DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The second information disclosure statement filed 12/26/2024 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because it is essentially a duplicate of the first information disclosure statement filed on 12/26/2024. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: actuating assembly in claims 1, 2, and 14-18. Support for the structure of this limitation is provided in Paragraph [0054] of the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the rear diffusor" in Ln. 1, 8, and 9 of the claim. The preamble of the claim references an “active rear diffusor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-18, and 20 depend on claim 1 and thus also are rejected.
Claims 5 and 9 recite the limitation “the width of the first/second gap is 0 cm” in Ln. 2 of each claim. The use of the term “gap” is inconsistent with its meaning in this limitation where it says the width of the gap is 0 cm. A gap implies a space between, thus the terminology should properly reflect the intended meaning in the claim limitation. The current claim language is unclear and indefinite.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "an adjacent portion of the road vehicle" in Ln. of the claim. In claim 1, the road vehicle is not positively recited as part of the claimed structure. Here in claim 6 the road vehicle is positively recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "an " in Ln. 3 of the claim. In claim 1, the road vehicle is not positively recited as part of the claimed structure. Here in claim 11 the road vehicle is positively recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the rear diffusor" in Ln. 9 and 10 of the claim. The preamble of the claim references an “active rear diffusor”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 is further rejected due to the unclear claim language regarding the “active rear diffusor”. In Ln. 1 of the claim, it is stated “An assembly for providing an active rear diffusor”, which does not positively recite the “active rear diffusor” as part of the claimed structure. Thus, when in Ln. 9 and 10 of the claim, when the element is positively recited as part of the claim structure, it is unclear whether it is intended to be part of the claimed structure or not. Thus, the claim language is unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 12, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moressee (FR Patent Application 3072640 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Moressee discloses
an active rear diffusor (rear diffuser 10, Fig. 1) for a road vehicle, the rear diffusor (rear diffuser 10, Fig. 1) comprising:
a first air guiding member (primary panel 20, Fig. 1) and at least a second air guiding member (secondary panel 30, Fig. 1),
an actuating assembly (link system 22, connecting rods 32, and motor axis 62, Fig. 1),
wherein at least a section of the first air guiding member (primary panel 20, Fig. 1) and of the second air guiding member (secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) are arranged successively along a longitudinal axis of the road vehicle (as can be seen in Fig. 2 where the secondary panel 30 is behind the primary panel 20),
wherein the actuating assembly (link assembly 22, connecting rods 32, and motor axis 62, Fig. 1) is configured to move each of the first and second air guiding member (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) into a first position in which the rear diffusor assumes a first operating state (first position is the deployed position shown in annotated Fig. 2 below) and into a second position in which the rear diffusor assumes a second operating state (second position is the retracted position shown in annotated Fig. 1 below; Pg. 7-8 of the provided English Translation PDF),
and wherein a width of a first gap (as shown in annotated Figs. 1-2 below) between the first and second air guiding members (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Figs. 1-2) is smaller in the first operating state compared to the second operating state (as can be seen in annotated Figs. 1-2 below).
Figures 1 and 2 from Moressee
Regarding claim 2, Moressee discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
wherein the actuating assembly (link system 22, connecting rods 32, and motor axis 62, Fig. 1) is configured to move each of the first and second air guiding member (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) into the first position at a first vehicle speed and into the second position at a second vehicle speed, wherein the first vehicle speed is lower than the second vehicle speed (Pg. 2 of the provided English Translation PDF discloses that in current solutions the speed of the vehicle is used to determine when the panel deploys or retracts, and the higher second vehicle speed moves the panel into the retracted position, which is the second position).
Regarding claim 12, Moressee discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
wherein in the first operating state an angle of the first air guiding member (as shown in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 above) relative to a road surface and/or of the second air guiding member relative to the road surface is smaller compared to the second operating state (as detailed in annotated Figs. 1 and 2 above).
Regarding claim 14, Moressee discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
wherein the actuating assembly (link system 22, connecting rods 32, and motor axis 62, Fig. 1) comprises a linkage assembly (link system 22 and connecting rods 32, Fig. 1) and at least one actuator (motor axis 62, Fig. 1; as can be seen in Figs. 1-2; Pg. 7 of the provided English Translation PDF),
wherein the linkage assembly (link system 22 and connecting rods 32, Fig. 1) couples the first and second air guiding members (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) to the actuator (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2; Pg. 7 of the provided English Translation PDF).
Regarding claim 15, Moressee discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
wherein the linkage assembly (link system 22 and connecting rods 32, Fig. 1) couples the first and the second air guiding members (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) to one another (as can be seen in Figs. 1-2; Pg. 7 of the provided English Translation PDF).
Regarding claim 19, Moressee discloses
An assembly (rear diffuser 10, Fig. 1) for providing an active rear diffusor (rear diffuser 10, Fig. 1) of a road vehicle, wherein the assembly comprises:
a first air guiding member (primary panel 20, Fig. 1) and at least a second air guiding member (secondary panel 30, Fig. 1),
a linkage assembly (link system 22 and connecting rods 32, Fig. 1) coupled to the first air guiding member and second air guiding member (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) and configured to be coupled to at least one actuator (motor shaft 62; as can be seen in Figs. 1-2; Pg. 7 of the provided English Translation PDF),
wherein at least a section of the first air guiding member and of the second air guiding member (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) are arrangeable successively along a longitudinal axis of the road vehicle (as can be seen in Fig. 2 where the secondary panel 30 is behind the primary panel 20),
wherein each of the first and second air guiding member (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) are movable into a first position in which the rear diffusor (rear diffuser 10, Fig. 1) assumes a first operating state (first position is the deployed position shown in annotated Fig. 2 above) and into a second position in which the rear diffusor (rear diffuser 10, Fig. 1) assumes a second operating state (second position is the retracted position shown in annotated Fig. 1 below; Pg. 7-8 of the provided English Translation PDF),
and wherein a width of a first gap (as shown in annotated Figs. 1-2 above) between the first and second air guiding members (primary panel 20 and secondary panel 30, Fig. 1) is smaller in the first operating state compared to the second operating state (as can be seen in annotated Figs. 1-2 above).
Regarding claim 20, Moressee discloses all the limitations of the claim and further discloses
A road vehicle (Abstract; diffuser is attached to a motor vehicle, not fully shown in Figures but the bumper 40 is shown), comprising the active rear diffusor according to claim 1 (structure as detailed above in claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moressee (FR Patent Application 3072640 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Moressee discloses all the limitations of the claim but does not explicitly disclose the full limitation
wherein in the first operating state (deployed position shown in Fig. 2), the width of the first gap (as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above) is less than 5 cm (Pg. 3 of the provided English Translation PDF discloses that the gap between the panels is effectively obstructed, which indicates a small or absent gap between the panels, which previously was present when in the retracted position).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the gap with this given range of less than 5 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent foreign bodies from entering the diffuser and to improve the aesthetics of the vehicle (Moressee; Pg. 3 of the provided English Translation PDF).
Regarding claim 4, Moressee discloses all the limitations of the claim but does not explicitly disclose the full limitation
wherein in the first operating state (deployed position shown in Fig. 2), the width of the first gap (as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above) is less than 5 cm (Pg. 3 of the provided English Translation PDF discloses that the gap between the panels is effectively obstructed, which indicates a small or absent gap between the panels, which previously was present when in the retracted position).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the gap with this given range of less than 5 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent foreign bodies from entering the diffuser and to improve the aesthetics of the vehicle (Moressee; Pg. 3 of the provided English Translation PDF).
Regarding claim 5, Moressee discloses all the limitations of the claim but does not explicitly disclose the full limitation
wherein in the first operating state (deployed position shown in Fig. 2), the width of the first gap (as shown in annotated Fig. 2 above) is 0 cm (Pg. 3 of the provided English Translation PDF discloses that the gap between the panels is effectively obstructed, which indicates a small or absent gap between the panels, which previously was present when in the retracted position).
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the gap with this given range of less than 5 cm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent foreign bodies from entering the diffuser and to improve the aesthetics of the vehicle (Moressee; Pg. 3 of the provided English Translation PDF).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-11, 13, and 16-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 6-9 is the inclusion in the claims of the limitation of a width of a second gap between the first air guiding member and an adjacent portion of the road vehicle is smaller in the first operating state than in the second operating state. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Moressee (FR Patent Application 3072640 A1), which teaches all the limitations of the claim, including the second gap between the first air guiding member and an adjacent portion of the road vehicle, but in Moressee the second gap is not smaller in the first operating state than in the second operating state, but rather is larger. These deficiencies in Moressee are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 10-11 is the inclusion in the claims of the limitation of the first air guiding member and the second air guiding member define an outer portion of the rear diffusor that faces a road surface. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Moressee (FR Patent Application 3072640 A1), which teaches all the limitations of the claim, including the outer portion of the first and second air guiding member, but the outer portion of Moressee does not fully face the road surface, instead only part of it does. These deficiencies in Moressee are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claim 13 is the inclusion in the claim of the limitation of a difference between the first angle and the second angle is smaller in the first operating state compared to the second operating state. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Moressee (FR Patent Application 3072640 A1), which teaches all the limitations of the claim, including a first and second angle relative to the road surface of the first and second air guiding members, but does not disclose the relationship between the difference of the 2 angles in the first and second operating state where the difference is smaller in the first operating state than in the second operating state. These deficiencies in Moressee are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in claims 16-18 is the inclusion in the claims of the limitation of the linkage assembly comprises a pivot joint to which both of the first and the second air guiding members are coupled. Such limitations, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record is Moressee (FR Patent Application 3072640 A1), which teaches all the limitations of the claim, including pivot joints between the components, but not a pivot joint that both the first and second air guiding members are both coupled to. These deficiencies in Moressee are not made up by any other teachings in the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited but not relied upon teach similar rear diffusor assemblies with a link and actuator assembly.
/D.G.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612
September 15, 2026