DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites “a bearing housing” in lines 2-3 and “a cylindrical bearing housing” in lines 7-8. It is unclear if these are the same elements or if they are different elements.
Claim 17 recites “the rotating shaft”. There is a lack of antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dauscher U.S. 2023/0313831.
Re clm 1, Dauscher discloses a radial foil bearing (Fig. 1) comprising: a top foil (9) configured to surround a rotating shaft (3; [0015]); a bump foil (11) located outside of the top foil; and a bearing housing (1) surrounding the bump foil, wherein the bump foil includes: a cylindrical portion (continuous axial ends, Fig. 12A-13B) surrounding the top foil; and an elastic piece (23) located between the bearing housing and the top foil in a radial direction of the rotating shaft, and located adjacent to the cylindrical portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, and wherein the elastic piece is configured to deform independently of the cylindrical portion.
Re clm 2, Dauscher further discloses the elastic piece is configured to deform in a circumferential direction (due to wavy structure; [0073]) of the cylindrical portion without deforming the cylindrical portion in the circumferential direction.
Re clm 3, Dauscher further discloses a coupling portion (portion of foil 11 circumferentially adjacent to 23 connected 23 to the rest of foil 11, Fig. 12A-13B) coupling the cylindrical portion and the elastic piece, wherein the elastic piece is configured to elastically support the cylindrical portion via the coupling portion (23).
Re clm 4, Dauscher further discloses the elastic piece protrudes from the coupling portion in a tangential direction of the cylindrical portion (curling of 12A-13B to fit into housing would provide that the elastic pieces 23 would protrude in a tangential direction).
Re clm 5, Dauscher further discloses the elastic piece includes a curved portion (wavy structure) configured to expand in a circumferential direction of the cylindrical portion.
Re clm 6, Dauscher further discloses the elastic piece and the cylindrical portion are integrally formed (shown in Fig. 12A-13B), and wherein the bump foil includes a slit structure (25) separating the elastic piece from the cylindrical portion so that the elastic piece is deformable independently of the cylindrical portion.
Re clm 7, Dauscher further discloses the bump foil includes a coupling portion (portion of foil 11 that couples 23 to rest of foil) coupling the cylindrical portion and the elastic piece, wherein the elastic piece includes: a peak edge portion (circumferential free end of 23) located on a side opposite to the coupling portion in a circumferential direction of the cylindrical portion; and a side edge portion (axial ends of 23) extending from the peak edge portion to the coupling portion, and wherein the peak edge portion is formed by the slit structure and includes a free end.
Re clm 8, Dauscher further discloses Dauscher further discloses the bump foil includes: a first circumferential edge (left 29, Fig. 12A-13B); and a second circumferential edge (right 29) opposite to the first circumferential edge in the axial direction, wherein the slit structure includes: a peak slit (axial extending slit of 25) forming the peak edge portion; and a side slit (circumferential extending slit of 25) connected to the peak slit and forming the side edge portion, and wherein the peak slit and the side slit are spaced apart from the first circumferential edge and the second circumferential edge and are enclosed within the bump foil (shown in Fig. 12A-13B).
Re clm 10, Dauscher further discloses the slit structure includes a peak slit (axial extending slit of 25) forming the peak edge portion, wherein the elastic piece includes a plurality of curved portions (wavy structure; [0073]) arranged adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction and expandable in the circumferential direction by elastic deformation, and wherein the peak slit extends along the curved portions between the curved portions arranged adjacent to each other (shown in Fig. 12A-13B; wave peaks/troughs extend in same direction as axial slit of 25).
Re clm 11, Dauscher further discloses the slit structure includes a peak slit (axial extending portion of slit 25, Fig. 14; [0110]) forming the peak edge portion, wherein a plurality of the elastic pieces are provided side by side in the circumferential direction, and wherein the peak edge portion of one of the elastic pieces adjacent to each other and the peak edge portion of another of the elastic pieces are formed by the peak slit (shown in Fig. 14).
Re clm 14, Dauscher further discloses a method for manufacturing a radial foil bearing comprising a top foil (9, Fig. 1), a bump foil (11) surrounding the top foil, and a bearing housing (1) supporting the bump foil, the method comprising: rolling a stack in which the top foil in an unfolded state and the bump foil in an unfolded state are overlapped to form a cylindrical foil assembly ([0079]); and inserting and installing the foil assembly into a cylindrical bearing housing so as to surround a rotating shaft ([0079]), wherein the bump foil includes a cylindrical portion (continuous axial ends 29, Fig. 12A-13B) surrounding the top foil, and an elastic piece (23) located between the bearing housing and the top foil in a radial direction of the rotating shaft, and located adjacent to the cylindrical portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, the elastic piece being configured to deform independently of the cylindrical portion (due to free circumferential end of 23s), and wherein the elastic piece is supported by the bearing housing as a result of inserting the foil assembly into the bearing housing.
Re clm 16, Dauscher discloses a top foil (9, Fig. 1) formed into a cylindrical shape ([0079]); a bump foil (11) surrounding top foil; and a bearing housing (1) surrounding the bump foil, wherein the bump foil includes: a cylindrical portion (continuous axial ends 29, Fig. 12A-13B) contacting with the top foil; an elastic portion (23s) supported by the bearing housing; and a coupling portion (portion of 11 that connects 23s to axially continuous portions 29) coupling the cylindrical portion and the elastic portion, and wherein the elastic portion is configured to elastically support the cylindrical portion via the coupling portion.
Re clm 17, Dauscher further discloses the elastic portion is configured to deform in a radial direction (due to wavy structure; [0073]) of the rotating shaft without deforming the cylindrical portion in the radial direction.
Re clm 18, Dauscher further discloses the elastic portion comprises a curved portion (wavy structure; [0073]) configured to expand in a circumferential direction of the cylindrical portion.
Re clm 19, Dauscher further discloses the elastic portion comprises: a first elastic piece (23, Fig. 14; [0110]) which protrudes from the coupling portion in a tangential direction of the cylindrical portion (curling of 12A-13B to fit into housing would provide that the elastic pieces 23 would protrude in a tangential direction); and a second elastic piece (another 23 connected to the same coupling portion) which protrudes from the coupling portion in the tangential direction of the cylindrical portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim U.S. 2017/0097039 in view of Marley U.S. 3,467,451.
Re clm 1, Kim discloses a radial foil bearing (Fig. 2 and 12) comprising: a top foil (30) configured to surround a rotating shaft (F); a bump foil (20) located outside of the top foil; and a bearing housing (S) surrounding the bump foil, wherein the bump foil includes: a cylindrical portion (cylindrical portion of 20) surrounding the top foil.
Kim does not disclose an elastic piece located between the bearing housing and the top foil in a radial direction of the rotating shaft, and located adjacent to the cylindrical portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, and wherein the elastic piece is configured to deform independently of the cylindrical portion.
Marley teaches a support foil (Fig. 4-5) for use in a fluid bearing (col. 2: lines 68-72) comprising an elastic piece (30, Fig. 4-5) located between the bearing housing and the top foil in a radial direction of the rotating shaft, and located adjacent to the cylindrical portion (28) in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, and wherein the elastic piece is configured to deform independently of the cylindrical portion for the purpose of providing a non-linear spring or resilient characteristic between bearing surface and the housing (col. 3: lines 10-14)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the spring/bump foil of Kim by providing an elastic piece located between the bearing housing and the top foil in a radial direction of the rotating shaft, and located adjacent to the cylindrical portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, and wherein the elastic piece is configured to deform independently of the cylindrical portion for the purpose of providing a non-linear spring or resilient characteristic between bearing surface and the housing.
Re clm 2, Kim in view of Marley further discloses the elastic piece is configured to deform in a circumferential direction (the bumps of Kim allow for this deformation; the elastic elements 30 of Marley allow for circumferential and radial deformation) of the cylindrical portion without deforming the cylindrical portion in the circumferential direction.
Re clm 3, the improvement of Marley further discloses a coupling portion (portion that connects elastic piece 30 to cylindrical portion 28, Fig. 4-5) coupling the cylindrical portion and the elastic piece, wherein the elastic piece is configured to elastically support the cylindrical portion via the coupling portion.
Re clm 4, the improvement of Marely further discloses the elastic piece protrudes from the coupling portion in a tangential direction of the cylindrical portion (shown in Fig. 3).
Re clm 5, Kim in view of Marley further discloses the elastic piece includes a curved portion (bumps on 20 of Kim) configured to expand in a circumferential direction of the cylindrical portion.
Re clm 6, the improvement of Marley further discloses the elastic piece and the cylindrical portion are integrally formed (Fig. 4-5), and wherein the bump foil includes a slit structure (32) separating the elastic piece from the cylindrical portion so that the elastic piece is deformable independently of the cylindrical portion.
Re clm 7, the improvement of Marley further discloses the bump foil includes a coupling portion (portion that connects elastic piece 30 to cylindrical portion 28, Fig. 4-5) coupling the cylindrical portion and the elastic piece, wherein the elastic piece includes: a peak edge portion (free end of 30) located on a side opposite to the coupling portion in a circumferential direction of the cylindrical portion; and a side edge portion (sides of 30 perpendicular to peak edge) extending from the peak edge portion to the coupling portion, and wherein the peak edge portion is formed by the slit structure and includes a free end.
Re clm 8, the improvement of Marley further discloses the bump foil includes: a first circumferential edge (upper edge, Fig. 4); and a second circumferential edge (lower edge) opposite to the first circumferential edge in the axial direction, wherein the slit structure includes: a peak slit (vertical slit of 32) forming the peak edge portion; and a side slit (horizontal slit of 32) connected to the peak slit and forming the side edge portion, and wherein the peak slit and the side slit are spaced apart from the first circumferential edge and the second circumferential edge and are enclosed within the bump foil (as in Fig. 4).
Re clm 9, the improvement of Marley further discloses one end of the bump foil in the axial direction of the rotating shaft includes a circumferential edge (upper edge of Fig. 5), wherein the slit structure includes a peak slit (vertical slits) forming the peak edge portion, wherein the peak slit is opened at the circumferential edge, and wherein at least a portion of the side edge portion is formed at the circumferential edge where the peak slit is opened (as shown in Fig. 5).
Re clm 10, Kim in view of Marley further discloses the slit structure includes a peak slit (vertical slit of 32, Fig. 4-5 of Marley) forming the peak edge portion, wherein the elastic piece includes a plurality of curved portions (bumps of Kim) arranged adjacent to each other in the circumferential direction and expandable in the circumferential direction by elastic deformation, and wherein the peak slit extends along the curved portions between the curved portions arranged adjacent to each other (both vertical slits of Marley and bumps of Kim extend in axial direction).
Re clm 11, the improvement of Marley further discloses the slit structure includes a peak slit (vertical slit 36) forming the peak edge portion, wherein a plurality of the elastic pieces (30) are provided side by side in the circumferential direction, and wherein the peak edge portion of one of the elastic pieces adjacent to each other and the peak edge portion of another of the elastic pieces are formed by the peak slit (Fig. 4).
Re clm 12, the improvement of Marley further discloses the slit structure further includes a side slit (horizontal slit 34) forming the side edge portion.
Kim in view of Marley does not disclose a width of the peak slit in the circumferential direction is larger than a width of the side slit in the axial direction of the rotating shaft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Kim in view of Marley and provide a width of the peak slit in the circumferential direction is larger than a width of the side slit in the axial direction of the rotating shaft, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). The dimensions of the elastic piece are an obvious result effective variable. The spring force provided by the elastic piece is a function of the size of the piece. Change the slit size changes the elastic piece size, which in turn changes the spring force generated by the elastic piece.
Re clm 13, Kim in view of Marley further discloses a set foil (10, Fig. 2 of Kim) disposed to surround the bump foil and supporting the elastic piece in a state where elasticity is imparted to the elastic piece.
Re clm 16, Kim discloses a radial foil bearing (Fig. 2 and 12) comprising: a top foil (30) formed into a cylindrical shape; a bump foil (20) surrounding top foil; and a bearing housing (S) surrounding the bump foil, wherein the bump foil includes: a cylindrical portion (cylinder part of 20) contacting with the top foil.
Kim does not disclose an elastic portion supported by the bearing housing; and a coupling portion coupling the cylindrical portion and the elastic portion, and wherein the elastic portion is configured to elastically support the cylindrical portion via the coupling portion.
Marley teaches a support foil (Fig. 4-5) for use in a fluid bearing (col. 2: lines 68-72) comprising an elastic portion (30, Fig. 4-5) supported by the bearing housing (S); and a coupling portion (portion that connects elastic piece 30 to cylindrical portion 28, Fig. 4-5) coupling the cylindrical portion (28) and the elastic portion (30), and wherein the elastic portion is configured to elastically support the cylindrical portion via the coupling portion for the purpose of providing a non-linear spring or resilient characteristic between bearing surface and the housing (col. 3: lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the spring/bump foil of Kim by providing an elastic portion supported by the bearing housing; and a coupling portion coupling the cylindrical portion and the elastic portion, and wherein the elastic portion is configured to elastically support the cylindrical portion via the coupling portion for the purpose of providing a non-linear spring or resilient characteristic between bearing surface and the housing.
Re clm 17, the improvement of Marley further discloses the elastic portion is configured to deform in a radial direction of the rotating shaft without deforming the cylindrical portion in the radial direction (shown in Fig. 3).
Re clm 18, Kim in view of Marley further discloses the elastic portion comprises a curved portion (bumps of Kim) configured to expand in a circumferential direction of the cylindrical portion.
Re clm 19, the improvement of Marley further discloses a first elastic piece (one of 30, Fig. 4) which protrudes from the coupling portion in a tangential direction of the cylindrical portion; and a second elastic piece (an adjacent 30 with a connected base to the one 30) which protrudes from the coupling portion in the tangential direction of the cylindrical portion.
Re clm 20, the improvement of Marley further discloses the top foil is configured to surround a rotating shaft (F), wherein the bump foil comprises: a first circumferential edge (top edge, Fig. 5); and a second circumferential edge (bottom edge) located opposite to the first circumferential edge in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, wherein the first elastic piece (upper 30) is located between the first circumferential edge and the cylindrical portion (28), and wherein the second elastic piece (lower 30) is located between the second circumferential edge and the cylindrical portion.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim U.S. 2017/0097039 in view of Yoshino U.S. 2014/0226925 and Marley U.S. 3,467,451.
Re clm 14, Kim discloses a method for manufacturing a radial foil bearing (Fig. 2 and 12) comprising a top foil (30), a bump foil (20) surrounding the top foil, and a bearing housing (S) supporting the bump foil, the method comprising: inserting and installing the foil assembly into a cylindrical bearing housing (Fig. 12) so as to surround a rotating shaft (F), wherein the bump foil includes a cylindrical portion (cylindrical part of 20) surrounding the top foil.
Kim does not disclose rolling a stack in which the top foil in an unfolded state and the bump foil in an unfolded state are overlapped to form a cylindrical foil assembly.
Yoshino teaches a foil bearing in which foil members are stacked and then rolled ([0021]).
Since both Kim and Yoshino disclose foil bearings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the rolling step of Kim with that of Yoshino and provide rolling a stack in which the top foil in an unfolded state and the bump foil in an unfolded state are overlapped to form a cylindrical foil assembly to achieve the predictable result of providing foils ready to be inserted into a housing.
Kim does not disclose an elastic piece located between the bearing housing and the top foil in a radial direction of the rotating shaft, and located adjacent to the cylindrical portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, the elastic piece being configured to deform independently of the cylindrical portion, and wherein the elastic piece is supported by the bearing housing as a result of inserting the foil assembly into the bearing housing.
Marley teaches a support foil (Fig. 4-5) for use in a fluid bearing (col. 2: lines 68-72) comprising an elastic piece (30, Fig. 4-5) located between the bearing housing and the top foil in a radial direction of the rotating shaft, and located adjacent to the cylindrical portion (28) in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, the elastic piece being configured to deform independently of the cylindrical portion, and wherein the elastic piece is supported by the bearing housing as a result of inserting the foil assembly into the bearing housing for the purpose of providing a non-linear spring or resilient characteristic between bearing surface and the housing (col. 3: lines 10-14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the spring/bump foil of Kim by providing an elastic piece located between the bearing housing and the top foil in a radial direction of the rotating shaft, and located adjacent to the cylindrical portion in an axial direction of the rotating shaft, the elastic piece being configured to deform independently of the cylindrical portion, and wherein the elastic piece is supported by the bearing housing as a result of inserting the foil assembly into the bearing housing for the purpose of providing a non-linear spring or resilient characteristic between bearing surface and the housing.
Re clm 15, Kim in view of Yoshino further discloses in forming the foil assembly, a set foil (10, Fig. 2 of Kim) in an unfolded state (taught by Yoshino) is disposed so as to overlap the bump foil on a side opposite to the top foil to form the stack, and the stack is rolled to form the foil assembly.
Conclusion
/ALAN B WAITS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617