DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 as originally filed 12/27/2024, are pending herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “utility vehicle” (Claim 1) and “edges of a bottom surface” (Claim 2), must be shown and labeled or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation: "at least two of the at least two", which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Regarding claim 5, 7, and 8, the claims recite the limitation: "respective ones of", which is unclear and therefore renders the claims indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takagi (US 10,022,039 B2).
[Claim 1] Regarding Claim 1, Takagi discloses: A battery mounting unit for a utility vehicle (See, e.g., Fig.1-14), comprising:
at least two first side legs and at least two second side legs (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 35+26) provided on main frames of the utility vehicle (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 10), the at least two second side legs being opposite to the at least two first side legs in a left-right direction of the utility vehicle (See, e.g., Fig.1-14), each of the at least two first side legs and the at least two second side legs being aligned in a front-back direction of the utility vehicle perpendicular to the left-right direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-14); and
a first longitudinal beam, a second longitudinal beam, a first lateral beam, a second lateral beam (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 35+25+27+24) each provided above the main frames in a vertical direction perpendicular to the front-back direction and to the left-right direction to support at least one battery (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 9), the first longitudinal beam extending in one direction of the front-back direction and the left-right direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-14) and supported by at least two of the at least two first side legs and the at least two second side legs (See, e.g., Fig.1-14), the second longitudinal beam extending in the one direction and supported by at least two of the at least two first side legs and the at least two second side legs (See, e.g., Fig.1-14), the first lateral beam and the second lateral beam being separated from each other in the one direction and each connecting the first longitudinal beam and the second longitudinal beam (See, e.g., Fig.1-14).
[Claim 2] Regarding Claim 2, Takagi discloses: wherein the first longitudinal beam and the second longitudinal beam are configured to support edges of a bottom surface of the at least one battery (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 35).
[Claim 3] Regarding Claim 3, Takagi discloses: wherein the first longitudinal beam, the second longitudinal beam, the first lateral beam, and the second lateral beam each are made of square pipes (See, e.g., Fig.1-14).
[Claim 4] Regarding Claim 4, Takagi discloses: wherein the at least two first side legs and the at least two second side legs each are made of square pipes (See, e.g., Fig.1-14).
[Claim 5] Regarding Claim 5, Takagi discloses: further comprising: first connecting plates (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 35) connecting the main frames and respective ones of the at least two first side legs and the at least two second side legs (See, e.g., Fig.1-14).
[Claim 6] Regarding Claim 6, Takagi discloses: wherein the first longitudinal beam, the second longitudinal beam, the first lateral beam, and the second lateral beam each are made of square pipes (See, e.g., Fig.1-14).
[Claim 9] Regarding Claim 9, Takagi discloses: A utility vehicle comprising: the battery mounting unit according to claim 1 (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 2); the main frames supporting the battery mounting unit (See, e.g., Fig.1-14);
a driver's seat (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 22) which is provided on the main frames and on which a driver is seated (See, e.g., Fig.1-14); and the at least one battery provided between the battery mounting unit and the driver's seat in the vertical direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-14).
[Claim 10] Regarding Claim 10, Takagi discloses: comprising: a floor frame (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, unlabeled below 24) on which a foot of the driver is placed (See, e.g., Fig.1-14), the floor frame being provided above the main frames (See, e.g., Fig.1-14), wherein a mounting surface of the battery mounting unit on which the at least one battery is mounted is higher than or as high as the floor frame in the vertical direction (See, e.g., Fig.1-14, 35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaki in view of Schulte (US 10,351,179 B2).
[Claim 11] Regarding Claim 11, Takagi fails to explicitly teach: comprising: a coolant hose though which a coolant is configured to flow, wherein the coolant hose passes under the floor frame.
However, Schulte teaches a similar vehicle battery mounting (See, e.g., Schulte: Fig.1-16, 62) wherein a coolant hose (See, e.g., Schulte: Fig.1-16, 60+78+86) though which a coolant is configured to flow, wherein the coolant hose passes under the floor frame (See, e.g., Schulte: Fig.1-16, 20).
Schulte teaches that it is well known in the art of vehicle design to provide the vehicle with a coolant house that passes under the floor frame. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system taught by Takagi modified with the to provide the vehicle with a coolant house that passes under the floor frame such as taught by Schulte, for the purpose of conveniently allowing for proper and efficient routing of cooling means through the vehicle in order to beneficially connect the cooling apparatus with the battery to be cooled and vice versa. Moreover, the modification is obvious as no more than the use of familiar elements according to known methods in a manner that achieves predictable results. (See, e.g., KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398,416 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record when taken alone or in combination with another does not teach or fairly suggest at this time at least, among other limitations: further comprising: second connecting plates connecting the first longitudinal beam and respective ones of the first lateral beam and the second lateral beam; and third connecting plates connecting the second longitudinal beam and respective ones of the first lateral beam and the second lateral beam, as claimed in Claim 7 (emphasis added to allowable limitations not suggested or taught by the prior art).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and can be found on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/JAMES M DOLAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613