DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0074941 (hereinafter Takahashi) in view of Cho et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0133685 (hereinafter Cho).
Consider claim 1, Takahashi teaches a backlight control method for a display system, wherein the display system comprises a backlight module (Figure 1, 30), a light-emitting surface of the backlight module is divided into a plurality of light-emitting areas (Figure 1, q x p), and each of the light-emitting areas corresponds to at least one light-emitting unit (Figure 1, 32), and the backlight control method comprises: receiving an input image data by a display module of the display system (Figure 1 and [0041]); performing a local dimming procedure on the backlight module according to the input image data ([0046], a first light emission intensity for the LED unit 32 that is associated with the region on the basis of the picture element in the HDR input image that is associated with the region), wherein the at least one light-emitting unit corresponding to each of the light-emitting areas has a local dimming value [0046]; obtaining an area peak luminance of each of the light-emitting areas after the local dimming procedure ([0073], first light emission intensity may be determined, for example maximum luminance [0072], the backlight signal 55 is data related to the first light emission intensity of each of the pxq LED units 22. [0077], the backlight signal 55 is transmitted to the luminance slope information generation unit 12 and the backlight signal correcting unit 13, and thus obtaining after); determining compensation area peak luminance of each of the light-emitting areas according to a luminance enhancement comparison and the corresponding area peak luminance of the light-emitting areas ([0099] The backlight signal correcting unit 13 corrects the backlight signal 55 on the basis of the luminance slope distribution factor data 56 for output as the LED luminance data 53. The LED luminance data 53 is data related to the second light emission intensity of each of the p×q LED units 32. The LED luminance data 53 is transmitted to the backlight drive circuit 31), wherein the luminance enhancement comparison provides a higher compensation for a dark area than for a bright area (as annotated above in figure 8); and applying the compensation area peak luminance to each of the corresponding light-emitting areas of the backlight module ([0073] and [0080]; [0099], The backlight signal correcting unit 13 corrects the backlight signal 55 on the basis of the luminance slope distribution factor data 56 for output as the LED luminance data 53. The LED luminance data 53 is data related to the second light emission intensity of each of the p×q LED units 32. The LED luminance data 53 is transmitted to the backlight drive circuit 31). In addition, Takahashi teaches a memory unit 40 used for the luminance slope information generation unit 12 in figure 3.
Takahashi does not appear to specifically disclose table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Cho teaches local dimming method (abstract) and further teaches the local dimming circuit 100 may compensate for low backlight luminance using a look-up table in [0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a table as taught by Cho with the benefit that lookup table (LUT) is an array that replaces runtime computation of a mathematical function with a simpler array indexing operation, in a process termed as direct addressing (see Wikipedia).
Consider claim 2, Takahashi and Cho teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Takahashi teaches wherein the luminance enhancement comparison comprises compensation area peak luminance corresponding to different area peak luminance ranges (Figure 5(a), luminance slope distribution factor data for different areas. [0073], maximum luminance). In addition, Cho teaches look-up table in [0052].
Consider claim 3, Takahashi and Cho teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Takahashi teaches wherein when the area peak luminance ([0073], maximum luminance and first light emission intensity), and the corresponding compensation area peak luminance (Figure 5 (a)).
Takahashi does not appear to specifically disclose range of 10-20% and a range of 50-70%.
However, Takahashi teaches a relatively low luminance for the area F in figure 7 and a relatively high correction value for the area F in figure 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a particular range in order to meet design choices. In addition, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 195 USPQ 6 (C.C.P.A. 1977).
Consider claim 4, Takahashi and Cho teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Takahashi teaches wherein a display image corresponding to the input image data has at least one bright area and at least one dark area distributed (Figure 7, bight areas and dark areas).
Consider claim 7, Takahashi and Cho teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Takahashi teaches wherein the compensation area peak luminance is calculated as a product of the area peak luminance and a luminance adjustment ratio ([0047], multiplying the first light emission intensity of the LED unit 32 by a correction factor. [0073], the first light emission intensity may be determined by a method that is specified in a suitable manner. The first light emission intensity may be determined, for example, from average or maximum luminance (RGB gray levels) of a group of picture elements in the region).
Consider claim 8, Takahashi teaches a display system, comprising: a display module, for receiving input image data (Figure 1, 21); a backlight module (Figure 1, 30), comprising a light-emitting surface divided into a plurality of light-emitting areas (Figure 1, q x p), wherein each of the light-emitting areas is correspondingly provided with at least one light-emitting unit (Figure 1, 32), and the at least one light-emitting unit corresponding to each of the light-emitting areas has a local dimming value ([0046], a first light emission intensity for the LED unit 32 that is associated with the region on the basis of the picture element in the HDR input image that is associated with the region); and a driving unit, coupled to the display module and the backlight module respectively (Figure 3, 10A), wherein the driving unit performs a local dimming procedure on the backlight module according to the input image data ([0046], a first light emission intensity for the LED unit 32 that is associated with the region on the basis of the picture element in the HDR input image that is associated with the region), obtains an area peak luminance of each of the light-emitting areas after the local dimming procedure ([0073], first light emission intensity may be determined, for example maximum luminance [0072], the backlight signal 55 is data related to the first light emission intensity of each of the pxq LED units 22. [0077], the backlight signal 55 is transmitted to the luminance slope information generation unit 12 and the backlight signal correcting unit 13, and thus obtaining after), and applies a plurality of compensation area peak luminance to the corresponding light-emitting areas of the backlight module ([0073], first light emission intensity may be determined, for example maximum luminance. [0080], the luminance slope distribution factor data 56 of the present embodiment is a set of correction factors applied to the LED units 32 and specified in the following manner. In other words, the luminance slope distribution factor data 56 is a set of correction factors specified to increase the luminance of at least those LED units 32 associated with the region of gaze); wherein the compensation area peak luminance is obtained according to a luminance enhancement comparison and the corresponding area peak luminance of each of the light-emitting areas ([0073], first light emission intensity may be determined, for example maximum luminance. [0080], the luminance slope distribution factor data 56 of the present embodiment is a set of correction factors applied to the LED units 32 and specified in the following manner. In other words, the luminance slope distribution factor data 56 is a set of correction factors specified to increase the luminance of at least those LED units 32 associated with the region of gaze), wherein the luminance enhancement comparison provides a higher compensation for a dark area than for a bright area (as annotated above in figure 8)
Takahashi does not appear to specifically disclose table.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Cho teaches local dimming method (abstract) and further teaches the local dimming circuit 100 may compensate for low backlight luminance using a look-up table in [0052].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a table as taught by Cho with the benefit that lookup table (LUT) is an array that replaces runtime computation of a mathematical function with a simpler array indexing operation, in a process termed as direct addressing (see Wikipedia).
Consider claim 9, Takahashi and Cho teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Takahashi teaches wherein the light-emitting areas are divided into at least one bright area and at least one dark area (Figure 7), and the compensation area peak luminance is applied to the dark area ([0096], gazes at a relatively dark area (relatively low luminance region) in the HDR input image. [0097], correction factor. [0073], maximum luminance).
Consider claim 10, it includes the limitations of claim 3 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi and Cho as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Ito et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0145248 (hereinafter Ito).
Consider claim 5, Takahashi and Cho teach all the limitations of claim 4. In addition, Takahashi teaches [0096], gazes at a relatively dark area (relatively low luminance region) in the HDR input image.
Takahashi does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the bright area is distributed as an annular bright area, and the dark area is distributed as a central dark area.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Ito teaches an observation target in [0103], and further teaches wherein the bright area is distributed as an annular bright area, and the dark area is distributed as a central dark area (Figure 3 (left image), bright area around portion of interest).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an image as show in figure 3 by Ito since when the portion of interest is found on the far side of the body cavity, as illustrated, the portion of interest appears dark in an image as suggested in [0103].
Consider claim 6, Takahashi and Cho teach all the limitations of claim 4. In addition, Takahashi teaches [0096], gazes at a relatively dark area (relatively low luminance region) in the HDR input image.
Takahashi does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the local dimming procedure comprises compensation for a local dimming value corresponding to the dark area on the basis of the halo degree of the dark area.
However, Ito teaches wherein the local dimming procedure comprises compensation for a local dimming value corresponding to the dark area on the basis of the halo degree of the dark area ([0103], increases a light quantity of illumination light to illuminate the portion of interest at optimum brightness, and captures an image of the object again with the illumination light).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to compensate dark area as taught by Ito with the benefit that determine whether or not the portion of interest is a lesion or can determine a detailed classification of the lesion as suggested in [0103].
Consider claim 11, it includes the limitations of claim 5 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 12, it includes the limitations of claim 6 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6, Applicant argues that “Takahashi does not obtain the area peak luminance after the initial local dimming procedure, nor does it use such peak luminance to compensate the backlight.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Takanashi teaches in [0073], first light emission intensity may be determined, for example maximum luminance. [0072] and figure 3, the backlight signal 55 is data related to the first light emission intensity of each of the pxq LED units 22. [0077] and figure 3, the backlight signal 55 is transmitted to the luminance slope information generation unit 12 and the backlight signal correcting unit 13, and thus obtaining by these units after the initial local dimming.
On page 6, Applicant argues that “because Takahashi's compensation is entirely driven by the user's gaze behavior rather than the brightness of the image content, it fails to teach providing a higher compensation for a dark area than for a bright area. As described in paragraph [0081] of Takahashi, a dark area would actually be dimmed further if the user is not looking at it.” The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
As annotated above, figure 8 shows a higher compensation for a dark area (see “Dark”) than for a bright area (see “Bright”). Figure 8 shows some dark areas without luminance enhancement. However, claim requires “a dark area” and “a bright area”. Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621