DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, Specie iv, Claims 1-6, in the reply filed on 09/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group 2-3 and Species ii-iv, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/11/2026.
The restriction requirement has been made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudo (JP 2019-130695 A) in view of Porcheret et al. (US 2020/0171782 A1) and Meng (CN 207044865 U).
Regarding Claim 1, Sudo teaches a panel (Title) comprising a first skin (Item 1 or 3) and a second skin (Item 1 or 3) each including thermoplastic resin and having a sheet shape (Paragraph 0007, 0049). Sudo teaches an intermediate portion comprises continuous fibers and interposed between the first skin and the second skin. (Paragraph 0007, 0049-0050; Fig. 9).
Sudo teaches the first skin includes a first connection region connected to the intermediate portion and a first non-connection region not connected to the intermediate portion, the second skin includes a second connection region connected to the intermediate portion and a second non-connection region not connected to the intermediate portion, the first connection region and the first non-connection region are arranged alternately in a first direction, and the second connection region and the second non-connection region are arranged alternately in the first direction. (Fig. 1, 2, 4-10; Paragraph 0049-0050).
Sudo does not specifically teach a dimension of the first non-connection region in the first direction can be smaller than a dimension of the second non-connection region in the first direction.
Porcheret teaches a panel comprising two skins with an intermediate portion, have first and second connection regions and first and second non-connection region. (Fig. 1-5; Abstract). Porchert teaches a dimension of the first non-connection region in the first direction is smaller than a dimension of the second non-connection region in the first direction. (Fig. 5; Paragraph 0062). Porchert teaches this difference in dimension between the first and second non-connection region allows for proper distribution of stress. (Paragraph 0060-0062). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have the first non-connection region in the first direction can be smaller than a dimension of the second non-connection region in the first direction in Sudo as taught by Porchert for proper stress distribution within the panel.
Sudo teaches the first skin layer can includes continuous fibers, where the continuous fibers can extend in the first direction. (Paragraph 0016, 0019; Fig. 9).
Sudo does not specifically teach the first skin layer includes a plurality of layers, where an outermost layer of the plurality of the layers of the first skin includes first skin continuous fibers extending in the first direction, where the outermost layer being one of the plurality of layers that is located farthest away from the intermediate portion.
Chen teaches a corrugated panel comprising two skins and an intermediate portion (Fig. 8). Chen teaches having the skins comprise multiple layers (Fig. 8). Chen teaches the first and skins comprising multiple layers, where the outermost layer of the first skin has continuous fibers in a first direction and is located farthest away from the intermediate portion, can strengthen the panel (Paragraph 0052, 0067). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to in Sudo to have the first skin layer includes a plurality of layers, where an outermost layer of the plurality of the layers of the first skin includes first skin continuous fibers extending in the first direction, where the outermost layer being one of the plurality of layers that is located farthest away from the intermediate portion as taught by Chen to strengthen the resulting panel.
Regarding Claim 2, Sudo teaches the first skin is an upper skin above the intermediate portion and the second skin is a lower skin below the intermediate portion. (Fig. 8-9).
Regarding Claim 3, Sudo teaches a dimension of the first connection region in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction is larger than a dimension of the first connection region in the first direction, a dimension of the first non-connection region in the second direction is larger than the dimension of the first non-connection region in the first direction, a dimension of the second connection region in the second direction is larger than a dimension of the second connection region in the first direction, and a dimension of the second non-connection region in the second direction is larger than the dimension of the second non-connection region in the first direction, (Fig. 2-3, 10 of Sudo). Sudo teaches the continuous fibers included in the intermediate portion include first intermediate continuous fibers extending in the first direction. (Paragraph 0043)
Regarding Claim 4, Sudo teaches the continuous fibers include in the intermediate portion further includes second intermediate continuous fibers extending in a direction intersecting the first direction. (Paragraph 0043, 0046) and the first intermediate continuous fibers are in an area of the intermediate portion between the first skin and the second intermediate continuous fibers and adjacent to the first skin. (Paragraph 0046), as Sudo only teaches two finite arrangements, first/second or second/first. Thus, it would have been obvious to try to arrange the fibers in the claimed orientation.
Regarding Claim 5, Chen teaches the first skin includes second skin continuous fibers extending in a direction intersecting the first direction, the first skin continuous fibers are in an area of the first skin located opposite to the intermediate portion and the second skin continuous fibers are between the first skin continuous fibers and the intermediate portion. (Paragraph 0052, 0067; Fig. 8). As discussed above, Chen teaches this increases the strength of panel and would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed skin structure to Sudo
Regarding Claim 6, Sudo teaches the cross-sectional shape of the intermediate portion orthogonal to a second direction perpendicular to the first direction is a corrugated shape. (Fig 8-9).
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781