DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Arguments
Applicant's amendment filed on 3/4/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11-16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 4-5, 7, and 17 are as previously presented. Claims 10 and 18 have been canceled. Claims 20-22 have been added.
Applicant’s amendment to the drawings overcomes the previously set-forth 12/4/2025 objection to figure 1.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the previously set-forth 12/4/2025 objection to claims 6 and 8.
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the previously set-forth 12/4/2025 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of claims 3, 6, 9, and 11-16
Claims 1-9, 11-17, and 19-22 are still pending in this application, with claim 1 being independent.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the previously set-forth 12/4/2025 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102/35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 1-9, 11-17, and 19 are not persuasive [i.e., upon further review of the cited prior art, the modifications described in claims 20-22, directed to a conventional heating pattern, are known in the art; REMARKS, p. 14: “However, Applicant respectfully traverses the rejections by adding new claims 20-22... In particular, claim 20 is directed to the embodiment as shown in annotated FIG. 3A, claim 21 is directed to the embodiment as shown in annotated FIG. 4A and claim 22 is directed to the embodiment as shown in FIG. 4B.”], and a new rejection has been presented below for new claims 20-22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 3:
The limitation “the arc sections” in line 3 lacks sufficient antecedent basis, and will be interpreted as reciting “the multiple arc sections” to similarly match the amendment to claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8, 14-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Raj (US 20190159292 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Raj teaches:
A susceptor [heated substrate support 120; fig. 1A; para. 0024] comprising:
an insulating plate [substrate supporting element 122]
in which a heating element is disposed [heating coil 130]; and
a shaft joined to a bottom portion of the insulating plate [support shaft 165],
wherein the heating element comprises
a first heating element pattern [heater coil pattern 200; figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A] including
a first resistance section [outer sector #270, tertiary ring #266, secondary ring #265, and primary ring #260; fig. 2A; para. 0030]
and first connecting sections [see fig. 2A, showing x2 first connecting sections, each disposed between an end of primary ring 260 and a connection interface 215; para. 0030]
connected between a first pair of terminals [connection interfaces 215; fig. 2A],
wherein, when the first resistance section is projected onto a plane of the insulating plate, the first resistance section comprises
a first central resistance section [primary ring 260; fig. 2A]
disposed within a region having a smaller diameter than a joint portion at which the insulating plate and the shaft are joined [Raj teaches an arrangement of a coiled heating element arranged over an area of plate 122 (see figs. 1A, 1B) comprising a plurality of peaks near a center of the heater corresponding to where the support shaft meets the substrate supporting element allows for compensating for heat loss due to the temperature controlled shaft; para. 0024: “The resistive coil provides a high thermal energy density near the center of the heater, where the supporting shaft meets the substrate supporting element of the substrate heater.”; para. 0033: “The number of peaks and their arrangement in nested rings allows for a higher density of heating element 210, compensating for the heat loss due to the temperature controlled shaft 165 at the center of the heater 300.”],
wherein the first central resistance section includes a first curve [see fig. 2A, showing a portion of the primary ring 260 connected to 215 on one end, and a second portion connected to a folded section connected to secondary ring 265 (i.e., a series connection), wherein the folded sections allow for the serpentine pattern of the heating element, specifically allowing for the turns in direction (i.e., changing between a clockwise direction and a counterclockwise direction); para. 0036: “While not intending to limiting, in some embodiments, the tertiary ring 266, the secondary ring 265, and the primary ring 260 are electrically connected in series.”],
the first curve extending from one of the first connecting sections connected to one of the first pair of terminals [i.e., the coiled secondary ring #265 is connected to #215]
to a portion that does not extend beyond a first closest folded section closest to the first curve among the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section [i.e., the portion of secondary ring #265 connected to the folding part connecting the primary ring #260 to the secondary ring #265].
Regarding claim 4, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 1.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the first curve of the first central resistance section [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A showing outer sector 270, tertiary ring 266, secondary ring 265, and primary ring 260 comprising curves extending in a circumferential direction, and multiple folded sections connecting the curves] is disposed such that a curvature radius of a portion closest to the one of the first pair of terminals [e.g., the non-zero curvature radius of primary ring 260 in fig. 2A] is larger than curvature radii of the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section [see fig. 2A, showing straight (zero curvature) folded sections connecting 260 to 265].
Regarding claim 5, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 4.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the curvature radius of the portion closest to the one of the first pair of terminals is at least twice as large as a maximum curvature radius of the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section [see fig. 2A, showing the curvature of 260 is at least twice as large as the zero curvature of the folded section connecting 260 to 265].
Regarding claim 6, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 1.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the first curve of the first central resistance section is disposed such that a curvature radius of a portion closest to the one of the first pair of terminals is larger than a curvature radius of the first closest folded section among the folded sections of the first resistance section [see fig. 2A, showing the curvature of 260 is larger than the zero curvature of the folded sections connecting 260 to 265 and connecting 265 to 266].
Regarding claim 7, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 1.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the first pair of terminals is disposed within the region having the smaller diameter than the joint portion between the insulating plate and the shaft [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A; para. 0030: “The connection interfaces 215 may be formed or provided near a center of the ceramic body 205.”].
Regarding claim 8, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 1.
Raj further teaches that the primary ring, secondary ring, and tertiary ring may alternatively be connected not just in series, but each to a separate power source [para. 0036: “While not shown, in some alternate embodiments, the tertiary ring 266, the secondary ring 265, and/or the primary ring 260 are electrically connected in parallel to a power source or separately connected to separate power sources.”], allowing for a multi-zone heating pattern (central zone and annular zones), wherein the secondary ring 265 comprises a second heating pattern, thus suggesting a second resistance section and a second connecting section connected between a second pair of terminals. Specifically, Raj further teaches:
wherein the heating element comprises a second heating element pattern including a second resistance section and second connecting sections connected between a second pair of terminals [i.e., the portion of heater coil pattern 200 comprising secondary ring 265 connected to a separate power source than primary ring 260, the necessary connection provided by a second connection interface 215 (the second connection interface comprising a second connecting section and a second pair of terminals disposed within the smaller diameter region); para. 0030: “The connection interfaces 215 may be formed or provided near a center of the ceramic body 205.”],
wherein, when the first and second resistance sections are projected onto the plane of the insulating plate, the second resistance section comprises a second central resistance section disposed within the region having the smaller diameter than the joint portion at which the insulating plate and the shaft are joined [Raj teaches the arrangement of the coiled heating element arranged over an area of plate 122 (see figs. 1A, 1B) comprising a plurality of peaks near a center of the heater corresponding to where the support shaft meets the substrate supporting element allows for compensating for heat loss due to the temperature controlled shaft; para. 0024: “The resistive coil provides a high thermal energy density near the center of the heater, where the supporting shaft meets the substrate supporting element of the substrate heater.”; para. 0033: “The number of peaks and their arrangement in nested rings allows for a higher density of heating element 210, compensating for the heat loss due to the temperature controlled shaft 165 at the center of the heater 300.”].
Regarding claim 14, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the first curve of the first central resistance section and a second curve of the second central resistance section [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A showing outer sector 270, tertiary ring 266, secondary ring 265, and primary ring 260 comprising curves extending in a circumferential direction, and multiple folded sections connecting the curves] are disposed such that a curvature radius of a portion closest to one of each pair of terminals [e.g., the non-zero curvature radius of primary ring 260 in fig. 2A] is larger than curvature radii of the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section and multiple folded sections of the second resistance section [see fig. 2A, showing straight (zero curvature) folded sections connecting 260 to 265, and 265 to 266].
Regarding claim 15, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 14.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the curvature radius of the portion closest to the one of each pair of terminals is at least twice as large as a maximum curvature radius of the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section and the second resistance section [see fig. 2A, showing the curvature of 260 is at least twice as large as the zero curvature of the folded section connecting 260 to 265, and 265 to 266].
Regarding claim 16, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the first curve of the first central resistance section [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A showing primary ring 260 comprising curves extending in a circumferential direction, and multiple folded sections connecting the curves] is disposed such that a curvature radius of a portion closest to the one of the first pair of terminals [e.g., the non-zero curvature radius of primary ring 260 in fig. 2A] is larger than a curvature radius of the first closest folded section [see fig. 2A, showing straight (zero curvature) folded sections connecting 260 to 265], and
wherein a second curve of the second central resistance section [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A showing secondary ring 265 comprising curves extending in a circumferential direction, and multiple folded sections connecting the curves] is disposed such that a curvature radius of a portion closest to one of the second pair of terminals is larger than a curvature radius of a folded section closest to the second curve among multiple folded sections of the second resistance section [see fig. 2A, showing straight (zero curvature) folded sections connecting 260 to 265, and 265 to 266].
Regarding claim 17, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the second pair of terminals is disposed within the region having the smaller diameter than the joint portion between the insulating plate and the shaft [para. 0030: “The connection interfaces 215 may be formed or provided near a center of the ceramic body 205.”].
Regarding claim 19, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Since Raj teaches a multi-zone heating pattern (central zone and annular zones), wherein the secondary ring 265 comprises a second heating pattern, a second resistance section and a second connecting section connected between a second pair of terminals [para. 0036], Raj also suggests a second curve and multiple folded sections of the second resistance section. Specifically, Raj further teaches:
wherein the second central resistance section includes a second curve, the second curve extending from one of the second connecting sections connected to one of the second pair of terminals to a portion that does not extend beyond a folded section closest to the second curve among multiple folded sections of the second resistance section [i.e., the portion of heater coil pattern 200 comprising secondary ring 265 connected to a separate power source than primary ring 260, the necessary connection provided by a second connection interface 215 (the second connection interface comprising a second connecting section and a second pair of terminals), wherein, similar to the primary ring 260, the second resistance section also includes a second curve and multiple folded sections].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raj (US 20190159292 A1) in view of Yamaguchi (US 20020102512 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 1.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the first resistance section comprises multiple arc sections extending in a circumferential direction with respect to a central axis of the insulating plate and the multiple folded sections connecting the multiple arc sections [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A showing outer sector 270, tertiary ring 266, secondary ring 265, and primary ring 260 comprising arc sections extending in a circumferential direction, and multiple folded sections connecting the arc sections].
However, Raj does not disclose:
wherein the first curve of the first central resistance section is disposed to intersect an extension line of an imaginary straight line passing through a space between adjacent folded sections of the multiple folded sections which are spaced apart from each other.
Yamaguchi, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0006: “For example, for an application to heating semiconductor wafers, controlling the temperature throughout the heating surface uniformly is necessary”], teaches a heating element pattern may comprise a curve of a central resistance section [fig. 5: heating element 6B] disposed such that the curve intersects an extension line passing through a space between adjacent folded sections [see annotated fig. 5 below].
(fig. 5, Yamaguchi)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the first heating element pattern of Raj such that a curve of the first central resistance section is instead disposed to intersect an extension line of an imaginary straight line passing through a space between adjacent folded sections of the multiple folded sections, which are spaced apart from each other to achieve the predictable result of uniformly heating the surface of insulating plate, as taught by Yamaguchi.
Regarding claim 3, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 1.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the first resistance section comprises multiple arc sections extending in a circumferential direction with respect to a central axis of the insulating plate and the multiple folded sections connecting the arc sections [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A showing outer sector 270, tertiary ring 266, secondary ring 265, and primary ring 260 comprising arc sections extending in a circumferential direction, and multiple folded sections connecting the arc sections].
However, Raj does not disclose:
wherein the first curve of the first central resistance section is disposed to intersect an extension line of an imaginary straight line extending from the first folded section.
Yamaguchi, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0006: “For example, for an application to heating semiconductor wafers, controlling the temperature throughout the heating surface uniformly is necessary”], teaches a heating element pattern may comprise a curve of a central resistance section [fig. 5: heating element 6B] disposed such that the curve intersects an extension line extending from a folded section closest to the first central resistance section [see annotated fig. 5 below, showing that the curve intersects an extension line extending from all the folded sections].
(fig. 5, Yamaguchi)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the first heating element pattern of Raj such that a curve of the first central resistance section is disposed to intersect an extension line of an imaginary line extending from the folded section closest to the first central resistance section to achieve the predictable result of uniformly heating the surface of insulating plate, as taught by Yamaguchi.
Regarding claim 20, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 1.
Raj further teaches: wherein:
an imaginary straight line divides the region into a left region and a right region that are opposite to each other [see fig. 2A, showing a left region and a right region divided by an imaginary straight vertical line down the middle of pattern 200];
the first curve includes a first left curve disposed in the left region and a first right curve disposed in the right region [see fig. 2A, showing portions of the pattern in left and right regions];
the one of the first pair of terminals is disposed in the right region and the other of the first pair of terminals is disposed in the left region [see fig. 2A, showing the terminals 215 in the left and right regions];
the one of the first connecting sections extends downward from the one of the first pair of terminals and connects the one of the first pair of terminals to one end of the first central resistance section including the first right curve in the right region [see fig. 2A, showing a terminal in the right region, connected to the portion on the right];
the first right curve extends in a counter-clockwise direction from the one of the first connecting sections toward the left region and intersects the imaginary straight line [see fig. 2A, showing the pattern intersect the vertical midline];
the other of the first connecting sections extends downward from the other of the first pair of terminals and connects the other of the first pair of terminals to the other end of the first central resistance section including the first left curve in the left region [see fig. 2A, showing the terminal in the left region connected to the left portion of the pattern]; and
However, Raj does not explicitly disclose:
the first left curve extends from the other of the first connecting sections toward the right region and intersects the imaginary straight line.
Yamaguchi, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0006: “For example, for an application to heating semiconductor wafers, controlling the temperature throughout the heating surface uniformly is necessary”], teaches a heating element pattern may comprise a curve of a central resistance section [fig. 5: heating element 6B] disposed such that the curve intersects an imaginary straight vertical midline [see annotated Yamaguchi fig. 5 above for claim 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the first heating element pattern of Raj such that the first left curve extends from the other of the first connecting sections toward the right region and intersects the imaginary straight line, as suggested by Yamaguchi, since Yamaguchi teaches this would achieve the predictable result of controlling the heating response of the surface of insulating plate.
Claims 9, 11-13, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raj (US 20190159292 A1) in view of Takashima (US 20240274446 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the second resistance section comprises multiple arc sections extending in a circumferential direction with respect to a central axis of the insulating plate and multiple folded sections connecting the multiple arc sections of the second resistance section [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A].
However, Raj does not disclose:
wherein at least one of the first curve of the first central resistance section and a second curve of the second central resistance section is disposed to intersect an extension line of an imaginary straight line passing through a space between adjacent folded sections of the multiple folded sections of the first and second resistance sections, which are spaced apart from each other.
Takashima, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0014: “The present invention relates to a multi-zone heater to heat a semiconductor wafer and is, in particular, directed to an arrangement relationship among components thereof.”], teaches a heating element pattern for a multi-zone heater may comprise a curve of a central resistance section formed such that the curve intersects an extension line passing through a space between adjacent folded sections [see annotated fig. 8 below].
(fig. 8, Takashima)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the heating element pattern of Raj such that at least one of curves of the first central resistance section and the second central resistance section is formed to intersect an extension line of an imaginary straight line passing through a space between adjacent folded sections which are spaced apart from each other, as taught by Takashima, since this allows for maintaining temperature uniformity with terminals arranged in the smaller diameter region [para. 0076: “That is to say, thermal uniformity at the wafer mounting surface 22 is not affected by the first feed terminal 31 and the second feed terminal 32 arranged to be asymmetric, the third feed terminal 43 and the fourth feed terminal 44 arranged to be asymmetric, and therefore the first lead 41 and the second lead 42 arranged to be asymmetric in the range located inside the shaft 50 in plain view as in the multi-zone heater 10C.”].
Regarding claim 11, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the second resistance section comprises multiple arc sections extending in a circumferential direction with respect to a central axis of the insulating plate and multiple folded sections connecting the multiple arc sections of the second resistance section [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A].
However, Raj does not disclose:
wherein at least one of the first curve of the first central resistance section and a second curve of the second central resistance section is disposed to intersect an extension line of an imaginary line extending from a folded section connected to the first central resistance section.
Takashima, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0014: “The present invention relates to a multi-zone heater to heat a semiconductor wafer and is, in particular, directed to an arrangement relationship among components thereof.”], teaches a heating element pattern for a multi-zone heater may comprise a curve of a central resistance section disposed such that the curve intersects an extension line extending from a folded section connected to the first central resistance section [see annotated fig. 8 below].
(fig. 8, Takashima)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the heating element pattern of Raj such that at least one of curves of the first central resistance section and the second central resistance section is disposed to intersect an extension line of an imaginary line extending from a folded section connected to the first central resistance section, as taught by Takashima, since this allows for maintaining temperature uniformity with terminals arranged in the smaller diameter region [para. 0076: “That is to say, thermal uniformity at the wafer mounting surface 22 is not affected by the first feed terminal 31 and the second feed terminal 32 arranged to be asymmetric, the third feed terminal 43 and the fourth feed terminal 44 arranged to be asymmetric, and therefore the first lead 41 and the second lead 42 arranged to be asymmetric in the range located inside the shaft 50 in plain view as in the multi-zone heater 10C.”].
Regarding claim 12, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the second resistance section comprises multiple arc sections extending in a circumferential direction with respect to a central axis of the insulating plate and multiple folded sections connecting the multiple arc sections of the second resistance section [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A].
However, Raj does not disclose:
wherein at least one of the first curve of the first central resistance section and a second curve of the second central resistance section is disposed to intersect an extended line of an imaginary line extending from a folded section connected to the second central resistance section.
Takashima, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0014: “The present invention relates to a multi-zone heater to heat a semiconductor wafer and is, in particular, directed to an arrangement relationship among components thereof.”], teaches a heating element pattern for a multi-zone heater may comprise a curve of a central resistance section disposed such that the curve intersects an extended line from a folded section connected to the second central resistance section [see annotated fig. 8 below].
(fig. 8, Takashima)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the heating element pattern of Raj such that at least one of curves of the first central resistance section and the second central resistance section is disposed to intersect an extended line of an imaginary line extending from a folded section connected to the second central resistance section, as taught by Takashima, since this allows for maintaining temperature uniformity with terminals arranged in the smaller diameter region [para. 0076: “That is to say, thermal uniformity at the wafer mounting surface 22 is not affected by the first feed terminal 31 and the second feed terminal 32 arranged to be asymmetric, the third feed terminal 43 and the fourth feed terminal 44 arranged to be asymmetric, and therefore the first lead 41 and the second lead 42 arranged to be asymmetric in the range located inside the shaft 50 in plain view as in the multi-zone heater 10C.”].
Regarding claim 13, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Raj further teaches:
wherein the second resistance section comprises multiple arc sections extending in a circumferential direction with respect to a central axis of the insulating plate and multiple folded sections connecting the multiple arc sections of the second resistance section [see figs. 2A, 4A, 5A, 6A].
However, Raj does not disclose:
wherein at least one of the first curve of the first central resistance section and a second curve of the second central resistance section is disposed to intersect respective extension lines of imaginary lines extending from folded sections connected to the first central resistance section and the second central resistance section.
Takashima, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0014: “The present invention relates to a multi-zone heater to heat a semiconductor wafer and is, in particular, directed to an arrangement relationship among components thereof.”], teaches a heating element pattern for a multi-zone heater may comprise a curve of a central resistance section disposed such that the curve intersects extension lines extending from folded sections connected to the first central resistance section and the second resistance section [see annotated fig. 8 below].
(fig. 8, Takashima)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the heating element pattern of Raj such that at least one of the curves of the first central resistance section and the second central resistance section is disposed to intersect respective extension lines of imaginary lines extending from folded sections connected to the first central resistance section and the second central resistance section, as taught by Takashima, since this allows for maintaining temperature uniformity with terminals arranged in the smaller diameter region [para. 0076: “That is to say, thermal uniformity at the wafer mounting surface 22 is not affected by the first feed terminal 31 and the second feed terminal 32 arranged to be asymmetric, the third feed terminal 43 and the fourth feed terminal 44 arranged to be asymmetric, and therefore the first lead 41 and the second lead 42 arranged to be asymmetric in the range located inside the shaft 50 in plain view as in the multi-zone heater 10C.”].
Regarding claim 22, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 2.
Raj further teaches: wherein:
the second central resistance section includes a second curve [see fig. 2A, showing a left region and a right region divided by an imaginary straight vertical line down the middle of pattern 200, and showing portions of the pattern in left and right regions];
an imaginary straight line divides the region into a left region and a right region that are opposite to each other [see fig. 2A, showing a left region and a right region divided by an imaginary straight vertical line down the middle of pattern 200];
the first pair of terminals [i.e., the pattern may comprise at least two patterns, each connected to a distinct pair of terminals, e.g., the portion of heater coil pattern 200 comprising secondary ring 265 connected to a separate power source than primary ring 260, the necessary connection provided by a second connection interface 215 (the second connection interface comprising a second connecting section and a second pair of terminals disposed within the smaller diameter region); para. 0030];
the one of the first pair of terminals is connected to the one of the first connecting sections, that is connected to the first central resistance section having the first curve extending in a clockwise direction only in the right region [see fig. 2A];
the one of the second connecting sections extends from the one of the second pair of terminals, and is connected to one end of the second curve of the second central resistance section [i.e., the pattern comprising at least two patterns, each connected to a distinct pair of terminals; para. 0030];
However, Raj does not explicitly disclose:
the first pair of terminals is disposed in the right region and the second pair of terminals is disposed in the left region;
the other of the first pair of terminals is connected to the other of the first connecting sections, that is connected to a radially outermost part of the first resistance section;
one of the second pair of terminals is disposed in the left region and connected to one of the second connecting sections;
the one of the second connecting sections extends from the one of the second pair of terminals, and is connected to one end of the second curve of the second central resistance section in the left region;
the second curve extends in a counter-clockwise direction in the left region from the one of the second connecting sections disposed in the left region;
the other of the second pair of terminals is connected to the other of the second connecting sections, that is connected to a radially outermost part of the second resistance section;
the other of the first connecting sections and the other of the second connecting sections are disposed between the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section and multiple folded sections of the second resistance section; and
the imaginary line separates the first resistance section and the second resistance section, such that the first resistance section is disposed on the right side of the imaginary line and the second resistance section is disposed on the left side of the imaginary line.
Takashima, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0014: “The present invention relates to a multi-zone heater to heat a semiconductor wafer and is, in particular, directed to an arrangement relationship among components thereof.”], teaches a heating element pattern for a multi-zone heater may arrange terminals in left or right regions of the central resistance section [see annotated Takashima fig. 8 above for claim 9], wherein terminals may be connected to a radially outermost part of the pattern [see annotated Takashima fig. 8 above for claim 9, showing, e.g., the lower terminals in the central region connected to an outermost portion of the pattern, via connecting portions located in the space between folded sections], wherein the pattern comprises a left portion that extends in a counter-clockwise direction, and a right portion that extends in a clockwise direction [see annotated Takashima fig. 8 above for claim 9].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the heating element pattern of Raj such that the first pair of terminals is disposed in the right region and the second pair of terminals is disposed in the left region; the other of the first pair of terminals is connected to the other of the first connecting sections, that is connected to a radially outermost part of the first resistance section; one of the second pair of terminals is disposed in the left region and connected to one of the second connecting sections; the one of the second connecting sections extends from the one of the second pair of terminals, and is connected to one end of the second curve of the second central resistance section in the left region; the second curve extends in a counter-clockwise direction in the left region from the one of the second connecting sections disposed in the left region; the other of the second pair of terminals is connected to the other of the second connecting sections, that is connected to a radially outermost part of the second resistance section; the other of the first connecting sections and the other of the second connecting sections are disposed between the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section and multiple folded sections of the second resistance section; and the imaginary line separates the first resistance section and the second resistance section, such that the first resistance section is disposed on the right side of the imaginary line and the second resistance section is disposed on the left side of the imaginary line, as suggested by Takashima, since Takashima teaches this would achieve the predictable result of controlling the heating response of the surface of insulating plate.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Raj (US 20190159292 A1) in view of Takashima (US 20240274446 A1) and Yamaguchi (US 20020102512 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Raj teaches the susceptor of claim 8.
Raj further teaches: wherein:
the second central resistance section includes a second curve [see fig. 2A, showing a left region and a right region divided by an imaginary straight vertical line down the middle of pattern 200, and showing portions of the pattern in left and right regions];
an imaginary straight line divides the region into a left region and a right region that are opposite to each other [see fig. 2A, showing a left region and a right region divided by an imaginary straight vertical line down the middle of pattern 200];
the first pair of terminals [i.e., the pattern may comprise at least two patterns, each connected to a distinct pair of terminals, e.g., the portion of heater coil pattern 200 comprising secondary ring 265 connected to a separate power source than primary ring 260, the necessary connection provided by a second connection interface 215 (the second connection interface comprising a second connecting section and a second pair of terminals disposed within the smaller diameter region); para. 0030];
the one of the first pair of terminals is connected to the one of the first connecting sections, that is connected to the first central resistance section having the first curve extending in a clockwise direction only in the right region [see fig. 2A];
However, Raj does not explicitly disclose:
the first pair of terminals is disposed in the right region and the second pair of terminals is disposed in the left region;
the other of the first pair of terminals is connected to the other of the first connecting sections, that is connected to a radially outermost part of the first resistance section;
one of the second pair of terminals is disposed in the left region and connected to one of the second connecting sections;
the one of the second connecting sections extends from the one of the second pair of terminals toward the right region and intersects the imaginary straight line, and is connected to one end of the second curve of the second central resistance section in the right region;
the second curve extends in a counter-clockwise direction from the one of the second connecting sections disposed in the right region toward the left region and intersects the imaginary straight line;
the other of the second pair of terminals is connected to the other of the second connecting sections, that is connected to a radially outermost part of the second resistance section; and
the other of the first connecting sections and the other of the second connecting sections are disposed between the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section and multiple folded sections of the second resistance section.
Takashima, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0014: “The present invention relates to a multi-zone heater to heat a semiconductor wafer and is, in particular, directed to an arrangement relationship among components thereof.”], teaches a heating element pattern for a multi-zone heater may arrange terminals in left or right regions of the central resistance section [see annotated Takashima fig. 8 above for claim 9], wherein terminals may be connected to a radially outermost part of the pattern [see annotated Takashima fig. 8 above for claim 9, showing, e.g., the lower terminals in the central region connected to an outermost portion of the pattern, via connecting portions located in the space between folded sections], wherein the pattern comprises a left portion that extends in a counter-clockwise direction, and a right portion that extends in a clockwise direction [see annotated Takashima fig. 8 above for claim 9].
Yamaguchi, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0006: “For example, for an application to heating semiconductor wafers, controlling the temperature throughout the heating surface uniformly is necessary”], teaches a heating element pattern may comprise a curve of a central resistance section [fig. 5: heating element 6B] disposed such that the curve intersects an imaginary straight vertical midline [see annotated Yamaguchi fig. 5 above for claim 2].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the heating element pattern of Raj:
such that the first pair of terminals is disposed in the right region and the second pair of terminals is disposed in the left region; the other of the first pair of terminals is connected to the other of the first connecting sections, that is connected to a radially outermost part of the first resistance section; one of the second pair of terminals is disposed in the left region and connected to one of the second connecting sections; the second curve extends in a counter-clockwise direction from the one of the second connecting sections disposed in the right region toward the left region and intersects the imaginary straight line; the other of the second pair of terminals is connected to the other of the second connecting sections, that is connected to a radially outermost part of the second resistance section; and the other of the first connecting sections and the other of the second connecting sections are disposed between the multiple folded sections of the first resistance section and multiple folded sections of the second resistance section, as suggested by Takashima, since Takashima teaches this would achieve the predictable result of controlling the heating response of the surface of insulating plate; and
such that the one of the second connecting sections extends from the one of the second pair of terminals toward the right region and intersects the imaginary straight line, and is connected to one end of the second curve of the second central resistance section in the right region, as suggested by Yamaguchi, since Yamaguchi teaches this would achieve the predictable result of controlling the heating response of the surface of insulating plate.
Conclusion
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761