DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vogel WO_2022133015_A1.
1. Regarding Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, 14, 16, and 18, De Vogel discloses post-consumer sources for its recycled polyolefin (paragraph 0004), such as polyethylene (Claim 4) sourced from waste (corresponds to limitation of instant Claim 6) (paragraphs 0034, 0056) along with the use of a free radical initiator (corresponds to claimed modified) (paragraph 00190). De Vogel discloses that the MFR can be 0.1 g/10 min to 2 g/10 min (paragraph 0085); thereby teaching the limitations of instant Claims 1, 4, 5, and 10. De Vogel discloses that the concentration of said initiator can be 0.1% (paragraph 00184) which falls into the claimed range of instant Claim 1. Also, De Vogel discloses its invention can be used as a shrink film, as being claimed in instant Claim 10, that can be made by a suitable method (paragraph 00217) such as using a mixture via reactive extrusion (paragraph 00256) (corresponds to instant Claims 9 and 16’s method), along with a carrier (corresponds to claimed dosage of instant Claims 18 and 19) (paragraph 00109). Although De Vogel does not disclose the claimed shrinkage of instant Claim 16, it does disclose all of the other claimed compositional, structural, and process claimed limitations of instant Claims 1, 10, and 16. As such, it would be expected for it to inherently possess the same physical properties as the claimed invention, including the claimed shrinkage of instant Claims 14 and 16.
2. Regarding Claim 7, De Vogel discloses that its PE can be greater than 50 wt% LLDPE (paragraph 00138).
3. Regarding Claim 12, De Vogel discloses using virgin polyolefin polymers in less than 40 wt% (paragraph 00219), such as LDPE (paragraph 00224).
4. Regarding Claim 13, De Vogel discloses using fillers (Claim 10).
5. Regarding Claim 15, De Vogel discloses an article having the claimed film (Claim 19).
6. Regarding Claim 17, De Vogel discloses the claimed temperature (paragraph 00107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Vogel WO_2022133015_A1, as applied to Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18.
7. Regarding Claim 2, De Vogel discloses in paragraph 00190 what meets the claimed free-radical initiator of 2,T-azobis(isobutyronitrile).
8. Regarding Claims 8 and 19, although De Vogel does not disclose the claimed concentration, it does state that the amount of initiator added can be used to control the MFR of the final extruded, visbroken recycled polyethylene-rich polyolefin; where higher amounts of initiator tend to lead to higher MFR values (paragraph 00189). Therefore, it would be expected for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to be able to vary the initiator concentration based on the desire for these properties.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Vogel WO_2022133015_A1, as applied to Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18, and in view of Bertin USPA_20030139536_A1.
9. Regarding Claim 3, De Vogel does not disclose the claimed initiator.
10. Bertin discloses polymers with nitroxide functions that exhibit enhanced mechanical properties (Title, Abstract) that can be used as shrink films in packaging (paragraph 0002). Bertin discloses using free radical initiators (Abstract) in PEs (paragraph 0002); such as bis(2,2,6,6-tetramethyl-4-piperidinyloxy)sebacate (paragraph 0145) (corresponds to claimed nitroxide of instant Claim 3).
11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the PE, of De Vogel, by trying the use of nitroxide free radical initiators, of Bertin. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in doing so in order to enhance mechanical properties.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 10, 2026