DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 12/27/2024, in which claims 1-12 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing date of the Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US Pub. 20160360198 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses an image processing device comprising: circuity configured to (Chang; Fig. 7, Para. [0077]. A video processing system/method is used for video coding.):
parse size identification data from a bitstream to identify whether a maximum block size of an orthogonal transform block is 64 or 32 (Chang; Para. [0077-78]. Size data from a bitstream is determined/parsed to determine a maximum block size of transform block being 64 or 3, also see Para. [0033].);
on condition that the size identification data parsed indicates the maximum block size of the orthogonal transform block is 32, generate a residual signal by applying inverse orthogonal transformation processing to transform coefficients obtained by decoding the bitstream according to identification data that identifies whether adaptive color conversion processing for adaptively converting a color space of the image or inverse adaptive color conversion processing for adaptively reversing the color space of the image is enabled (Chang; Para. [0077-78]. For size data determined indicating a maximum block size of a transform block being 32, a residual block is generated by using inverse transform processing to coefficients from bitstream decoding in accordance with size information indicating whether ACT processing or inverse ACT processing is enabled or not, also see Para. [0059-60].); and
apply inverse adaptive color conversion processing to the residual signal (Chang; Para. [0077-78]. Inverse adaptive color transform is used for residual blocks.).
Claim 6 is directed to an image processing method, comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Regarding claim 7, Chang discloses an image processing device comprising: circuity configured to (Chang; Para. [0107-108]. A video processing system includes circuitry for video coding.):
identify whether adaptive color conversion processing for adaptively converting a color space of the image or inverse adaptive color conversion processing for adaptively reversing the color space of the image is enabled, only when a size identification data identifies that 32 is applied as a maximum block size of an orthogonal transform block (Chang; Para. [0077-78]. For size data indicating 32 being used as a max block size of a transform block, adaptive color transforming or inverse adaptive color transforming for a color space is determined to be used or not.); and
encoding the image to generate a bitstream containing the identification data (Chang; Para. [0077-78]. Images are encoded to generate a bitstream including identification data.).
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses an image processing method, comprising (Chang; Para. [0107-108]. A video processing system includes circuitry for video coding.):
determining whether a size identification data identifies that 32 is applied as a maximum block size of an orthogonal transform block; and
in response to 32 bring applied as the maximum block size of the orthogonal transform bloc, identify whether adaptive color conversion processing for adaptively converting a color space of the image or inverse adaptive color conversion processing for adaptively reversing the color space of the image is enabled (Chang; Para. [0077-78]. For size data indicating 32 being used as a max block size of a transform block, adaptive color transforming or inverse adaptive color transforming for a color space is determined to be used or not.); and
encoding the image to generate a bitstream containing the identification data (Chang; Para. [0077-78]. Images are encoded to generate a bitstream including identification data.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Pub. 20160360198 A1) in view of Ko (US Pub. 20220141465 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chang discloses the size identification data (Chang; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the size identification data is set as a sequence parameter set of the bitstream.
However, Ko teaches the size identification data is set as a sequence parameter set of the bitstream (Ko; Para. [0198-199]. Size data is set as a sequence parameter set of a bitstream.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Chang to adapt a signaling approach for transform block size, by incorporating Ko’s teaching wherein parameters on the sequence parameter set level are used to signal transform information, for the motivation to signal present conditions pertaining to a color component of transform blocks (Ko; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 3, while Chang is silent, Ko teaches the size identification data is set as a syntax of sps_max_luma_transform_size_64_flag (Ko; Para. [0198-199]. Syntax elements, e.g. sps_max_luma_transform_size_64_flag, is used.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Chang to adapt a signaling approach for transform block size, by incorporating Ko’s teaching wherein parameters on the sequence parameter set level are used to signal transform information, for the motivation to signal present conditions pertaining to a color component of transform blocks (Ko; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 4, while Chang is silent, Ko teaches the identification data is referenced only when a value of sps_max_luma_transform_size_64_flag is set to 0 (Ko; Para. [0264, 266-26]. An identification data is used for sps_max_luma_transform_size_64_flag being 0.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Chang to adapt a signaling approach for transform block size, by incorporating Ko’s teaching wherein parameters on the sequence parameter set level are used to signal transform information, for the motivation to signal present conditions pertaining to a color component of transform blocks (Ko; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 5, while Chang is silent, Ko teaches arithmetically decode the bitstream to generate quantized transform coefficients (Ko; Para. [0087-88]. A bitstream is arithmetically decoded to generate quantized transform coefficients. Chang; Para. [0055-59]. A bitstream is arithmetically decoded to generate quantized transform coefficients.); and
inversely quantize the quantized transform coefficients to generate the transform coefficients (Ko; Para. [0087-88]. Quantized transform coefficients are inversely quantized to generate transform coefficients. Chang; Para. [0055-59]. A bitstream is arithmetically decoded to generate quantized transform coefficients.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Chang to adapt a processing approach for transform block, by incorporating Ko’s teaching wherein quantization and entropy coding is performed, for the motivation to signal present conditions pertaining to a color component of transform blocks (Ko; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 8, Chang discloses the size identification data (Chang; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the circuitry is configured to set the size identification data as a sequence parameter set of the bitstream.
However, Ko teaches the circuitry is configured to set the size identification data as a sequence parameter set of the bitstream (Ko; Para. [0198-199]. Size data is set as a sequence parameter set of a bitstream.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Chang to adapt a signaling approach for transform block size, by incorporating Ko’s teaching wherein parameters on the sequence parameter set level are used to signal transform information, for the motivation to signal present conditions pertaining to a color component of transform blocks (Ko; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 9, while Chang is silent, Ko teaches the circuity is configured to set the size identification data as syntax of sps_max_luma_transform_size_64_flag (Ko; Para. [0198-199]. Syntax elements, e.g. sps_max_luma_transform_size_64_flag, is used.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Chang to adapt a signaling approach for transform block size, by incorporating Ko’s teaching wherein parameters on the sequence parameter set level are used to signal transform information, for the motivation to signal present conditions pertaining to a color component of transform blocks (Ko; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 10, while Chang is silent, Ko teaches the circuity is configured to set the identification data only when a value of sps_max_luma_transform_size_64_flag is set to 0 (Ko; Para. [0264, 266-26]. An identification data is used for sps_max_luma_transform_size_64_flag being 0.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Chang to adapt a signaling approach for transform block size, by incorporating Ko’s teaching wherein parameters on the sequence parameter set level are used to signal transform information, for the motivation to signal present conditions pertaining to a color component of transform blocks (Ko; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 11, while Chang is silent, Ko teaches the circuity is further configured to: apply orthogonal transformation processing to a residual signal for each orthogonal transform block as a processing unit (Ko; Para. [0087-88]. Transform processing is used for a residual block for each transform block. Chang; Para. [0055-59]. Transform processing is used for a residual block for each transform block.);
quantize transform coefficients to generate quantized transform coefficients (Ko; Para. [0087-88]. Transform coefficients are quantized to generate quantized transform coefficients. Chang; Para. [0055-59]. Transform coefficients are quantized to generate quantized transform coefficients.); and
arithmetically encodes the quantized coefficients to generate the bitstream (Ko; Para. [0087-88]. Quantized coefficients are arithmetically encoded to generate a bitstream. Chang; Para. [0055-59]. Quantized coefficients are arithmetically encoded to generate a bitstream.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processing system of Chang to adapt a processing approach for transform block, by incorporating Ko’s teaching wherein quantization and entropy coding is performed, for the motivation to signal present conditions pertaining to a color component of transform blocks (Ko; Abstract.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung (US Pub. 20220303567 A1) teaches a video coding system that performs adaptive color space transform.
Chang (US Pub. 20160360205 A1) teaches a video coding system that uses adaptive color transform.
/ALBERT KIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485