Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 15, 17, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satish et al. (US 20140128838 A1 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Satish, in view of Williams et al. (US 20130245599 A1 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Williams.
Regarding Claim 1, Satish teaches: A method of estimating blood loss with a system including a receptacle, a vacuum source, a camera, and a display, the method comprising (abstract; paragraph 0067):
continuously capturing images of the receptacle with the camera, wherein the images depict the fluids within the receptacle (paragraph 0027-0030);
evaluating the images to determine estimated blood component quantities in the fluids (paragraph 0019);
continuously monitoring a fluid level of the fluids within the receptacle (paragraph 0035);
updating a determined volume of fluids within the receptacle based on the monitored fluid level (paragraph 0035);
estimating the blood loss based on the evaluated images and the updated volume of fluids, wherein the estimated of blood loss is updated substantially in real-time (paragraph 0054-0055); and
displaying, on the display in real-time, the estimated blood loss (figure 9; paragraph 0054).
While Examiner believes that a vacuum source is implied as Satish mentions the use of a surgical suction canister, Satish does not explicitly mention directing suction from a vacuum source to suction fluid into the receptacle.
Williams teaches that it is well known in the art that a vacuum source is commonly used with a suction canister collect fluid (paragraph 0155). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method of Satish to include directing suction from a vacuum source to suction fluid into the receptacle to efficiently collect lost fluids.
Regarding Claim 2, Satish in view of Williams teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the system further includes a fluid level sensor, wherein the step of continuously monitoring the fluid level is based fluid level signals from the fluid level sensor (paragraph 0035-0037).
Regarding Claim 6, Satish in view of Williams teach: The method of claim 1, further comprising estimating intermittent estimates of blood loss based on the estimated blood component quantities and corresponding intermittent volumes of fluids within the receptacle (figure 9).
Regarding Claim 15, Satish teaches: A method of estimating blood loss with a system including a receptacle, a vacuum source, a camera, and a display, the method comprising (abstract; paragraph 0067):
operating the system in a fill mode in which the receptacle is filled with a flow of fluids from a patient (paragraph 0019-0022);
capturing images of the receptacle with the camera with the system in the fill mode, wherein the images depict the fluids within the receptacle (paragraph 0019);
evaluating the images to update a determined intermittent estimated blood component quantity in the fluids (paragraph 0019);
estimating the blood loss based on the updated estimated blood component quantity and corresponding intermittent volumes of fluid within the receptacle (paragraph 0054-0055); and
displaying, on the display in real-time, the estimated blood loss (figure 9; paragraph 0054).
While Examiner believes that a vacuum source is implied as Satish mentions the use of a surgical suction canister, Satish does not explicitly mention directing suction from a vacuum source to suction fluid into the receptacle.
Williams teaches that it is well known in the art that a vacuum source is commonly used with a suction canister collect fluid (paragraph 0155). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method of Satish to include directing suction from a vacuum source to suction fluid into the receptacle to efficiently collect lost fluids.
Regarding Claim 17, Satish in view of Williams teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the images are captured continuously (paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 18, Satish in view of Williams teach: The method of claim 15, wherein the images are captured at fixed timing increments or fixed volume increments (paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 20, Satish in view of Williams teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the system further includes a fluid level sensor, the method further comprising monitoring the fluid level is based fluid level signals from the fluid level sensor to determine the intermittent volumes of fluid (paragraph 0035-0037).
Claim(s) 7-10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satish in view of Williams, further in view of Satish et al. (US 20130303870 A1 – cited by Applicant), hereinafter Satish’870.
Regarding Claim 7, Satish in view of Williams teach: The method of claim 1, further. While Satish mentions triggering the camera in any suitable way, Satish does not explicitly mention triggering the camera to capture the images based on the monitored fluid level.
Satish’870 teaches triggering the camera to capture the images based on the monitored fluid level (paragraph 0038; trigger image capture once volume threshold is detected). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the method to include triggering the camera to capture the images based on the monitored fluid level in order to preserve/conserve compute resources until actually needed.
Regarding Claim 8, Satish in view of Williams, further in view of Satish’870 teach: The method of claim 7, wherein the camera is triggered to capture the images at one of fixed timing increments, and fixed volume increments (Satish – paragraph 0028).
Regarding Claim 9, Satish teaches: A method of estimating blood loss with a system including a receptacle, a vacuum source, a camera, and a display, the method comprising (abstract; paragraph 0067):
continuously monitoring a fluid level of the fluids within the receptacle (paragraph 0035);
evaluating the images to determine estimated blood component quantities in the fluids (paragraph 0019);
updating a determined volume of fluids within the receptacle based on the monitored fluid level (paragraph 0035);
estimating the blood loss based on the evaluated images and the updated volume of fluids, wherein the estimated blood loss is updated substantially in real-time (paragraph 0054-0055); and
displaying, on the display and in real-time, the estimated blood loss (figure 9; paragraph 0054).
While Examiner believes that a vacuum source is implied as Satish mentions the use of a surgical suction canister, Satish does not explicitly mention directing suction from a vacuum source to suction fluid into the receptacle.
Williams teaches that it is well known in the art that a vacuum source is commonly used with a suction canister collect fluid (paragraph 0155). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method of Satish to include directing suction from a vacuum source to suction fluid into the receptacle to efficiently collect lost fluids.
While Satish mentions triggering the camera in any suitable way, Satish does not explicitly mention triggering based on the receptacle being filled to a first intermediate fluid volume, wherein the images depict the fluids within the receptacle.
Satish’870 teaches triggering the camera to capture the images based on the monitored fluid level (paragraph 0038; trigger image capture once volume threshold is detected). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the method to include triggering the camera to capture the images based on the monitored fluid level in order to preserve/conserve compute resources until actually needed.
Regarding Claim 10, Satish in view of Williams, further in view of Satish’870 teach: The method of claim 9, wherein the system further includes a fluid level sensor, wherein the step of continuously monitoring the fluid level is based fluid level signals from the fluid level sensor (Satish’870 – paragraph 0030).
Regarding Claim 19, Satish in view of Williams teaches: The method of claim 15. While Satish mentions triggering the camera in any suitable way, Satish does not explicitly mention triggering based on the receptacle being filled to a first intermediate fluid volume, wherein the images depict the fluids within the receptacle.
Satish’870 teaches triggering the camera to capture the images based on the monitored fluid level (paragraph 0038; trigger image capture once volume threshold is detected). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have modified the method to include triggering the camera to capture the images based on the monitored fluid level in order to preserve/conserve compute resources until actually needed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12207924. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap in scope with the patented claims, where the differences in scope are obvious variants over one another.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 11-14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: No prior art of record (Satish and Satish’870) teach actuating a valve in response to the fluid level/volume reaching a certain threshold. None of the prior art considered, alone or in combination, teaches that particular feature combined with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
JAY SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JAY B SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791