DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Contini et al (US 2016/0310134), hereinafter Contini, in view of Heinrich et al (US 2005/0131390), hereinafter Heinrich.
Regarding claim 1, Contini discloses a surgical fastener applier (Fig. 1, item 100) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, item 10) containing a compartment (Fig. 3, item 10C)therein;
an elongated member (Fig. 1, item 200) extending distally from the housing;
a jaw assembly (Fig. 1, item 400) including a first jaw (Fig. 53, item 408) and a second jaw (Fig. 53, item 406) at a distal portion of the elongated member (Fig. 53), at least the first jaw movable with respect to the second jaw (Para. 0371) to clamp tissue (Para. 0371) between the first and second jaws (Para. 0371);
a firing mechanism (Fig. 25, item 248) (Fig. 19, item 64A) positioned within the housing (Fig. 19, Fig. 25), the firing mechanism having a longitudinal axis (Fig. 25, firing mechanism 248 has a longitudinal axis) and movable between a first position (Para. 0317) and a second position (Para. 0317), wherein in the second position, the firing mechanism effects firing of fasteners (Para. 0317) into the tissue (Para. 0317) clamped between the first and second jaws (Para. 0317);
a cover (Fig. 6, item 10A) on the housing openable to access the compartment (Para. 0280) within the housing (Para. 0280); and
a power pack (Fig. 3, item 101) removably loadable into the compartment (Para. 0327), the power pack having a motor (Fig. 13, item 152, 154, 156) and an engagement member (Fig. 16, items 152a, 154a, 156a, engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in a transverse direction) extending in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis of the firing mechanism and transverse to a direction of movement of the firing mechanism (Fig. 16, engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in the two claimed directions because engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a is a 3-dimensional component such that engagement member extends in all directions), the engagement member removably engageable with the firing mechanism (Para. 0327) within the compartment (Para. 0327) when the power pack is loaded into the compartment (Para. 0327) to effect movement of the firing mechanism (Para. 0317) from the first position to the second position (Para. 0317).
Contini does not expressly disclose wherein motor actuation is performed via remote robotic control.
However, Heinrich teaches a surgical fastener applier (Heinrich, Fig. 7, item 600, 620, 614) wherein motor actuation is performed via remote robotic control (Heinrich, Fig. 7, item 600, 612) (Heinrich, Para. 0132).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Contini and Heinrich to modify the surgical fastener applier of Contini to include the remote robotic control of Heinrich. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide a system which can deliver and control energy for improved user interfaces and better system integration (Heinrich, Para. 0135).
Regarding claim 2, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, wherein the housing or the cover includes a first seal Para. 0280, housing 10 and cover 10a receive power pack to form a sterile barrier around power pack) to seal about the cover in a closed position of the cover (Para. 0280) to protect the power pack positioned within the housing (Para. 0280).
Regarding claim 3, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, further comprising a second seal (Fig. 3, item 60) to block passage of body fluids (Para. 0301) from the elongated member into the compartment (Para. 0301).
Regarding claim 4, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, wherein the cover is hingedly (Para. 0280) connected to the housing (Para. 0280).
Regarding claim 5, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, wherein the power pack has a housing (Fig. 5, item 101) and one of the housing of the power pack or the compartment has at least one external rib (Fig. 5, handle of 101 is a rib) and the other of the housing of the power pack or the compartment has at least one groove (Fig. 5, compartment 10c is a groove to guide power pack into housing) to receive the rib to guide the power pack within the compartment (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, wherein the power pack includes a second engagement member (Fig. 16, items 152a, 154a, 156a, engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in a transverse direction), the second engagement member extending in a direction transverse to a longitudinal axis of an articulating mechanism and transverse to a direction of movement of the articulating mechanism (Fig. 16, engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in the two claimed directions because engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a is a 3-dimensional component such that engagement member extends in all directions), the second engagement member removably engageable (Para. 0343) with an articulating mechanism (Fig. 26, item 258) in the housing of the surgical fastener applier to effect articulation (Para. 0343) of the first and second jaws from a linear position (Para. 0343) to a position angled with respect to a longitudinal axis (Para. 0343) of the elongated member (Para. 0343).
Regarding claim 7, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 6, wherein the power pack includes a second motor (Fig. 12, items 152, 154, 156) and the second motor effects linear movement (Para. 0343) of the articulation mechanism (Para. 0343).
Contini does not expressly disclose wherein motor actuation is performed via remote robotic control.
However, as combined above, Heinrich teaches a surgical fastener applier (Heinrich, Fig. 7, item 600, 620, 614) wherein motor actuation is performed via remote robotic control (Heinrich, Fig. 7, item 600, 612) (Heinrich, Para. 0132).
Regarding claim 8, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, wherein the firing mechanism includes a firing rod (Fig. 16, item 428), and the engagement member includes a yoke (Fig. 16, item 148) engageable with the firing rod (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 12, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, wherein the firing mechanism fires a plurality of rows (Para. 0374, 0389) of staples into contact with an anvil (Para. 0374, 0389) carried by one of the jaws (Para. 0374, 0389).
Regarding claim 13, Contini discloses a surgical fastener applier (Fig. 1, item 100) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, item 10) containing a compartment (Fig. 3, item 10C)therein;
an elongated member (Fig. 1, item 200) extending distally from the housing;
a jaw assembly (Fig. 1, item 400) including a first jaw (Fig. 53, item 408) and a second jaw (Fig. 53, item 406) at a distal portion of the elongated member (Fig. 53), at least the first jaw movable with respect to the second jaw (Para. 0371);
a jaw clamping mechanism (Fig. 25, item 248) (Fig. 19, item 64A) movable between a first position and second position (Para. 0340) to move at least the first jaw toward the second jaw to clamp tissue between the first and second jaws (Para. 0340);
a firing mechanism (Fig. 25, item 248) (Fig. 19, item 64A) having a longitudinal axis (Fig. 25, firing mechanism 248 has a longitudinal axis) and movable between a first position and a second position (Para. 0317) to fire fasteners into the tissue clamped between the first and second jaws (Para. 0317);
an articulation mechanism (Fig. 25, item 258) (Fig. 19, item 64B) having a longitudinal axis and movable between a first position and a second position (Para. 0336) to articulate the jaw assembly from a linear position to a second position angled with respect to a longitudinal axis of the elongated member (Para. 0336) (Para. 0317);
a cover (Fig. 6, item 10A) on the housing movable from a closed position to an open position to access the compartment (Para. 0280); and
a power pack (Fig. 3, item 101) loadable into the compartment, the power pack having a motor (Fig. 13, item 152, 154, 156) and an engagement member (Fig. 19, item 154A) (Fig. 16, items 152a, 154a, 156a, engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in a transverse direction) extending in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis of the articulating mechanism and transverse to a direction of movement of the articulating mechanism (Fig. 16, engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in the two claimed directions because engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a is a 3-dimensional component such that engagement member extends in all directions), the engagement member engageable with the articulation mechanism within the housing to effect movement of the articulation mechanism from the first position to the second position (Para. 0327).
Contini does not expressly disclose wherein motor actuation and jaw clamping are performed via remote robotic control.
However, Heinrich teaches a surgical fastener applier (Heinrich, Fig. 7, item 600, 620, 614) wherein actuation is performed via remote robotic control (Heinrich, Fig. 7, item 600, 612) (Heinrich, Para. 0132).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Contini and Heinrich to modify the surgical fastener applier of Contini to include the remote robotic control of Heinrich. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide a system which can deliver and control energy for improved user interfaces and better system integration (Heinrich, Para. 0135).
Regarding claim 14, Contini discloses the surgical fastener applier of claim 13, further comprising a handle (Fig. 2, item 14a, 14b) (Fig. 2, item 30) manually movable to move the jaw clamping mechanism to clamp tissue between the first and second jaws (Para. 0320, manually moving switch 30 on handle 14a causes jaw clamping mechanism to close first and second jaws).
Regarding claim 17, Contini discloses a method for powering a surgical stapler, the method comprising:
providing a surgical stapler (Fig. 1, item 100) having a housing (Fig. 1, item 10) containing a compartment (Fig. 3, item 10C) and a cover (Fig. 6, item 10A) movable between a closed position (Para. 0280) and an open position (Para. 0280);
loading a power pack (Fig. 3, item 101) having a transversely extending engagement member (Fig. 16, items 152a, 154a, 156a, engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in a transverse direction) (Fig. 19, item 154A) into the compartment (Para. 0336) when the cover is in the open position (Para. 0336), the engagement member extending in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis of the firing mechanism in the housing and transverse to a direction of movement of the firing mechanism (Fig. 16, engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in the two claimed directions because engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a is a 3-dimensional component such that engagement member extends in all directions), wherein the step of loading the power pack (Para. 0317) releasably engages the engagement member (Para. 0317) with a firing mechanism (Fig. 25, item 248) (Fig. 19, item 64A) (Para. 0317) in the housing (Para. 0327);
closing the cover (Fig. 6, item 10A) (Para. 0336) to seal the compartment from an external environment (Para. 0280) (Para. 0336);
actuating the motor (Fig. 13, item 152, 154, 156) to move a drive mechanism (Para. 0336) linearly to thereby move the firing mechanism (Para. 0336) linearly to advance a plurality of staples (Para. 0336) into body tissue (Para. 0336-0339); and
after advancing the staples, opening the cover (Fig. 6, item 10A) and removing the power pack (Para. 0297) from the compartment (Para. 0297) to release the engagement of the engagement member (Para. 0297) from the firing mechanism (Para. 0297).
Contini does not expressly disclose actuating a motor via remote robotic control.
However, Heinrich teaches a surgical fastener applier (Heinrich, Fig. 7, item 600, 620, 614) actuating a motor via remote robotic control (Heinrich, Fig. 7, item 600, 612) (Heinrich, Para. 0132).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Contini and Heinrich to modify the method of Contini to include the remote robotic control of Heinrich. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to provide a system which can deliver and control energy for improved user interfaces and better system integration (Heinrich, Para. 0135).
Regarding claim 18, Contini discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the surgical stapler has first and second jaws (Fig. 1, item 400) (Fig. 53, item 408) (Fig. 53, item 406) movable from an open position (Para. 0371) to a closed by position (Para. 0371) by manual movement of a handle (Para. 0320, manually moving switch 30 on handle 14a causes jaw clamping mechanism to close first and second jaws).
Regarding claim 19, Contini discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the step of loading the power pack into the compartment releasably engages a second drive mechanism (Fig. 16, items 152a, 154a, 156a) of the power pack with an articulation mechanism (Fig. 26, item 258) in the housing (Para. 0343).
Regarding claim 20, Contini discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the firing mechanism advances through tissue (Para. 0374, 0389) and into contact with an anvil (Para. 0374, 0389) a plurality of rows of staples (Para. 0374, 0389) in a direction transverse to the direction of movement (Para. 0374, 0389) of the firing mechanism (Para. 0374, 0389) into contact with an anvil.
Claims 9-11 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Contini in view of Heinrich further in view of Morgan et al (US 2012/0292367), hereinafter Morgan.
Regarding claim 9, Contini in view of Heinrich is silent about the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, wherein the power pack includes a gear mechanism powered by the motor, wherein rotation of a motor shaft of the motor effects rotation of the gear mechanism which effects linear movement of the firing mechanism of the surgical fastener applier.
However, Morgan teaches a power pack including a gear mechanism (Morgan, Fig. 95, items 3334, 3335, 3337, 3338) powered by the motor (Morgan Fig. 95), wherein rotation of a motor shaft (Morgan, Para. 0361) of the motor effects rotation of the gear mechanism (Morgan, Para. 0361) which effects linear movement (Morgan, Para. 0361) of the firing mechanism of the surgical fastener applier (Morgan, Para. 0361).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Contini, Heinrich, and Morgan to modify the power pack of Contini to include the gear mechanism of Morgan in view of Heinrich. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to increase the efficiency of the power pack.
Regarding claim 10, Contini in view of Heinrich is silent about the surgical fastener applier of claim 1, wherein the power pack includes a drive belt powered by the motor, wherein rotation of a motor shaft of the motor effects rotation of a first disc which moves the drive belt to effect linear movement of the firing mechanism of the surgical fastener applier.
However, Morgan teaches a power pack including a drive belt (Morgan, Fig. 124, item 3934) powered by the motor (Morgan, Para. 0397), wherein rotation of a motor shaft (Morgan, Para. 0397) of the motor (Morgan, Para. 0397) effects rotation of a first disc (Morgan, Fig. 124, item 3960) which moves the drive belt (Morgan, Para. 0397) to effect linear movement of the firing mechanism (Morgan, Para. 0397) of the surgical fastener applier (Morgan, Para. 0397).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Contini, Heinrich, and Morgan to modify the power pack of Contini in view of Heinrich to include the drive belt of Morgan. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to increase the efficiency of the power pack.
Regarding claim 11, Contini in view of Heinrich is silent about the surgical fastener of claim 10, wherein the power pack includes a second disk, the second disk having a first diameter greater than a second diameter of the first disk the second disk movable by the drive belt.
However, as combined above, Morgan teaches a power pack including a second disk (Morgan, Fig. 124, item 3962), the second disk having a first diameter (Morgan, Fig. 124) greater than a second diameter (Morgan, Fig. 124) of the first disk (Morgan, Fig. 124, diameter of second disk 3962 is greater than diameter of first disk 3960) the second disk movable by the drive belt.
Regarding claim 15, Contini in view of Heinrich is silent about the surgical fastener of claim 13, wherein the power pack includes a gear mechanism for moving a drive mechanism linearly to move the articulation mechanism linearly to articulate the jaw assembly.
However, Morgan teaches a power pack including a gear mechanism (Morgan, Fig. 95, items 3334, 3335, 3337, 3338) powered by the motor (Morgan Fig. 95), wherein rotation of a motor shaft (Morgan, Para. 0361) of the motor effects rotation of the gear mechanism (Morgan, Para. 0361) which effects linear movement (Morgan, Para. 0361) of the firing mechanism of the surgical fastener applier (Morgan, Para. 0361).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Contini, Heinrich and Morgan to modify the power pack of Contini in view of Heinrich to include the gear mechanism of Morgan. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to increase the efficiency of the power pack.
Regarding claim 16, Contini in view of Heinrich is silent about the surgical fastener of claim 13, wherein the power pack includes a drive belt for moving a drive mechanism linearly to move the articulation mechanism linearly to articulate the jaw assembly.
However, Morgan teaches a power pack including a drive belt (Morgan, Fig. 124, item 3934) for moving a drive mechanism (Morgan, Para. 0397) linearly to move the articulation mechanism (Morgan, Para. 0397) linearly to articulate the jaw assembly (Morgan, Para. 0397).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Contini, Heinrich and Morgan to modify the power pack of Contini in view of Heinrich to include the drive belt of Morgan. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to increase the efficiency of the power pack.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reason:
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Contini does not teach an engagement member extending in a direction transverse to the longitudinal axis of the firing mechanism and transverse to a direction of movement of the firing mechanism, Examiner disagrees. Because the engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a of Contini is a 3-dimensional object, the engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a has a side extending in all directions, including the direction transverse to the longitudinal axis and transverse to the direction of movement. When looking at Figure 16 of Contini, the engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends radially from the longitudinal axis of the firing member and articulating member, such that the engagement member 152a, 154a, 156a extends in a transverse direction from the longitudinal axis and direction of movement. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731