CTNF 19/002,572 CTNF 90512 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Japan Application No. 2022-118859 was received on 13 February 2025 as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The references cited in the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 March 2025 and 19 November 2025 have been considered by the examiner. Drawings The drawings filed on 26 December 2024 are accepted. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regard to Claim 7, the claim limitation “wherein the ink contains a wax, and a melting point of the wax is 90°C or lower” does not further limit the claim as the ink itself is not part of the inkjet recording device. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama et al. (JP2019-147327A), hereinafter Toyama , using a machine translation, in view of Hashimoto et al. (US PGPub 2019/0047298 A1), hereinafter Hashimoto , and further in view of Bertrand et al. (US PGPub 2016/0017543 A1), hereinafter Bertrand . With regard to Claim 1, Toyama discloses an ink jet recording device (¶0059; Fig. 3) comprising: an ink jet head (¶0094; Fig. 1; head 4) that applies an ink to a recording surface of a recording medium to form an image (¶0010, 0019; Fig. 3) ; and a drying cylinder (313, 314) that heats the recording medium by bringing the recording surface of the recording medium to which the ink is applied into contact with an outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder (¶0067) , and a solvent amount of the ink on the recording surface that comes into contact with the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder is 200 μg/cm2 or less (¶0015) . Toyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder has a maximum static friction coefficient of 0.54 or less and an arithmetic average roughness of 1.6 μm or more. The secondary reference of Hashimoto discloses wherein the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder has a maximum static friction coefficient of 0.54 or less (¶0048; Fig. 4; static friction coefficient is about 0.3 and in consideration of variation is set to be 0.2) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the static friction of Hashimoto , with the drying cylinder of Toyama , in order for the conveying force to withstand an external force of more than tension without slipping, as taught by Hashimoto (¶0048) . Although, Hashimoto does not explicitly use the term “maximum” static tension, Hashimoto describes a static tension around 0.3 and set to a lower number, due to variation, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that 0.3 was roughly the maximum static friction coefficient, in order to account for variation. The tertiary reference of Bertrand discloses wherein the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder has and an arithmetic average roughness of 1.6 μm or more (¶0068, drying cylinder roughness parameter Ra at least 0.1 µm) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the average roughness of Bertrand , with the combination of Toyama-Hashimoto , in order to not degrade the surface of the paper media, as taught by Bertrand (¶0068) . Examiner notes to applicant that a solvent amount of ink does not further limit an inkjet recording device, since the ink itself is separate from the device. With regard to Claim 2, Toyama further discloses a transport device that transports the recording medium (¶0059) , however Toyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the transport device applies a tension of 50 N/m or more and 800 N/m or less to the recording medium. The secondary reference of Hashimoto discloses wherein the transport device applies a tension of 50 N/m or more and 800 N/m or less to the recording medium (¶0094, setting tension preferably under 100 N/m for certain media) . With regard to Claim 3, Toyama further discloses wherein the drying cylinder includes a heater (¶0067) , and the heater sets a temperature of the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder to 30°C or higher and 300°C or lower (Table 1; drying temperature 100°C; see translation below; Tables 2-6 as well show >100°C temperatures; ¶0063, heat roller set to temperature of 50 to 100°C) . PNG media_image1.png 1084 1065 media_image1.png Greyscale With regard to Claim 6, Toyama further discloses wherein the drying cylinder sets a temperature of the recording medium to 90°C or higher and 180°C or lower (¶0063, heat transfer from heat roller to paper temperature of 50 to 100°C) . With regard to Claim 8, Toyama further discloses wherein the solvent amount of the ink on the recording surface that comes into contact with the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder is 100 μg/cm2 or more (¶0015) . Examiner notes to applicant that a solvent amount of ink does not further limit an inkjet recording device, since the ink itself is separate from the device. Toyama does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder has the maximum static friction coefficient of 0.1 or more and the arithmetic average roughness of 10.4 μm or less. The secondary reference of Hashimoto discloses wherein the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder has the maximum static friction coefficient of 0.1 or more (¶0048; Fig. 4; static friction coefficient is about 0.3 and in consideration of variation is set to be 0.2) . The tertiary reference of Bertrand discloses wherein the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder has the arithmetic average roughness of 10.4 μm or less (¶0068, drying cylinder roughness parameter Ra at least 0.1 µm) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama , in view of Hashimoto, in view of Bertrand , and further in view of Sumiyoshi (US PGPub 2016/0289029 A1) . With regard to Claim 4, Toyama-Hashimoto-Bertrand does not explicitly disclose wherein the drying cylinder includes a motor that rotates the drying cylinder about a shaft of the drying cylinder, and the drying cylinder transports the recording medium while holding the recording medium on the outer peripheral surface. The quaternary reference of Sumiyoshi discloses wherein the drying cylinder includes a motor that rotates the drying cylinder about a shaft of the drying cylinder (Fig. 8; ¶0119, 0144, drying drum 132 of cylindrical shape rotates being driven by a motor with respective shaft) , and the drying cylinder transports the recording medium while holding the recording medium on the outer peripheral surface (¶0119) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the rotation and motor of Sumiyoshi , with the combination of Toyama-Hashimoto-Bertrand , in order to control the driving of the media, as taught by Sumiyoshi (¶0119, 0144) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama , in view of Hashimoto, in view of Bertrand , and further in view of Uesaka et al. (US PGPub 2019/0091993 A1), hereinafter Uesaka . With regard to Claim 5, Toyama-Hashimoto-Bertrand does not explicitly disclose wherein a moisture content of the recording medium before the ink is applied to the recording surface is 1.2% or more and 14.3% or less. The quaternary reference of Uesaka discloses wherein a moisture content of the recording medium before the ink is applied to the recording surface is 1.2% or more and 14.3% or less (¶0190, moisture content anywhere from 9% to 12% as examples; Fig. 9) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the moisture content of Makuta , with the combination of Toyama-Hashimoto-Bertrand , in order to suppress wrinkles, as taught by Uesaka (¶0180) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toyama , in view of Hashimoto, in view of Bertrand , and further in view of Kyoso (US PGPub 2016/0052317 A1) . With regard to Claim 9, Toyama discloses an ink jet recording device (¶0059; Fig. 3) comprising: a first ink jet head that applies an ink to a first recording surface of a recording medium to form an image (¶0019) ; a first drying cylinder (313, 314; Fig. 3) that heats the recording medium by bringing a second recording surface, which is an opposite surface of the first recording surface of the recording medium to which the ink is applied, into contact with a first outer peripheral surface (Fig. 3; ¶0067) ; a second drying cylinder (313, 314; Fig. 3) that heats the recording medium by bringing the first recording surface of the recording medium into contact with a second outer peripheral surface (Fig. 3; ¶0067) , wherein a solvent amount of the ink on the first recording surface in the first drying cylinder is 200 μg/cm2 or less (¶0015) . Toyama does not explicitly disclose the second outer peripheral surface of the second drying cylinder has a maximum static friction coefficient of 0.54 or less and an arithmetic average roughness of 1.6 μm or more; a reversing mechanism that reverses front and back sides of the recording medium; and a second ink jet head that applies the ink to the second recording surface of the recording medium to form an image. The secondary reference of Hashimoto discloses wherein the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder has a maximum static friction coefficient of 0.54 or less (¶0048; Fig. 4; static friction coefficient is about 0.3 and in consideration of variation is set to be 0.2) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the static friction of Hashimoto , with the drying cylinder(s) of Toyama , in order for the conveying force to withstand an external force of more than tension without slipping, as taught by Hashimoto (¶0048) . Although, Hashimoto does not explicitly use the term “maximum” static tension, Hashimoto describes a static tension around 0.3 and set to a lower number, due to variation, thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that 0.3 was roughly the maximum static friction coefficient, in order to account for variation. The tertiary reference of Bertrand discloses wherein the outer peripheral surface of the drying cylinder has and an arithmetic average roughness of 1.6 μm or more (¶0068, drying cylinder roughness parameter Ra at least 0.1 µm) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the average roughness of Bertrand , with the combination of Toyama-Hashimoto , in order to not degrade the surface of the paper media, as taught by Bertrand (¶0068) . Examiner notes to applicant that a solvent amount of ink does not further limit an inkjet recording device, since the ink itself is separate from the device. The quaternary reference of Kyoso discloses a reversing mechanism that reverses front and back sides of the recording medium (¶0151; Fig. 1; reversing unit 60) ; and a second ink jet head (heads 44 and 94; Fig. 1) that applies the ink to the second recording surface of the recording medium to form an image (¶0134, 0184) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the reversing mechanism of Terai , with the combination of Toyama-Hashimoto-Bertrand , in order to perform double sided printing, as taught by Kyoso (¶0009) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim 10 is allowed. 13-03 AIA The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The primary reasons for allowance for Claim 10 is that applicants claimed invention includes a method of manufacturing a drying cylinder having performing a roughening treatment on an outer peripheral surface of a cylinder having a cylindrical shape; and performing a smoothing treatment on the outer peripheral surface on which the roughening treatment is performed, to make the outer peripheral surface have a maximum static friction coefficient of 0.54 or less and an arithmetic average roughness of 1.6 μm or more. It is this limitation, expressed in the claim combination not found, taught, or suggested in the prior art that makes this claim allowable over the prior art. Claims 11-12 are allowed because they depend from Claim 10 . Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SCOTT A. RICHMOND whose telephone number is (313)446-6547. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9-6:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Douglas Rodriguez can be reached on 571-431-0716 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair- my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SCOTT A RICHMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 11 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 19/002,572 Page 12 Art Unit: 2853