DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 12/26/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending for evaluation.
Note: The claims are presented with independent claims listed first in numerical order, followed by dependent claims also in numerical order; any dual or mirror claims are grouped with the lowest-numbered claim in their respective pairing.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2024 and 07/31/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation " the first pattern" within the limitation “wherein the first pattern is represented by a first bitmap.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because Claim 20 is dependent upon Claim 17 and not dependent upon Claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11, 10, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tiernay et al. (US 20010050922), Tiernay hereinafter; Tiernay was presented in the IDS submitted on 12/26/2024.
Regarding Claim 1, Tiernay teaches a wireless communication method, comprising (Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0061]; See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]):
determining, by a first terminal according to a time domain feature of a transmitting time of a first signal, a target transmission mode of the first signal from a plurality of types of transmission modes (Figs. 1 and 3, Para. [0050-0061] - [0050] Protocol formatted digital data generated by the protocol controller 130 is directed to one of two transmit controllers 136,138 associated with the protocol identified. The preferred transponder 100 is capable of both active transmission or modulated backscatter transmission. In the active transmission mode, the formatted digital data is utilized to modulate a transmit oscillator carrier wave to convert the data from a digital-to-analog (D/A) format. The active transmission controller 136 produces a second (typically amplitude modulated) RF voltage signal power amplified for transmission to the transmit/receive switch 140. The transmit/receive switch 140, which is controlled in accordance with the protocol structure, routes the second RF voltage signal to the antenna 120. The antenna 116 then converts the second RF voltage signal to radiated energy which is thereafter transmitted to the reader 112. Alternately, for example if the protocol structure identified is T21, transmission of the second RF signal by the modulated backscatter transmission controller 138 and a backscatter modulator 139 is performed by modulated backscatter of a continuous wave generated by reader 102 as is well known in the art. Reflection modulation acts to cut the reception sensitivity of the antenna 120 by altering the antenna impedance, typically by switching the antenna termination between a matching impedance an applied short circuit (FIG. 3); See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0061]);
wherein the plurality of types of transmission modes include an active transmission mode and a backscatter mode (Figs. 1 and 3, Para. [0050-0061] - [0050] Protocol formatted digital data generated by the protocol controller 130 is directed to one of two transmit controllers 136,138 associated with the protocol identified. The preferred transponder 100 is capable of both active transmission or modulated backscatter transmission. In the active transmission mode, the formatted digital data is utilized to modulate a transmit oscillator carrier wave to convert the data from a digital-to-analog (D/A) format. The active transmission controller 136 produces a second (typically amplitude modulated) RF voltage signal power amplified for transmission to the transmit/receive switch 140. The transmit/receive switch 140, which is controlled in accordance with the protocol structure, routes the second RF voltage signal to the antenna 120. The antenna 116 then converts the second RF voltage signal to radiated energy which is thereafter transmitted to the reader 112. Alternately, for example if the protocol structure identified is T21, transmission of the second RF signal by the modulated backscatter transmission controller 138 and a backscatter modulator 139 is performed by modulated backscatter of a continuous wave generated by reader 102 as is well known in the art. Reflection modulation acts to cut the reception sensitivity of the antenna 120 by altering the antenna impedance, typically by switching the antenna termination between a matching impedance an applied short circuit (FIG. 3); See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0061]).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 1: Fig. 1 from Tiernay (US 20010050922). Annotations and highlights show mappings to Claim 1.)]
Examiner’s Note for Claim 1: Tiernay teaches the claimed determination of a target transmission mode based on a time domain feature through its protocol-controlled transmission architecture. In particular, Fig. 1 and Para. [0050] disclose that protocol formatted digital data generated by protocol controller 130 is directed to one of transmit controllers 136/138 associated with the identified protocol, thereby selecting either active transmission or modulated backscatter transmission. Fig. 3 further illustrates the active transmitter 136 and backscatter modulator 139 coupled to the shared antenna.
The protocol formatted digital data is interpreted as the claimed time domain feature because Para. [0046] explains that protocol controller 130 executes protocol structure governing timing, message slot selection, and transmit/receive control. Additionally, Fig. 2 and Para. [0038-0042] show that Tiernay determines the applicable protocol from characteristics of the received RF signal and then activates the corresponding protocol, providing further context that the protocol specific timing/control information ultimately determines which transmission mode is used.
Regarding Claim 11, Tiernay teaches a terminal device, comprising (Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]):
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the terminal device to perform (Fig. 1, elements 130 and 132, Para. [0031-0038]; See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0061]):
Element 130 Protocol Execute Controller is mapped to the claimed processor.
determining, according to a time domain feature of a transmitting time of a first signal, a target transmission mode of the first signal from a plurality of types of transmission modes (Figs. 1 and 3, Para. [0050-0061]; See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0061]);
wherein the plurality of types of transmission modes include an active transmission mode and a backscatter mode (Figs. 1 and 3, Para. [0050-0061]; See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0061]).
Regarding Claim 10, Tiernay teaches Claim 1.
Tiernay further teaches
wherein the first terminal includes a first transmitter and a second transmitter, the first transmitter supports transmitting signals using the active transmission mode, and the second transmitter supports transmitting signals using backscatter transmission mode (Figs. 1 and 3, Para. [0050-0061] - [0050] Protocol formatted digital data generated by the protocol controller 130 is directed to one of two transmit controllers 136,138 associated with the protocol identified. The preferred transponder 100 is capable of both active transmission or modulated backscatter transmission. In the active transmission mode, the formatted digital data is utilized to modulate a transmit oscillator carrier wave to convert the data from a digital-to-analog (D/A) format. The active transmission controller 136 produces a second (typically amplitude modulated) RF voltage signal power amplified for transmission to the transmit/receive switch 140. The transmit/receive switch 140, which is controlled in accordance with the protocol structure, routes the second RF voltage signal to the antenna 120. The antenna 116 then converts the second RF voltage signal to radiated energy which is thereafter transmitted to the reader 112. Alternately, for example if the protocol structure identified is T21, transmission of the second RF signal by the modulated backscatter transmission controller 138 and a backscatter modulator 139 is performed by modulated backscatter of a continuous wave generated by reader 102 as is well known in the art. Reflection modulation acts to cut the reception sensitivity of the antenna 120 by altering the antenna impedance, typically by switching the antenna termination between a matching impedance an applied short circuit (FIG. 3); See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0061]).
Regarding Claim 16, Tiernay teaches Claim 11.
Tiernay further teaches
wherein the terminal device includes a first transmitter and a second transmitter, the first transmitter supports transmitting signals using the active transmission mode, and the second transmitter supports transmitting signals using backscatter transmission mode (Figs. 1 and 3, Para. [0050-0061]; See Also Fig. 1, Para. [0031-0038]; Fig. 2, Para. [0039-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0061]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gan et al. (US 20200015179), Gan hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 17, Gan teaches a communication device, comprising (Fig. 10, Para. [0124-0137]; See Also Fig. 9, Para. [0109-0123]):
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and run the computer program stored in the memory to cause the communication device to perform (Fig. 10, Elements 22 and 21, Para. [0124-0137]; See Also Fig. 9, Para. [0109-0123]):
determining, according to a time domain feature of a receiving time of a first signal, a target receiving mode of the first signal from a plurality of types of receiving modes; wherein the plurality of types of receiving modes include a receiving mode corresponding to an active transmission mode and a receiving mode corresponding to a backscatter mode (Para. [0049] - Generally, wake-up of an MR includes active wake-up and passive wake-up. The passive wake-up of the MR is discussed, and a process of the passive wake-up may be as follows: An AP sends a WUP to at least one station associated with the AP, where the WUP may be used to indicate reception parameters of an MR of the at least one station after the MR is woken up from a sleep state, for example, a receive mode indication and an indication of a time at which the MR is woken up. A WUR wakes up the MR of the station after receiving the WUP sent by the AP. After the MR of the station is woken up, the MR sends a power save poll (PS-Poll) frame or an acknowledgment frame to the AP to notify the AP that the MR is woken up. Then, the AP returns an acknowledgment response, or directly transmits data to the MR of the station. Optionally, the AP may directly send a data frame to the MR of the station after the MR of the station is woken up, without waiting for the MR of the station to send a PS-Poll frame; or the AP may send an RTS frame to the MR of a woken-up station, and then the MR of the station sends a CTS frame to the AP. In addition, the AP may send a WUP to a non-AP station, or a non-AP station may send a WUP to the AP. This is not limited by this embodiment; See Also: Fig. 5, Para. [0055-0066]; Figs. 6-8, Para. [0067-0108]).
Examiner’s Note for Claim 17: Gan’s active wake-up and passive wake-up are interpreted as the claimed active transmission mode and backscatter mode, respectively. Gan further teaches that the WUP may indicate a receive mode and a time at which the MR is woken up, thereby associating selection of the receiving mode with a time domain feature of the receiving time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-7 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiernay in view of Elshafie et al. (US 20250016767), Elshafie hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 2 and 12, Tiernay teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein the time domain feature of the transmitting time of the first signal includes a time domain resource type corresponding to the transmitting time of the first signal; wherein/and time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are distributed based on a first pattern; wherein the first pattern is predefined, or the first pattern is configured by a target receiving device of the first signal, or the first pattern is configured by a network device.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein the time domain feature of the transmitting time of the first signal includes a time domain resource type corresponding to the transmitting time of the first signal (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087] - [0083] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of energy harvesting resources 500 that support configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The energy harvesting resources 500 may implement various aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or 200 or may be implemented by various aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or 200, among other examples. For example, the energy harvesting resources 500 may be based on a configuration by a base station 105 and implemented by a UE 115………. [0085] In some cases, scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate one or more EH parameters that a receiving device for receiving communications, harvesting energy, or both. In some examples, time-switching (TS) EH may be implemented, and different scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate different TS parameters. In some cases, as indicated at examples 505, there may be no gap between data resources 520 and energy harvesting resources 525 (e.g., one or more symbols in which a higher transmit power may be used without modulation of information that is to be decoded). For example, a first scheduled resource grant configuration 510 (e.g., configuration index 0) may have a first number of symbols for data resources 520-a, and a second number of symbols for energy resources 525-a. A second scheduled resource grant configuration 515 (e.g., configuration index 1) may have a third number of symbols for data resources 520-b, and a fourth number of symbols for energy resources 525-b. In such examples, the particular EH parameters for communications may be indicated by the configuration index that is activated by an activation DCI; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]);
wherein/and time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are distributed based on a first pattern (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087] - [0083] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of energy harvesting resources 500 that support configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The energy harvesting resources 500 may implement various aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or 200 or may be implemented by various aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or 200, among other examples. For example, the energy harvesting resources 500 may be based on a configuration by a base station 105 and implemented by a UE 115………. [0085] In some cases, scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate one or more EH parameters that a receiving device for receiving communications, harvesting energy, or both. In some examples, time-switching (TS) EH may be implemented, and different scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate different TS parameters. In some cases, as indicated at examples 505, there may be no gap between data resources 520 and energy harvesting resources 525 (e.g., one or more symbols in which a higher transmit power may be used without modulation of information that is to be decoded). For example, a first scheduled resource grant configuration 510 (e.g., configuration index 0) may have a first number of symbols for data resources 520-a, and a second number of symbols for energy resources 525-a. A second scheduled resource grant configuration 515 (e.g., configuration index 1) may have a third number of symbols for data resources 520-b, and a fourth number of symbols for energy resources 525-b. In such examples, the particular EH parameters for communications may be indicated by the configuration index that is activated by an activation DCI; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]);
wherein the first pattern is predefined, or the first pattern is configured by a target receiving device of the first signal, or the first pattern is configured by a network device (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087] - [0083] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of energy harvesting resources 500 that support configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The energy harvesting resources 500 may implement various aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or 200 or may be implemented by various aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or 200, among other examples. For example, the energy harvesting resources 500 may be based on a configuration by a base station 105 and implemented by a UE 115; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]).
Examiner’s Note for Claims 2 and 12: Elshafie teaches distributing different time domain resource types according to a time switching pattern, wherein respective subsets of symbols are allocated for energy harvesting and data transmission. The energy harvesting resources are interpreted as the time domain resources corresponding to backscatter communication, while the data transmission resources correspond to the active transmission communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiernay’s invention of “multi protocol transponder for a communications network” (Tiernay §Abstract) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claims 3 and 13, Tiernay in view of Elshafie teaches Claims 2 and 12.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein the first pattern is represented by a first bitmap, the first bitmap includes a plurality of bit groups, each bit group includes one or more bits, each bit group corresponds to N time units, and a value of each bit group is used to indicate a resource type of corresponding N time units, wherein N is a positive integer.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein the first pattern is represented by a first bitmap, the first bitmap includes a plurality of bit groups, each bit group includes one or more bits, each bit group corresponds to N time units, and a value of each bit group is used to indicate a resource type of corresponding N time units, wherein N is a positive integer (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087] - [0086] In other examples, as indicated at examples 530, there may be a gap 555 (e.g., of one or more symbols to allow for switching of receive circuitry and components at a receiving device) between data resources 545 and energy resources 550. In examples 530, similarly as with examples 505, different scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate different TS parameters. For example, a first scheduled resource grant configuration 535 (e.g., configuration index 0) may have a first number of symbols for data resources 545-a, a first number gap 555-a symbols, and a first number of symbols for energy resources 550-a. A second scheduled resource grant configuration 540 (e.g., configuration index 1) may have a second number of symbols for data resources 545-b, a second number gap 555-b symbols, and a second number of symbols for energy resources 550-b. In such examples, the particular EH parameters for communications may be indicated by the configuration index that is activated by an activation DCI. In some cases, the scheduled resource grant configurations may include a bitmap for the symbols used for energy harvesting and those used for data in a downlink slot or TDD configuration. In other cases, symbols for EH may be indicated by a starting symbol and duration in a number of symbols; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiernay’s invention of “multi protocol transponder for a communications network” (Tiernay §Abstract) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 4, Tiernay teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a switching time of transmission modes, and the switching time of transmission modes includes a switching time from the active transmission mode to the backscatter mode and/or a switching time from the backscatter mode to the active transmission mode.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a switching time of transmission modes, and the switching time of transmission modes includes a switching time from the active transmission mode to the backscatter mode and/or a switching time from the backscatter mode to the active transmission mode (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087] - [0086] In other examples, as indicated at examples 530, there may be a gap 555 (e.g., of one or more symbols to allow for switching of receive circuitry and components at a receiving device) between data resources 545 and energy resources 550. In examples 530, similarly as with examples 505, different scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate different TS parameters. For example, a first scheduled resource grant configuration 535 (e.g., configuration index 0) may have a first number of symbols for data resources 545-a, a first number gap 555-a symbols, and a first number of symbols for energy resources 550-a. A second scheduled resource grant configuration 540 (e.g., configuration index 1) may have a second number of symbols for data resources 545-b, a second number gap 555-b symbols, and a second number of symbols for energy resources 550-b. In such examples, the particular EH parameters for communications may be indicated by the configuration index that is activated by an activation DCI. In some cases, the scheduled resource grant configurations may include a bitmap for the symbols used for energy harvesting and those used for data in a downlink slot or TDD configuration. In other cases, symbols for EH may be indicated by a starting symbol and duration in a number of symbols; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233])
Examiner’s Note for Claim 4: The “starting symbol” in Elshafie Para. [0086] is interpreted as the claimed switching time of transmission modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiernay’s invention of “multi protocol transponder for a communications network” (Tiernay §Abstract) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 14, Tiernay teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a switching time of transmission modes, and the switching time of transmission modes includes a switching time from the active transmission mode to the backscatter mode and/or a switching time from the backscatter mode to the active transmission mode; or time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a time window, the time window corresponds to a first transmission mode, and the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode or the backscatter mode.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a switching time of transmission modes, and the switching time of transmission modes includes a switching time from the active transmission mode to the backscatter mode and/or a switching time from the backscatter mode to the active transmission mode; or time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a time window, the time window corresponds to a first transmission mode, and the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode or the backscatter mode (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiernay’s invention of “multi protocol transponder for a communications network” (Tiernay §Abstract) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 5, Tiernay in view of Elshafie teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach determining a transmission mode corresponding to the transmitting time of the first signal according to transmission modes before and after the switching time; and determining the transmission mode corresponding to the transmitting time as the target transmission mode of the first signal; wherein the switching time is predefined, or the switching time is configured by a network device, or the switching time is configured by a target receiving device of the first signal.
However, Elshafie teaches
determining a transmission mode corresponding to the transmitting time of the first signal according to transmission modes before and after the switching time; and determining the transmission mode corresponding to the transmitting time as the target transmission mode of the first signal; wherein the switching time is predefined, or the switching time is configured by a network device, or the switching time is configured by a target receiving device of the first signal (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087] - [0086] In other examples, as indicated at examples 530, there may be a gap 555 (e.g., of one or more symbols to allow for switching of receive circuitry and components at a receiving device) between data resources 545 and energy resources 550. In examples 530, similarly as with examples 505, different scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate different TS parameters. For example, a first scheduled resource grant configuration 535 (e.g., configuration index 0) may have a first number of symbols for data resources 545-a, a first number gap 555-a symbols, and a first number of symbols for energy resources 550-a. A second scheduled resource grant configuration 540 (e.g., configuration index 1) may have a second number of symbols for data resources 545-b, a second number gap 555-b symbols, and a second number of symbols for energy resources 550-b. In such examples, the particular EH parameters for communications may be indicated by the configuration index that is activated by an activation DCI. In some cases, the scheduled resource grant configurations may include a bitmap for the symbols used for energy harvesting and those used for data in a downlink slot or TDD configuration. In other cases, symbols for EH may be indicated by a starting symbol and duration in a number of symbols; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233])
Examiner’s Note for Claim 5: Elshafie Para. [0086] teaches indicating EH symbols (i.e., backscatter communication) by a starting symbol and duration/number of symbols, which defines the EH/backscatter interval and the switching boundary to the data/active transmission interval. Thus, the transmission mode corresponding to the transmitting time is determined based on whether that time is before or after the switching time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiernay’s invention of “multi protocol transponder for a communications network” (Tiernay §Abstract) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 6, Tiernay teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a time window, the time window corresponds to a first transmission mode, and the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode or the backscatter mode.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a time window, the time window corresponds to a first transmission mode, and the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode or the backscatter mode (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087] - [0086] In other examples, as indicated at examples 530, there may be a gap 555 (e.g., of one or more symbols to allow for switching of receive circuitry and components at a receiving device) between data resources 545 and energy resources 550. In examples 530, similarly as with examples 505, different scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate different TS parameters. For example, a first scheduled resource grant configuration 535 (e.g., configuration index 0) may have a first number of symbols for data resources 545-a, a first number gap 555-a symbols, and a first number of symbols for energy resources 550-a. A second scheduled resource grant configuration 540 (e.g., configuration index 1) may have a second number of symbols for data resources 545-b, a second number gap 555-b symbols, and a second number of symbols for energy resources 550-b. In such examples, the particular EH parameters for communications may be indicated by the configuration index that is activated by an activation DCI. In some cases, the scheduled resource grant configurations may include a bitmap for the symbols used for energy harvesting and those used for data in a downlink slot or TDD configuration. In other cases, symbols for EH may be indicated by a starting symbol and duration in a number of symbols; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233])
Examiner’s Note for Claim 6: The “duration in a number of symbols” is interpreted as the claimed “time window” for backscatter mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiernay’s invention of “multi protocol transponder for a communications network” (Tiernay §Abstract) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 7, Tiernay in view of Elshafie teaches Claim 6.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein the first transmission mode is the backscatter mode, time domain resources within the time window are used for backscatter communication, and time domain resources outside the time window are used for active transmission communication; or the first transmission mode is the backscatter mode, time domain resources within the time window are used for the first terminal to initiate backscatter communication, and time domain resources outside the time window are used for active transmission communication and/or backscatter communication; or the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode, time domain resources within the time window are used for active transmission communication, and time domain resources outside the time window are used for backscatter communication; or the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode, time domain resources within the time window are used for the first terminal to initiate active transmission communication, and time domain resources outside the time window are used for active transmission communication and/or backscatter communication.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein the first transmission mode is the backscatter mode, time domain resources within the time window are used for backscatter communication, and time domain resources outside the time window are used for active transmission communication; or the first transmission mode is the backscatter mode, time domain resources within the time window are used for the first terminal to initiate backscatter communication, and time domain resources outside the time window are used for active transmission communication and/or backscatter communication; or the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode, time domain resources within the time window are used for active transmission communication, and time domain resources outside the time window are used for backscatter communication; or the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode, time domain resources within the time window are used for the first terminal to initiate active transmission communication, and time domain resources outside the time window are used for active transmission communication and/or backscatter communication (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087] - [0086] In other examples, as indicated at examples 530, there may be a gap 555 (e.g., of one or more symbols to allow for switching of receive circuitry and components at a receiving device) between data resources 545 and energy resources 550. In examples 530, similarly as with examples 505, different scheduled resource grant configurations may indicate different TS parameters. For example, a first scheduled resource grant configuration 535 (e.g., configuration index 0) may have a first number of symbols for data resources 545-a, a first number gap 555-a symbols, and a first number of symbols for energy resources 550-a. A second scheduled resource grant configuration 540 (e.g., configuration index 1) may have a second number of symbols for data resources 545-b, a second number gap 555-b symbols, and a second number of symbols for energy resources 550-b. In such examples, the particular EH parameters for communications may be indicated by the configuration index that is activated by an activation DCI. In some cases, the scheduled resource grant configurations may include a bitmap for the symbols used for energy harvesting and those used for data in a downlink slot or TDD configuration. In other cases, symbols for EH may be indicated by a starting symbol and duration in a number of symbols; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiernay’s invention of “multi protocol transponder for a communications network” (Tiernay §Abstract) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Elshafie.
Regarding Claim 18, Gan teaches Claim 17.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein the time domain feature of the transmitting time of the first signal includes a time domain resource type corresponding to the transmitting time of the first signal, and time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are distributed based on a first pattern; wherein the first pattern is predefined, or the first pattern is configured by a network device.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein the time domain feature of the transmitting time of the first signal includes a time domain resource type corresponding to the transmitting time of the first signal (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]);
and time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are distributed based on a first pattern (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]);
wherein the first pattern is predefined, or the first pattern is configured by a target receiving device of the first signal, or the first pattern is configured by a network device (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gan’s invention of “a channel access indication method and device” (Gan Para. [0002]) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 19, Gan in view of Elshafie teaches Claim 18.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein the first pattern is represented by a first bitmap, the first bitmap includes a plurality of bit groups, each bit group includes one or more bits, each bit group corresponds to N time units, and a value of each bit group is used to indicate a resource type of corresponding N time units, wherein N is a positive integer.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein the first pattern is represented by a first bitmap, the first bitmap includes a plurality of bit groups, each bit group includes one or more bits, each bit group corresponds to N time units, and a value of each bit group is used to indicate a resource type of corresponding N time units, wherein N is a positive integer (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gan’s invention of “a channel access indication method and device” (Gan Para. [0002]) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Regarding Claim 20, Gan teaches Claim 17.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach wherein the first pattern is represented by a first bitmap, the first bitmap includes a plurality of bit groups, each bit group includes one or more bits, each bit group corresponds to N time units, and a value of each bit group is used to indicate a resource type of corresponding N time units, wherein N is a positive integer; or time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a time window, the time window corresponds to a first transmission mode, and the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode or the backscatter mode.
However, Elshafie teaches
wherein the first pattern is represented by a first bitmap, the first bitmap includes a plurality of bit groups, each bit group includes one or more bits, each bit group corresponds to N time units, and a value of each bit group is used to indicate a resource type of corresponding N time units, wherein N is a positive integer; or time domain resources for backscatter communication and time domain resources for active transmission communication are determined based on a time window, the time window corresponds to a first transmission mode, and the first transmission mode is the active transmission mode or the backscatter mode (Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; See Also: Fig. 2, Para. [0073-0077]; Fig. 3-4, Para. [0078-0082]; Fig. 5, Para. [0083-0087]; Fig. 6, Para. [0088-0095]; Fig. 15-19, Para. [0164-0188]; Para. [0190-0233]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Gan’s invention of “a channel access indication method and device” (Gan Para. [0002]) with Elshafie’s invention of “configuration and signaling techniques for scheduled wireless communications” (Elshafie Para. [0002]) because Elshafie’s invention provides “improved network operations, and, in some examples, may promote network efficiencies, among other benefits” (Elshafie Para. [0041]).
Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiernay in view of Li (D. Li, "Hybrid Active and Passive Antenna Selection for Backscatter-Assisted MISO Systems," in IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol. 68, no. 11, pp. 7258-7269, Nov. 2020, doi: 10.1109/TCOMM.2020.3014917).
Regarding Claims 8 and 15, Tiernay teaches Claims 1 and 11.
Yet, Tiernay does not expressly teach in a case that a transmit power of backscatter signal meets a first condition and that the target transmission mode of the first signal determined according to the time domain feature of the transmitting time of the first signal is the backscatter mode, transmitting the first signal using the backscatter mode; or in a case that the transmit power of the backscatter signal does not meet the first condition, transmitting the first signal using the active transmission mode; or in a case that the transmit power of the backscatter signal does not meet the first condition, transmitting the first signal using the active transmission mode and the backscatter mode.
However, Li teaches
in a case that a transmit power of backscatter signal meets a first condition and that the target transmission mode of the first signal determined according to the time domain feature of the transmitting time of the first signal is the backscatter mode, transmitting the first signal using the backscatter mode; or in a case that the transmit power of the backscatter signal does not meet the first condition, transmitting the first signal using the active transmission mode; or in a case that the transmit power of the backscatter signal does not meet the first condition, transmitting the first signal using the active transmission mode and the backscatter mode (Section II - The system under consideration consists of one continuous wave (CW) source S , one transmitter T with N antennas denoted as Ti for 1≤i≤N , and one receiver R , as illustrated in Fig. 1.1 Besides, for each Ti , both traditional AR module and the PR module are available. Specifically, the AR module takes the same functionality as traditional communication transmitters including, e.g, RF chains, carrier generators and batteries, and the PR module is composed of a wireless-powered tag. Channel power gains between S and Ti , Ti and R are given by gSTi and gTiR , which independently follow the exponential distribution with means denoted as λSTi=d−βSTi and λTiR=d−βTiR , respectively. Moreover, dSTi and dTiR respectively denote the distance between S and Ti , and the distance between Ti and R . Besides, β denotes the path loss exponent. In this article, we consider hybrid active and passive antenna selection for backscatter-assisted systems by switching between the PR mode and the AR mode for each Ti .2 Specifically, in the PR mode, the backscattering power of Ti is powered by S . While, in the AR mode, the transmit power of Ti is powered by its battery as in traditional communication systems. Specifically, for the PR mode, let PS and ρ respectively denote the transmit power of S and the tag backscattering coefficient (see, e.g., [35], [36]), then the received signal at R can be expressed as ρPSgSTigTiR−−−−−−−−−√sc , where s and c denote the transmitted signal of S and the transmitted signal of T . Besides, s is assumed to be known as will be discussed later, and c adopts the phase shift keying (PSK) modulation. On the other hand, for the AR mode, the received signal at R is simply given by PTigTiR−−−−−−√c , where PTi is the battery power of Ti; Section II.A - In this scheme, the selected antenna and the the corresponding mode are determined in such a way that the received power is maximized via all possible combinations of antennas and modes. More specifically, the mode is selected based on the power comparison of the AR and PR modes for each antenna, and the antenna which contributes the most to the received power is selected; See Also: Section II.B-D; Section III; Section IV; Section V).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tiernay’s invention of “multi protocol transponder for a communications network” (Tiernay §Abstract) with Li’s invention of methods for “hybrid active and passive antenna selection for backscatter-assisted multiple input and single output (MISO) systems” (Li §Abstract) because Li’s invention provides an adaptive antenna selection scheme “where the antenna and the mode corresponding to the maximum performance enhancement over all possible combinations of antennas and modes are selected” (Li Section I.C).
[AltContent: textbox (Figure 2: Fig. 1 and Equation (1) from Li (D. Li, "Hybrid Active and Passive Antenna Selection for Backscatter-Assisted MISO Systems," in IEEE Transactions on Communications, vol. 68, no. 11, pp. 7258-7269, Nov. 2020, doi: 10.1109/TCOMM.2020.3014917). Annotations and highlights show mappings to Claim 8.)]
Examiner’s Note for Claims 8 and 15:
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiernay in view of Li, and further in view of Islam et al. (US 20170347380), Islam hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 9, Tiernay in view of Li teaches Claim 8.
Yet, neither Tiernay nor Li expressly teach the transmit power of the backscatter signal is greater than a sum of a target received power of a target receiving device and a path loss between the first terminal and the target receiving device; or the transmit power of the backscatter signal is greater than or equal to the sum of the target received power of the target receiving device and the path loss between the first terminal and the target receiving device.
However, Islam teaches
the transmit power of the backscatter signal is greater than a sum of a target received power of a target receiving device and a path loss between the first terminal and the target receiving device; or the transmit power of the backscatter signal is greater than or equal to the sum of the target received power of the target receiving device and the path loss between the first terminal and the target receiving device (Fig. 11, steps 1104 and 1106, Para. [0089-0093] - [0090] At 1104, the UE may determine whether the UE's EIRP, e.g., the summation of the UE's transmit power (T) and array gain (A), is greater than or equal to the summation of the path loss (PL) and the preamble received target power (R). If (T+A)≧(PL+R), the UE may proceed to 1108. If (T+A)<(PL+R), the UE may proceed to 1110. [0091] At 1106, the UE may determine whether the UE's transmit power (T) is greater than or equal to the summation of the path loss (PL) and the preamble received target power (R). If T≧(PL+R), the UE may proceed to 1108. If T<(PL+R), the UE may proceed to 1110; See Also: Fig. 4, Para. [0050-0066]; Fig. 5, Para. [0067]; Fig. 6-7, Para. [0068-0071]; Fig. 8-9, Para. [0072-0076]; Fig. 10, Para. [0077-0088]; Fig. 11, Para. [0089-0093]; Fig. 14, Para. [0111-0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the transmit power of the backscatter signal is greater than a sum of a target received power of a target receiving device and a path loss between the first terminal and the target receiving device; or the transmit power of the backscatter signal is greater than or equal to the sum of the target received power of the target receiving device and the path loss between the first terminal and the target receiving device as taught by Islam, in the combined system of Tiernay/Li, so that it would provide methods “to reduce overhead at the expense of increasing latency for UEs with weak link gain, while the latency for most UEs may remain the same” (Islam §Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lu et al. (US 20220159582) Fig. 10B and Para. [0177] teaches a UE selecting a transmission mode from a plurality of transmission modes based on “data for a transmission from the UE to a receiving entity (e.g., the BS 110 and/or another UE 120) and one or more radio conditions associated with the transmission.”
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468