DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that upon review, no claim terminology was determined to be of sufficient means plus function nonce/style language so as to invoke 35 USC 112 6th paragraph. Any generic terms appeared to be sufficiently modified by their either prepository terms, modifiers or use in the art to take any generic terms out of potential scope of 112 6th. It is noted that during prosecution the claim language may change and thus there is no final disposition on such interpretation until time as the claims may issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by An (US 2024/0426395);
Claim(s) 3, 4 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Hoang (US 2011/0083746.)
An discloses in claim 1: A valve assembly (299/599 figures 1-6) comprising: a valve (at 250/550-1) that allows liquid to flow (298/598) through a flow bore (of 288) when the valve is open; a hydraulic cylinder (566-1) that is configured to control the valve with a component (gate 267/567-1) that is configured to open and close the valve; a cavity (the gate housing 268/568-1) that is configured to surround an area adjacent to the component (the cavity of the gate housing surrounds the gate); at least one cavity sensor (sensor devices 260 include sensor device at 860-1, 860-2) that is configured to measure a first pressure within the cavity (ph 0054, 0128-0130, where the pressure is the same in the piping and housing 588/568-1 on the upstream side of the gate valve 567-1 and the downstream side is the same as the piping downstream of the gate valve in the piping and housing ); at least one hydraulic cylinder sensor (pressure sensor of 560 ph 0128) that is configured to measure a second pressure within the hydraulic cylinder (the hydraulic fluid pressure in the cylinder 566-1 will be the same as the pressure in the line feeding the cylinder); and a control system (at 225 figure 3 and 418 figure 4) that is configured to analyze the first pressure measurements and the second pressure measurements while the liquid is flowing through the flow bore to determine if the valve assembly is operating properly (ph 0139 to ph 0155 where the pressure are compared to determine if the valve is properly open or closed based on the actual pressure comparison signature to the performance indicators or historical readings.)
An discloses in claim 2: The valve assembly of claim 1 wherein said valve assembly is a gate valve assembly (250/550-1) and the component is a gate assembly (267/567-1 is the gate assembly.)
An discloses in claim 3: The valve assembly of claim 2, but An does not disclose at least one hydraulic load sensor that is configured to measure a load on the gate assembly during operation; although Hoang teaches: at least one of a hydraulic cylinder load sensor (74) configured to measure a first load on the component (the piston stem of the gate valve 30/32/72), with first load readings and changes thereof (74 and see ph 0023, 0029-0031 and figure 6 step 110, all for the purpose of determining the position of the valve via load force for valve signature control from a remote location.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Hoang for that of An, a hydraulic cylinder load sensor which can measure a first load on the component piston stem of the gate valve of An as taught in Hoang, and that can provide first load readings as well as changes thereof as taught in Hoang, all for the purpose of determining the position of the valve via load force for valve signature control from a remote location.
An discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 4: The valve assembly of claim 3 An does not disclose, but Hoang teaches: control system is further configured to analyze the load measurements on the gate assembly (0029-0031 and figure 6 step 110, all for the purposes discussed above as so modified.)
An discloses in claim 5: The valve assembly of claim 1 further comprising a temperature sensor that is configured to measure a temperature related to the valve assembly (260/860-1 per ph 0054, 0128-0130 are arranged to include temperature sensors.)
An discloses in claim 6: The valve assembly of claim 5 wherein the control system is further configured to analyze the temperature measurements in addition to the first pressure readings and second pressure readings (ph 0081 where the control engine 360 will take the pressure and temperature readings and evaluate the subsea valve 250 via the protocol or algorithms as discussed above.)
An discloses in claim 7: The valve assembly of claim 1 wherein the control system is further configured to establish baseline first pressure measurements and baseline second pressure measurements for comparison to subsequent first pressure measurements and second pressure measurements (see ph 0139 to 0141.)
An discloses in claim 8: The valve assembly of claim 7 wherein the control system is further configured to store threshold first pressure measurements and threshold second pressure measurements related to the baseline measurements for comparison with subsequent first pressure measurements and second pressure measurements (as discussed in claim 7, the measurements are saved and compared to each other for evaluation and correction purposes (i.e. threshold limits.))
An discloses in claim 9: A valve assembly (299/599 figures 1-6) comprising: a valve (at 250/550-1) that allows liquid to flow through a flow bore (of 288) when the valve is open; a cavity (the gate housing 268/568-1) that is configured to surround the valve (as shown); a valve sensor (sensor devices 260 include sensor device at 860-2 ph 0054, 0128-0130, where the pressure is the same in the piping and housing 588/568-1 on the upstream side of the gate valve 567-1 and the downstream side is the same as the piping downstream of the gate valve in the piping and housing) that is configured to measure a first pressure of the valve related to the liquid flowing through the valve (as discussed); a cavity sensor (pressure sensor of pressure sensor of 0128) that is configured to measure a second pressure within the cavity (downstream of the valve); and a control system that is configured to analyze the first pressure readings and the second pressure readings while the liquid is flowing through the flow bore to compare changes in the first pressure readings and changes in the second pressure readings (ph 0139 and 0141.)
An discloses in claim 10: The valve assembly of claim 9 wherein said valve assembly is a gate valve assembly (250/550-1 is a gate valve assembly.)
An discloses in claim 11: The valve assembly of claim 10 further comprising a hydraulic cylinder (566-1) that is configured to control the valve with a component (567-1 attached via piston 562-1) that is configured to open and close the valve, and a hydraulic cylinder sensor (560 reads the hydraulic pressure signals for control of the piston) that is configured to measure a third pressure within the hydraulic cylinder (as discussed ph 0139 and 0141.)
An discloses in claim 12: The valve assembly of claim 11 wherein the control system is further configured to analyze the third pressure readings and compare changes in the third pressure readings (as discussed ph 0139 and 0141.)
An discloses in claim 13: The valve assembly of claim 9 wherein the control system is further configured to establish baseline first pressure measurements and baseline second pressure measurements for comparison to subsequent first pressure measurements and second pressure measurements (as discussed ph 0139 and 0141 via the threshold amounts.)
An discloses in claim 14: The valve assembly of claim 13 wherein the control system is further configured to store threshold first pressure measurements and threshold second pressure measurements related to the baseline measurements for comparison with subsequent first pressure measurements and second pressure measurements (as discussed ph 0139 and 0141 via the threshold amounts, the storage in the stored data 334 figure 3.)
An discloses in claim 15: A valve assembly (299/599 figures 1-6) for use in frac operations to deliver fluid to a well site comprising (the preceding statement considered a statement of intended use as the limitations add no meaningful limitation to the body of the claimed apparatus under MPEP 2114, nonetheless the valve assembly is used in geo-steering ph 0025 which is an integral part of frac-ing operations): a valve (299/599 figures 1-6) that allows liquid to flow through a flow bore (of 288) when the valve is open; a hydraulic cylinder (566-1) that is configured to control the valve with a component (gate 267/567-1) that is configured to open and close the valve; a valve sensor (860-2) that is configured to measure a first pressure (upstream pressure) of the valve related to the liquid flowing through the valve; a hydraulic cylinder pressure sensor (560 reads the pressure in the hydraulic cylinder 566-1) that is configured to measure a second pressure within the hydraulic cylinder; and a control system (at 225 figure 3 and 418 figure 4) that is configured to analyze the first pressure readings, the second pressure readings, while the hydraulic cylinder is in operation, wherein the analysis includes comparing changes in the first pressure readings, and the second pressure readings (ph 0139 to ph 0155 where the pressure are compared to determine if the valve is properly open or closed based on the actual pressure comparison signature to the performance indicators or historical readings); An does not disclose: a hydraulic cylinder load sensor configured to measure a first load on the component, with first load readings and changes thereof; but Hoang teaches: a hydraulic cylinder load sensor (74) configured to measure a first load on the component (the piston stem of the gate valve 30/32/72), with first load readings and changes thereof (74 and see ph 0023, 0029-0031 and figure 6 step 110, all for the purpose of determining the position of the valve via load force for valve signature control from a remote location.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide as taught in Hoang for that of An, a hydraulic cylinder load sensor which can measure a first load on the component piston stem of the gate valve of An as taught in Hoang, and that can provide first load readings as well as changes thereof as taught in Hoang, all for the purpose of determining the position of the valve via load force for valve signature control from a remote location.
An discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 16: The valve assembly of claim 15 wherein said valve assembly is a gate valve assembly (250/550-1)and the component is a gate assembly (267/567-1 as discussed above.)
An discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 17: The valve assembly of claim 15 further comprising a temperature sensor that is configured to measure a temperature related to the valve assembly (260/860-1 per ph 0054, 0128-0130 are arranged to include temperature sensors.)
An discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 18: The valve assembly of claim 15 wherein the control system is further configured to analyze the temperature measurements from the temperature sensor in addition to the first pressure readings, second pressure readings, and first load readings (as modified above and including ph 0081 where the control engine 360 will take the pressure and temperature readings and evaluate the subsea valve 250 via the protocol or algorithms as discussed above.)
An discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 19: The valve assembly of claim 15 wherein the control system is further configured to establish baseline first pressure measurements and baseline second pressure measurements for comparison to subsequent first pressure measurements and second pressure measurements (see ph 0139 to 0141.)
An discloses (as modified for the reasons discussed above) in claim 20: The valve assembly of claim 19 wherein the control system is further configured to store threshold first pressure measurements and threshold second pressure measurements related to the baseline measurements for comparison with subsequent first pressure measurements and second pressure measurements (as discussed above, the measurements are saved and compared to each other for evaluation and correction purposes (i.e. threshold limits.))
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753