DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant’s amendment filed on July 27, 2026 in which claims 1, 6 and 7 were amended, has been fully considered and entered, but the arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
REMARKS
The Applicant amended independent claims 1, 6 and 7 to include the language “and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region.”.
During an updated search, the Examiner found a reference that will be used in a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2007/0248244) in view of Bangera et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2011/0276407).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses an information processing device comprising (See Abstract, [0008]): at least one memory configured to store processing instructions (See Sato [0014]); and at least one processor configured to execute the processing instructions (See Sato [0038]-[0039]) to: receive video data in which a monitoring target area is captured (See Sato [0013], [0036]); set a plurality of predetermined regions in the monitoring target area in an image of the received video data (See Sato [0014] “an object processing unit for dividing each image frame of the image data into a plurality of block areas”), each of the predetermined regions being smaller than the monitoring target area (See Sato [0008], [0039] and [0112]); detect a moving object that moves between the predetermined regions (See Sato [0047] “it is determined that a moving object which has been detected five times over a plurality of frames of the inputted image through the image processing”); store object movement information, the object movement information including time information indicating time when the moving object passes through a predetermined region and information indicating the predetermined region through which the moving object passes (See Sato [0014] “a postretrieval processing unit for comparing the metadata for each of the plurality of block areas which is stored in the metadata storage unit with the postretrieval query inputted by the query input unit, and for retrieving an object which satisfies the postretrieval query” [0045] “the traveled distance, and the travel time is held in each element of an information array which corresponds to each of the plurality of block areas..”), associate the object movement information with video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0047] and [0096] “the object processing unit 30 detects each moving object captured in the image, and considers, as an object, a series of appearances of each moving object which can be associated with one another from the continuity in movements”); and output the video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0067] “outputs an object detection event in real time by transmitting it to the display unit 80.” and [0126]).
It is noted that Sato is silent about “and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region”.
However, Bangera teaches receiving video data in which a monitoring target area is captured including and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region (See Bangera [0010]-[0011], [0065], [0074]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sato to incorporate Bangera to teach when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sato is to provide accurate movement of one person or more for monitoring purposes.
As per claim 6, Sato discloses an information processing method performed by an information processing device (See Sato’s Abstract, [0008]), the method comprising: receiving video data in which a monitoring target area is captured (See Sato [0013], [0036]); setting a plurality of predetermined regions in the monitoring target area in an image of the received video data (See Sato [0014] “an object processing unit for dividing each image frame of the image data into a plurality of block areas”), each of the predetermined regions being smaller than the monitoring target area (See Sato [0008], [0039] and [0112]); detecting a moving object that moves between the predetermined regions (See Sato [0047] “it is determined that a moving object which has been detected five times over a plurality of frames of the inputted image through the image processing”); storing object movement information, the object movement information including time information indicating time when the moving object passes through a predetermined region and information indicating the predetermined region through which the moving object passes (See Sato [0014] “a postretrieval processing unit for comparing the metadata for each of the plurality of block areas which is stored in the metadata storage unit with the postretrieval query inputted by the query input unit, and for retrieving an object which satisfies the postretrieval query” [0045] “the traveled distance, and the travel time is held in each element of an information array which corresponds to each of the plurality of block areas..”); associating the object movement information with video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0047] and [0096] “the object processing unit 30 detects each moving object captured in the image, and considers, as an object, a series of appearances of each moving object which can be associated with one another from the continuity in movements”); and output the video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0067] “outputs an object detection event in real time by transmitting it to the display unit 80.” and [0126]).
It is noted that Sato is silent about “and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region”.
However, Bangera teaches receiving video data in which a monitoring target area is captured including and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region (See Bangera [0010]-[0011], [0065], [0074]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sato to incorporate Bangera to teach when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sato is to provide accurate movement of one person or more for monitoring purposes.
As per claim 7, Sato discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon a program comprising instructions for causing an information processing device to execute processing (See Sato [0014], and [0038]) to: receive video data in which a monitoring target area is captured (See Sato [0013], [0036]); set a plurality of predetermined regions in the monitoring target area in an image of the received video data (See Sato [0014] “an object processing unit for dividing each image frame of the image data into a plurality of block areas”), each of the predetermined regions being smaller than the monitoring target area (See Sato [0008], [0039] and [0112]); detect a moving object that moves between the predetermined regions (See Sato [0047] “it is determined that a moving object which has been detected five times over a plurality of frames of the inputted image through the image processing”); store object movement information, the object movement information including time information indicating time when the moving object passes through a predetermined region and information indicating the predetermined region through which the moving object passes (See Sato [0014] “a postretrieval processing unit for comparing the metadata for each of the plurality of block areas which is stored in the metadata storage unit with the postretrieval query inputted by the query input unit, and for retrieving an object which satisfies the postretrieval query” [0045] “the traveled distance, and the travel time is held in each element of an information array which corresponds to each of the plurality of block areas..”); associate the object movement information with video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0047] and [0096] “the object processing unit 30 detects each moving object captured in the image, and considers, as an object, a series of appearances of each moving object which can be associated with one another from the continuity in movements”); and output the video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0067] “outputs an object detection event in real time by transmitting it to the display unit 80.” and [0126]).
It is noted that Sato is silent about “and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region”.
However, Bangera teaches receiving video data in which a monitoring target area is captured including and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region (See Bangera [0010]-[0011], [0065], [0074]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sato to incorporate Bangera to teach when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sato is to provide accurate movement of one person or more for monitoring purposes.
As per claim 2, the combination of Sato and Bangera further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to retrieve object movement information that is identical or similar to a retrieval condition (See Sato [0007], [0084]).
As per claim 3, the combination of Sato and Bangera further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to detect a state of staying in one region a predetermined period of time or more, based on the object movement information (See Sato [0070]).
As per claim 5, the combination of Sato and Bangera further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to, when a plurality of persons are within a predetermined distance, add information representing that the persons are moving together, to respective pieces of the object movement information (See Sato [0049]).
4. Claims 1-3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2007/0248244) in view of Zhang et al. (US Patent Application Publication no. 2013/0243343).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses an information processing device comprising (See Abstract, [0008]): at least one memory configured to store processing instructions (See Sato [0014]); and at least one processor configured to execute the processing instructions (See Sato [0038]-[0039]) to: receive video data in which a monitoring target area is captured (See Sato [0013], [0036]); set a plurality of predetermined regions in the monitoring target area in an image of the received video data (See Sato [0014] “an object processing unit for dividing each image frame of the image data into a plurality of block areas”), each of the predetermined regions being smaller than the monitoring target area (See Sato [0008], [0039] and [0112]); detect a moving object that moves between the predetermined regions (See Sato [0047] “it is determined that a moving object which has been detected five times over a plurality of frames of the inputted image through the image processing”); store object movement information, the object movement information including time information indicating time when the moving object passes through a predetermined region and information indicating the predetermined region through which the moving object passes (See Sato [0014] “a postretrieval processing unit for comparing the metadata for each of the plurality of block areas which is stored in the metadata storage unit with the postretrieval query inputted by the query input unit, and for retrieving an object which satisfies the postretrieval query” [0045] “the traveled distance, and the travel time is held in each element of an information array which corresponds to each of the plurality of block areas..”), associate the object movement information with video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0047] and [0096] “the object processing unit 30 detects each moving object captured in the image, and considers, as an object, a series of appearances of each moving object which can be associated with one another from the continuity in movements”); and output the video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0067] “outputs an object detection event in real time by transmitting it to the display unit 80.” and [0126]).
It is noted that Sato is silent about “and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region”.
However, Zhang teaches receiving video data in which a monitoring target area is captured including and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region (See Zhang Fig. 2, step 203-204, Fig. 6, step 605-606, paragraphs [0103]-[0104] and [0139]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sato to incorporate Zhang to teach when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sato is to provide intelligent video surveillance, such as security squares in cities, the crown control in commercial regions, and the security of railway stations.
As per claim 6, Sato discloses an information processing method performed by an information processing device (See Sato’s Abstract, [0008]), the method comprising: receiving video data in which a monitoring target area is captured (See Sato [0013], [0036]); setting a plurality of predetermined regions in the monitoring target area in an image of the received video data (See Sato [0014] “an object processing unit for dividing each image frame of the image data into a plurality of block areas”), each of the predetermined regions being smaller than the monitoring target area (See Sato [0008], [0039] and [0112]); detecting a moving object that moves between the predetermined regions (See Sato [0047] “it is determined that a moving object which has been detected five times over a plurality of frames of the inputted image through the image processing”); storing object movement information, the object movement information including time information indicating time when the moving object passes through a predetermined region and information indicating the predetermined region through which the moving object passes (See Sato [0014] “a postretrieval processing unit for comparing the metadata for each of the plurality of block areas which is stored in the metadata storage unit with the postretrieval query inputted by the query input unit, and for retrieving an object which satisfies the postretrieval query” [0045] “the traveled distance, and the travel time is held in each element of an information array which corresponds to each of the plurality of block areas..”); associating the object movement information with video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0047] and [0096] “the object processing unit 30 detects each moving object captured in the image, and considers, as an object, a series of appearances of each moving object which can be associated with one another from the continuity in movements”); and output the video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0067] “outputs an object detection event in real time by transmitting it to the display unit 80.” and [0126]).
It is noted that Sato is silent about “and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region”.
However, Zhang teaches receiving video data in which a monitoring target area is captured including and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region (See Zhang Fig. 2, step 203-204, Fig. 6, step 605-606, paragraphs [0103]-[0104] and [0139]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sato to incorporate Zhang to teach when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sato is to provide intelligent video surveillance, such as security squares in cities, the crown control in commercial regions, and the security of railway stations.
As per claim 7, Sato discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing thereon a program comprising instructions for causing an information processing device to execute processing (See Sato [0014], and [0038]) to: receive video data in which a monitoring target area is captured (See Sato [0013], [0036]); set a plurality of predetermined regions in the monitoring target area in an image of the received video data (See Sato [0014] “an object processing unit for dividing each image frame of the image data into a plurality of block areas”), each of the predetermined regions being smaller than the monitoring target area (See Sato [0008], [0039] and [0112]); detect a moving object that moves between the predetermined regions (See Sato [0047] “it is determined that a moving object which has been detected five times over a plurality of frames of the inputted image through the image processing”); store object movement information, the object movement information including time information indicating time when the moving object passes through a predetermined region and information indicating the predetermined region through which the moving object passes (See Sato [0014] “a postretrieval processing unit for comparing the metadata for each of the plurality of block areas which is stored in the metadata storage unit with the postretrieval query inputted by the query input unit, and for retrieving an object which satisfies the postretrieval query” [0045] “the traveled distance, and the travel time is held in each element of an information array which corresponds to each of the plurality of block areas..”); associate the object movement information with video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0047] and [0096] “the object processing unit 30 detects each moving object captured in the image, and considers, as an object, a series of appearances of each moving object which can be associated with one another from the continuity in movements”); and output the video data corresponding to the object movement information (See Sato [0067] “outputs an object detection event in real time by transmitting it to the display unit 80.” and [0126]).
It is noted that Sato is silent about “and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region”.
However, Zhang teaches receiving video data in which a monitoring target area is captured including and when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region (See Zhang Fig. 2, step 203-204, Fig. 6, step 605-606, paragraphs [0103]-[0104] and [0139]).
Therefore, it is considered obvious that one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of modifying Sato to incorporate Zhang to teach when a plurality of persons are detected at a same time in a same region, include, in the object movement information, a state in which the persons are in the same region. The motivation for performing such a modification in Sato is to provide intelligent video surveillance, such as security squares in cities, the crown control in commercial regions, and the security of railway stations.
As per claim 2, the combination of Sato and Zhang further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to retrieve object movement information that is identical or similar to a retrieval condition (See Sato [0007], [0084]).
As per claim 3, the combination of Sato and Zhang further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to detect a state of staying in one region a predetermined period of time or more, based on the object movement information (See Sato [0070]).
As per claim 5, the combination of Sato and Zhang further discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to, when a plurality of persons are within a predetermined distance, add information representing that the persons are moving together, to respective pieces of the object movement information (See Sato [0049]).
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GIMS S PHILIPPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424