DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the amendments filed on May 26, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending, with Claims 1, 7, 11, and 17 being amended.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed May 26, 2026, the Examiner withdraws the previous objections to the drawings, and withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed May 26, 2026, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1-20 under Matta, in view of Fuchs, and Huang, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Matta, in view of Park, Fuchs, and Huang.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 recite “wherein the sign is a non-digital sign different from a marker coded to include unique identifier (ID) information …”. The written description does not appear to support this negative limitation, where a non-digital sign, different from a marker with unique identifier information, is detected. Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are rejected due to their dependencies upon Claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are rejected due to their dependencies upon Claims 1 and 11, respectively.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 recite “wherein the sign is a non-digital sign different from a marker coded to include unique identifier (ID) information …”. It is unclear if the non-digital sign does or does not have its own unique identifier (e.g., a physical sign on a pillar that says “A1” to indicate its location in a parking lot, would be a unique identifier), or if the unique identifier information relates to the use of a bar code. It is further unclear if the marker can comprise a non-digital sign that also includes unique identifier information, such as a barcode. The Examiner is interpreting this claim language to mean that the system detects any sign that does not have a barcode associated with it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0367012 A1, to Matta, et al (hereinafter referred to as Matta; previously of record), in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0292971 A1, to Park (hereinafter referred to as Park; newly of record).
As per Claim 1, Matta discloses the features of a method for controlling autonomous parking of a vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0041]; where the vehicle can be dropped off and the autonomous valet parking function can be activated so as to allow the vehicle to operate autonomously though a parking lot)
using a digital map of a parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0009], [0040], [0059]; where the autonomous valet parking (AVP) system is connected to a map positioning unit (6) to receive signals from an offline map positioning unit, which includes route data, map data, marker identification numbers, etc.), comprising:
receiving an image from within the parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0027], [0074]; Figure 3(a); where the processor(s) (710) may receive images detected from a plurality of cameras in the parking environment, and the images may be processed to determine if one or more markers are present in one or more images) and
positioning information indicating a position at which the image was captured (e.g. Paragraphs [0027], [0044], [0059]; where the front camera is provided with an image pickup unit for obtaining an image of one or more asymmetrical markers around the vehicle, and an output unit provides signals representing the positional relation between the vehicle and the one or more asymmetrical markers);
detecting, via automatic object recognition of the image, a sign in the image (e.g. Paragraphs [0046], [0057, [0074]; where the processor(s) (710) may detect from a plurality of cameras, one or more markers being present in one or more images, and determines if a potential marker candidate is found in the image, where markers can be utilized as signs), ‘…’;
extracting, from the image of the sign, one or more characteristics of the sign for distinguishing the sign from another sign (e.g. Paragraphs [0037], [0040], [0045]; Figures 2(e), 3(a); where the markers are assigned an ID and compared with those store in the map positioning unit to determine the position of the vehicle relative to the marker (i.e. information is extracted from the sign in the image));
incorporating information correlating the one or more characteristics with a position, of the sign based on the positioning information, into the digital map of the parking lot (e.g. Paragraph [0040], [0057]; Figures 3(a), 5(a); where detected markers are compared with those stored in the map positioning unit, and can indicate coordinates associated with the map);
generating, based on the digital map comprising the information, a guide route from the vehicle to an empty parking spot (e.g. Paragraphs [0033], [0037], where the system can receive position information from vehicle systems, which transmit the position of the corresponding vehicle system relative to a marker, and furthers transmits instructions to the vehicle systems indicative of a trajectory for the vehicle until a next marker is determined); and
controlling, based on the guide route, the vehicle to park in the empty parking spot (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0052], [0056]; where the vehicle will navigate along a trajectory based on instructions from various sections of the parking lot until it encounters a marker that instructs the vehicle to either adjust the trajectory or engage automatic parking functions; and the vehicle automatically parks the vehicle into an available parking space, in accordance with the received instructions).
Park, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of using a digital map of a parking lot; incorporating information correlating the one or more characteristics with a position, of the sign based on the positioning information, into the digital map of the parking lot; and generating, based on the digital map comprising the information, a guide route from the vehicle to an empty parking spot.
Park teaches a method for controlling a vehicle through a parking lot, where the processor of the server transmit location information of the parking area and digital map data of the parking lot to the autonomous driving system through the communication unit, when the parking possible area is confirmed (e.g. Paragraph [0399]; Figures 7, 13A-B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the road marker detection system of Matta, with the feature of providing information in a digital map in the system of Park, in order to display parking lot, parking slot, and parking slot information to the user (see at least Paragraphs [0395] of Park).
Matta fails to disclose every feature of wherein the sign is a non-digital sign different from a marker coded to include unique identifier (ID) information.
However, Park, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for controlling a vehicle through a parking lot, where the system captures an image, which includes a plurality of location identifiers (501), and a plurality of vehicles (502), and the location identifiers may include a text (e.g., a text such as a “parking lot entrance”, a “3rd floor”, or “3B-2”), a structure (e.g., a parking crossing gate, a parking tollbooth, etc.), and a unique identification symbol (e.g., a specific sticker, a specific text, etc.) with a defined location (e.g. Paragraphs [0188]-[0190], [0199]; Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the road marker detection system of Matta, with the feature of using a physical sign in the system of Park, in order to determine the location of a corresponding parking space (see at least Paragraphs [0190] of Park).
As per Claim 11, Matta discloses the features of an autonomous parking server (e.g. Paragraph [0064]; where the computer device may be communicatively coupled to the network for communication with any number of networked components, devices, and systems, and may function as a server) for
controlling autonomous parking of a vehicle (e.g. Paragraph [0041]; where the vehicle can be dropped off and the autonomous valet parking function can be activated so as to allow the vehicle to operate autonomously though a parking lot), the autonomous parking server comprising:
a communication interface (e.g. Paragraphs [0032], [0064]; where the plurality of vehicle systems are communicatively coupled to a network which is connected to a management apparatus); and
a processor (e.g. Paragraph [0061]; where the computing device can include one or more processing units, cores, or processors, memory, internal storage, and I/O interface), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive, from the communication interface, an image from within the parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0027], [0074]; Figure 3(a); where the processor(s) (710) may receive images detected from a plurality of cameras in the parking environment, and the images may be processed to determine if one or more markers are present in one or more images) and
positioning information indicating a position at which the image was captured (e.g. Paragraphs [0027], [0044], [0059]; where the front camera is provided with an image pickup unit for obtaining an image of one or more asymmetrical markers around the vehicle, and an output unit provides signals representing the positional relation between the vehicle and the one or more asymmetrical markers),
detect, via automatic object recognition of the image, a sign in the image (e.g. Paragraphs [0046], [0057, [0074]; where the processor(s) (710) may detect from a plurality of cameras, one or more markers being present in one or more images, and determines if a potential marker candidate is found in the image, where markers can be utilized as signs), ‘…’;
extract, from the image of the sign, one or more characteristics of the sign for distinguishing the sign from another sign (e.g. Paragraphs [0037], [0040], [0045]; Figures 2(e), 3(a); where the markers are assigned an ID and compared with those store in the map positioning unit to determine the position of the vehicle relative to the marker (i.e. information is extracted from the sign in the image));
incorporate information correlating the one or more characteristics with a position, of the sign based on the positioning information, into a digital map of the parking lot (e.g. Paragraph [0040], [0057]; Figures 3(a), 5(a); where detected markers are compared with those stored in the map positioning unit, and can indicate coordinates associated with the map);
generate, based on the digital map comprising the information, a guide route from the vehicle to an empty parking spot (e.g. Paragraphs [0033], [0037], where the system can receive position information from vehicle systems, which transmit the position of the corresponding vehicle system relative to a marker, and furthers transmits instructions to the vehicle systems indicative of a trajectory for the vehicle until a next marker is determined); and
control, based on the guide route, the vehicle to park in the empty parking spot (e.g. Paragraphs [0041], [0052], [0056]; where the vehicle will navigate along a trajectory based on instructions from various sections of the parking lot until it encounters a marker that instructs the vehicle to either adjust the trajectory or engage automatic parking functions; and the vehicle automatically parks the vehicle into an available parking space, in accordance with the received instructions).
Park, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of incorporate information correlating the one or more characteristics with a position, of the sign based on the positioning information, into a digital map of the parking lot; and generate, based on the digital map comprising the information, a guide route from the vehicle to an empty parking spot.
Park teaches a method for controlling a vehicle through a parking lot, where the processor of the server transmit location information of the parking area and digital map data of the parking lot to the autonomous driving system through the communication unit, when the parking possible area is confirmed (e.g. Paragraph [0399]; Figures 7, 13A-B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the road marker detection system of Matta, with the feature of providing information in a digital map in the system of Park, in order to display parking lot, parking slot, and parking slot information to the user (see at least Paragraphs [0395] of Park).
Matta fails to disclose every feature of wherein the sign is a non-digital sign different from a marker coded to include unique identifier (ID) information.
However, Park, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for controlling a vehicle through a parking lot, where the system captures an image, which includes a plurality of location identifiers (501), and a plurality of vehicles (502), and the location identifiers may include a text (e.g., a text such as a “parking lot entrance”, a “3rd floor”, or “3B-2”), a structure (e.g., a parking crossing gate, a parking tollbooth, etc.), and a unique identification symbol (e.g., a specific sticker, a specific text, etc.) with a defined location (e.g. Paragraphs [0188]-[0190], [0199]; Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the road marker detection system of Matta, with the feature of using a physical sign in the system of Park, in order to determine the location of a corresponding parking space (see at least Paragraphs [0190] of Park).
As per Claim 2, and similarly for Claim 12, Matta, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, and Matta further discloses the features of wherein the sign comprises at least one of: a signboard installed in the parking lot, one or more words or symbol provided on a ground, a guidance board, or an advertisement board (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0034], [0057], [0074]; where markers can be utilized as signs; and where the markers may be physically painted or otherwise placed on streets, signs, or walls, or can be projected/ displayed by projection systems; and cameras may be installed on the top or the roof of the vehicle for purposes of detecting asymmetrical markers that are placed on road signs, billboards, and so on).
As per Claim 3, and similarly for Claim 13, Matta, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claims 2 and 12, respectively, and Matta further discloses the features of wherein the one or more characteristics of the sign comprises at least one of: a kind of the sign, one or more components contained in the sign, one or more colors included in the sign, or relative position information of the components of the sign relative to each other (e.g. Paragraphs [0027], [0035], [0059]; where the system can include marker ID, marker type, map information, and instructions).
As per Claim 4, and similarly for Claim 14, Matta, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claims 3 and 13, respectively, and Matta further discloses the features of, wherein
the one or more components comprise one or more of characters or symbols (e.g. Paragraph [0034]; Figures 2(b)-(d); where the unique features of the checker pattern markers make it conducive for recognition, and the difference in intensity of the white and black squares assists with detecting a corner, and makes it visible in different lighting conditions), and wherein the extracting the one or more characteristics comprises at least one of:
extracting characters information and relative position information of the characters; or extracting symbol information and relative position information of the symbol (e.g. Paragraphs [0037], [0040], [0045]; Figures 2(e), 3(a); where the markers are assigned an ID and compared with those store in the map positioning unit to determine the position of the vehicle relative to the marker (i.e. information is extracted from the sign in the image)).
As per Claim 5, and similarly for Claim 15, Matta, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claims 4 and 14, respectively, and Park further teaches the features of wherein the detecting the sign from the image and the extracting the one or more characteristics are performed via an artificial intelligence model.
Park teaches a method for controlling a vehicle through a parking lot, where the location identifiers (501) may be recognized using an artificial neural network using an artificial intelligence (AI) processor to calculate a prediction result for whether or not the location identifier (501) exists in the captured image (e.g. Paragraphs [0191], [0200], [0363]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the road marker detection system of Matta, with the feature of using artificial intelligence models in the system of Park, in order to improve a performance of a deep learning model for the autonomous vehicle (see at least Paragraphs [0046] of Park).
As per Claim 6, and similarly for Claim 16, Matta, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claim 1 and 11, respectively, and Matta further discloses the features of wherein the incorporating the information into the digital map comprises modifying the digital map to indicate symbols representing a kind of the sign at the position of the sign in the digital map (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0034]-[0035], [0059], [0074]; where markers can be utilized as signs; and where the markers may be physically painted or otherwise placed on streets, signs, or walls, or can be projected/ displayed by projection systems; and cameras may be installed on the top or the roof of the vehicle for purposes of detecting asymmetrical markers that are placed on road signs, billboards, and so on)where the system can include marker ID, marker type, map information, and instructions).
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Matta, in view of Park, as applied to Claims 6 and 16 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0116526 A1, to Huang (hereinafter referred to as Huang; previously of record), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2026/0017476 A1, to Hancock (hereinafter referred to as Hancock; newly of record).
As per Claim 7, and similarly for Claim 17, Matta, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claims 6 and 16, respectively, and Matta further discloses the features of further comprising:
detecting the marker installed in the parking lot (e.g. Paragraphs [0031], [0034]; where the vehicle detects asymmetrical markers that are placed on walls, road signs, billboards, etc., and the asymmetrical markers can include an identifier indicating the type of marker (e.g., a T-shaped marker, an L-shaped marker, etc.); and
obtaining, based on both the non-digital sign and the marker, position information of the vehicle in the digital map (e.g. Paragraphs [0035]-[0036]; Figures 2(b)-(c); where the marker pattern indicates a trajectory for the vehicle to follow, and where a QR code may be placed on the marker, which can include latitude and longitudinal information of the marker, to determine the position of the vehicle), ‘…’
Hancock, in a similar field of endeavor, more explicitly teaches the features of obtaining, based on both the non-digital sign and the marker, position information ‘…’ in the digital map.
Hancock teaches a method for utilizing QR codes and location identifiers, where physical (i.e., non-digital) and QR codes may both be indicated on a wall, post, building, to indicate the location of the user, and the imaging system may pick up reference indicators of the physical and QR code signage in order to determine the position of the user (e.g. Paragraph [0041], [0043]; Figures 6, 16-17).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the road marker detection system of Matta, in view of Park, with the feature of obtaining physical sign and marker information in the system of Hancock, in order to improve and enhance the efficacy of the system (see at least Paragraph [0015] of Hancock).
Matta, in view of Park and Hancock, fails to teach the features of wherein the incorporating the information into the digital map of the parking lot is based on determining the position of the sign is at least a preset distance from the marker or another sign previously incorporated into the digital map.
However, Huang, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for associating external objects with the environment, where the system may use one or more threshold distances to associate the traffic signals with a traffic pole or other structure, to determine if the traffic signal is associated with the traffic pole; and the map data may be used to generate a virtual map system, which may be updated to indicate the association between the traffic objects, poles, structure, intersections, parking areas, etc. to localize the vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0032]-[0033], [0036]-[0037], [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the road marker detection system of Matta, in view of Park and Hancock, with the feature of determining distance between markers in the system of Huang, in order to increase accuracy of the map (see at least Paragraphs [0001], [0004] of Huang).
Claims 8-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matta, in view of Park, as applied to Claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of German Patent Publication No. 102021109415 A1, to Fuchs, et al (hereinafter referred to as Fuchs; previously of record).
As per Claim 8, and similarly for Claim 18, Matta, in view of Park, teaches the features of Claims 1 and 11, respectively, but Matta, in view of Park, fails to teach every feature of further comprising: based on receiving, from the vehicle following the guide route, an image indicating a new sign, comparing the new sign to information associated with a previous sign incorporated into the digital map of the parking lot; and based on the comparing indicating the new sign is not consistent with the previous sign, updating the digital map to incorporate new information correlating one or more characteristics of the new sign with a position of the new sign.
However, Fuchs, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for operating a parking assistance system, where the digital environment map is refined based on additional sensor signals, where new obstacles and/or objects that were not present during the exploration of the area and/or removed obstacles and/or objects that were present during the exploration are no longer present, can be detected and taken into account in the digital environment map (e.g. Paragraphs [0021], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the road marker detection system of Matta, in view of Park, with the feature of determining new objects in the environment in the system of Fuchs, in order to improve the processing of sensor data and update the digital map (see at least Paragraphs [0065], [0073] of Fuchs).
As per Claim 9, and similarly for Claim 19, Matta, in view of Park and Fuchs, teaches the features of Claims 8 and 18, and Fuchs further teaches the features of wherein the digital map comprises information associated with a previous sign; and wherein the updating the digital map further comprises removing, based on images, from a plurality of vehicles following a plurality of guide routes, not indicating the previous sign, the information associated with the previous sign.
Fuchs teaches a method for operating a parking assistance system, where the digital map of the surrounding area can be kept more up-to-date if several users participate with the respective vehicles and parking assistance systems; and where the digital environment map is refined based on additional sensor signals, where new obstacles and/or objects that were not present during the exploration of the area and/or removed obstacles and/or objects that were present during the exploration are no longer present, can be detected and taken into account in the digital environment map; and where objects that no longer exist are removed from the digital environment map (e.g. Paragraphs [0021], [0045], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the road marker detection system of Matta, in view of Park, with the feature of determining new objects in the environment in the system of Fuchs, in order to improve the processing of sensor data and update the digital map (see at least Paragraphs [0065], [0073] of Fuchs).
As per Claim 10, and similarly for Claim 20, Matta, in view of Park and Fuchs, teaches the features of Claims 8 and 18, respectively, and Fuchs further teaches the features of wherein the updating the digital map to incorporate the new information is further based on the new sign being detected in a plurality of images received from a plurality of vehicles.
Fuchs teaches a method for operating a parking assistance system, where the digital map of the surrounding area can be kept more up-to-date if several users participate with the respective vehicles and parking assistance systems; and where the digital environment map is refined based on additional sensor signals, where new obstacles and/or objects that were not present during the exploration of the area and/or removed obstacles and/or objects that were present during the exploration are no longer present, can be detected and taken into account in the digital environment map; and where objects that no longer exist are removed from the digital environment map (e.g. Paragraphs [0021], [0045], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to further modify the road marker detection system of Matta, in view of Park, with the feature of determining new objects in the environment in the system of Fuchs, in order to improve the processing of sensor data and update the digital map (see at least Paragraphs [0065], [0073] of Fuchs).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663