DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-14 are currently pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 215123510 U), hereafter referred to as “Li” in view of Watts (US 20220039367 A1), hereafter referred to as “Watts”.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device (figs. 1-6), comprising a main body (1), a net cover assembly (11, 13, 131, 132, 21, 22), a fan (44), a mosquito storage box (61, 121) and a carbon dioxide mosquito luring part (4), wherein the net cover assembly, the fan and the mosquito storage box are sequentially arranged from top to bottom in a height direction of the main body (figs. 2-3 and 6), the net cover assembly is provided with an air inlet part (air enters elements 13, 131, 132, 21, 22 via 43 and 44; see attached machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0034]) and an air outlet part (air exits elements 13, 131, 132, 21, 22 via 44; machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0034]), and under an action of the fan, air enters the mosquito storage box from the air inlet part and is finally discharged from the air outlet part (machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0034]);
the carbon dioxide mosquito luring part is configured for generating carbon dioxide gas (machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]) and arranged on a side of the main body (figs. 1 and 6 showing 4 on a side of 1);
the carbon dioxide mosquito luring part comprises a discharge hole (43) formed in the net cover assembly for outputting the carbon dioxide gas (figs. 5-6 and machine translation, paragraph [n0033]);
the net cover assembly is arranged at an upper end part of the main body (fig. 3) and forms a first accommodating cavity together with the main body (region encompassed within 131, 132; figs. 1-3 and 6), and the net cover assembly comprises a first net cover (21), a second net cover (22), and a third net cover (131, 132), wherein the first net cover is mounted at the upper end part of the main body (fig. 3), the second net cover is mounted around a middle part of the first net cover in a sleeved manner (as best shown in fig. 6) and located at an outer periphery of the fan (fig. 5 showing that 22, shown not numbered, is located at an outer, peripheral boundary of 44), the third net cover is mounted on a top of the second net cover (fig. 5) and located directly above the fan (fig. 5 showing that 13 extends above 44), and the discharge hole is formed in the first net cover (43 is formed within 21, machine translation, paragraph [n0033]);
the air inlet part (upper portion of 21, 22, 13; fig. 5 and machine translation [n0033]) comprises a first air inlet part arranged on the third net cover and matching the fan (fig. 5), and a second air inlet part arranged in the mosquito storage box and located directly below the fan (air travels from the 43 via 44 through 21, 22, 13, and down through 61 and 121; machine translation paragraphs [n0033]-[n0034]);
the air outlet part (air exits elements 13, 131, 132, 21, 22 via 44; machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0034]) comprises a first air outlet part arranged on the first net cover and communicated with the first accommodating cavity, and a third air outlet part arranged in the mosquito storage box and communicated with the first accommodating cavity (machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0035]);
when the fan works, the air enters the mosquito storage box sequentially through the first air inlet part and the second air inlet part, and then is blown out from the first air outlet part after sequentially passing through the third air outlet part and the first accommodating cavity, wherein a first air duct is formed (machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0035]); and
the carbon dioxide mosquito luring part (4) comprises a carbon dioxide reservoir (machine translation, paragraph [n00]), wherein the carbon dioxide reservoir is mounted in the main body (fig. 1 and 6);
wherein the air outlet part (machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0035]) further comprises a second air outlet part arranged on the second net cover and communicated with the first accommodating cavity (machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0035] teaching that air flowing through element 22 via 44; see also fig. 6 showing at least one opening of 21 communicated with the region encompassed within elements 131 and 132), wherein when the fan works, the air enters the mosquito storage box sequentially through the first air inlet part and the second air inlet part, and then is blown out from the second air outlet part after sequentially passing through the third air outlet part and the first accommodating cavity, wherein a second air duct is formed (machine translation, paragraphs [n0033]-[n0035]), and
wherein the second air outlet part faces the first air outlet part (the at least one opening of 21 and the at least one opening of 22 face each other as shown in fig. 6), but does not explicitly teach and a pressure reducing valve, the pressure reducing valve is mounted in the main body and matches an air outlet end of the carbon dioxide reservoir, and the pressure reducing valve is communicated with the discharge hole or the first accommodating cavity, and that positioning of the second air outlet and the first air outlet causes the carbon dioxide gas to flow upward toward the top in the height direction of the main body.
Watts teaches a carbon dioxide-lured trapping device (figs. 1-24) including a pressure reducing valve (116; paragraph [0167]), the pressure reducing valve is mounted in a main body (fig. 13) and matches an air outlet end of a carbon dioxide reservoir (114; paragraph [0167]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trapping device of Li to include a pressure reducing valve, the pressure reducing valve is mounted in the main body and matches an air outlet end of the carbon dioxide reservoir, as taught by Watts, in order to regulate the delivery of carbon dioxide in a safe manner (paragraph [0168] of Watts).
The combined teachings of Li in view of Watts would result in the pressure reducing valve communicated with the discharge hole or the first accommodating cavity.
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Watts teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 1, and Li further teaches that the first net cover (11, 13) is provided with a downwardly recessed groove (13 is recessed downwards from element 11; fig. 5), an upper end part of the second net cover is located in the downwardly recessed groove (fig. 5), and the first air outlet part and the discharge hole are arranged on a side wall of the downwardly recessed groove (43 is located on a side wall of element 11; fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings of Li in view of Watts teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 1, and Li further teaches a control part (5 of Li), and the control part is mounted in the main body (1; fig. 1) and is electrically connected to the fan (machine translation, paragraph [n0031]), but does not explicitly teach wherein the carbon dioxide mosquito luring part further comprises a flow regulation switch and a solenoid valve, wherein the flow regulation switch is connected to the pressure reducing valve, the solenoid valve is connected to the flow regulation switch, and the control part is electrically connected to the solenoid valve.
Watts further teaches the carbon dioxide-lured trapping device including a flow regulation switch (paragraph [0236]) and a solenoid valve (225; paragraph [0167]), wherein the flow regulation switch is connected to the pressure reducing valve (paragraphs [00167]-[0168]), the solenoid valve is connected to the flow regulation switch (paragraph [0236]), and a control part (200) is electrically connected to the solenoid valve (paragraph [0233]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trapping device of Li in view of Watts to include a flow regulation switch and a solenoid valve, wherein the flow regulation switch is connected to the pressure reducing valve, the solenoid valve is connected to the flow regulation switch, and the control part is electrically connected to the solenoid valve, as further taught by Watts, in order to further provide an automated, safe, and efficient carbon dioxide delivery (paragraphs [0167]-[0168], [0233] of Watts).
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Watts teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 1, and Li further teaches a side cover (42), wherein an accommodating groove (41) is formed on a side surface of the main body (fig. 1 and 6), the carbon dioxide reservoir (4) is mounted in the accommodating groove, and the side cover is detachably connected to the main body and is configured for covering the accommodating groove (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Watts teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 1, and Li further teaches wherein the first air outlet part (outlet of 43) is the discharge hole (machine translation, paragraph [n0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Watts teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 3, and Li further teaches wherein the first air outlet part (outlet of 43) is the discharge hole (machine translation, paragraph [n0033]).
Regarding claim 11, Li in view of Watts teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 4, and Li further teaches wherein the first air outlet part (outlet of 43) is the discharge hole (machine translation, paragraph [n0033]).
Regarding claim 14, Li in view of Watts teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 7, and Li further teaches wherein the first air outlet part (outlet of 43) is the discharge hole (machine translation, paragraph [n0033]).
Claims 5-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Watts as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Xiong et al. (CN 105230588 A), hereafter referred to as “Xiong”.
Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Watts teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach a carbon dioxide concentration detector, wherein the carbon dioxide concentration detector is mounted in the first accommodating cavity and is electrically connected to the control part.
Xiong teaches a carbon dioxide-lured trap (figs. 1-3) including a carbon dioxide concentration detector (see attached machine translation, claim 3) and is electrically connected to the control part (machine translation, claim 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trap of Li in view of Watts to include a carbon dioxide concentration detector electrically connected to the control part, as taught by Xiong, in order to further improve the safety and monitoring of carbon dioxide levels emitted.
Additionally, Li teaches various components like the fan mounted in the first accommodating cavity (fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trap of Li in view of Watts and Xiong to also have the carbon dioxide concentration detector mounted in the first accommodating cavity, in order to cater to the design and arrangement of components within the device.
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Watts and Xiong teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 5, but does not explicitly teach an alarm, wherein the alarm is mounted in the main body and is electrically connected to the control part, and the alarm is configured for sounding an alarm when the carbon dioxide concentration detector detects that a concentration of the carbon dioxide gas exceeds a set threshold.
Xiong further teaches the carbon dioxide-lured trapping device including an alarm electrically connected to the control part (machine translation, claim 3), and the alarm is configured for sounding an alarm when the carbon dioxide concentration detector detects that a concentration of the carbon dioxide gas exceeds a set threshold (machine translation, claim 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trap of Li in view of Watts and Xiong to include an alarm, is electrically connected to the control part, and the alarm is configured for sounding an alarm when the carbon dioxide concentration detector detects that a concentration of the carbon dioxide gas exceeds a set threshold, as further taught by Xiong, in order to improve monitoring a response to unideal levels of carbon dioxide.
Additionally, Li teaches various components like the fan mounted in the main body (fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trap of Li in view of Watts and Xiong to also have the alarm mounted in the main body, in order to cater to the design and arrangement of components within the device.
Regarding claim 12, Li in view of Watts and Xiong teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 5, and Li further teaches wherein the first air outlet part (outlet of 43) is the discharge hole (machine translation, paragraph [n0033]).
Regarding claim 13, Li in view of Watts and Xiong teaches the carbon dioxide-lured mosquito trapping device according to claim 6, and Li further teaches wherein the first air outlet part (outlet of 43) is the discharge hole (machine translation, paragraph [n0033]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 4 of the Remarks, that elements 21 and 22 do not teach first and second air outlet parts, but electrodes.
While elements 21 and 22 are referred to as electrodes, both elements include a lattice structure that includes a plurality of openings that act as air outlets (see machine translation of Li at paragraph [n0033] teaching that fan element 44 pushes air outwards from element 22 to element 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure. The references have many of the elements in the applicant’s disclosure and claims.
/H.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/MARISA V CONLON/Examiner, Art Unit 3643