DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-11, 14, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chinchilla (US 2022/0046374 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chinchilla anticipates:
An “Audio apparatus for capturing ambient sound and producing an enhanced audio signal from the captured sound, comprising:
a plurality of discrete self-contained electronic devices each including a receiver, a microphone or microphone array, and a casing housing the receiver and the microphone or microphone array, wherein the electronic devices each or collectively have an audio functionality apart from the apparatus” by teaching a plurality of multi-dimensional spatial recording devices (MDSR), such as a mobile computing device or mobile phone, where the MDSR devices include a receiver and an internal microphone, and mobile phones are known to have audio functionality apart from said apparatus (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0046, 0052-0053, 0066, 0072, and 0077-0079, figure 2A, units 200A and 230, figure 3B, units 200A, and figure 4, units 400, 463, and 470-473); and
“a stand discrete from the electronic devices and having means for temporarily holding the electronic devices in respective static positions at which the microphone or microphone array of each of the electronic devices is acoustically exposed to the ambient environment outside the stand, whereby the microphone or microphone array of each of the electronic devices will capture ambient sounds when held in said respective static positions and convert the sound to streams of audio signals” by teaching the stands holding the mobile phones, and the mobile phones are used to capture ambient sound of the room in which they are situated (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0066 and figure 3B, units 200A), and
“wherein the audio apparatus includes a processing unit operatively connected to the microphone or microphone array of each of the electronic devices so as to receive as input streams of audio signals from the microphones or microphone arrays of the electronic devices, the processing unit storing information indicative of distance between and orientations of the microphones or microphone arrays of the electronic devices in said respective static positions” by teaching a field recorder that records the audio, positional, and spatial data from the plural mobile phones (i.e., MDSR devices), where the spatial data includes differences in the recorded audio at each mobile device’s position, and the positional data includes information such as 6D information, X, Y, and Z coordinates (i.e., a three-axis plane), and/or in a two-axis plane, and the data is processed by a connected audio production station and/or consumer playback device (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0025, 0030-0031, 0048-0051, 0054-0058, 0063-0064, 0066-0068, 0082, and 0084-0085, figure 1, unit 110-112, 115, 120, 140, and 150, figure 2A, units 200A, figure 3B, units 200A, and figure 5, steps 540-570), “and the processing unit being configured to process sound captured by each said microphone or microphone array based on said information” by teaching that sound editing and mixing uses the spatial information to reproduce the acoustic space and movements of the sound sources and/or synthesize the spatial data (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0026, 0028, 0031, 0066, 0085, and 0088, and figure 6), and
“the audio apparatus includes a transmitter or at least one speaker operatively connected to the processing unit to transmit enhanced audio resulting from the processing of the streams of audio signals based on said information indicative of the distance between and orientations of the microphones or microphone arrays of the electronic devices” by teaching that the mobile devices transmit the positional data to other devices for processing (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0046, 0056, 0066, and 0077-0079, figure 4, units 400 and 470).
Regarding claim 6, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 1 above. Chinchilla anticipates the “audio apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic devices are smart phones” by teaching the plural MDSR devices, where they are mobile phones (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0046, 0052-0053, 0066, and 0072, figures 2A and 3B, units 200A, and figure 4, unit 400).
Regarding claim 9, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 1 above. Chinchilla anticipates the “audio apparatus as claimed in claim 1, comprising sensors operative to sense whether the electronic devices are in said static positions, respectively” by teaching that the mobile phones (i.e., MDSR devices) have sensors to determine their relative movement, such that the sensors are operative to sense static positions by not detecting movement (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0046, 0061-0069 and 0072, figures 3A-3C, and figure 4, unit 400 and unit “Sensors Accelerometer”).
Regarding claim 10, Chinchilla anticipates:
An “Audio apparatus for capturing ambient sound and producing an enhanced audio signal from the captured sound, comprising:
a plurality of discrete microphone-equipped devices each having a receiver, a microphone or microphone array and a speaker, and a casing housing the receiver and/or transmitter, speaker and microphone or microphone array, wherein the microphone-equipped devices each or collectively have an audio functionality apart from the apparatus” by teaching a plurality of multi-dimensional spatial recording devices (MDSR), such as a mobile computing device or mobile phone, where the MDSR devices include a receiver and an internal microphone, and mobile phones are known to have audio functionality apart from said apparatus (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0046, 0052-0053, 0066, 0072, and 0077-0079, figure 2A, units 200A and 230, figure 3B, units 200A, and figure 4, units 400, 463, and 470-473);
“a stand discrete from the microphone-equipped devices and having means for temporarily holding the microphone-equipped devices in respective static positions at which the microphone or microphone array of each of the microphone-equipped devices is acoustically exposed to the ambient environment outside the stand, whereby the microphone or microphone array of each of the microphone-equipped devices will capture ambient sounds when held in said respective static positions” by teaching the stands holding the mobile phones, and the mobile phones are used to capture ambient sound of the room in which they are situated (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0066 and figure 3B, units 200A); and
“a processing unit comprising a processor operatively connected to each of the microphone-equipped devices, and non-transitory computer-readable media (CRM) storing operating instructions and information indicative of distance between and orientations of the microphones or microphone arrays of the microphone-equipped devices in said static positions” by teaching that the plural mobile phones (i.e., MDSR devices) each records their own audio, positional, and spatial data, where the spatial data includes differences in the recorded audio at each mobile device’s position, and the positional data includes information such as 6D information, X, Y, and Z coordinates (i.e., a three-axis plane), and/or in a two-axis plane, and the mobile phone, field recorder, and/or audio production devices comprise a processor and computer-readable media to perform these tasks (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0025, 0030-0031, 0042-0046, 0048-0051, 0054-0058, 0063-0064, 0066-0068, 0072-0079, 0082, and 0084-0085, figure 1, unit 110-112, 115, 120, 140, and 150, figure 2A, units 200A, figure 3B, units 200A, figure 4, units 400, 430, and 480, and figure 5, steps 540-570),
“the processor being configured to execute the operating instructions to:
control the microphone-equipped devices to capture raw audio and convert the raw audio to streams of audio signals” by teaching that the mobile phones capture the audio to have processed into streams of audio signals, where it is clear that the mobile phones are at least controlled by a user to capture the audio data (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0049-0051, 0054-0058, 0066-0068, 0072, 0077, and 0083-0086, figure 5, steps 540-560),
“process the streams of audio signals based on the information indicative of the distance between and orientations of the microphone-equipped devices, and transmit a result of the processed streams of audio signals” by teaching that the mobile devices transmit the positional data to other devices, such as the postprocessing editing and mixing devices for processing, where sound editing and mixing uses the spatial information to reproduce the acoustic space and movements of the sound sources and/or synthesize the spatial data and the processed audio is sent to consumer devices (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0026, 0028, 0031, 0042-0043, 0046, 0049, 0056, 0066, 0077-0079, 0085, and 0088, figure 4, units 400 and 470, and figure 6).
Regarding claim 11, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 10 above. Chinchilla anticipates the “audio apparatus as claimed in claim 10, wherein the microphone-equipped devices are ear-worn audio devices or smartphones” by teaching the plural MDSR devices, where they are mobile phones (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0046, 0052-0053, 0066, and 0072, figures 2A and 3B, units 200A, and figure 4, unit 400).
Regarding claim 14, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 10 above. Chinchilla anticipates the “audio apparatus as claimed in claim 10, wherein the processor is disposed on board the stand or as part of an external device of the audio apparatus discrete from the stand and the microphone-equipped devices” by teaching that the processor is remote to the stand, such as a remote computer (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0078 and figure 1, units 110, 120, and 140).
Regarding claim 16, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 10 above. Chinchilla anticipates the “audio apparatus as claimed in claim 14, wherein the processing unit is also configured to execute the operating instructions to: time synchronize the streams of audio signals” by teaching that the editing uses time codes to synchronize the audio streams (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0031 and 0058).
Regarding claim 17, Chinchilla anticipates:
“A method of producing high-fidelity audio signals by leveraging electronic devices each including a receiver, a microphone or microphone array, and a casing housing the receiver and the microphone or microphone array, the method comprising:
taking the electronic devices and temporarily fixing them to a stand in static positions as spaced apart from each” by teaching stands each holding one of a plurality of multi-dimensional spatial recording devices (MDSR), such as mobile phones, and the mobile phones are used to capture ambient sound of the room in which they are situated (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0046, 0052-0053, 0066, 0072, and 0077-0079, figure 2A, units 200A and 230, figure 3B, units 200A, and figure 4, units 400, 463, and 470-473);
“capturing sound from the ambient environment outside the stand using the microphones or microphone arrays of the electronic devices while the electronic devices are fixed to the stand in said static positions, and converting the sounds to respective streams of audio signals” by teaching that the mobile devices in the stands record the ambient environment and transmit them to the other devices for further processing (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0066 and 0083-0086 and figure 6);
“digitally processing the streams of audio signals based on information including distance between and orientations of the electronic devices in said static positions” by teaching that sound editing and mixing uses the spatial information to reproduce the acoustic space and movements of the sound sources and/or synthesize the spatial data (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0026, 0028, 0031, 0066, 0085, and 0088, and figure 6); and
“transmitting the digitally processed audio signals” by teaching that the processed audio is sent to consumer devices (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0031, 0049, and 0088, and figure 1, units 150-160).
Regarding claim 18, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 17 above. Chinchilla anticipates the “method as claimed in claim 17, wherein the processing is carried out on board the stand or as part of an external device discrete from the stand and the electronic devices” by teaching that the processor is remote to the stand, such as a remote computer (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0078 and figure 1, units 110, 120, and 140).
Regarding claim 20, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 17 above. Chinchilla anticipates the “method as claimed in claim 17, wherein the processing comprises time synchronizing the streams of audio signals” by teaching that the editing uses time codes to synchronize the audio streams (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0031 and 0058).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinchilla as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Charles et al. (US 2014/0126740 A1 and hereafter Charles).
Regarding claim 2, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 1 above. Chinchilla teaches the audio apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic devices are mobile phones (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0046 and 0072). However, Chinchilla does not appear to teach that “the electronic devices are ear-worn audio devices”.
Charles teaches wireless earpieces in a recording system (see Charles, abstract and figures 6-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Chinchilla with the teachings of Charles for the purpose of using ear-worn audio devices to record the audio in the environment (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0059-0060 and 0065-0068, in view of Charles, ¶ 0047-0050 and figure 6).
Therefore, the combination of Chinchilla and Charles makes obvious the “audio apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic devices are ear-worn audio devices” (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0059-0060 and 0065-0068, in view of Charles, ¶ 0047-0050 and figure 6).
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinchilla as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sumida (US 9,473,606 B1).
Regarding claim 7, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 6 above. Chinchilla teaches the audio apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein each MDSR is placed on a stand (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0053 and 0066 and figure 3B, units 200A). However, Chinchilla does not appear to teach that the stands are “a platform”, and/or “the means for holding comprises cavities in the platform having shapes complementary to contours of the casings of the smart phones, respectively”.
Sumida teaches a smartphone support with a removable pole (see Sumida, abstract and figures 10-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Chinchilla with the teachings of Sumida for the purpose of providing a stable support for smartphones with an interface for connecting to camera tripods (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0053, in view of Sumida, column 2, lines 1-32 and column 3, lines 48-56).
Therefore, the combination of Chinchilla and Sumida makes obvious the “audio apparatus as claimed in claim 6, wherein the stand is a platform, and the means for holding comprises cavities in the platform having shapes complementary to contours of the casings of the smart phones, respectively” by making obvious a smartphone clamp, or support, that is attachable to a stand with threaded connections (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0053, in view of Sumida, column 3, lines 48-56, column 7, lines 1-6 and lines 41-47, and figures 10-12, units 27, 30, and 32), and by making obvious to create smartphone clamps sized to match specific brands or types of smartphones (see Sumida, column 9, line 63 – column 10, line 5).
Regarding claim 12, see the preceding rejection with respect to claim 11 above. Chinchilla teaches the audio apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein each MDSR is placed on a stand (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0053 and 0066 and figure 3B, units 200A). However, Chinchilla does not appear to teach that the “means for temporarily holding comprises cavities in the stand having shapes complementary to contours of the casings of the ear-worn audio devices or smartphones, respectively”.
Sumida teaches a smartphone support with a removable pole (see Sumida, abstract and figures 10-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Chinchilla with the teachings of Sumida for the purpose of providing a stable support for smartphones with an interface for connecting to camera tripods (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0053, in view of Sumida, column 2, lines 1-32 and column 3, lines 48-56).
Therefore, the combination of Chinchilla and Sumida makes obvious the “audio apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein the means for temporarily holding comprises cavities in the stand having shapes complementary to contours of the casings of the ear-worn audio devices or smartphones, respectively” by making obvious a smartphone clamp, or support, that is attachable to a stand with threaded connections (see Chinchilla, ¶ 0053, in view of Sumida, column 3, lines 48-56, column 7, lines 1-6 and lines 41-47, and figures 10-12, units 27, 30, and 32), and by making obvious to create smartphone clamps sized to match specific brands or types of smartphones (see Sumida, column 9, line 63 – column 10, line 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8, 13, 15, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McGucken (US 2011/0129210 A1) teaches a camera bracket for mounting various components, including microphones (see McGucken, abstract, ¶ 0008, and figures 3-4, 6-7, and 11-12); and
Slotte (US 2014/0050454 A1) teaches multi-device audio capture using multiple user devices, such as cellphones each with one or more microphones, a receiver, and a transmitter, where the user devices are capable of recording audio separately (see Slotte, abstract, ¶ 0028, 0079-0080, and 0082, figure 3, and figure 7, units 10, 10D-E, 10H, 20, 20D-E, and 20H), and the user devices report their relative positions to one another (see Slotte, ¶ 0020 and 0042).
/Daniel R Sellers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694