DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 of U.S. Application No. 19/002317 filed on 12/26/2024 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wray et al. [US 2022/0205796 A1], hereinafter referred to as Wray.
As to Claim 1, 10, 11 and 12, Wray discloses a hybrid electric vehicle ([see at least Fig. 3, 0039, 0067 and 0068]) comprising: an engine configured to output power using fuel from a fuel tank ([see at least Fig. 3, 0039, 0067, 0068 and 0092]); a generator configured to generate power using a power from the engine ([see at least Fig. 3, 0039, 0067 and 0068]); a power storage device connected to a power line together with the generator (([see at least Fig. 3, 0039, 0067 and 0068]); and a controller, wherein when a user desires external power supply, in which power is supplied from the vehicle to outside of the vehicle, the controller is programmed to present the user with multiple power supply modes that have different power supply characteristics ([see at least Fig. 3, 0033, 0039, 0067, 0068, 0180 and 0229]), and when the user selects one of the multiple power supply modes, the controller is programmed to perform the external power supply in the power supply mode selected by the user ([see at least Fig. 3, 0033, 0039, 0067, 0068, 0180 and 0229]).
As to Claim 2, Wray discloses a hybrid vehicle, wherein the multiple power supply modes include, as a predetermined power supply mode for operating the engine and generating power with the generator, at least two of a first power supply mode that prioritizes noise suppression, a second power supply mode that prioritizes power supply performance, and a third power supply mode that prioritizes fuel efficiency ([see at least Fig. 3, 0033, 0039, 0067, 0068, 0180 and 0229]).
As to Claim 3, Wray discloses a hybrid vehicle, wherein the predetermined power supply mode is a mode for operating the engine and generating power with the generator when a state of charge of the power storage device is less than a predetermined ratio during the external power supply ([see at least Fig. 3, 0033, 0039, 0067, 0068, 0180 and 0229]).
As to Claim 4, Wray discloses a hybrid vehicle, wherein the controller presents the user with the multiple power supply modes, including a recommended power supply mode based on a current environment ([see at least 0028, 0033, 0102 and 0229]).
As to Claim 5, Wray discloses a hybrid vehicle, wherein the controller presents the recommended power supply mode and other power supply modes to the user in a manner that differs from each other ([see at least 0028, 0033, 0102 and 0229]).
As to Claim 6, Wray discloses a hybrid vehicle, wherein the multiple power supply modes include, as a predetermined power supply mode for operating the engine and generating power with the generator when a state of charge of the power storage device is less than a predetermined ratio during the external power supply ([see at least 0081, 0093 and 0229]), a first power supply mode that prioritizes noise suppression, a second power supply mode that prioritizes power supply performance, and a third power supply mode that prioritizes fuel efficiency, the controller sets the recommended power supply mode to the first power supply mode when a current time is within a predetermined time period, the controller sets the recommended power supply mode to the second power supply mode when the current time is not within the predetermined time period and a fuel amount in the fuel tank is greater than or equal to a predetermined amount, and the controller sets the recommended power supply mode to the third power supply mode when the current time is not within the predetermined time period and the fuel amount is less than the predetermined amount ([see at least 0033, 0081, 0093 and 0229]).
As to Claim 7, Wray discloses a hybrid vehicle, wherein the controller sets the recommended power supply mode to the first power supply mode when the current time is within the predetermined time period and when a vehicle's current location is within a residential area, the controller sets the recommended power supply mode to the second or third power supply mode based on the fuel amount when the current time is within the predetermined time period and when the vehicle's current location is outside the residential area ([see at least 0028, 0033, 0102 and 0229]).
As to Claim 8 and 9, Wray discloses a hybrid vehicle, wherein the first power supply mode is a mode for operating the engine to output a first power, the second power supply mode is a mode for operating the engine to output a second power greater than the first power, and the third power supply mode is a mode for operating the engine at a more efficient operating point compared to the first and second power supply modes ([see at least Fig. 3, 0033, 0039, 0067, 0068, 0180 and 0229]).
Conclusion
/YAZAN A SOOFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668