown in fig. 5 and discussed at para. 78) defining at least a portion of a side exterior surface (Choi fig. 5) of the electronic device (Choi 300), and wherein the through hole (Choi 311) is formed in (Choi fig. 5) the side wall (Choi 301a) of the housing (Choi 301).
Regarding claim 29, Choi in view of Oguri discloses the electronic device of claim 21, further comprising an interface socket (e.g. Choi second member 345, as shown in figs. 6-7), disposed on (e.g. atop, as shown in Choi figs. 6-7 and 14) the PCB (Choi 302), and surrounding (Choi figs. 6-7) at least a portion (e.g. side edge, as shown in Choi figs. 6-7) of the interface bracket (Choi 305).
Regarding claim 30, Choi in view of Oguri discloses the electronic device of claim 21, wherein the PCB (Choi 302) further comprises: i) a first protective protrusion (e.g. projection at lower left edge of Choi circuit board 302, as shown in fig. 5) protruding from the side surface (Choi fig. 5) of the PCB (Choi 302); and ii) a second protective protrusion (e.g. projection as upper right edge of Choi circuit board 302, as shown in fig. 5) protruding from the side surface (Choi fig. 5) of the PCB (Choi 302), and iii) wherein the indicator label (Oguri 10) is positioned between (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 21, supra, in view of Choi fig. 5) the first protective protrusion (aforementioned projection at lower left edge of Choi circuit board 302) and the second protective protrusion (aforementioned projection as upper right edge of Choi circuit board 302).
Regarding claim 32, Choi in view of Oguri discloses the electronic device of claim 21, wherein the indicator label (Oguri 10) comprises: i) an adhesive layer (e.g. adhesive discussed at Oguri para. 48) contacting (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 21, supra) the PCB (Choi 302); ii) a colorant layer (e.g. Oguri patterns 107, as shown in fig. 3 and discussed at para. 41) on the adhesive layer (aforementioned adhesive discussed at Oguri para. 48); and iii) an absorption layer (per Oguri para. 45, the aforementioned patterns 107 swell by absorbing moisture) on (Oguri para. 45) the colorant layer (Oguri 107).
Regarding claim 36, Choi discloses an electronic device (300, as shown in fig. 5, and discussed at para. 77) comprising: i) a housing (301, as shown in fig. 5 and discussed at para. 77) comprising a through hole (e.g. first opening 311, as shown in fig. 5 and discussed at para. 81); ii) a printed (fig. 14; note the manner in which circuit board 302 carries a printed circuit thereon, by way of first member 304) circuit board (PCB) (e.g. circuit board 302, as shown in fig. 5 and discussed at para. 77) disposed within (fig. 5) the housing (301), the PCB (302) comprising a first surface (e.g. upper surface, as shown in fig. 5), a second surface (e.g. lower surface, as shown in fig. 5) opposite to (fig. 5) the first surface (aforementioned upper surface), and a lateral surface (e.g. upper and lower surfaces, together, as shown in fig. 5) extending from an edge (fig. 5) of the first surface (aforementioned upper surface) and an edge (fig. 5) of the second surface (aforementioned lower surface); iii) an interface bracket (e.g. tray structure 305, as shown in figs. 5-9) inserted into (figs. 5-7) the through hole (311) of the housing (301) and configured to carry (figs. 5-9) an interface chip (e.g. second storage medium, carried in second receiving space 354, as discussed at para. 85 and shown in figs. 8-9); and iv) an interface circuit (e.g. first member 304, as shown in fig. 14) mounted on (fig. 14) the PCB (302) and configured to be electrically connected to (para. 83) the interface chip (aforementioned second storage medium carried in second receiving space 354) carried by (figs. 8-9) the interface bracket (305).
Choi does not disclose: i) an indicator label configured to change a state in response to exposure to moisture, attached to a portion of the first surface (aforementioned upper surface) and a portion of the second surface (aforementioned lower surface) to surround a portion of the lateral surface (aforementioned upper and lower surfaces, together) that extends from the portion of the first surface (aforementioned upper surface) to the portion of the second surface (aforementioned lower surface), and positioned between the through hole (311) of the housing (301) and the interface circuit (304), ii) wherein the indicator label and the interface circuit (304) are disposed under (fig. 17; note that the overall electronic device 300 may be easily flipped to an orientation in which first member 304 is disposed beneath tray structure 305 as desired) the interface bracket (305), and iii) wherein the indicator label is visible via the through hole (311) of the housing (301) when the interface bracket (305) is removed from the through hole (311) of the housing (301).
Oguri teaches the concept of providing an indicator label (e.g. moisture detection label 10, as shown in fig. 3) configured to change state in response to exposure to moisture (para. 57), disposed within an electronic device (e.g. cell phone discussed at para. 107).
For the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 21, supra, it would have been obvious to dispose an Oguri moisture detection label 10 within the entrance of the Choi first opening 311, attached to the outer edges of the Choi circuit board 302, between said Choi first opening 311 and first member 304, such that the Oguri moisture detection label 10 is visible through said Choi first opening 311 when the Choi tray structure 305 is removed from Choi’s first opening 311.
Regarding claim 37, Choi in view of Oguri discloses the electronic device of claim 36, wherein the indicator label (Oguri 10) is detached from (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 36, supra) the portion of the lateral surface (aforementioned Choi upper and lower surfaces, together) of the PCB (Choi 302).
Regarding claim 39, Choi in view of Oguri discloses the electronic device of claim 36, wherein the PCB (Choi 302) further comprises: i) a first protective protrusion (e.g. projection at lower left edge of Choi circuit board 302, as shown in fig. 5) protruding from (Choi fig. 5) the lateral surface (aforementioned Choi upper and lower surfaces, together) of the PCB (Choi 302); and ii) a second protective protrusion (e.g. projection as upper right edge of Choi circuit board 302, as shown in fig. 5) protruding from the lateral surface (aforementioned Choi upper and lower surfaces, together) of the PCB (Choi 302), and iii) wherein a portion of the indicator label (Oguri 10) facing the portion of the lateral surface (aforementioned Choi upper and lower surfaces, together) of the PCB (Choi 302) is positioned between (see the combination set forth in the rejection of claim 21, supra, in view of Choi fig. 5) the first protective protrusion (aforementioned projection at lower left edge of Choi circuit board 302) and the second protective protrusion (aforementioned projection as upper right edge of Choi circuit board 302).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicants’ in-depth discussion provided within the filed arguments/remarks, the previously issued rejection of claims 21-22, 28-30, 32, 36-37 and 39 under Choi in view of Oguri is restated supra, but in greater detail. Hopefully, this will allow the respective parties to more thoroughly appreciate each other’s positions, and thereby promote the concept of compact prosecution of the instant application.
In response to Applicants’ argument that during the interview conducted on January 28, 2026, Examiner confirmed that the cited art did not teach or suggest the features of claims 21 and 36 and agreed to withdraw the obviousness rejections pending further search and/or consideration (Arguments/Remarks pg. 2), the Office respectfully asserts that although Applicants’ Representative Psihountas scheduled said interview of January 28, 2026, he opted not to actually attend it. Rather, he tasked Applicants’ Representative Gordon with attending in his stead. During said interview, Applicants’ Representative Gordon presented arguments pertaining to Oguri figs. 19-20 and labels 100a-d appearing within said figs. 19-20. Examiner reminded Applicants’ Representative Gordon that the issued rejection contained no mention of Oguri figs. 19-20 or labels 100a-d, and as such, the arguments were moot. Examiner remined Applicants’ Representative Gordon that only Oguri element 10 within fig. 3 was utilized within the issued rejection. Examiner in no way indicated that the cited combination of prior art did not teach the content of Applicants’ claims 21 and 36, or agreed to withdraw the previously issued rejections. Rather, Examiner encouraged Applicants’ Representative Gordon to simply provide a response containing amendments to overcome the cited combination of prior art, and/or arguments pertaining to portions of the prior art that were actually relied upon within the issued rejections. Accordingly, the Office encourages Applicants’ Representative Psihountas to review the pertinent Interview Summary and/or consult Applicants’ Representative Gordon to ascertain the actual content of the January 28, 2026 interview for which Applicants’ Representative Psihountas was absent.
In response to Applicants’ argument that the cited references fail to disclose “an indicator label… attached to the peripheral portion of the PCB to surround a side surface of the peripheral portion of the PCB, and positioned between the through hole of the housing and the interface circuit” where “the indicator label is aligned with respect to the through hole of the housing such that the indicator label is visible via the through hole of the housing when the interface bracket it withdrawn from the through hole of the housing” (Arguments/Remarks pg. 3), the Office respectfully asserts that as indicated supra, it would have been obvious to dispose an Oguri moisture detection label 10 within the entrance of the Choi first opening 311, attached to the outer edges of the Choi circuit board 302, between said Choi first opening 311 and first member 304, such that the Oguri moisture detection label 10 is visible through said Choi first opening 311 when the Choi tray structure 305 is removed from Choi’s first opening 311.
In response to Applicants’ argument that the cited fig. 3 of Oguri does not include any PCB (Arguments/Remarks pg. 4), the Office respectfully asserts that the Oguri reference was only relied upon for its moisture detection label 10 element. Note that the Choi reference discloses the requisite PCB circuit board element therein.
In response to Applicants’ arguments concerning Oguri figs. 19-20 and moisture detection labels 100a, 100b, 100c and 100d (Arguments/Remarks pgs. 4-5), the Office respectfully asserts that as indicated supra, neither the previously issued Office Action nor present Office Action rely on Oguri figs. 19-20 or labels 100a-d. As such, Applicants’ arguments are rendered moot. The Office encourages Applicants to address the elements, figures and citations within Oguri that were actually relied upon in the previously issued Office Action.
In response to Applicants’ argument that the obviousness rejection relies on impermissible hindsight reasoning (Arguments/Remarks pg. 6), the Office respectfully asserts that Applicants’ present application was filed on December 26, 2024 and claims an earliest foreign priority date of June 24, 2022. The cited Choi reference (disclosing a mobile telephone containing internal electronics sensitive to moisture, and an aperture potentially exposing said internal electronics to moisture upon removal of a tray structure inserted therein) was published on April 20, 2017. The cited Oguri reference (disclosing a moisture detection label intended to be disposed within the interior of a mobile telephone) was published on February 16, 2006. Accordingly, it would be improper to assume that the idea of disposing a moisture indicating label within an aperture of a mobile phone (said aperture potentially allowing an intrusion of moisture) was completely unknown at any time prior to Applicants’ filing.
In response to Applicants’ argument that a reconstruction is only permissible when it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure (Arguments/Remarks pg. 6), the Office respectfully asserts that as indicated supra, Applicants’ present application was filed on December 26, 2024 and claims an earliest foreign priority date of June 24, 2022. The cited Choi reference (disclosing a mobile telephone containing internal electronics sensitive to moisture, and an aperture potentially exposing said internal electronics to moisture upon removal of a tray structure inserted therein) was published on April 20, 2017. The cited Oguri reference (disclosing a moisture detection label intended to be disposed within the interior of a mobile telephone) was published on February 16, 2006. Accordingly, it would be improper to assume that the idea of disposing a moisture indicating label within an aperture of a mobile phone (said aperture potentially allowing an intrusion of moisture) was completely unknown at any time prior to Applicants’ filing.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN V LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637