DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-039908, filed on 03/14/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Determining Abnormalities in a Power Supply System.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1:
“an output unit that outputs”.
Claim 3:
“a first determination unit that determines”,
“a second determination unit that determines”, and
“the output unit is configured to: output”.
Claim 4:
“an engine control unit that causes”.
Claim 5”
“the engine control unit causes”
The output unit [see Paragraph 0044 – discusses a display]; the first determination unit that determines, the second determination unit that determines, and the engine control unit [see Paragraph 0023 – discusses that the engine control unit includes the first determination unit that determines and the second determination unit that determines, and that the engine control unit is a central processing unit (CPU)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa et al (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0158245 A1) hereinafter Yoshizawa in view of Shiraishi (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0155372 A1) hereinafter Shiraishi further in view of Lee (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0233993 A1) hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Yoshizawa discloses a power supply system mounted on a hybrid electric vehicle [see Figure 16 below - depicts components of a hybrid vehicle], the power supply system comprising:
a direct-current (DC)/DC converter that converts an output voltage of a driving battery of the hybrid electric vehicle and supplies the converted voltage to an auxiliary load [see Figure 16 below - depicts a DC/DC converter 16 that supplies a voltage on load wiring 18b to a load and a battery 14];
Figure 16 of Yoshizawa
an alternator that is driven by an engine of the hybrid electric vehicle to generate electric power and supplies the generated electric power to the auxiliary load [see Figure 16 above - depicts an alternator 2, and see Paragraph 0036 - discusses that the alternator generates power, see Paragraph 0119 - discusses that the alternator generates power for the load]; and
an output unit that outputs a warning about the DC/DC converter see Paragraph 0159 - discusses an output unit 21, see Paragraph 0166 - discusses that an abnormality in the DC converter is detected and outputted using the output unit 21],
wherein the output unit is configured to:
output a first warning that prompts stopping the vehicle when see Paragraph 0166 - discusses that the output is recognized by the driver and the driver stops the vehicle]
Shiraishi discloses a power supply system mounted on a hybrid electric vehicle [see Paragraph 0216 - discusses a hybrid vehicle], the power supply system comprising:
an output unit that outputs a warning about the alternator to an occupant of the hybrid electric vehicle [see Paragraph 0159 - discusses an output unit 21, see Paragraph 0166 - discusses that an abnormality in the DC converter is detected and outputted using the output unit 21], and
wherein the output unit is configured to:
output a first warning that prompts stopping the vehicle when the alternator is abnormal [see Paragraph 0166 - discusses that the output is recognized by the driver and stops the vehicle].
Shiraishi suggests that when an alternator fails, an overcharge condition occurs [see Paragraph 0137], and that battery performance is lost [see Paragraph 0043], and that when battery performance is lost, the power is not supplied to control the brake system, power steering system, and therefore, the vehicle cannot stop safely [see Paragraph 0044].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the output unit as taught by Yoshizawa to include another notification of a warning that prompts stopping the vehicle when the alternator is abnormal as taught by Shiraishi in order to prevent an overcharge condition of the battery and lost battery performance that results in a vehicle unable to stop safely [Shiraishi, see Paragraphs 0043-0044 and 0137].
Further regarding claim 1, the combination of Yoshizawa and Shiraishi fails to disclose outputting a second warning that is different from the first warning when one of the DC/DC converter and the alternator is abnormal.
Lee discloses an output unit configured to:
output a second warning when a DC/DC converter is abnormal [see Paragraph 0046 - discusses determining an increase in impedance of a DC-DC converter and generating a warning, such as a voice warning, and see Paragraph 0021 – discusses that the warning induces a vehicle to visit a maintenance shop].
Lee suggests that when there is an increase in impedance of a DC-DC converter (a fault), warning the driver of the fault allows the driver to receive an accurate repair [see Paragraph 0046]. Lee further suggests that by determining an impedance prevents an erroneous replacement of a battery [see Paragraph 0013].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the output unit as taught by Yoshizawa to include a voice warning (that is different from the first warning) that prompts a repair when the DC/DC converter is abnormal based on impedance as taught by Lee in order to prevent an erroneous replacement of a battery and receive an accurate repair [Lee, see Paragraphs 0013 and 0046].
Regarding claim 2, Yoshizawa, Shiraishi, and Lee discloses the invention with respect to claim 1. Lee further discloses wherein the second warning includes a message that prompts inspecting or repairing the hybrid electric vehicle [see Paragraph 0021 – discusses that the warning provided to a driver to induce (prompt) a hybrid vehicle (see Paragraph 0024) to visit a maintenance shop].
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshizawa in view of Shiraishi in view of Lee in view of Atsushi et al. (JP 2000224709 A) hereinafter Atsushi.
Regarding claim 4, Yoshizawa, Shiraishi, and Lee discloses the invention with respect to claim 1. Yoshizawa further discloses an engine control unit [see Paragraph 0026 – discusses a controlling circuit] and an engine [see Paragraph 0026 – discusses an engine].
However, the combination of Yoshizawa, Shiraishi, and Lee fails to disclose an engine control unit that causes the engine to keep generating a drive force and causes the alternator to generate electric power when the DC/DC converter is abnormal and the alternator is normal, wherein the drive force of the engine is also transmitted to drive wheels.
Atsushi discloses an engine control unit that causes the engine to keep generating a drive force and causes the alternator to generate electric power when the DC/DC converter is abnormal and the alternator is normal, wherein the drive force of the engine is also transmitted to drive wheels [see Paragraph 0021 - discusses that when a DC-DC converter is abnormal, that power generated by the alternator is supplied to allow the vehicle to continue to run, see Paragraph 0009 - discusses that the alternator generates power supply to the engine, and see Paragraph 0022 - discusses that a minimum power supply is secured for traveling of the vehicle when the alternator is supplying power - therefore, when a DC-DC converter is abnormal during travel, an alternator provides power supply to the engine to continue travel and driving force is transmitted to wheels].
Atsushi suggests that when a DC-DC converter fails, that a control of an inverter will not work and the vehicle will run without transmitting drive force [see Paragraph 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the controlling circuit as taught by Yoshizawa to cause the engine to keep generating a drive force and cause the alternator to generate electric power when the DC/DC converter is abnormal and the alternator is normal, wherein the drive force of the engine is also transmitted to drive wheels as taught by Atsushi in order to allow a vehicle to continue driving when a DC-DC converter fails [Atsushi, see Paragraphs 0013 and 0046].
Regarding claim 5, Yoshizawa, Shiraishi, Lee, and Atsushi discloses the invention with respect to claim 1. Atsushi further discloses wherein the engine control unit causes the engine to keep generating a drive force, even if the hybrid electric vehicle is stopped, when the DC/DC converter is abnormal and the alternator is normal [see Paragraphs 0009, and 0021-0022 - discusses that the power generated by the alternator allows the vehicle to continue to travel - therefore, when a vehicle is stopped and the DC-DC converter is abnormal, the alternator still generates power for driving force].
Atsushi suggests that when a DC-DC converter fails, that a control of an inverter will not work and the vehicle will run without transmitting drive force [see Paragraph 0003].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, with a reasonable expectation of success, to modify the controlling circuit as taught by Yoshizawa to cause the engine to keep generating a drive force, even if the hybrid electric vehicle is stopped, when the DC/DC converter is abnormal and the alternator is normal as taught by Atsushi in order to allow a vehicle to continue driving when a DC-DC converter fails [Atsushi, see Paragraphs 0013 and 0046].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Yoshizawa discloses a first determination unit that determines whether the DC/DC converter is abnormal based on information about an operation state of the DC/DC converter [see Paragraph 0165 - discusses that a current/voltage is measured to determine whether the DC converter is abnormal].
Shiraishi discloses a second determination unit that determines whether the alternator is abnormal based on information about an operation state of the alternator [see Paragraph 0137 - discusses that an overcharge of the battery occurs, see Paragraph 0101 - discusses that a current is measured to determine that the alternator fails, and see Paragraph 0165 - discusses measuring that a current is unable to flow (no current) and outputting the warning].
Shiraishi further discloses output the first warning when a current that flows is equal to or greater than a threshold value [see Paragraph 0101 - discusses measuring an overcurrent when a measured current value is a value or more to generate the warning].
Lee discloses output a second warning when a DC/DC converter is abnormal [see Paragraph 0046 - discusses determining an increase in impedance of a DC-DC converter and generating a warning, such as a voice warning, and see Paragraph 0021 – discusses that the warning induces a vehicle to visit a maintenance shop]. The second warning as taught by Lee (prompt driver to repair) is different from the first warning (prompt driver to stop) as taught by Yoshizawa and Shiraishi.
Further, if an abnormality in each of Yoshizawa, Shiraishi, Lee is not triggered, then no warning is output. Therefore, this limitation is taught in each of Yoshizawa, Shiraishi.
However, the combination of Yoshizawa, Shiraishi, Lee, or Atsushi fails to disclose or make obvious these features of claim 3:
“wherein the output unit is configured to:
output the first warning when a current that flows from the auxiliary battery to the auxiliary load is equal to or greater than a threshold value; and
when the current is less than the threshold value, output the first warning if it is determined that both the DC/DC converter and the alternator are abnormal”.
The Examiner further emphasizes the claims as a whole and hereby asserts that the totality of the evidence fails to set forth, either explicitly or implicitly, an appropriate rationale for further modification of the evidence at hand to arrive at the claimed invention. The combination of features as claimed would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as combining various references from the totality of the evidence to reach the combination of features as claimed would require a substantial reconstruction of Applicant’s claimed invention relying on improper hindsight bias. It is thereby asserted by the Examiner that, in light of the above and in further deliberation over all of the evidence at hand, that the claims are allowable as the evidence at hand does not anticipate the claims and does not render obvious any further modification of the references to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Takase et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2024/0308353 A1) hereinafter Takase is directed at determining that an abnormality occurs in a DC/DC converter and a driver is warned to stop a vehicle [see Paragraph 0063].
/SHAYNE M. GILBERTSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3665