DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 1/27/2026 was considered and placed on the file of record by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 12, 16, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Svekolkin et al. (US 2021/0279866).
Regarding claim 1, Svekolkin teaches a computer-implemented method for interrogating a biological sample, the computer-implemented method comprising:
capturing one or more images of the biological sample (see para. 0114, 0135, Svekolkin discusses microscope imaging tissue samples);
inputting the one or more images into one or more machine learning models (see para. 0114, 0135, Svekolkin discusses microscope imaging tissue samples);
identifying, in the one or more images of the biological sample, via the one or more machine learning models, a plurality of images of a cell type (see para. 0114, 0135, Svekolkin discusses microscope imaging tissue samples);
selecting, by the one or more machine learning models, a subset of the plurality of images of the cell type for transmission (see figure 1, figure 10, para. 0137, Svekolkin discusses computing device that process the multiple cell groups using one or more trained neural networks to determine the cell types in each cell group);
in response to selecting the subset of the plurality of images of the cell type for transmission, generating, via the one or more machine learning models, one or more composite images, wherein the one or more composite images comprise a representation of at least one characteristic of the subset of the plurality of images of the cell type (see figure 10, para. 0180, 0185, 0202, Svekolkin discusses grouping cells into multiple groups using determined feature values, and combining images with multiple channels of different markers); and
transmitting, to a computing device, the one or more composite images (see figure 1, para. 0143, 0197, Svekolkin discusses computing devices with a graphical user interface to generate images and transmitting the image data to network storage).
Regarding claim 3, Svekolkin teaches wherein capturing one or more images of the biological sample comprises capturing, via a microscopy analyzer, one or more images of the biological sample (see para. 0114, 0135, Svekolkin discusses microscope imaging tissue samples).
Regarding claim 4, Svekolkin teaches wherein transmitting, to a computing device, the one or more composite images comprises transmitting, to a computing device, instructions that cause a graphical user interface of the computing device to display the one or more composite images (see figure 1, para. 0143, Svekolkin discusses computing devices with a graphical user interface to generate images).
Regarding claim 5, Svekolkin teaches wherein identifying, in the one or more images of the biological sample, via the one or more machine learning models, a plurality of images of a cell type further comprises identifying images of a first cell type and images of a second cell type, the computer-implemented method further comprising: selecting a first subset of the images of the first cell type and a second subset of the images of the second cell type for transmission; in response to selecting the first subset of the images and the second subset of the images for transmission, generating, via the one or more machine learning models, a first composite image and a second composite image (see figure 1, para. 0131, 0133, 0162, Svekolkin discusses multiple composite images for different cell markers); and transmitting, to a computing device, the first composite image and the second composite image (see para. 0162, Svekolkin discusses accessing one or more images stored using one or more computer-readable storage devices and/or receiving one or images over at least one communication network).
Regarding claim 6, Svekolkin teaches wherein the biological sample comprises one or more of the following: (i) blood; (ii) urine; (iii) saliva; (iv) ear wax; (v) fine needle aspirates; (vi) lavage fluids; (vii) body cavity fluids; and (viii) fecal matter (see para. 0132, Svekolkin discusses tissue sample can be any biological sample obtained from a subject, including but not limited to blood, one or more fluids, one or more cells, one or more tissues, one or more organs e.g., which can include multiple tissues, and/or any other biological sample from a subject).
Regarding claim 7, Svekolkin teaches wherein the one or more machine learning models comprise one or more of the following: (i) an artificial neural network, (ii) a support vector machine, (iii) a regression tree, or (iv) an ensemble of regression trees (see figure 1, figure 10, para. 0137, Svekolkin discusses computing device that process the multiple cell groups using one or more trained neural networks to determine the cell types in each cell group).
Regarding claim 8, Svekolkin teaches wherein selecting the subset of the images of the cell type comprises identifying clusters of the one or more images that have one or more similar characteristics, the similar characters including at least one of a determined cell size, a determined cell ratio, and a determined intensity of the cells (see figure 10, para. 0180, 0185, 0202, Svekolkin discusses grouping cells into multiple groups using determined feature values, and combining images with multiple channels of different markers).
Regarding claim 12, Svekolkin teaches wherein capturing the one or more images comprises capturing using at least one of a florescent light source and a brightfield light source (see para. 0114, 0135, Svekolkin discusses microscope imaging tissue samples using florescent light source).
Regarding claim 16, Svekolkin teaches wherein training the one or more machine learning models comprises one or more of supervised learning, semi-supervised learning, reinforcement learning, or unsupervised learning (see para. 0156, 0224, Svekolkin discusses unsupervised, semi-supervised, and supervised learning models).
Regarding claim 17, Svekolkin teaches further comprising, transmitting the one or more images to a data storage (see figure 1, para. 0262-0263, Svekolkin discusses transmitting image data to a storage network).
Claim 20 is rejected as applied to claim 1 as pertaining to a corresponding non-transitory, computer-readable medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svekolkin et al. (US 2021/0279866) in view of Praljak et al. (US 2023/0221239).
Regarding claim 2, Svekolkin does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more composite images comprises one or more mosaic images. However, Praljak teaches wherein the one or more composite images comprises one or more mosaic images (see para. 0035, Praljak discusses the images are acquired as a series of mosaic images that are stitched together into a montage image).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Praljak to derive at the invention of claim 2. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Svekolkin in this manner in order to improve analyzing biological samples generating mosaic images. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Svekolkin, while the teaching of Praljak continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of generating mosaic images to improve biological sample analysis. The Svekolkin and Praljak systems perform biological sample analysis, therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination yielding predictable results. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claims 9, 10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svekolkin et al. (US 2021/0279866) in view of Kamath et al. (US 2015/0032671 A9).
Regarding claim 9, Svekolkin does not expressly disclose further comprising: determining, via the one or more machine learning models, a first partial field of view of the biological sample based on a first determined characteristic of the biological sample and a second partial field of view of the biological sample based on a second determined characteristic of the biological, and wherein capturing the one or more images comprises capturing one or more images of the first partial field of view of the biological sample and one or more images of the second partial field of view of the biological sample.
However, Kamath teaches further comprising: determining, via the one or more machine learning models, a first partial field of view of the biological sample based on a first determined characteristic of the biological sample and a second partial field of view of the biological sample based on a second determined characteristic of the biological, and wherein capturing the one or more images comprises capturing one or more images of the first partial field of view of the biological sample and one or more images of the second partial field of view of the biological sample (see para. 0134, Kamath discusses tissue profile data in the data set may include multiplexed biomarker images capturing expression of one or more biomarkers in a plurality of fields-of-view of biological tissue).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Kamath to derive at the invention of claim 9. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Svekolkin in this manner in order to improve analyzing biological samples by capturing multiple fields of views of a biological sample. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Svekolkin, while the teaching of Kamath continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of capturing multiple fields of views of a biological sample to improve biological sample analysis. The Svekolkin and Kamath systems perform biological sample analysis, therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination yielding predictable results. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 10, Kamath teaches wherein generating, via the one or more machine learning models, one or more composite images comprises compiling the one or more images of the first partial field of view of the biological sample and the one or more images of the second partial field of view of the biological sample (see para. 0134, Kamath discusses tissue profile data in the data set may include multiplexed biomarker images capturing expression of one or more biomarkers in a plurality of fields-of-view of biological tissue).
The same motivation of claim 9 is applied to claim 10. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Kamath to derive at the invention of claim 10. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
Regarding claim 13, Svekolkin does not expressly disclose wherein creating the one or more composite images comprises overlaying the one or more images. However, Kamath teaches wherein creating the one or more composite images comprises overlaying the one or more images (see para. 0108, Kamath discusses creating composite image by overlaying multiple images).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Kamath to derive at the invention of claim 13. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Svekolkin, in this manner in order to improve analyzing biological samples by overlaying images of a biological sample. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Svekolkin, while the teaching of Kamath continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of overlaying images of a biological sample to improve biological sample analysis. The Svekolkin and Kamath systems perform biological sample analysis, therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination yielding predictable results. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svekolkin et al. (US 2021/0279866) in view of Rando et al. (US 2022/0237930).
Regarding claim 11, Svekolkin does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more composite images comprise 5×5 cells. However, Rando teaches wherein the one or more composite images comprise 5×5 cells (see figure 7, Rando discusses composite images of 5x5 cells).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Rando to derive at the invention of claim 11. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Svekolkin in this manner in order to improve analyzing biological samples by generating images containing cells of a biological sample. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Svekolkin, while the teaching of Rando continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of generating images with cells of a biological sample to improve biological sample analysis. The Svekolkin and Rando systems perform biological sample analysis, therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination yielding predictable results. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svekolkin et al. (US 2021/0279866) in view of Gluck et al. (US 2023/0011382).
Regarding claim 14, Svekolkin does not expressly disclose wherein capturing the one or more images comprises capturing images at one or more focal setting of an objective lens of a microscopy analyzer. However, Gluck teaches wherein capturing the one or more images comprises capturing images at one or more focal setting of an objective lens of a microscopy analyzer (see para. 0195, Gluck discusses adjusting the depth of focus and focal plane of an objective lens of a microscope).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Gluck to derive at the invention of claim 14. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Svekolkin in this manner in order to improve analyzing biological samples by adjusting focal setting of an objective lens of a microscope. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Svekolkin, while the teaching of Gluck continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of adjusting focal setting of an objective lens of a microscope to improve biological sample analysis. The Svekolkin and Gluck systems perform biological sample analysis, therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination yielding predictable results. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svekolkin et al. (US 2021/0279866) in view of Lorsakul et al. (US 2022/0351379).
Regarding claim 15, Svekolkin does not expressly disclose wherein training the one or more machine learning models comprises, based on inputting one or more training images into the one or more machine learning models: (i) predicting, by the one or more machine learning model, at least one outcome of a determined condition of the one or more training images; (ii) comparing the at least one outcome to the characteristic of the one or more training images; and (iii) adjusting, based on the comparison, the one or more machine learning models.
However, Lorsakul teaches wherein training the one or more machine learning models comprises, based on inputting one or more training images into the one or more machine learning models (see para. 0058, Lorsakul discusses train the prediction models 215 based on training data (e.g., the training input image elements):
(i) predicting, by the one or more machine learning model, at least one outcome of a determined condition of the one or more training images (see para. 0058, Lorsakul discusses measure the difference between the outputs predicted using the prediction models);
(ii) comparing the at least one outcome to the characteristic of the one or more training images (see para. 0058, Lorsakul discusses measure the difference between the outputs predicted using the prediction models and labels contained in the training data); and
(iii) adjusting, based on the comparison, the one or more machine learning models (see para. 0058-0059, Lorsakul discusses the loss function measures the difference between predicted outputs and labeled training data, and parameters are adjusted to optimize the machine learning model).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Lorsakul to derive at the invention of claim 15. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Svekolkin in this manner in order to improve analyzing biological samples by adjusting parameters of a neural network based on an image loss function. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Svekolkin, while the teaching of Lorsakul continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of adjusting parameters of a neural network based on an image loss function to improve biological sample analysis. The Svekolkin and Lorsakul systems perform biological sample analysis, therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination yielding predictable results. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Claims 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Svekolkin et al. (US 2021/0279866) in view of Roh (US 2024/0398479).
Regarding claim 18, Svekolkin does not expressly disclose further comprising, calculating, via the one or more machine learning models, statistical data of the subset of images of the cell type of the biological sample, and transmitting the statistical data.
However, Roh teaches further comprising, calculating, via the one or more machine learning models, statistical data of the subset of images of the cell type of the biological sample, and transmitting the statistical data (see para. 0349-0350, Roh discusses transmitting data to a private cloud, where access is restricted by isolating the network, such as preventing external access, or by using encryption to limit access to only authorized users).
Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Roh to derive at the invention of claim 18. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
The determination of obviousness is predicated upon the following: One skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify Svekolkin in this manner in order to improve analyzing biological samples by transmitting statistical data obtained by a microscope. Furthermore, the prior art collectively includes each element claimed (though not all in the same reference), and one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements in this manner explained using known engineering design, interface and/or programming techniques, without changing a fundamental operating principle of Svekolkin, while the teaching of Roh continues to perform the same function as originally taught prior to being combined, in order to produce the repeatable and predictable result of transmitting statistical data obtained by a microscope to improve biological sample analysis. The Svekolkin and Roh systems perform biological sample analysis, therefore a person having ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success in the combination yielding predictable results. It is for at least the aforementioned reasons that the examiner has reached a conclusion of obviousness with respect to the claim in question.
Regarding claim 19, Roh teaches further comprising, prior to transmitting the one or more composite images and the statistical data, encrypting the one or more composite images and the statistical data (see para. 0253-0254, 0349-0350, 0355, Roh discusses composite images and user statistics stored in a private cloud, where access is restricted by isolating the network, such as preventing external access, or by using encryption to limit access to only authorized users).
The same motivation of claim 18 is applied to claim 19. Motivation to combine may be gleaned from the prior art considered. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Svekolkin with Roh to derive at the invention of claim 19. The result would have been expected, routine, and predictable in order to analyze biological samples.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guetter et al. (US 2020/0320699) discusses a microscope with lens objectives and the images are joined together to form a composite image.
Coskun et al. (US 2024/0069031) discusses composite images from multiple mass channels overlaid.
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the primary examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gregory Morse can be reached on (571) 272-3838. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/Kenny A Cese/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663