DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 18-23 and 25-37 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 102(a)(2) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/30/26. More details below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6-8, filed 09/04/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 18 and 31 under 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Peters et al. (US 20120310036 A1).
Double Patenting
Claims 18, 22, 25, 28, 30, and 37 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 7, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11400276 B2 in view of Benkowski et al. (US 5947892 A), hereinafter Benkowski and in further view of Peters et al. (US 20120310036 A1), hereinafter Peters. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference patent are compared in the table below.
Instant Application
US 11400276 B2
Claim 18
Claims 1 and 4
An apparatus for pumping blood, the apparatus comprising: a pump housing having an outer wall radially disposed about a longitudinal pump axis,
1. An apparatus for pumping blood, the apparatus comprising: a pump housing having an outer wall radially disposed about a longitudinal pump axis,
the pump housing having an upstream end and a downstream end and configured to allow blood to flow through the pump housing;
1. the pump housing having an upstream end and a downstream end;
an impeller positioned between the upstream end and the downstream end of the pump housing, said impeller configured to rotate within the pump housing to move blood from the upstream end to the downstream end within the pump housing;
1. an impeller positioned between the blood flow straightener and the diffuser within the pump housing, the impeller including a plurality of impeller blades;
and wherein the impeller includes a plurality of helically wound blades extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller, the plurality of helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller;
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of impeller blades includes a plurality of helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller that is less than a second pitch at a downstream portion of the impeller.
and a pump drive positioned circumferentially about the pump housing and configured to create a magnetic field to cause the impeller to rotate, wherein the pump drive is not in direct contact with the blood flowing through the pump housing.
1. and a pump drive positioned circumferentially about the impeller and configured to impart a rotational motion to the impeller by applying a magnetic field to the impeller; wherein the impeller is supported by an upstream bearing that cooperates with an upstream bearing mount portion of the blood flow straightener and a downstream bearing that cooperates with a downstream bearing mount portion of the diffuser; wherein the outer wall of the pump housing includes an externally threaded portion and a flanqed portion, and wherein a tube stretcher is configured to modify a dimension of the pump housing by being threaded onto the externally threaded portion and abutting the flanged portion
28. The apparatus of claim 18, further comprising: a blood flow straightener having a plurality of fins, said blood flow straightener positioned in the pump housing upstream from the impeller, said blood flow straightener secured to the pump housing by the plurality of fins.
1. a blood flow straightener having a plurality of fins and positioned in the upstream end of the pump housing and secured to the pump housing by the plurality of fins;
22. The apparatus of claim 18, further comprising: a diffuser having a plurality of diffuser fins and positioned in the pump housing downstream from the impeller, said diffuser configured to convert rotational blood flow within the pump housing to axial blood flow.
1. a diffuser having a plurality of diffuser fins and positioned in the downstream end of the pump housing and secured to the pump housing by the plurality of diffuser fins;
25. The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the impeller includes a plurality of impeller blades, and wherein the plurality of impeller blades includes: a plurality of arcuate blades positioned between the plurality of helically wound blades on the downstream portion of the impeller, each arcuate blade extending along the longitudinal pump axis a distance less than a distance that each impeller blade extends along the longitudinal pump axis.
5. The apparatus of claim 4, wherein the plurality of impeller blades further includes a plurality of arcuate blades positioned between the plurality of helically wound blades on the downstream portion of the impeller, each arcuate blade extending along the longitudinal pump axis a distance less than a distance that each impeller blade extends along the longitudinal pump axis.
30. The apparatus of claim 18, further comprising:a power source; and a controller in communication with the power source; wherein the pump drive includes a stator, and wherein the pump drive is electrically connected to the power source and the controller to selectively provide power to the stator.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a power source; and a controller in communication with the power source; wherein the pump drive includes a stator, and wherein the pump drive electrically connected to the power source and the controller to selectively provide power to the stator.
Claim 31
Claim 18
An apparatus for pumping blood, the apparatus comprising: a pump housing radially disposed about a longitudinal pump axis,
An apparatus for pumping blood, the apparatus comprising: a pump housing having an outer wall radially disposed about a longitudinal pump axis,
the pump housing having an upstream end and a downstream end and configured to allow blood to flow through the pump housing;
the pump housing having an upstream end and a downstream end;
an impeller positioned between the upstream end and the downstream end of the pump housing, said impeller configured to rotate with the pump housing to move blood from the upstream end to the downstream end within the pump housing, wherein the impeller includes a magnet; and wherein the impeller includes a plurality of helically wound blades extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller, the plurality of helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller;
an impeller positioned between the blood flow straightener and the diffuser within the pump housing, the impeller including a plurality of impeller blades;
and a pump drive configured to create a magnetic field configured to interact with the magnet to cause the impeller to rotate.
and a pump drive positioned circumferentially about the impeller and configured to impart a rotational motion to the impeller by applying a magnetic field to the impeller; wherein the outer wall of the pump housing includes an externally threaded portion and a flanged portion, and wherein a tube stretcher is configured to modify a dimension of the pump housing by being threaded onto the externally threaded portion and abutting the flanged portion.
37. The apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a blood flow straightener having a plurality of fins, said blood flow straightener positioned in the pump housing upstream from the impeller, said blood flow straightener secured to the pump housing by the plurality of fins.
18. a blood flow straightener having a plurality of fins and positioned in the upstream end of the pump housing and secured to the pump housing; a diffuser having a plurality of diffuser fins and positioned in the downstream end of the pump housing and secured to the pump housing;
Claims 1 and 4 of the reference patent recites all the limitations of claim 18 of the instant application except “impeller configured to rotate within the pump housing to move blood from the upstream end to the downstream end within the pump housing, wherein the pump drive is not in direct contact with the blood flowing through the pump housing” and “such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller”.
However, Benkowski teaches another apparatus comprising an impeller (Fig. 1, element 55 – impeller) configured to rotate within the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 12 - pump housing) to move blood from the upstream end to the downstream end (Fig. 1, element 36 - pump inlet, Fig. 1, element 40 - pump outlet) within the pump housing (abstract (blood flow path… a rotor mounted within the pump housing for rotation in response to the stator magnetic field, the rotor comprising an inducer and an impeller)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the impeller rotate within the pump housing to move blood from upstream to downstream end, as disclosed in Benkowski, within the apparatus of claim 1 of the reference patent. Doing so enables the impeller to rotate to allow the blood to flow throughout the housing.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the pump drive not in direct contact with the blood flowing through the pump housing, as disclosed in Benkowski, within the apparatus of claim 1 of the reference patent. Doing so isolates the pump drive from exposure to the blood flow, preventing possible interferences and damages to the components within the blood housing. Benkowski does not teach such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller.
However, Peters teaches wherein the impeller includes helically wound blades extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller (para. 0014 (blading of the impeller is designed as a spiral (helix). Such a spiral-shaped blading may by single-start or multi-start. Thus, the spiral can comprise one or more, preferably two to six, individual spiral-shaped, i.e. helical, blades (vanes)), 0015 (blade angle, the pitch as well as the lead may vary along the axial extent (length) of the impeller)),
the helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller (para. 0071 (at the upstream-side 9 of the impeller 3, a local pitch of the blading 4 is about 5 mm and a local lead is about 12 mm)) and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller (para. 0071 (the local pitch and the local lead monotonously increase towards the downstream-side 10 of the impeller 3 to a pitch value of about 12 mm and a lead value of about 40 mm at the downstream-side 10 of the impeller 3)).
Benkowski and Peters are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of blood pumps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benkowski’s impeller to incorporate the teachings of Peters listed above and provide a first pitch and a second pitch, wherein the first pitch is less than the second pitch, such that the blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than downstream portion. Doing so allows the transition between the first pitch and second pitch to occur gradually to improve flow performance and decrease turbulence of the blood flow.
Claim 5 recites the same limitations as claim 25 of the instant application.
Claim 7 recites the same limitations as claim 30 of the instant application.
Claim 18 of the reference patent recites all the limitations of claim 31 of the instant application except “said impeller configured to rotate with the pump housing to move blood from the upstream end to the downstream end within the pump housing, wherein the impeller includes a magnet” and “wherein the impeller includes a plurality of helically wound blades extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller, the plurality of helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller”.
However, Benkowski teaches another apparatus comprising an impeller (Fig. 1, element 55 – impeller) configured to rotate within the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 12 - pump housing) to move blood from the upstream end to the downstream end (Fig. 1, element 36 - pump inlet, Fig. 1, element 40 - pump outlet) within the pump housing (abstract (blood flow path… a rotor mounted within the pump housing for rotation in response to the stator magnetic field, the rotor comprising an inducer and an impeller)),
wherein the impeller includes a magnet (Fig. 1, element 82).
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the impeller rotate within the pump housing to move blood from upstream to downstream end, as disclosed in Benkowski, within the apparatus of claim 1 of the reference patent. Doing so enables the impeller to rotate to allow the blood to flow throughout the housing.
It would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have magnet within the impeller, as disclosed in Benkowski, within the apparatus of claim 1 of the reference patent. Doing so would provide a magnetic interaction between the magnet and the magnetic field generated by the pump drive, allowing the impeller to rotate and allow blood to flow through the pump housing.
Benkowski does not teach wherein the impeller includes a plurality of helically wound blades extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller, the plurality of helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller.
However, Peters teaches wherein the impeller includes helically wound blades extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller (para. 0014 (blading of the impeller is designed as a spiral (helix). Such a spiral-shaped blading may by single-start or multi-start. Thus, the spiral can comprise one or more, preferably two to six, individual spiral-shaped, i.e. helical, blades (vanes)), 0015 (blade angle, the pitch as well as the lead may vary along the axial extent (length) of the impeller)),
the helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller (para. 0071 (at the upstream-side 9 of the impeller 3, a local pitch of the blading 4 is about 5 mm and a local lead is about 12 mm)) and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller (para. 0071 (the local pitch and the local lead monotonously increase towards the downstream-side 10 of the impeller 3 to a pitch value of about 12 mm and a lead value of about 40 mm at the downstream-side 10 of the impeller 3)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benkowski’s impeller to incorporate the teachings of Peters listed above and provide a first pitch and a second pitch, wherein the first pitch is less than the second pitch, such that the blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than downstream portion. Doing so allows the transition between the first pitch and second pitch to occur gradually to improve flow performance and decrease turbulence of the blood flow.
Claim 18 of the reference patent recites all the limitations of claim 37 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18, 20, 22-23, 25-31, and 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benkowski et al. (US 5947892 A), hereinafter Benkowski and in view of Peters et al. (US 20120310036 A1), hereinafter Peters.
Regarding claim 18, Benkowski teaches an apparatus for pumping blood (Fig. 1, element 10 – rotary blood pump, col. 1, lines 16-18 (axial-flow rotary blood pump… to assist in pumping blood)), the apparatus comprising:
a pump housing (Fig. 1, element 12 - pump housing) having an outer wall (col. 3, line 24 (outer surface of the pump housing) radially disposed about a longitudinal pump axis,
the pump housing having an upstream end and a downstream end and configured to allow blood to flow through the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 36 - pump inlet, Fig. 1, element 40 - pump outlet);
an impeller positioned between the upstream end and the downstream end of the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 55 – impeller), said impeller configured to rotate within the pump housing to move blood from the upstream end to the downstream end within the pump housing (abstract (blood flow path… a rotor mounted within the pump housing for rotation in response to the stator magnetic field, the rotor comprising an inducer and an impeller));
and wherein the impeller includes a plurality of helically wound blades (Fig. 1, element 54 - impeller blades) extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller (Fig. 1);
a pump drive (Fig. 1, element 80 – stator)positioned circumferentially about the pump housing and configured to create a magnetic field to cause the impeller to rotate (col. 9, lines 45-47 (Stator 80 generates a rotating magnetic field which magnets and thus rotor 46 follow to produce motion), col. 6, lines 39-40 (impeller portion is disposed in the rear part of the rotor)), wherein the pump drive is not in direct contact with the blood flowing through the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 80 – stator [outside pump housing]).
Benkowski does not teach wherein the plurality of helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller.
Peters teaches a blood pump (Fig. 2, element 1 – blood pump);
an impeller (Fig. 2, element 3 – impeller);
an upstream portion (Fig. 2, element 9 – upstream-side);
a downstream portion (Fig. 2, element 10 – downstream-side);
wherein the impeller includes helically wound blades extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller (para. 0014 (blading of the impeller is designed as a spiral (helix). Such a spiral-shaped blading may by single-start or multi-start. Thus, the spiral can comprise one or more, preferably two to six, individual spiral-shaped, i.e. helical, blades (vanes)), 0015 (blade angle, the pitch as well as the lead may vary along the axial extent (length) of the impeller)),
the helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller (para. 0071 (at the upstream-side 9 of the impeller 3, a local pitch of the blading 4 is about 5 mm and a local lead is about 12 mm)) and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller (para. 0071 (the local pitch and the local lead monotonously increase towards the downstream-side 10 of the impeller 3 to a pitch value of about 12 mm and a lead value of about 40 mm at the downstream-side 10 of the impeller 3)).
Benkowski and Peters are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of blood pumps. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benkowski’s helically wound blades to incorporate the teachings of Peters listed above and provide a first pitch and a second pitch, wherein the first pitch is less than the second pitch, such that the blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than downstream portion. Doing so allows the transition between the first pitch and second pitch to occur gradually to improve flow performance and decrease turbulence of the blood flow.
Regarding claim 20, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the impeller includes a magnet (Fig. 1, element 82 – magnets) positioned at a center of the impeller, said magnet configured to couple with the magnetic field (col. 9, lines 45-47 (Stator 80 generates a rotating magnetic field which magnets 82 and thus rotor 46 follow to produce motion)).
Regarding claim 22, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, further comprising: a diffuser (Fig. 1, element 20 – diffuser) having a plurality of diffuser fins (Fig. 1, element 38 – blades) and positioned in the pump housing downstream from the impeller (col. 2, lines 22-23 (diffuser is located within the flow tube downstream of the impeller)), said diffuser configured to convert rotational blood flow within the pump housing to axial blood flow (col. 6, line 14 (redirects the outflow at blood flow path exit axially)).
Regarding claim 23, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 22, wherein the impeller is configured to rotate relative to the diffuser (col. 2, lines 21-22 (diffuser is located within the flow tube downstream of the impeller), col. 6, lines 12-13 (diffuser… de-accelerates and redirects the outflow at blood flow path exit)).
Regarding claim 25, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the impeller further includes:
a plurality of arcuate blades (Fig. 3, element 66 - blade tailing region) positioned between the plurality of helically wound blades on the downstream portion of the impeller, each arcuate blade extending along the longitudinal pump axis a distance less than a distance that each impeller blade extends along the longitudinal pump axis (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 26, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the impeller is supported by an upstream bearing and a downstream bearing (Fig. 1, element 24 - front bearing, Fig. 1, element 42 - rear bearing).
Regarding claim 27, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, further comprising: a front bearing mount positioned in the upstream end of the pump housing and secured to the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 24 - front bearing, col. 5, lines 29-31 (front and rear clamps are used to secure flow straightener… within pump housing), col. 5, lines 42-46 (flow straightener… can provide a support structure for front bearing assembly));
and a rear bearing mount positioned in the downstream end of the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 42- rear bearing) and secured to the pump housing (col. 5, lines 29-31 (front and rear clamps are used to secure… diffuser within pump housing), col. 6, lines 12-16 (diffuser… serves as a support structure for the rear rotor bearing)) wherein the impeller has a plurality of helically wound blades and is positioned between the front bearing mount and the rear bearing mount within the pump housing (Fig. 3, element 70, Fig. 3, element 68).
Regarding claim 28, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, further comprising: a blood flow straightener having a plurality of fins (Fig. 1, element 18 - flow straightener, Fig. 1, element 26 – blades), said blood flow straightener positioned in the pump housing upstream from the impeller (Fig. 1), said blood flow straightener secured to the pump housing by the plurality of fins (col. 5, lines 40-41 (securing the flow straightener... to the housing 12 is by interference fit) col. 5, lines 55-56 (blade is sloped from inner housing wall)).
Regarding claim 29, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 28, wherein the plurality of fins (Fig. 1, element 26 – blades) have a teardrop- shaped cross section with a curved upstream edge and a pointed downstream edge (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 18, further comprising: a power source (col. 10, lines 45-47 (control system and pump can be supplied with power by batteries)); and a controller in communication with the power source (Fig. 5, element 100 - control system); wherein the pump drive includes a stator (Fig. 1, element 80 – stator), and wherein the pump drive is electrically connected to the power source and the controller to selectively provide power to the stator (col. 9, line 45 (control system applies current to stator)).
Regarding claim 31, Benkowski teaches an apparatus for pumping blood (Fig. 1, element 10 – rotary blood pump, col. 1, lines 16-18 (axial-flow rotary blood pump… to assist in pumping blood)), the apparatus comprising:
a pump housing (Fig. 1, element 12 - pump housing) radially disposed about a longitudinal pump axis (col. 2, lines 66-67 (inducer, the impeller, and the diffuser preferably all have a common longitudinal axis [components within the pump housing])), the pump housing having an upstream end and a downstream end and configured to allow blood to flow through the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 36 - pump inlet, Fig. 1, element 40 - pump outlet);
an impeller positioned between the upstream end and the downstream end of the pump housing (Fig. 1, element 55 – impeller), said impeller configured to rotate within the pump housing to move blood from the upstream end to the downstream end within the pump housing (abstract (blood flow path… a rotor mounted within the pump housing for rotation in response to the stator magnetic field, the rotor comprising an inducer and an impeller));
wherein the impeller includes a magnet (Fig. 1, element 82);
and wherein the impeller includes a plurality of helically wound blades (Fig. 1, element 54 - impeller blades) extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller (Fig. 1);
a pump drive configured to create a magnetic field configured to interact with the magnet to cause the impeller to rotate (col. 9, lines 45-47 (Stator 80 generates a rotating magnetic field which magnets and thus rotor 46 follow to produce motion), col. 6, lines 39-40 (impeller portion is disposed in the rear part of the rotor)).
Benkowski does not teach wherein the plurality of helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller.
Peters teaches a blood pump (Fig. 2, element 1 – blood pump);
an impeller (Fig. 2, element 3 – impeller);
an upstream portion (Fig. 2, element 9 – upstream-side);
a downstream portion (Fig. 2, element 10 – downstream-side);
wherein the impeller includes helically wound blades extending along a substantial portion of a length of the impeller (para. 0014 (blading of the impeller is designed as a spiral (helix). Such a spiral-shaped blading may by single-start or multi-start. Thus, the spiral can comprise one or more, preferably two to six, individual spiral-shaped, i.e. helical, blades (vanes)), 0015 (blade angle, the pitch as well as the lead may vary along the axial extent (length) of the impeller)),
the helically wound blades having a first pitch in an upstream portion of the impeller (para. 0071 (at the upstream-side 9 of the impeller 3, a local pitch of the blading 4 is about 5 mm and a local lead is about 12 mm)) and a second pitch in a downstream portion of the impeller, the first pitch being less than the second pitch such that adjacent helical windings of the helically wound blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than in the downstream portion of the impeller (para. 0071 (the local pitch and the local lead monotonously increase towards the downstream-side 10 of the impeller 3 to a pitch value of about 12 mm and a lead value of about 40 mm at the downstream-side 10 of the impeller 3)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benkowski’s helically wound blades to incorporate the teachings of Peters listed above and provide a first pitch and a second pitch, wherein the first pitch is less than the second pitch, such that the blades are more closely spaced in the upstream portion than downstream portion. Doing so allows the transition between the first pitch and second pitch to occur gradually to improve flow performance and decrease turbulence of the blood flow.
Regarding claim 33, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the magnet is positioned at a center of the impeller (Fig. 1, element 82 – magnets).
Regarding claim 34, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a diffuser (Fig. 1, element 20 – diffuser) having a plurality of diffuser fins (Fig. 1, element 38 – blades) and positioned in the pump housing downstream from the impeller (col. 2, lines 22-23 (diffuser is located within the flow tube downstream of the impeller)), said diffuser configured to convert rotational blood flow within the pump housing to axial blood flow (col. 6, line 14 (redirects the outflow at blood flow path exit axially)).
Regarding claim 35, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 34, wherein the impeller is configured to rotate relative to the diffuser (col. 2, lines 21-22 (diffuser is located within the flow tube downstream of the impeller), col. 6, lines 12-13 (diffuser… de-accelerates and redirects the outflow at blood flow path exit)).
Regarding claim 36, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 31, wherein the impeller is supported by an upstream bearing and a downstream bearing (Fig. 1, element 24 - front bearing, Fig. 1, element 42 - rear bearing).
Regarding claim 37, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 31, further comprising: a blood flow straightener having a plurality of fins (Fig. 1, element 18 - flow straightener, Fig. 1, element 26 – blades), said blood flow straightener positioned in the pump housing upstream from the impeller (Fig. 1), said blood flow straightener secured to the pump housing by the plurality of fins (col. 5, lines 40-41 (securing the flow straightener... to the housing 12 is by interference fit) col. 5, lines 55-56 (blade is sloped from inner housing wall)).
Claims 19, 21, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benkowski and in view of Peters and in further view of Bonde et al. (US 20170340789 A1), hereinafter Bonde.
Regarding claim 19, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 18.
Benkowski does not explicitly teach wherein the impeller includes a two-pole magnet configured to couple with the magnetic field.
Bonde teaches wherein an impeller (Fig. 4A, element 404 – impeller) including a two-pole magnet (Fig. 4A, element 410 – magnet, para. 0038 (2-pole magnet)) configured to couple with the magnetic field (para. 0039 (pump operates by the magnetic field coupling of magnets)).
Benkowski, Peters, and Bonde are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of providing ventricular circulation assistance. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benkowski’s magnet to incorporate the teachings of Bonde and provide a two-pole magnet. Benkowski teaches a magnet has multiple magnetic poles, but does not explicitly disclose two poles (col. 7, lines 48-49). Therefore, incorporating the two-pole, as taught by Bonde, would have yielded the predictable result of magnetic operation of the impeller using a common pole configuration.
Regarding claim 21, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 20.
Benkowski does not teach wherein the magnet is rod-shaped and extends axially through the center of the impeller.
Bonde teaches wherein a magnet is rod-shaped (para. 0038 (magnet can have any suitable shape, including…. cylindrical)) and extends axially through the center of the impeller (Fig. 4A, element 404 – impeller).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benkowski’s magnet to incorporate the teachings of Bonde and provide a rod-shaped magnet. Benkowski does not explicitly disclose a rod-shaped magnet, therefore incorporating the shape taught by Bonde would have been a predictable design choice for mounting the magnet within the impeller. Such a modification merely involves the substitution of a known magnet geometry to obtain the expected result of magnetic actuation of the impeller.
Regarding claim 32, Benkowski (in view of Peters) teaches the apparatus of claim 31.
Benkowski does not teach wherein the magnet is a two-pole magnet.
Bonde teaches wherein a magnet is a two-pole magnet (Fig. 4A, element 410 – magnet, para. 0038 (2-pole magnet)).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Benkowski’s magnet to incorporate the teachings of Bonde and provide a two-pole magnet. Benkowski teaches a magnet has multiple magnetic poles, but does not explicitly disclose two poles (col. 7, lines 48-49). Therefore, incorporating the two-pole, as taught by Bonde, would have been an obvious selection from a finite number of known magnetic pole arrangements capable of producing the required magnetic coupling. Such a modification would have yielded the predictable result of magnetic operation of the impeller using a common pole configuration.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EILEEN ROBLES/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796