DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024 and 07/18/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hideyuki (WO 2015/151700).
Regarding claim 1, Hideyuki discloses, an eyewear (Figs. 1-11) comprising:
a front (see 10B and 10C); and
a pair of temples (41A, 41B, 41C, 42A, 42B, 51A, 51B, 51C) connected to the front in a hingeless manner (20A, 20B, 20C, 30A, 30B, 30C) not to include a hinge structure (Pages 3, lines 9-13 and 31-43), the hinge structure having a rotation axis (see Figs. 1-11), and the pair of temples having flexibility (Abstract), wherein
each of the temples has a front (see portion of 41C, 51C) on a front side and a rear region (see 42C, 43C, 52C, 53C) on a rear end side opposite to the front side,
the front region has a protrusion portion (see 23B, 23C, 33B, 33C) that protrudes in at least one of an inner direction or an outer direction of the temple,
the rear region has
a groove portion (55A, 55B, 55C) that is recessed from one surface toward the other surface of the temple in an up-down direction and penetrates the temple in an in-out direction, and
a recess portion (54A, 54B, 54C) that is disposed on an outer side surface of the temple, is recessed in the inner direction of the temple, and communicates with the groove portion (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11), and
the pair of temples are configured such that the groove portion of the rear region of one temple is fitted into a portion of the front region of the other temple (see 18A, 19B, 20B, 30B, 30C) that is closer to the front side than the protrusion portion and are further slid along the front region to a protrusion portion side (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11), and thus the protrusion portion of the other temple is accommodated in the recess portion of the one temple (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 2, Hideyuki discloses, the recess portion has a top surface, a bottom surface, and a back surface (see 54A, 54B, 54C), and an opening communicating with the groove portion is formed between the top surface and the bottom surface (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 3, Hideyuki discloses, the recess portion has a side surface on a side opposite to the opening (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 4, Hideyuki discloses, the recess portion is configured such that the protrusion portion is movable in the recess portion (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 5, Hideyuki discloses, the recess portion is configured to be fitted to the protrusion portion (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 6, Hideyuki discloses, the protrusion portion has a triangular prism shape having a triangular shape in a top view of the temple (see 23B and 33B of Fig. 5 and see 23C and 33C of Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 7, Hideyuki discloses, the protrusion portion protrudes only in the inner direction of the temple and has a length in the up-down direction that is the same as or shorter than a length of the temple in the up-down direction (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11).
Regarding claim 8, Hideyuki discloses, the protrusion portion protrudes only in the inner direction of the temple and has a length in the up-down direction that is the same as or shorter than a length of the temple in the up-down direction (Page 2, lines 9-38, Page 3, lines 20-29 and see Figs. 1-11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kanatani (US 2015/0219922) discloses eyewear that includes a front, a pair of temples, each of the temples has a front region and a rear region, the front region has a protrusion portion, the rear region has a groove portion and a recess portion.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 08/11/2026