The claims received 6/24/2026 are entered. Claims 1-52 are cancelled and claims 53-67 are new.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses means or a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the means or generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
“element configured to move the transportation system” (claim 60) includes the generic/nonce term “element” coupled with the function of “move the transportation system”. A return to the specification provides “at least one element (e.g., first and second axles 207,209) each coupled to the frame 203 as well as to one of the pair of wheels 204, and an electrical apparatus in the form of the electric motor 280.” Therefor the limitation is interpreted as the same or equivalents thereof.
Double Patenting
Claims 53-54 and 60-62 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 13-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,405,035. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited patent claim includes all features of the instant claim 52 where the compressor wheel of the cited claim reads on the turbine wheel of the instant claim. Further in regard to instant claim 60, cited claim 13 does not include a blower. However Payne discloses an air conditioning system having a blower (62; shown in figure 2) fluidly coupled to an expander wheel (22) and configured to receive the air from the expander wheel and deliver the air to an environment for air conditioning purposes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the cited patent with the blower of Payne in order to provide “full flow in the duct” (5:2 of Payne). In other words the addition of a blower enhances distribution of the air.
Claims 53-67 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,215,908. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited patent claim includes all features of the instant claim 52. But do not explicitly state “coolant-free” however the claims do not include coolant and thus are coolant free and thus the limitation in the instant claims does not distinguish.
Claims 53-67 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 10, and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,103,354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited patent claim includes all features of the instant claims
Claims 53-54, 56, and 58-60 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5 of copending Application No. 19/269141 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the cited application claim includes all features of the instant claim 52 where the compressor of the cited claim reads on the turbine wheel of the instant claim. Cited claims do not include a blower. However Payne discloses an air conditioning system having a blower (62; shown in figure 2) fluidly coupled to an expander wheel (22) and configured to receive the air from the expander wheel and deliver the air to an environment for air conditioning purposes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the cited patent with the blower of Payne in order to provide “full flow in the duct” (5:2 of Payne). In other words the addition of a blower enhances distribution of the air.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 53-60 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 5,709,103) in view of Payne (US 4,334,411).
Regarding claim 53, Williams discloses an air conditioning system, comprising:
a turboexpander (shown in figure 2), comprising:
a drive shaft (34),
a compressor wheel (5) coupled to the drive shaft and configured to rotate together with the drive shaft to compress air, and
an expander wheel (9) coupled to the drive shaft and configured to rotate together with the compressor wheel (5), the expander wheel being configured to expand the air.
Williams lacks a blower.
Payne discloses an air conditioning system having a blower (62; shown in figure 2) fluidly coupled to an expander wheel (22) and configured to receive the air from the expander wheel and deliver the air to an environment for air conditioning purposes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Williams with the blower of Payne in order to provide “full flow in the duct” (5:2 of Payne). In other words the addition of a blower enhances distribution of the air.
Regarding claim 54, Williams further discloses an air compressor motor (31/33) coupled to the turboexpander and configured to provide a source of kinetic energy to cause the compressor wheel to compress the air.
Regarding claims 55 and 57, Williams, as modified, discloses the air conditioning system according to claim 54, including a generator (7), wherein the drive shaft (34) is coupled to the generator (7), and wherein the expander wheel (9) and the generator (7) are configured to convert the source of kinetic energy and energy in the air flowing into the expander wheel, into mechanical energy of the driveshaft, and then convert the mechanical energy of the drive shaft into electrical energy in the generator (7) and power the compressor (5).
Williams lacks a battery. The examiner takes official notice that batteries for storing electrical energy from a generator are old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Williams with a battery in order to store excess power for later use in the compressor motor.
Regarding claim 56, Williams further discloses the air conditioning system is a coolant-free air conditioning system (there is no liquid coolant in the system of Williams). Coolant is understood in the context of the claim to be a liquid coolant, e.g. water or glycol
Regarding claim 58, Williams discloses a generator (7) coupled to the drive shaft (34) and configured to harness energy from the air.
Regarding claim 59, Williams further discloses the air conditioning system is a coolant-free air conditioning system (there is no liquid coolant in the system of Williams). Coolant is understood in the context of the claim to be a liquid coolant, e.g. water or glycol
Regarding claim 60, Williams discloses a transportation system, comprising:
at least one element (aircraft engine) configured to move the transportation system between an IDLING state corresponding to the transportation system being turned on and not moving, and an OPERATING state corresponding to the transportation system being turned on and moving; and
an air conditioning system coupled to the at least one element, comprising:
a turboexpander (shown in figure 2), comprising:
a drive shaft (34),
a compressor wheel (5) coupled to the drive shaft and configured to rotate together with the drive shaft to compress air, and
an expander wheel (9) coupled to the drive shaft and configured to rotate together with the compressor wheel (5), the expander wheel being configured to expand the air.
Williams lacks a blower.
Payne discloses an air conditioning system having a blower (62; shown in figure 2) fluidly coupled to an expander wheel (22) and configured to receive the air from the expander wheel and deliver the air to an environment for air conditioning purposes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Williams with the blower of Payne in order to provide “full flow in the duct” (5:2 of Payne). In other words the addition of a blower enhances distribution of the air.
Claim(s) 61-67 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US 5,709,103), in view of Payne (US 4,334,411), and in view of Lior (US 2011/0239659).
Regarding claims 61-62, Williams, as modified, discloses the transportation system according to claim 60, but lacks an electric motor, plural axles, and wheels as claimed.
Lior discloses a transportation system (vehicle) comprising:
an electric motor (20); at least one element (4 wheels and 2 axels) coupled to and configured to be driven by the electric motor (20) in order to move the transportation system between an idling state corresponding to the transportation system being turned on and not moving and an operating state corresponding to the transportation system being turned on and moving; and
an air conditioning system (figure 1D; [0136]), comprising:
a battery (18) electrically connected to the electric motor (20) and an air compressor (40 by way of generator/motor 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the system of Williams in a transportation type application in order to increase system utility. It has been held that where there exists an art recognized suitability for an intended purpose that it is obvious to apply the known means to the known purpose. MPEP 2144.07. In this instance Williams provides for an ACM arrangement that provides electricity. Lior evidences that ACM type arrangements are known for use in vehicles. Merely applying the known device of Williams to the known purpose of a transportation system is prima facie obvious yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 63, Williams further discloses the air conditioning system is a coolant-free air conditioning system (there is no liquid coolant in the system of Williams). Coolant is understood in the context of the claim to be a liquid coolant, e.g. water or glycol
Regarding claim 64, Williams further discloses an air compressor motor (31/33) coupled to the turboexpander and configured to provide a source of kinetic energy to cause the compressor wheel to compress the air.
Regarding claims 65, Williams, as modified, discloses the air conditioning system according to claim 54, including a generator (7), wherein the drive shaft (34) is coupled to the generator (7), and wherein the expander wheel (9) and the generator (7) are configured to convert the source of kinetic energy and energy in the air flowing into the expander wheel, into mechanical energy of the driveshaft, and then convert the mechanical energy of the drive shaft into electrical energy in the generator (7) and power the compressor (5).
Williams lacks a battery. Lior as noted above provides a battery 18. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Williams with a battery in order to store excess power for later use in the compressor motor.
Regarding claim 66, Williams further discloses the air conditioning system is a coolant-free air conditioning system (there is no liquid coolant in the system of Williams). Coolant is understood in the context of the claim to be a liquid coolant, e.g. water or glycol
Regarding claim 67, Williams discloses a generator (7) coupled to the drive shaft (34) and configured to harness energy from the air.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/24/2026 have been fully considered. It is agreed that as claim 52 has been cancelled that rejections thereof are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Michalakos et al (US 11,780,590) blower for air distribution; Brutscher (US 7,467,524) air distribution blower.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799