DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Relative to claims 8 and 15, the claim requires 1) determining that a first storage container carried by the carrying device is at the workstation, and 2) carrying another storage container to the place that the first storage container was removed from. The claim also requires carrying the another storage container to the place where the first storage container was removed before determining that the first storage container has been carried to the workstation by the carrying device.
How can the other storage container be moved to where the first storage container was removed before the first storage container is carried by the carrying device if the access or other carrying device moves the another storage container to the original location of the storage container in response to determining that the storage container has been carried to the workstation.
Are containers moved from the workstations to the original storage locations, such as inventory locations? Or, is Applicant referring to other storage containers moving from storage? The claim is ambiguous.
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jarvis et al (US PG. Pub. 2018/0127211). Relative to claims 1 and 5, Jarvis discloses:
claim 1) a warehousing management system (100)(Fig. 1) comprising:
a server (132)(Fig. 1);
one or more access devices (114)(Fig. 1)(Para. 0032), and
one or more carrying devices (AGV, 116)(Fig. 1):
the server (132) is configured to: determine, in response to receiving a task corresponding to an order of an item (Para. 0091), a storage container (702) that contains the item, an inventory container (see “target shelving unit” in storage area, 302) located in an inventory area (“high density storage”, 304)(Fig. 3A) that contains the storage container (Para. 0166),
an access device (114) from the one or more access devices (114) for taking out the storage container (702) from the inventory container (container is removed from shelf on high-density storage area, Para. 0042),
a workstation (pick-cell station, 316, or finalizing area, 314)(Fig. 3A) for processing the storage container (Para. 0041; 0049), and
a carrying device (116) from the one or more carrying devices for carrying the storage container (702)(Fig. 7A) to the workstation (316, 314)(Fig. 3A)(Para. 0041);
send an access instruction to the access device (114) for taking out the storage container (702) from the inventory container (Para. 0069, tasks sent by REX to AGV, 114, to retrieve modular storage unit from target shelf/inventory container; Para. 0033; 0065); and
send a carrying instruction to the carrying device (116) for carrying the storage container (702) to the workstation (314, 316)(Para. 0064);
the access device (114) is configured to:
in response to the access instruction, take out the storage container (702) from the inventory container (Para. 0069, tasks sent by REX to AGV, 114, to retrieve modular storage unit, 702 and the AGV removes the modular unit 702 from storage, Para. 0033; 0065); and
the carrying device (116) is configured to: in response to the carrying instruction, carry the storage container (702) to the workstation (314, 316)(Para. 0064); and
claim 5) the access device (114) comprises a lifting component (808)(Fig. 8) and a telescopic component (see platform, 818 that extends and retracts the carrying surface, 820)(Fig. 8)(Para. 0164), the lifting component (808) of the access device (114) is configured to lift or lower the telescopic component (818, 820) to a height suitable for grasping the storage container (702)(Para. 0168), and the
telescopic component (818, 820) is configured to grasp the storage container (702) and take the storage container (702) out from the inventory container (target shelf in storage, 304)(Para. 0162).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 11-13, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wise et al (US 2017/0336780). Relative to claims 1-2, Wise discloses:
Claim 1) A warehousing management system (order fulfillment system, Para. 0004) comprising:
a server (205)(Para. 0075),
one or more access devices (see mobile actor robots, 410)(Fig. 6A), and
one or more carrying devices (order robots, 210)(Fig. 2A):
the server (205) is configured to:
determine, in response to receiving a task corresponding to an order of an item, a storage container (see Ref. 260)(Fig. 6A) that contains the item (Para. 0033, server locates an order item/storage container in the facility, the item location is the task destination to be travelled to by the robot, the task is to retrieve the item from a location, such as from inventory storage 610, Para. 0053; 0062),
an inventory container (inventory storage, such as Ref. 610, 710)(Fig. 6A-6B, 7A) located in an inventory area that contains the storage container (Para. 0015),
an access device (410)(Fig. 6A-6B) from the one or more access devices (410) for taking out the storage container (260) from the inventory container (610)(Para. 0114-0115)(Fig. 6A-6B),
a workstation (packing station)(Fig. 8A, 8E) for processing the storage container (Para. 0068), and
a carrying device (210)(Fig. 7A) from the one or more carrying devices (210) for carrying the storage container (260) to the workstation (order robots 210 move containers 260 to packing station to process orders; Para. 0068);
send an access instruction to the access device (410) for taking out the storage container (260) from the inventory container (inventory storage 610, 710)(Para. 0053, the task robot is the mobile actor robot 410 that is instructed to pick a container 260 from a location at a destination, such as an inventory storage; Para. 0061-0062); and
send a carrying instruction to the carrying device (210) for carrying the storage container to the workstation (the order robot 210 is the task robot, and order robot receives task to move the storage container 260 to another destination, such as a packing station; Para. 0053; 0068)(Fig. 8A);
the access device (410) is configured to:
in response to the access instruction, take out the storage container (260) from the inventory container (Para. 0064, 0105, 0114); and
the carrying device (210) is configured to:
in response to the carrying instruction, carry the storage container (260) to the workstation (order robots move items to packing station, Para. 0126)(Fig. 8A);
Claim 2) the carrying device (210) is configured to carry the storage container from the access device (410) to the workstation (packing station, mobile actor robot 410 picks item from inventory storage 710, and places onto order robot 210, see Fig. 7A-7B, the order robot drives picked items to packing station, Para. 0119, 0125)(Fig. 8A-8E).
Wise does not expressly disclose:
the storage container contains ordered item(s).
Jarvis teaches: the storage container (see cartons that hold items, see also Ref. 702 holding items) contains ordered item(s)(modular storage units, cartons, Para. 0041), for the purpose of providing an inventory management system that reduces manual labor, is automated, and can effectively accommodate high-volume and high-velocity goods efficiently (Para. 0002-0003, 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wise with the storage container having ordered items as taught in Jarvis, for the purpose of providing an inventory management system that reduces manual labor, is automated, and can effectively accommodate high-volume and high-velocity goods efficiently.
Relative to claims 11-12, the disclosure of Wise includes:
Claim 11) a warehousing management method (Para. 0004) comprising:
determining, in response to receiving a task corresponding to an order of an item,
a storage container that contains the item (Para. 0033, server 205 locates an order item/storage container 260 in the facility, the task destination is the location of the item, robot is tasked to retrieve the item from a location, such as from inventory storage, Para. 0053; 0062),
an inventory container (see inventory storage, 610, 710)(Fig. 6A-6B) located in an inventory area that contains the storage container (Para. 0015),
an access device (410)(Fig. 6A-6B) from the one or more access devices (410) for taking out the storage container (260) from the inventory container (610)(Para. 0114-0115)(Fig. 6A-6B),
a workstation (packing station) for processing the storage container (order items, 260, are processed)(Para. 0068), and
a carrying device (210)(Fig. 7A) from the one or more carrying devices for carrying the storage container (260) to the workstation (order robots move containers 260 to packing station; Para. 0068);
sending an access instruction to the access device (410) for the access device (410) to take out the storage container (260) from the inventory container (610, 710)(Para. 0053, 0061-0062); and
sending a carrying instruction to the carrying device (210) for carrying the storage container to the workstation (the order robot 210 is the task robot, and the task is to move the storage container 260 to a destination, such as the packing station; Para. 0053; 0068);
claim 12) the carrying device (210) is configured to carry the storage container from the access device (410) to the workstation (packing station, mobile actor robot 410 picks item from inventory storage 710, and places onto order robot 210, see Fig. 7A-7B, the order robot drives picked items to packing station, Para. 0119, 0125)(Fig. 8A-8E).
Wise does not expressly disclose: the storage container contains ordered item(s).
Jarvis teaches: the storage container (see cartons that hold items, see also Ref. 702 holding items) contains ordered item(s)(modular storage units, cartons, Para. 0041), for the purpose of providing an inventory management system that reduces manual labor, is automated, and can effectively accommodate high-volume and high-velocity goods efficiently (Para. 0002-0003, 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wise with the storage container having ordered items as taught in Jarvis, for the purpose of providing an inventory management system that reduces manual labor, is automated, and can effectively accommodate high-volume and high-velocity goods efficiently.
Relative to claims 18-19, the disclosure of Wise includes:
Claim 18) A server (205) comprising:
one or more processors (Para. 0023-0024, 0033); and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors and storing programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors to perform operations (included with software, Para. 0024, 0033, comprising:
determining, in response to receiving a task corresponding to an order of an item,
a storage container that contains the item (Para. 0033, server 205 locates an order item/storage container 260 in the facility, the task destination is the location of the item, robot is tasked to retrieve the item from a location, such as from inventory storage, Para. 0053; 0062),
an inventory container (see inventory storage, 610, 710)(Fig. 6A-6B) located in an inventory area that contains the storage container (Para. 0015),
an access device (410)(Fig. 6A-6B) from the one or more access devices (410) for taking out the storage container (260) from the inventory container (610)(Para. 0114-0115)(Fig. 6A-6B),
a workstation (packing station) for processing the storage container (order items, 260, are processed)(Para. 0068), and
a carrying device (210)(Fig. 7A) from the one or more carrying devices for carrying the storage container (260) to the workstation (order robots move containers 260 to packing station; Para. 0068);
sending an access instruction to the access device (410) for the access device (410) to take out the storage container (260) from the inventory container (610, 710)(Para. 0053, 0061-0062); and
sending a carrying instruction to the carrying device (210) for carrying the storage container to the workstation (the order robot 210 is the task robot, and the task is to move the storage container 260 to a destination, such as the packing station; Para. 0053; 0068);
claim 12) the carrying device (210) is configured to carry the storage container from the access device (410) to the workstation (packing station, mobile actor robot 410 picks item from inventory storage 710, and places onto order robot 210, see Fig. 7A-7B, the order robot drives picked items to packing station, Para. 0119, 0125)(Fig. 8A-8E).
Wise does not expressly disclose: the storage container contains ordered item(s).
Jarvis teaches: the storage container (see cartons that hold items, see also Ref. 702 holding items) contains ordered item(s)(modular storage units, cartons, Para. 0041), for the purpose of providing an inventory management system that reduces manual labor, is automated, and can effectively accommodate high-volume and high-velocity goods efficiently (Para. 0002-0003, 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wise with the storage container having ordered items as taught in Jarvis, for the purpose of providing an inventory management system that reduces manual labor, is automated, and can effectively accommodate high-volume and high-velocity goods efficiently.
Relative to claims 3, 13, and 20, Wise in view of Jarvis discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
the server is further configured to determine a temporary container for temporarily holding the storage container, the access device is further configured to place the storage container to the temporary container after taking out the storage container from the inventory container, and the carrying device is further configured to carry the storage container from the temporary container to the workstation; or
determining a temporary container for temporarily holding the storage container,
the access instruction is further configured for the access device to place the storage container to the temporary container after taking out the storage container from the inventory container, and the carrying instruction is further configured for the carrying device to carry the storage container from the temporary container to the workstation.
Wise teaches: moving the items/containers 260 between robots (Para. 0079) and to temporary inventory storage, such as Ref. 610 to optimize picking routes for efficiently fulfilling orders (Para. 0115; 0140).
For instance, a mobile actor robot (410) may pick an item from inventory storage, which may include one or more of one or more of an inventory robot, a box, a bin, a fixed shelf, a non-fixed shelf, a rack, etc. (Para. 0079). In one example, the mobile robot picks an item or container 260 from inventory storage 235 on order robot 210, shown in Fig. 4A-4B)(Para. 0086). After the mobile actor 410 retrieves the item from storage 235, the robot 410 can transport the item (260) to another inventory storage, such as inventory storage 610, to serve as a temporary container (see Para. 0106, 0115)(see Fig. 6A). From there, another mobile actor robot 410 may pick the item from the temporary inventory storage 610 and place the item onto an order holder 210, as shown in Fig. 7A. The loaded order robot 210 may then take the containers 260 to a packing station (Fig. 8A-8E)(Para. 0126; 0068).
Task robots may move order items to and from various locations, such as between inventory storages and to or from other robots within the facility to successfully fulfill orders in an optimal manner (Para. 0140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Wise with determining a temporary container for temporarily holding the storage container, and an access device/task robot moving an item to a temporary container and a carrying device/task robot taking the item from the temporary container to a workstation as described above, based on the needs of the system, to optimize picking routes to efficiently fulfill orders.
Relative to claim 4, Wise in view of Jarvis discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose: the temporary container is located underneath the inventory container or by a side of the inventory container.
Wise in view of Jarvis can be modified to provide the temporary container is located underneath the inventory container or by a side of the inventory container.
For instance, mobile actor robot 410 may be instructed to pick the item/container 260 from order holder/robot (Ref. 282, 210)(Fig. 5A)(Para. 0110). The mobile actor robot 410 may place the picked item onto its actor storage 415, which may serve as the temporary container (Para. 0110)(Fig. 5A). The temporary container 415, is on a side of the inventory container/order storage 282 where the item 260 was retrieved from (see Fig. 5A). After being picked by the mobile actor 410, the mobile actor may transport the ordered item to other inventory storage. Then the item may be picked from the inventory storage and placed onto an order robot 210 before moving to the packing station (Para. 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wise in view of Jarvis with the temporary container is located underneath the inventory container or by a side of the inventory container, based on the needs of the system to minimize travel and fulfill orders optimally. See MPEP §2144.05 (II)(A).
Claim(s) 6-7, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wise in view of Jarvis as applied to claims 1 or 11 above, and further in view of Voorhies (US 2019/0310655).
Relative to claims 6-7 and 14, Wise in view of Jarvis discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
Claim 6) the carrying device is configured to:
in response to the carrying instruction, carry the storage container to a temporary container located in a waiting area proximate to the workstation for queuing; and
the server is further configured to:
in response to an operation instruction, select another carrying device to carry the storage container and send another carrying instruction to the another carrying device to carry the storage container from the temporary container to the workstation;
claim 7) the carrying device is configured to: in response to the carrying instruction, carry the storage container to a waiting area proximate to the workstation for queuing; and
in response to another carrying instruction from the server, carry the storage container from the waiting area to the workstation; or
claim 14) carrying the storage container to the workstation comprises carrying the storage container to a waiting area proximate to the workstation for queuing, and the method further comprises: sending another carrying instruction to the carrying device for carrying the storage container from the waiting area to the workstation.
Voohies teaches:
Claim 6) the carrying device (150)(Fig. 1) is configured to:
in response to the carrying instruction, carry the storage container (tote)(Para. 0048) to a temporary container (pick wall 660)(Fig. 6) located in a waiting area proximate to the workstation (120)(Fig. 6) for queuing (pick wall may be a rack near stations, 120)(Fig. 6)(Para. 0048-0049); and
the server (inherently included in Ref. 104)(Fig. 1) is further configured to:
in response to an operation instruction, select another carrying device (another picking and packing robots, 150, at operating station, 120, perform order aggregation tasks) to carry the storage container and send another carrying instruction to the another carrying device (robot, 150, at station) to carry the storage container (tote) from the temporary container (660) to the workstation (120)(Para. 0026; 0029; 0031, management system, 140, communicates tasks to robots, 150)(Fig. 6);
claim 7) the carrying device (150) is configured to: in response to the carrying instruction (Para. 0031), carry the storage container (tote) to a waiting area (660) proximate to the workstation for queuing (Para. 0048-0049); and
in response to another carrying instruction from the server, carry the storage container (tote) from the waiting area (660) to the workstation (120)(Para. 0026; 0029; 0031); and
claim 14) carrying the storage container to the workstation (120)(Fig. 1, 6) comprises carrying the storage container (tote) to a waiting area (660) proximate to the workstation for queuing (Para. 0048-0049), and the method further comprises: sending another carrying instruction to the carrying device (another picking and packing robot, 150) for carrying the storage container (tote) from the waiting area (660) to the workstation (120)(Para. 0026, 0029, 0031).
Voorhies teaches: the carrying device carrying the storage container to a temporary container in a waiting area proximate to the workstation, carrying the container to a waiting area proximate to the workstation, and selecting another carrying device to carry the storage container from the temporary container to the workstation as mentioned above, for the purpose of providing a system for retrieving items using autonomous robots operating in a common space to complete tasks more efficiently without added resources or physical modification (Para. 0020).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Wise in view of Jarvis with the carrying device carrying the storage container to a temporary container in a waiting area proximate to the workstation, carrying the container to a waiting area proximate to the workstation, and selecting another carrying device to carry the storage container from the temporary container to the workstation mentioned above, as taught in Voorhies for the purpose of providing a system for retrieving items using autonomous robots operating in a common space to complete tasks more efficiently without added resources or physical modification.
Claim(s) 8, 15 (as understood by the Examiner) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wise in view of Jarvis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Durham et al (US 2018/0082162). Relative to claims 8 and 15, Wise in view Jarvis discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
Claim 18) the server is configured to: in response to determining that the storage container is carried by the carrying device to the workstation, send an instruction to the access device or another carrying device to carry another storage container to an original location of the storage container before the storage container is carried by the carrying device; or
Claim 15) in response to determining that the storage container is carried by the carrying device to the workstation, sending an instruction to the access device or another carrying device to carry another storage container to an original location of the storage container before the storage container is carried by the carrying device.
Durham teaches:
Claim 18) the management module (15)(Fig. 2) is configured to:
in response to determining that the storage container (totes or containers)(Fig. 6) is carried by the carrying device (20)(Fig. 2) to the workstation (see pick stations 1095)(Fig. 10), send an instruction to the access device (20) or another carrying device (20) to carry another storage container (tote or container) to an original location (storage racks, 1030) of the storage container before the storage container is carried by the carrying device (Para. 0112; 0109)(Fig. 10); and
Claim 15) in response to determining that the storage container (totes or containers)(Fig. 6) is carried by the carrying device to the workstation (see stations 1095), sending an instruction to the access device (20) or another carrying device (20) to carry another storage container (totes or containers)(Fig. 6) to an original location of the storage container (totes or containers)(Fig. 6) before the storage container is carried by the carrying device (Para. 0112, 0109).
Durham teaches: in response to determining that the storage container is carried by the carrying device to the workstation, send an instruction to the access device or another carrying device to carry another storage container to an original location of the storage container mentioned above, for the purpose of providing a modern inventory system that can perform a large number of diverse, inventory-related tasks efficiently, minimizes manpower, and reduces backlogs (Para. 0001).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Wise in view of Jarvis with sending an instruction to the access device or another carrying device to carry another storage container to an original location of the storage container in response to determining that the storage container is carried by the carrying device to the workstation, as taught in Durham for the purpose of providing a modern inventory system that can perform a large number of diverse, inventory-related tasks efficiently, minimizes manpower, and reduces backlogs.
Claim(s) 9-10, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wise in view of Jarvis as applied to claims 1, 3, 11, and 16 above, and further in view of Sikka et al (US 2020/0034780).
Relative to claims 9-10, and 16-17, Wise in view of Jarvis discloses all claim limitations mentioned above, but does not expressly disclose:
Claims 9, 16) the carrying device is a first carrying device, the access device is a first access device, the inventory container is a first inventory container, the carrying instruction is a first carrying instruction, the access instruction is a first access instruction, and
the server is configured to:
in response to a current task complete instruction, select a second carrying device for carrying the storage container, a second access device for taking over the storage container from the second carrying device, and a second inventory container for storing the storage container;
send a second carrying instruction to the second carrying device to carry the storage container away from the workstation; and
send a second access instruction to the second access device to take over the storage container from the second carrying device and place the storage container to the second inventory container;
Claims 10, 17) wherein the carrying device is a first carrying device, the access
device is a first access device, the inventory container is a first inventory container, the temporary container is a first temporary container, the carrying instruction is a first carrying instruction, the access instruction is a first access instruction, and wherein the server is configured to:
in response to a current task complete instruction, select a second carrying device for carrying the storage container, a second access device for taking out the storage container from a second temporary container, and a second inventory container for storing the storage container;
send a second carrying instruction to the second carrying device to carry the storage container from the workstation to the second temporary container; and
send a second access instruction to the second access device to take out the storage container from the second temporary container and place the storage container to the second inventory container.
Sikka teaches:
Claims 9, 16) the carrying device is a first carrying device (see AGV’s 107), the access device is a first access device (107), the inventory container (storage position 612 in storage aisle) is a first inventory container, the carrying instruction is a first carrying instruction, the access instruction is a first access instruction (AGV’s 107 are instructed to retrieve containers from storage aisles 602, and move containers to pick stations, 510 or other storage areas; Para. 0056) and
the server (see “server” of Ref. 101)(Para. 0024) is configured to:
in response to a current task complete instruction (see once the order fulfillment of the customer orders is completed at the pick station, Para. 0060),
select a second carrying device (107) for carrying the storage container (container)(the second carrying device is an AGV 107, other than a first AGV instructed to take the container to the pick station, 510 the second AGV 107 is instructed to remove a container from the pick station, 510, Para. 0003; 0033),
a second access device (107) for taking over the storage container from the second carrying device (the second access device can be an AGV 107, other than the AGV that moved the container towards a temporary location 640 or other storage location in the facility, the second access device 107 can move the container from the temporary storage or other location to storage aisles 602; Para. 0003; 0033), and
a second inventory container for storing the storage container (the optimal storage location, such as storage position 612 in storage aisles 602 for the container to be transported to is determined by the system, Para. 0005; 0062);
send a second carrying instruction to the second carrying device (AGV, 107) to carry the storage container away from the workstation (picking station 510)(an AGV 107 may be instructed to move a container from the station 510 to another location, Para. 0060, see AGV is instructed to release the container from the picking station 510, Para. 0060); and
send a second access instruction to the second access device (107) to take over the storage container from the second carrying device (107) and place the storage container to the second inventory container (after a container was taken from a pick station and delivered to another location, such as a temporary storage area 640, another AGV 107 may be instructed to take the container from the temporary holding location 640 to a storage position in the storage aisles 602 in the storage area 530; Para. 0057)(Fig. 6A); and
Claims 10, 17) the carrying device (107) is a first carrying device, the access device (107) is a first access device, the inventory container is a first inventory container, the temporary container is a first temporary container, the carrying instruction is a first carrying instruction, the access instruction is a first access instruction (AGV’s 107 are instructed to retrieve containers from storage aisles 602, and move containers to temporary storage areas, pick stations, 510 or other storage areas; Para. 0056), and the server is configured to:
in response to a current task complete instruction (Para. 0060), select a second carrying device (107) for carrying the storage container, a second access device (107) for taking out the storage container from a second temporary container (see storage location in Ref. 640)(Fig. 6A), and a second inventory container for storing the storage container (best storage position for container moved by AGV 107 to storage aisles is determined, Para. 0062);
send a second carrying instruction to the second carrying device (107) to carry the storage container from the workstation (picking station 510) to the second temporary container (an AGV 107 may be instructed to move a container from the station 510 to temporary storage area, 640, Para. 0057, 0060, AGV 107 is instructed to release the container from the picking station 510 to move to another location, Para. 0060, the other location can be a temporary storage area 640, Para. 0057); and
send a second access instruction to the second access device (107) to take out the storage container from the second temporary container and place the storage container to the second inventory container (after a container was taken from pick station to a temporary storage area 640, another AGV 107 may be instructed to take the container from the temporary holding location 640 to a best storage position in the storage aisles 602 in the storage area 530; Para. 0057, 0062)(Fig. 6A).
Sikka teaches: sending carrying instructions to the second carrying device to carry the storage container away from the workstation, and to the second access device to take the storage container from the second carrying device to the second inventory container; and
sending carrying instructions to the second carrying device to carry the storage container away from the workstation to the temporary container, and instructing a second access device to take the storage container from the temporary container to the second inventory container as described above, for the purpose of providing a method for controlling automated guided vehicles and organizing inventory items in a storage facility by determining an appropriate time to release customer orders to be fulfilled at picking stations, thereby improving efficiency in the fulfillment process (Para. 0001-0002).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art on or before the time of the filing to modify the system of Wise in view of Jarvis with the sending carrying instructions to the second carrying device to carry the storage container away from the workstation, and to the second access device to take the storage container from the second carrying device to the second inventory container; and
sending carrying instructions to the second carrying device to carry the storage container away from the workstation to the temporary container, and instructing a second access device to take the storage container from the temporary container to the second inventory container as described above, as taught in Sikka, for the purpose of providing a method for controlling automated guided vehicles and organizing inventory items in a storage facility by determining an appropriate time to release customer orders to be fulfilled at picking stations, thereby improving efficiency in the fulfillment process.
Conclusion
/YOLANDA R CUMBESS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651