DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 & 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hinterberger et al (U.S. PGPub # 2018/0034111).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Hinterberger teaches:
A battery cell pouch inspection device comprising:
an inspection portion measuring insulation resistance of a battery cell pouch using a probe (Paragraphs 0018-0019, 0042, & 0045-0046.);
a thermal detection portion photographing one surface of the battery cell pouch to generate a thermographic image according to temperature distribution (Paragraphs 0008, 0042, & 0044 wherein NDIR and temperature sensors are disclosed.); and
a control portion analyzing an insulation resistance signal measured by the inspection portion and the thermographic image to determine whether the battery cell pouch is defective (Abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0009-0012, 0038-0044, & elsewhere. Fig. 1 Element 19.).
Regarding claim 2, Hinterberger teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger teaches the control portion determines that the battery cell pouch is normal when the insulation resistance signal is within the range of a reference insulation resistance signal (Paragraphs 0018-0019 & 0044-0046.).
Regarding claim 8, Hinterberger teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger teaches the inspection portion applies an inspection voltage to the insulation resistance through a probe to measure the insulation resistance (Paragraph 0019 wherein the voltage is applied the “galvanic element is connected to the battery cell housing in a low ohm manner.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 & 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinterberger et al (U.S. PGPub # 2018/0034111) in view of Sotirov et al (Sotirov, Sotir, et al. "Battery Thermal Image Sequence Processing." 2022 13th National Conference with International Participation (ELECTRONICA). IEEE, 2022.).
Regarding claim 3, Hinterberger teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger teaches the control portion determines the battery cell pouch to be in a primary defective state when the insulation resistance signal is out of the range of a reference insulation resistance signal (Paragraphs 0018-0019 & 0044-0046.), and
Hinterberger may not explicitly teach decides a final defective state by analyzing the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be a primary defective state.
Sotirov teaches decides a final defective state by analyzing the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be a primary defective state (See Section III Battery Thermographic Image Analysis Software Pages 182-183. See Fig. 3, 4, 5, & 6 and associated text. Sotirov teaches finding fault through thermographic imaging analysis, it does not matter what label is given to the state of fault such as final or otherwise.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Sotirov to the teachings of Hintergerger such that one decides a final defective state by analyzing the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be a primary defective state because “monitoring battery temperature can aid the identification of (these) faults and warn of their presence prior to the occurrence of permanent thermal damaging” and “extraction and visualization of necessary information regarding the resulting temperature changes over the entire battery surface or certain parts of it is made possible.” See Abstract of Sotirov.
Regarding claim 4, Hinterberger & Sotirov teach all elements of claim 3, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger may not explicitly teach the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a true defective state when at least some area has a value higher than or equal to a preset temperature.
Sotirov teaches the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a true defective state when at least some area has a value higher than or equal to a preset temperature (See Section III Battery Thermographic Image Analysis Software Pages 182-183. See Fig. 3, 4, 5, & 6 and associated text. Sotirov teaches finding fault through thermographic imaging analysis, it does not matter what label is given to the state of fault such as final or otherwise.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Sotirov to the teachings of Hintergerger such that the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a true defective state when at least some area has a value higher than or equal to a preset temperature because “monitoring battery temperature can aid the identification of (these) faults and warn of their presence prior to the occurrence of permanent thermal damaging” and “extraction and visualization of necessary information regarding the resulting temperature changes over the entire battery surface or certain parts of it is made possible.” See Abstract of Sotirov.
Regarding claim 5, Hinterberger & Sotirov teach all elements of claim 3, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger may not explicitly teach the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a false defective state when at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature.
Sotirov teaches the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a false defective state when at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature (See Section III Battery Thermographic Image Analysis Software Pages 182-183. See Fig. 3, 4, 5, & 6 and associated text. Sotirov teaches finding fault through thermographic imaging analysis, it does not matter what label is given to the state of fault such as final or otherwise.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Sotirov to the teachings of Hintergerger such that the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a false defective state when at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature because “monitoring battery temperature can aid the identification of (these) faults and warn of their presence prior to the occurrence of permanent thermal damaging” and “extraction and visualization of necessary information regarding the resulting temperature changes over the entire battery surface or certain parts of it is made possible.” See Abstract of Sotirov.
Regarding claim 6, Hinterberger & Sotirov teach all elements of claim 3, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger may not explicitly teach the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a false defective state when at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature.
Sotirov teaches the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a false defective state when at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature (See Section III Battery Thermographic Image Analysis Software Pages 182-183. See Fig. 3, 4, 5, & 6 and associated text. Sotirov teaches finding fault through thermographic imaging analysis, it does not matter what label is given to the state of fault such as final or otherwise.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Sotirov to the teachings of Hintergerger such that the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in the primary defective state, and decides the battery cell pouch to be in a false defective state when at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature because “monitoring battery temperature can aid the identification of (these) faults and warn of their presence prior to the occurrence of permanent thermal damaging” and “extraction and visualization of necessary information regarding the resulting temperature changes over the entire battery surface or certain parts of it is made possible.” See Abstract of Sotirov.
Regarding claim 7, Hinterberger & Sotirov teach all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger may not explicitly teach the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image to determine whether there is deterioration in each area of the battery cell pouch divided according to the preset pattern.
Sotirov teaches the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image to determine whether there is deterioration in each area of the battery cell pouch divided according to the preset pattern (See Section III Battery Thermographic Image Analysis Software Pages 182-183. See Fig. 3, 4, 5, & 6 and associated text. Sotirov teaches finding fault through thermographic imaging analysis, it does not matter what label is given to the state of fault such as final or otherwise.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Sotirov to the teachings of Hintergerger such that the control portion analyzes color distribution of the thermographic image to determine whether there is deterioration in each area of the battery cell pouch divided according to the preset pattern because “monitoring battery temperature can aid the identification of (these) faults and warn of their presence prior to the occurrence of permanent thermal damaging” and “extraction and visualization of necessary information regarding the resulting temperature changes over the entire battery surface or certain parts of it is made possible.” See Abstract of Sotirov.
Regarding claim 9, Hinterberger teaches:
A operating method of a battery cell pouch inspection device, comprising:
a step of applying a inspection voltage to one surface of a battery cell pouch using a probe (Paragraph 0019 wherein the voltage is applied the “galvanic element is connected to the battery cell housing in a low ohm manner.”);
a step of measuring insulation resistance of the battery cell pouch (Paragraphs 0018-0019, 0042, & 0045-0046.);
a step of primarily determining whether an insulation resistance signal is present within the range of a reference insulation resistance signal (Abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0009-0012, 0038-0044, & elsewhere. Fig. 1 Element 19.);
a step of primarily determining the battery cell pouch to be in a primary defective state when the insulation resistance signal is out of the range of the reference insulation resistance signal (Abstract, paragraphs 0006, 0009-0012, 0038-0044, & elsewhere. Fig. 1 Element 19.); and
Hinterberger does not explicitly teach:
a step of deciding a final defective state by analyzing a thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state.
Sotirov teaches:
a step of deciding a final defective state by analyzing a thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state (See Section III Battery Thermographic Image Analysis Software Pages 182-183. See Fig. 3, 4, 5, & 6 and associated text. Sotirov teaches finding fault through thermographic imaging analysis, it does not matter what label is given to the state of fault such as final or otherwise.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Sotirov to the teachings of Hintergerger such that one would have a step of deciding a final defective state by analyzing a thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state because “monitoring battery temperature can aid the identification of (these) faults and warn of their presence prior to the occurrence of permanent thermal damaging” and “extraction and visualization of necessary information regarding the resulting temperature changes over the entire battery surface or certain parts of it is made possible.” See Abstract of Sotirov.
Regarding claim 10, Hinterberger & Sotirov teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger teaches in the step of primarily determining, the battery cell pouch is determined to be normal, when the insulation resistance signal is present within the range of the reference insulation resistance signal (Paragraphs 0018-0019 & 0044-0046.).
Regarding claim 11, Hinterberger & Sotirov teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger may not explicitly teach in the step of deciding a final defective state, the battery cell pouch is decided to be in a true defective state, when the color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state is analyzed and at least some area has a value higher than or equal to a preset temperature.
Sotirov teaches in the step of deciding a final defective state, the battery cell pouch is decided to be in a true defective state, when the color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state is analyzed and at least some area has a value higher than or equal to a preset temperature (See Section III Battery Thermographic Image Analysis Software Pages 182-183. See Fig. 3, 4, 5, & 6 and associated text. Sotirov teaches finding fault through thermographic imaging analysis, it does not matter what label is given to the state of fault such as final or otherwise.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Sotirov to the teachings of Hintergerger such that in the step of deciding a final defective state, the battery cell pouch is decided to be in a true defective state, when the color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state is analyzed and at least some area has a value higher than or equal to a preset temperature because “monitoring battery temperature can aid the identification of (these) faults and warn of their presence prior to the occurrence of permanent thermal damaging” and “extraction and visualization of necessary information regarding the resulting temperature changes over the entire battery surface or certain parts of it is made possible.” See Abstract of Sotirov.
Regarding claim 12, Hinterberger & Sotirov teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Hinterberger may not explicitly teach in the step of deciding a final defective state, the battery cell pouch is decided to be in a true defective state, when the color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state is analyzed and at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature.
Sotirov teaches in the step of deciding a final defective state, the battery cell pouch is decided to be in a true defective state, when the color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state is analyzed and at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature (See Section III Battery Thermographic Image Analysis Software Pages 182-183. See Fig. 3, 4, 5, & 6 and associated text. Sotirov teaches finding fault through thermographic imaging analysis, it does not matter what label is given to the state of fault such as final or otherwise.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Sotirov to the teachings of Hintergerger such that in the step of deciding a final defective state, the battery cell pouch is decided to be in a true defective state, when the color distribution of the thermographic image of the battery cell pouch determined to be in a primary defective state is analyzed and at least some area has a value lower than a preset temperature because “monitoring battery temperature can aid the identification of (these) faults and warn of their presence prior to the occurrence of permanent thermal damaging” and “extraction and visualization of necessary information regarding the resulting temperature changes over the entire battery surface or certain parts of it is made possible.” See Abstract of Sotirov.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858