Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bin S. Mosca, F. Bilotti, A. Toscano and L. Vegni, "A novel design method for Blass matrix beam-forming networks," in IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 50, no. 2, pp. 225-232, Feb. 2002, doi: 10.1109/8.997999, hereinafter Mosca, in view of Li, Yihong Chen, Zhenhai Fu, et al. "Substrate-guided wave optical true-time-delay feeding network for phased-array antenna steering", Proc. SPIE 3950, Optoelectronic Integrated Circuits IV, null (19 Apr 2000); https://doi.org/10.1117/12.382170, hereinafter Li.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Mosca discloses in Figures 1, 3 and pages 225-232, a system for simultaneously generating multiple beams, the system comprising: - an antenna array having multiple antenna array elements,
- a Blass matrix circuit comprising a plurality of hybrid couplers (θ111-θMN) and delay lines, said matrix circuit being coupled between a plurality of loads and said antenna array; and
a plurality of phase shifters (Ø11- ØMN), each of said plurality of phase shifters being coupled to at least one hybrid coupler of said matrix circuit;
wherein - each row of said Blass matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series row-wise; and
- each column of said Blass matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series column-wise.
Mosca is silent on each row-wise pair of hybrid couplers being joined by at least one delay line.
Li discloses in Figure 1, each row-wise pair of hybrid couplers being joined by at least one delay line (
τ
m
).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify the matrix of Mosca with the matrix having delay line as taught by Li to avoid squint error. Therefore, to employ having the delay lines as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, as applied to claims 1 and 14, Mosca discloses in Figure 1,
wherein each phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters (Ø21, Ø22, Ø22N) is coupled between hybrid couplers of adjacent rows in said Blass matrix circuit.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, as applied to claims 1 and 14, Mosca discloses in Figure 1,
wherein each hybrid coupler (θ111, θ12, θ1N) of said top row of said matrix is coupled to an antenna element of said antenna array by way of a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters.
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1, Mosca discloses in Figure 1,
wherein each hybrid coupler (θ1M1, θM2, θMN) of a bottom row of said matrix circuit is coupled to column-wise between a matching load of said plurality of matching loads and a hybrid coupler of an immediately succeeding row of said matrix circuit.
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, Mosca discloses in Figure 1,
wherein each hybrid coupler (θ1M1, θM2, θMN) of a bottom row of said matrix circuit is coupled column-wise between a matching load and a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, as applied to claims 1 and 14, Mosca discloses in Figure 1 and Introduction Section, wherein said circuit is for use in an antenna system for cellular applications.
Regarding claims 8 and 19, as applied to claims 1 and 14, Mosca discloses in Figure 1, wherein said plurality of phase shifters generates linearly decreased phase differences for cancelling beam squint in beams produced by an antenna system using said circuit.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to claim 1, Mosca discloses in Figure 1, wherein said plurality of phase shifters generates linearly increase phase differences for cancelling beam squint in beams produced by an antenna system using said circuit.
Regarding claims 10-11, as applied to claim 1, Mosca discloses in Figure 1,
wherein said phase shifters of said plurality of phase shifters have a same phase delay at a center frequency and wherein said phase shifters have different gradients when a frequency changes;
wherein said phase shifters of said plurality of phase shifters have a same phase delay at a center frequency and wherein said phase shifters have different gradients when a frequency changes such that gradients on each signal path in said circuit will gradually increase with a same difference between adjacent paths.
Regarding claim 12, as applied to claim 1, Mosca discloses in Figure 1,
wherein said phase shifters of said plurality of phase shifters have a same phase delay at a center frequency and wherein said phase shifters have different gradients when a frequency changes such that gradients on each signal path in said circuit will gradually decrease with a same difference between adjacent paths.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1, Mosca discloses in Figure 1,
wherein said plurality of phase shifters is configurable such that, as a beam is swept across different frequencies in said circuit, a phase delay is increased as a frequency increases.
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosca in view of Li and further in view of Gans et al (US 5,793,330).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Mosca and Li disclose every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 1 and 14, except for said matrix circuit is manufactured using a multi-layer structure, said multi-layer construction comprising: - a top copper layer; - a middle copper layer; - a bottom copper layer; - a top substrate layer between said top copper layer and said middle copper layer; and - a bottom substrate layer between said middle copper layer and said bottom copper layer.
Gans discloses in Figure 1, said matrix circuit is manufactured using a multi-layer structure, said multi-layer construction comprising:
- a top copper layer (54); - a middle copper layer (46); - a bottom copper layer (24);
- a top substrate layer (52) between said top copper layer (54) and said middle copper layer (46); and
- a bottom substrate layer (36) between said middle copper layer (46) and said bottom copper layer (24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to employ the teaching of the multi-layer copper board of Gans in the matrix circuit of Li to increase the durability and electrical performance for the matrix circuit. Therefore, to employ having the multi-layer structure as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 9, 14-16 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,266,867. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims 1-2 of above patent recite all the limitation of claims 1-5, 9, 14-16 and 19 of the instant application as below:
Examined Claims
U.S. Patent No. 12,266,867
1. A circuit for use in simultaneously generating multiple beams using an antenna array having multiple antenna array elements, the circuit comprising:
- a matrix circuit comprising a plurality of hybrid couplers and delay lines, said matrix circuit being coupled between a plurality of loads and said antenna array; and
- a plurality of phase shifters, each of said plurality of phase shifters being coupled to at least one hybrid coupler of said matrix circuit,
wherein - each row of said matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series row-wise, with each row-wise pair of hybrid couplers being joined by at least one delay line; and
- each column of said matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series column-wise.
2. The circuit according to claim 1, wherein each phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters is coupled between hybrid couplers of adjacent rows in said matrix circuit.
3. The circuit according to claim 1, wherein each hybrid coupler of said top row of said matrix is coupled to an antenna element of said antenna array by way of a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters.
4. The circuit according to claim 1,
wherein each hybrid coupler of a bottom row of said matrix circuit is coupled to column-wise between a matching load of said plurality of matching loads and a hybrid coupler of an immediately succeeding row of said matrix circuit.
5. The circuit according to claim 1, wherein each hybrid coupler of a bottom row of said matrix circuit is coupled column-wise between a matching load and a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters.
9. The circuit according to claim 1, wherein said plurality of phase shifters generates linearly increased phase differences for cancelling beam squint in beams produced by an antenna system using said circuit.
14. A system for simultaneously generating multiple beams, the system comprising: - an antenna array having multiple antenna array elements, - a Blass matrix circuit comprising a plurality of hybrid couplers and delay lines, said matrix circuit being coupled between a plurality of loads and said antenna array; and - a plurality of phase shifters, each of said plurality of phase shifters being coupled to at least one hybrid coupler of said Blass matrix circuit, wherein - each row of said Blass matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series row-wise, with each row-wise pair of hybrid couplers being joined by at least one delay line; and - each column of said Blass matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series column-wise.
15. The system according to claim 14, wherein each phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters is coupled between hybrid couplers of adjacent rows in said Blass matrix circuit.
16. The system according to claim 14, wherein each hybrid coupler of said top row of said matrix is coupled to an antenna element of said antenna array by way of a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters.
19. The system according to claim 14, wherein said plurality of phase shifters generate linearly decreased phase differences or linearly increased phase differences, the phase differences being for canceling beam squint in beams produced by said antenna system.
1. A circuit for use in simultaneously generating multiple beams using an antenna array having multiple antenna array elements, the circuit comprising:
a matrix circuit comprising a plurality of hybrid couplers and delay lines, said matrix circuit being coupled between a plurality of loads and said antenna array; and
a plurality of phase shifters coupled between said matrix circuit and said antenna array,
wherein each row of said matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series row-wise, with each row-wise pair of hybrid couplers being joined by at least one delay line;
each column of said matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series column-wise;
a top row of said matrix circuit is coupled to antenna elements of said antenna array such that each hybrid coupler of said top row is coupled to an antenna element of said antenna array by way of a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters,
each hybrid coupler of said top row being coupled column-wise between a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters and a hybrid coupler of a preceding row of said matrix circuit;
a bottom row of said matrix circuit is coupled to a plurality of matching loads such that each hybrid coupler of said bottom row is coupled column-wise between a matching load of said plurality of matching loads and a hybrid coupler of an immediately succeeding row of said matrix circuit; and
said phase shifters are used to generate linearly increased phase differences between adjacent antenna array elements for signals from said matrix circuit.
2. The circuit according to claim 1, wherein a phase of a signal sent from a specific hybrid coupler to a specific antenna element in said antenna array is controlled by a specific phase shifter to which said specific hybrid coupler is coupled, said specific hybrid coupler being in said top row of said matrix circuit.
1. A circuit for use in simultaneously generating multiple beams using an antenna array having multiple antenna array elements, the circuit comprising: a matrix circuit comprising a plurality of hybrid couplers and delay lines, said matrix circuit being coupled between a plurality of loads and said antenna array; and a plurality of phase shifters coupled between said matrix circuit and said antenna array, wherein each row of said matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series row-wise, with each row-wise pair of hybrid couplers being joined by at least one delay line; each column of said matrix circuit comprises a plurality of hybrid couplers coupled in series column-wise; a top row of said matrix circuit is coupled to antenna elements of said antenna array such that each hybrid coupler of said top row is coupled to an antenna element of said antenna array by way of a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters, each hybrid coupler of said top row being coupled column-wise between a phase shifter of said plurality of phase shifters and a hybrid coupler of a preceding row of said matrix circuit; a bottom row of said matrix circuit is coupled to a plurality of matching loads such that each hybrid coupler of said bottom row is coupled column-wise between a matching load of said plurality of matching loads and a hybrid coupler of an immediately succeeding row of said matrix circuit; and said phase shifters are used to generate linearly increased phase differences between adjacent antenna array elements for signals from said matrix circuit.
2. The circuit according to claim 1, wherein a phase of a signal sent from a specific hybrid coupler to a specific antenna element in said antenna array is controlled by a specific phase shifter to which said specific hybrid coupler is coupled, said specific hybrid coupler being in said top row of said matrix circuit.
Examiner note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845