DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim(s) 1-8, 10-14, and 16-22 in the reply filed on 03/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 9 and 15 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/28/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palti et al. (US 20120237898 A1) in view of Jandali (US 20090155744 A1) and further in view of Hyer et al. (WO 2022109338 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Palti et al. discloses an analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a fastener body (see annotated Fig. 2) defining a longitudinal axis (18 Fig. 1; see that Fig. 2 is a schematic illustration of a longitudinal section of the dental implant of Fig. 1), the fastener body comprising:
a proximal end (34 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a socket (see Figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0061: implant 20 is shaped to define an internal elongated bored cavity along longitudinal axis 18. The opening of the cavity is at coronal portion 34 of the implant 20); and
a distal end (32 Figs. 1 and 2); and
a first helical thread (50 Figs. 1 and 2) disposed about the fastener body along the longitudinal axis (see that the first helical thread (comprising the thread (60) on the neck section of element 10 and the thread (50) in section 14 of element 10, is disposed about the annotated fastener body along the longitudinal axis (18) as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, and annotated Fig. 2), the first helical thread (24/14 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a first thread form comprising a first distal-facing side and a first proximal-facing side (see that the element 50 is a distinct thread form that runs along the longitudinal axis as a single thread in portions 14); and
a second thread form comprising a second distal-facing side and a second proximal-facing side (see paragraphs 0027: elements 50 can be configured to be a double lead thread form thus, forming a second thread form along their respective portions);
Palti et al. is silent regarding the analogous device wherein the disclosed socket at the proximal end is threaded; and the threaded socket is configured to receive a dental component.
Jandali teaches an analogous device (10 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a fastener body (12 Figs. 1 and 2) defining a longitudinal axis (A Fig. 1), the fastener body comprising: a proximal end (14 Figs. 1 and 2); and a distal end (16 Figs. 1 and 2); and a first helical thread disposed about the fastener body along the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 1). Regarding claim 1, Jandali further teaches the proximal end (14 Figs. 1 and 2) of the analogous device (10 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a threaded socket (34 Fig. 2; paragraph 0029: … an internally threaded bore 34 extends from the shoulder 32…); and the threaded socket (34 Fig. 2) is configured to receive a dental component (50 Fig. 8) (paragraph 0034: The prosthetic screw 70 includes a threaded portion 72 which is threadedly engaged with the threaded bore 34 in the dental implant 10 for securing the digital abutment 50 to the dental implant 10. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed socket of Palti et al. to be configured to be a threaded socket, as taught by Jandali, in order to provide a means for securing dental abutment to the dental implant (the “means” being the mating of the internal threading of the internal socket with the external threading of the abutment), as suggested by Jandali.
Furthermore, Palti et al. is silent regarding the analogous device, wherein:
the first distal-facing side and the second proximal-facing side are generally concave;
the first proximal-facing side and the second distal-facing side are generally convex.
Hyer et al. teaches a fastener (5300 Figs. 48A-D) comprising: a proximal end (5301 Fig. 48A-B), a distal end (5302 Figs. 48A-B), a first helical thread (5310/5320) disposed about the fastener body (5305 Figs. 48A-D) along a longitudinal axis (5303 Figs. 48C-D); wherein the first helical thread (5310/5320) comprises a first thread form (5310 Fig. 48D) comprising: a first distal facing side (the surface of 5310 facing the distal end 5302 Fig. 48A-B) and a first proximal-facing side (the surface of 5310 facing the proximal end 5301 Fig. 48A-B); and a second thread form (5320 Fig. 48D) comprising: a second distal facing side (the surface of 5320 facing the distal end 5302 Fig. 48A-B) and a second proximal-facing side (the surface of 5320 facing the proximal end 5301 Fig. 48A-B). Regarding claim 1, Hyer et al. further teaches the fastener wherein: the first distal-facing side and the second proximal-facing side are generally concave (see annotated Fig. 48D, see that the configuration of the first distal-facing side and the second proximal-facing side are generally concave); the first proximal-facing side and the second distal-facing side are generally convex (see annotated Fig. 48D, see that the configuration of the first proximal-facing side and the second distal-facing side are
generally convex ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first thread form and the second thread form disclosed by Palti et al. to be configured comprising the first distal-facing side and the second proximal-facing side generally concave; and the first proximal-facing side and the second distal-facing side generally convex, as taught by Hyer et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a fastener body with varying thread configuration to achieve optimal fixation with a given bone/tissue.
Regarding claim 8, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al. and Jandali discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Palti et al. is silent regarding the device of claim 8, wherein the proximal end comprises a flat proximal surface perpendicular to the longitudinal axis.
Jandali further teaches the analogous device (10 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the proximal end (14 Fig. 1) comprises a flat proximal surface perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (A Fig. 1) (see that the surface of the proximal surface at the end of the head portion (14) is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximal end of the device of Palti et al. to be configured to comprise a flat proximal surface perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, as taught by Jandali, in order to provide a proximal end with an effective tool engagement portion.
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palti et al. (US 20120237898 A1) in view of Jandali (US 20090155744 A1) and Hyer et al. (WO 2022109338 A1) and further in view of Hansson et al. (US 20120264085 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al. and Jandali discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Palti et. al disclosed that the analogous device may be tapered along its length ([0046]). However, Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 2, wherein the fastener body comprises a distal portion that is tapered such that a first diameter at the distal end is less than a second diameter at the proximal end.
Hansson et al. teaches an analogous device (140 Fig. 8) wherein the fastener body comprises a distal portion (142 Fig. 8) that is tapered such that a first diameter (d1 Fig. 8) at the distal end (the end of the distal portion 142) is less than a second diameter (d3 Fig. 8) at the proximal end (top end of 150 Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Palti et al. to be configured such that the tapered portion is proximate the distal end and comprising the second thread profile, as taught by Hansson et al., in order to create a device that provides a distal portion that is initially engages the bone tissue without exerting radial pressure.
Regarding claim 3, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al./Jandali/Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 2. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (see Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the distal portion (32 Figs. 1 and 2) comprises a second helical thread (40 Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0050) along the longitudinal axis (18 Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al./Jandali/Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 3. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (see Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the second helical thread (40 Figs. 1 and 2) comprises a third thread form (see that the element 40 is a distinct thread form that runs along the longitudinal axis as a single thread in portions 12 (the distal portion)) that is different than the first thread form and the second thread form (element 50 has a first thread form that defines a wide flat surface and also can be configured to be a double lead thread as disclosed in [0049] thus, having a distinct second thread form from the first thread form as modified by Hyer et al. described in claim 1 above ).
Regarding claim 5, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al./Jandali/Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 4. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the third thread form ([0050]: element 40 can be a single lead thread; [0049]: the first helical thread profile comprising element 40 is shaped to define a V-shaped thread form) lacks a concave side (see Figs. 1 and 4; element 40 has a V-shape thread form with no concave side).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palti et al. (US 20120237898 A1) in view of Hyer et al. (WO 2022109338 A1), Jandali (US 20090155744 A1), and Hansson et al. (US 20120264085 A1), and further in view of Hildmann et al. (US 20140087331 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al./Jandali/Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 4. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the first helical thread (50 Figs. 1 and 2) and the second helical thread (40 Figs. 1 and 2) extend along a helical path (see Figs. 1 and 2).
Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 6, wherein the helical path along which the first helical thread and the second helical thread extends, is continuous.
Regarding claim 6, Hildmann et al. teaches an analogous device (Fig. 1) wherein the first helical thread (5A Fig. 1) and the second helical thread (3A Fig. 1) extend along a continuous helical path ([0018]: The progressive thread (3A) is preferably a multi-start thread (e.g., a two-start self-cutting thread) which becomes wider from the apical end to the cervical end, such that the progressive thread (3A) is connected to a micro-thread or to a fine thread (5A)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Palti et al. to be configured such that the first helical thread and the second helical thread would extend along a helical path continuously, as taught by Hildmann et al., in order to make a dental implant that permits optimal attachment of the implant in a bone pocket in the jawbone.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palti et al. (US 20120237898 A1) in view of Jandali (US 20090155744 A1) and further in view of Hyer et al. (WO 2022109338 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Palti et al. as modified by Jandali and Hyer et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 7, wherein the first helical thread comprises a first thread profile at the distal end and a second thread profile, different than the first thread profile, at the proximal end.
Hyer et al. further teaches the analogous device (100 Figs. 1A-D) wherein the first helical thread comprises a first thread profile at the distal end and a second profile, different than the first thread profile, at the proximal end ([00167]: discloses that a first portion of the fastener can be configured to comprise dual threading (first thread profile) and a single threading (second profile) along a second portion. [00172]: further discloses the fastener 100 may include multiple threading (e.g., dual helical threading, etc.) with any of the shapes disclosed herein located proximate one of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100, as well as single threading with any of the shapes disclosed herein with the second threading located proximate the other of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100 (not shown)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Palti et al. to be configured such that the first helical thread comprises a first thread profile at the distal end and a second thread profile, different than the first profile, at the proximal end, as taught by Hyer et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a fastener body with varying thread configuration to achieve optimal fixation with a given bone/tissue.
Claim(s) 10 – 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palti et al. (US 20120237898 A1) in view of Hansson et al. (US 20120264085 A1) and further in view of Hyer et al. (WO 2022109338 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Palti et al. discloses an analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a fastener body (see annotated Fig. 2) defining a longitudinal axis (18 Fig. 1; see that Fig. 2 is a schematic illustration of a longitudinal section of the dental implant of Fig. 1), the fastener body comprising:
a proximal end (34 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a socket (see Figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0061: implant 20 is shaped to define an internal elongated bored cavity along longitudinal axis 18. The opening of the cavity is at coronal portion 34 of the implant 20); and
a distal end (32 Figs. 1 and 2) and a tapered portion (Palti et al. discloses that the device may be tapered along its length, [0046] further disclosed that the device 20 may be tapered over a portion of its length. However, Palti et al. does not disclose this tapering to be at the distal end) comprising a first helical thread (40 Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0048-0049; see [0050], element 40 can be a double lead thread in some applications and thus can also be a single lead thread in other applications) along the longitudinal axis (18 Fig. 1); and
a second helical thread (50 Figs. 1 and 2; see paragraphs 0027: elements 50 can be configured to be a double lead thread form thus, forming a first and a second thread forms along their respective portions) disposed about the fastener body (see annotated Fig. 2) along the longitudinal axis (18 Figs. 1 and 2), the second helical thread comprising an even number of thread leads (paragraphs 0027: elements 50 can be configured to be a double lead (even number of thread leads) thread form thus, forming a first and a second thread forms along their respective portions);
wherein:
an odd numbered thread lead comprises a first thread form ([0027] element 50 can be configured as a double lead thread wherein the first thread lead is the odd numbered thread lead); and
an even numbered thread lead comprises a second thread form that is different than the first thread form ([0027] element 50 can be configured as a double lead thread wherein the second thread lead of the second thread form is the even numbered thread lead; configured as a double lead thread, element 50 will comprise two distinct thread forms).
Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 10, wherein: the socket at the proximal end is threaded.
Hansson et al. teaches an analogous device (140 Fig. 8) comprising a fastener body: the fastener body (see Fig. 8; defined by the core surface along which the helical thread is disposed) defining a longitudinal axis (imaginary line through the center of device 140 that runs from proximal (edge of element 150) to the distal end (edge of element 142)), the fastener body comprising: a proximal end (edge of element 150); and a distal end (edge of element 142). Regarding claim 10, Hansson et al. further teaches the proximal end (edge of element 150) of the analogous device (140 Fig. 8) comprising a threaded socket ([0099]: A blind bore or socket may extend apically into the fixture body from the coronal end to an end surface in-between the apical and coronal ends of the fixture body for a superstructure to be secured to the fixture. The socket may comprise an internally-threaded section for screw connection of the superstructure to the fixture.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed socket of Palti et al. to be configured to be a threaded socket, as taught by Hansson et al., in order to provide a means for securing dental abutment to the dental implant (the “means” being the screw connection of the internal socket with the external threading of the abutment).
Furthermore, Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 10, wherein the distal portion comprises a tapered portion.
Hansson et al. teaches an analogous device (140 Fig. 8) wherein the fastener body comprises a distal portion (142 Fig. 8) comprising a tapered portion (see Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Palti et al. to be configured such that the distal portion comprises a tapered portion, as taught by Hansson et al., in order to create a device that provides a distal portion that is initially engages the bone tissue without exerting radial pressure.
Regarding claim 11, Palti et al. as modified by Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 10. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the first helical thread (40 Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0048-0049) comprises a third thread form (paragraph 0049: the first helical thread profile is shaped to define a V-shaped thread form. Also, [0050] discloses that element 40 can be a double lead thread or a single lead thread in some applications thus can be configured to comprise a third thread form) that is different than the first thread form and the second thread form (as described in claim 10 above, element 50 is a double-slotted and double-lead threading thus it can comprise two distinct thread forms such as a first thread form and a second thread form. Regarding claim 11, see that that element 40 can be a single start thread).
Regarding claim 12, Palti et al. as modified by Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 11. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the third thread form ([0050] discloses that element 40 can be a double lead thread or a single lead thread in some applications thus can be configured to comprise a third thread form) lacks a concave side (see that that the illustrated thread form of element 40 in Figs. 1 and 4 lacks a concave side; Also, [0049-51] describes element 40 to have a V-shape thread form thus having no concave side).
Further regarding claim 12, Hyer et al. teaches the analogous device (100 [00167]) wherein the third thread form lacks a concave side ([00167]: discloses that a first portion of the fastener can be configured to comprise dual threading which can comprise two distinct thread forms (first thread form and second thread form) and a single threading (comprising a third thread form) along a second portion. [00172]: further discloses the fastener 100 may include multiple threading (e.g., dual helical threading, etc.) with any of the shapes disclosed herein located proximate one of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100, as well as single threading with any of the shapes disclosed herein with the second threading located proximate the other of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100 (not shown); see that the single threading (third thread form) can be configured with any of the shapes as disclosed by Hyer et al. including shapes lacking a concave side).
Regarding claim 14, Palti et al. as modified by Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 10. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the socket (see Figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0061: implant 20 is shaped to define an internal elongated bored cavity along longitudinal axis 18. The opening of the cavity is at coronal portion 34 of the implant 20) is configured to receive a dental component (16 Figs. 1 and 2) (see Figs. 1 and 2; see paragraph 0061).
Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 14, wherein the socket is threaded.
Hansson et al. teaches an analogous device (140 Fig. 8) comprising a fastener body: the fastener body (see Fig. 8; defined by the core surface along which the helical thread is disposed) defining a longitudinal axis (imaginary line through the center of device 140 that runs from proximal (edge of element 150) to the distal end (edge of element 142)), the fastener body comprising: a proximal end (edge of element 150); and a distal end (edge of element 142). Regarding claim 14, Hansson et al. further teaches the claim 14, wherein the threaded socket is configured to receive a dental component ([0099]: A blind bore or socket may extend apically into the fixture body from the coronal end to an end surface in-between the apical and coronal ends of the fixture body for a superstructure to be secured to the fixture. The socket may comprise an internally-threaded section for screw connection of the superstructure to the fixture.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed socket of Palti et al. to be configured to be a threaded socket, as taught by Hansson et al., in order to provide a means for securing dental abutment to the dental implant (the “means” being the screw connection of the internal socket with the external threading of the abutment).
Regarding claim 15, Palti et al. as modified by Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 10. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device, wherein the proximal portion (24 Fig. 1) comprises a third helical thread (60 Fig. 1) comprising a micro-thread form ([0057] For some applications, the third helical thread profile is shaped to define micro-threads 60…).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palti et al. (US 20120237898 A1) in view of Hansson et al. (US 20120264085 A1) and Hyer et al. (WO 2022109338 A1) and further in view of and Hildmann et al. (US 20140087331 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Palti et al. as modified by Hansson et al. discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 11. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the first helical thread (50 Figs. 1 and 2) and the second helical thread (40 Figs. 1 and 2) extend along a helical path (see Figs. 1 and 2) with a constant pitch (paragraph 0018-0019: the pitch of the element 40 (V-shaped thread, paragraph 0049) is 0.8mm (can be within the range of 0.7-0.9mm); paragraph 0029: the pitch of the second helical thread (50) is 0.6-1.5mm. Therefore, the pitch of element 50 can be configured to be 0.8mm which is in the disclosed range (0.7-0.9mm), and thus the same with the disclosed preferred pitch (0.8mm) of V-shaped thread (40)).
Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 13, wherein the helical path along which the first helical thread and the second helical thread extends, is continuous.
Regarding claim 13, Hildmann et al. teaches an analogous device (Fig. 1) wherein the first helical thread (5A Fig. 1) and the second helical thread (3A Fig. 1) extend along a continuous helical path ([0018]: The progressive thread (3A) is preferably a multi-start thread (e.g., a two-start self-cutting thread) which becomes wider from the apical end to the cervical end, such that the progressive thread (3A) is connected to a micro-thread or to a fine thread (5A)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Palti et al. to be configured such that the first helical thread and the second helical thread would extend along a helical path continuously, as taught by Hildmann et al., in order to make a dental implant that permits optimal attachment of the implant in a bone pocket in the jawbone.
Claim(s) 16-18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palti et al. (US 20120237898 A1) in view of Jandali (US 20090155744 A1) and further in view of Hyer et al. (WO 2022109338 A1)
Palti et al. teaches an analogous threaded dental implant (20 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising:
a fastener body (see Figs. 1 and 2; the fastener body is defined by the surface on which the helical thread (60/50/40) runs along) defining a longitudinal axis (18 Figs. 1 and 2), the fastener body comprising:
a proximal end (34 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a socket (see Figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0061: implant 20 is shaped to define an internal elongated bored cavity along longitudinal axis 18. The opening of the cavity is at coronal portion 34 of the implant 20); and
a distal end (32 Figs. 1 and 2); and
a helical thread (60/50/40 Figs. 1 and 2) disposed about the fastener body along the longitudinal axis (see Figs. 1 and 2); wherein:
the helical thread (60/50/40 Figs. 1 and 2) comprises a first thread profile (50 Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0048 and 0052) and a second thread profile (40 Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0048-0049).
Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 16, wherein the socket at the proximal end is threaded.
Jandali teaches an analogous device (10 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a fastener body (defined by the surface along which element 12 is disposed, the fastener body comprising: a proximal end (14 Figs. 1 and 2); and a distal end (16 Figs. 1 and 2); and a helical thread (12 Figs. 1 and 2). Regarding claim 16, Jandali further teaches the proximal end (14 Figs. 1 and 2) of the analogous device (10 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a threaded socket (34 Fig. 2; paragraph 0029: … an internally threaded bore 34 extends from the shoulder 32…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed socket of Palti et al. to be configured to be a threaded socket, as taught by Jandali, in order to provide a means for securing dental abutment to the dental implant (the “means” being the mating of the internal threading of the internal socket with the external threading of the abutment), as suggested by Jandali.
Furthermore, Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 16, wherein at least one of the first thread profile and the second thread profile comprises a concave side.
Hyer et al. teaches an analogous device (5300 Fig. 48D) comprising:
a fastener body (5305 Fig. 48D) defining a longitudinal axis (5303 Fig. 48D), the fastener body comprising:
a proximal end (see annotated Fig. 48D) comprising a socket (see Figs. 48D); and
a distal end (see annotated Fig. 48D); and
a helical thread (5310/5320 Fig. 48D) disposed about the fastener body (5305 Fig. 48D and annotated Fig. 48D) along the longitudinal axis (5303 Fig. 48D);
wherein:
the helical thread (5310/5320 Fig. 48D) comprises thread profiles (([00167]: discloses that a first portion of the fastener can be configured to comprise dual threading (first thread profile) and a single threading (second profile) along a second portion. [00172]: further discloses the fastener 100 (this includes the other embodiments of element 100) may include multiple threading (e.g., dual helical threading, etc.) with any of the shapes disclosed herein located proximate one of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100, as well as single threading with any of the shapes disclosed herein with the second threading located proximate the other of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100 (not shown)).
Regarding claim 16, Hyer et al. further teaches the analogous device (5300 Fig. 48D) wherein: at least one of the first thread profile and the second thread profile comprises a concave side (see that the thread profile (5310/5320) discloses comprises a concave side annotated Fig. 48D; [00172]: further discloses the fastener 100 (this includes the other embodiments of element 100) may include multiple threading (e.g., dual helical threading, etc.) with any of the shapes disclosed herein located proximate one of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100, as well as single threading with any of the shapes disclosed herein with the second threading located proximate the other of the proximal end and the distal end of
the fastener 100 (not shown)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the helical thread disclosed by Palti et al. to be configured such that at least one of the first thread profile and the second thread profile of the helical thread comprises a concave side, as taught by Hyer et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a fastener body with varying thread profiles to achieve optimal fixation with a given bone/tissue.
Regarding claim 17, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al. and Jandali discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 16. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the first thread profile (50 Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0048 and 0052) comprises a dual-lead thread ([0052]: Thread 50 is typically further shaped to define a "double-slotted" double-lead thread... [0053]: Accordingly, second portion 14 comprises double-slotted and double-lead threading. "Double-slotted" indicates that a slot 52 is provided at the crest of second thread 50…).
Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 17, wherein the dual-lead thread of the first thread profile comprises a first thread form comprising a concave side and a second thread form comprising a concave side.
Regarding claim 17, Hyer et al. further teaches the analogous device (5300 Fig. 48D), wherein the first thread profile (Fig. 48D discloses a thread profile (5310/5320) which the examiner interprets to be a first thread profile) comprises a dual-lead thread (paragraph 00468: the fastener 5300 may comprise a “dual start” or “dual lead” thread design with alternating standard and inverted threads; this is interpreted by the examiner as the thread profile (5310/5320) of element 5300 can be designed to have dual lead thread.) comprising a first thread form (5310 Fig. 48D) comprising a concave side (see annotated Fig. 48D) and a second thread form (5320 Fig. 48D) comprising a concave side (see annotated Fig. 48D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first thread profile of the device disclosed by Palti et al. to be configured such that the first thread profile comprises a dual-lead thread comprising a first thread form comprising a concave side and a second thread form comprising a concave side, as taught by Hyer et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a fastener body with varying thread forms to achieve optimal fixation with a given bone/tissue.
Regarding claim 18, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al. and Jandali discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 16. Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 18, wherein the second thread profile lacks a concave side.
Hyer et al. further teaches an analogous device (100 [00167]), wherein the helical thread comprises a first thread profile and a second thread profile, different than the first thread profile. Wherein the second thread profile that lacks a concave side ([00167]: discloses that a first portion of the fastener can be configured to comprise dual threading (first thread profile) and a single threading (second profile) along a second portion. [00172]: further discloses the fastener 100 may include multiple threading (e.g., dual helical threading, etc.) with any of the shapes disclosed herein located proximate one of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100, as well as single threading (second thread profile) with any of the shapes disclosed herein with the second threading located proximate the other of the proximal end and the distal end of the fastener 100 (not shown); see that the single threading (second thread profile) can be configured with any of the shapes as disclosed by Hyer et al. including shapes lacking a concave side).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Palti et al. to be configured such that the second thread profile lacks a concave side, as taught by Hyer et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a fastener body with varying thread configuration to achieve optimal fixation with a given bone/tissue.
Regarding claim 19, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al./Jandali discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 18. Regarding claim 19, Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device wherein the first thread profile (50 Figs. 1 and 2) extends from near the proximal end (see that element 50 extends from near the proximal end (34)) to the second thread profile (40 Figs. 1) and the second thread profile (40 Fig. 1) extends from the first thread profile to near the distal end (32 Fig. 1) (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 22, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al. and Jandali discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 16. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the socket (see Figs. 1-2 and paragraph 0061: implant 20 is shaped to define an internal elongated bored cavity along longitudinal axis 18. The opening of the cavity is at coronal portion 34 of the implant 20) is configured to receive a dental component (16 Figs. 1 and 2) (see Figs. 1 and 2; see paragraph 0061).
Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 14, wherein the socket is threaded.
Jandali teaches an analogous device (10 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising: a fastener body (12 Figs. 1 and 2) defining a longitudinal axis (A Fig. 1), the fastener body comprising: a proximal end (14 Figs. 1 and 2); and a distal end (16 Figs. 1 and 2). Regarding claim 22, Jandali further teaches the proximal end (14 Figs. 1 and 2) of the analogous device (10 Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a threaded socket (34 Fig. 2; paragraph 0029: … an internally threaded bore 34 extends from the shoulder 32…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the disclosed socket of Palti et al. to be configured to be a threaded socket, as taught by Jandali, in order to provide a means for securing dental abutment to the dental implant (the “means” being the mating of the internal threading of the internal socket with the external threading of the abutment), as suggested by Jandali.
Claim(s) 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palti et al. (US 20120237898 A1) in view of Jandali (US 20090155744 A1) and Hyer et al. (WO 2022109338 A1), and further in view of Hansson et al. (US 20120264085 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al. and Jandali discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 19. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2) wherein the fastener body further comprises a tapered portion ([0046]: Dental implant 20 is typically shaped to define a cylindrical implant which may (or may not) be tapered over a portion of its length… ). Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 20, wherein the tapered portion is proximate the distal end and comprising the second thread profile.
Hansson et al. teaches an analogous device (50 Fig. 4) wherein the fastener body comprises a tapered portion (64 Fig. 4) proximate the distal end (the end of element 64 opposite the end at which element 66 connects to element 64), the tapered portion (64 Fig. 8) comprising the second thread profile ([0154]: The single thread spiral 62 which runs from the first portion 64, via the apical transition portion 66 and the second portion 68, to the third portion 56 changes into a double thread spiral 63… the single thread spiral is the second thread profile and the double thread spiral 63 is the first thread profile).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Palti et al. to be configured such that the tapered portion is proximate the distal end and comprising the second thread profile, as taught by Hansson et al., in order to create a device that provides a distal portion that is initially engages the bone tissue without exerting radial pressure.
Regarding claim 21, Palti et al. as modified by Hyer et al. and Jandali discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 16. Palti et al. further discloses the analogous device (20 Figs. 1 and 2), wherein a first thread profile (50 Figs. 1 and 2; paragraphs 0048-0049) and a second thread profile (400 Figs. 1 and 2) extend along a helical path (see Figs. 1 and 2) with a constant pitch (paragraph 0018-0019: the pitch of the element 40 (V-shaped thread, paragraph 0049) is 0.8mm (can be within the range of 0.7-0.9mm); paragraph 0029. Therefore, the pitch of the first thread profile(50) can be configured to be 0.8mm which is in the disclosed range (0.7-0.9 mm) and thus the same with the disclosed preferred pitch (0.8mm) of the second thread profile (V-shaped thread (40))).
Palti et al. is silent regarding claim 21, wherein the helical path along which the first thread profile and the second thread profile extends, is continuous.
Regarding claim 21, Hansson et al. teaches an analogous device (50 Figs. 4) wherein the first thread profile (63 Fig. 4 ) and the second thread profile(62 Fig. 4) extend along a continuous helical path ([0154]: The single thread spiral 62 which runs from the first portion 64, via the apical transition portion 66 and the second portion 68, to the third portion 56 changes into a double thread spiral 63… the single thread spiral is the second thread profile and the double thread spiral 63 is the first thread profile; [0039]: the third portion (56) comprises a thread spiral which is continuous with a thread spiral of the second portion (68)…) with a constant pitch ([0107]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Palti et al. to be configured such that the first thread profile and the second thread profile would extend along a helical path continuously, as taught by Hansson et al., in order to make a dental implant that provide for a thread spiral which interconnects a second and third portion such that the second and third portions may be inserted into the same bone tissue.
Conclusion
/C.A./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/HEIDI M EIDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772
4/28/2026