DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/24 is in accordance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 13-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0329824) in view of Seregin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,206,864).
In regard to claim 1, Liao teaches a video decoding method (i.e., Figs. 3A and 3B), comprising:
decoding a bitstream (i.e., a decoder can decode video bitstream 228 into video stream 304) (Figs. 3A, 3B; para[0075]) to determine a first-component block corresponding to a current-component block (i.e., a basic processing unit of a color picture can include a luma component (Y) representing achromatic brightness information (e.g., “first-component block”), one or more chroma components (e.g., Cb and Cr) representing color information, and associated syntax elements) (para[0045]);
constructing a candidate combination list based on the first-component block (i.e., a geometric partition index indicating the partition mode of the geometric partition (an angle and offsets) is signaled; then two merge indices (one for each partition) are further signaled)) (para[0093]), wherein the candidate combination list comprises at least one candidate combination, and any one of the at least one candidate combination comprises one weight derivation mode and K prediction modes (i.e., geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is supported for inter prediction; signaled using a CU-level flag as a kind of merge mode, together with other merge modes such as the regular merge mode, the merge mode with motion vector different (MMVD) mode, the combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode, and the subblock merge mode (e.g., “K prediction modes”); blending process with adaptive weights; weights for each part of a geometric partition are derived (note: GPM having its own type of “weight derivation mode”); Liao also discloses AWP, see, for example, para[0102]-[0103]) which has a different method for “weight derivation” using a weight array) (para[0091], [0093], [0098]-[0099]);
determining a first combination according to the candidate combination list, wherein the first combination comprises a first weight derivation mode and K first prediction modes, and K is a positive integer and K> 1 (i.e., geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is supported for inter prediction; signaled using a CU-level flag as a kind of merge mode, together with other merge modes such as the regular merge mode, the merge mode with motion vector different (MMVD) mode, the combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode, and the subblock merge mode (e.g., “K prediction modes” and “K>1”); blending process with adaptive weights; weights for each part of a geometric partition are derived (note: GPM having its own type of “weight derivation mode”); Liao also discloses AWP, see, for example, para[0102]-[0103]) which has a different method for “weight derivation” using a weight array) (para[0091], [0093], [0098]-[0099]); and
…wherein the current-component block comprises a second-component block or a third-component block (i.e., a basic processing unit of a color picture can include a luma component (Y) representing achromatic brightness information, one or more chroma components (e.g., Cb and Cr) (e.g., “second-component block” and “third-component block”) representing color information, and associated syntax elements) (para[0045]).
However, Liao does not explicitly teach predicting the current-component block according to the first weight derivation mode and the K first prediction modes, to obtain a prediction value of the current-component block.
In the same field of endeavor, Seregin teaches predicting the current-component block according to the first weight derivation mode and the K first prediction modes, to obtain a prediction value of the current-component block (i.e., c[x, y] is the set of combination parameters; the value of the weight c[x, y] may be a value between 0 and 1; in certain examples, it may not be practical to have a set of parameters as large as the number of pixels in the block; in such examples c[x, y] may be defined by a much smaller set of parameters, plus an equation to compute all combination values from those parameters; Equation (2); pr [x, y] and qs [x, y] are prediction values computed) (col. 12, line 51-col. 13, line 150).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Liao and Seregin because Seregin teaches computing all combination values for a smaller set of parameters which would improve efficiency of the encoding/decoding as taught by Liao (See, for example, col. 12, line 62-col. 13, line 150 of Seregin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Liao with those of Seregin.
In regard to claim 2, Liao and Seregin teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Liao teaches wherein the candidate combination list comprises one candidate combination, and determining the first combination according to the candidate combination list comprises:
determining the candidate combination in the candidate combination list as the first combination (i.e., geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is supported for inter prediction; signaled using a CU-level flag as a kind of merge mode, together with other merge modes such as the regular merge mode, the merge mode with motion vector different (MMVD) mode, the combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode, and the subblock merge mode (e.g., “K prediction modes” and “K>1”); blending process with adaptive weights; weights for each part of a geometric partition are derived (note: GPM having its own type of “weight derivation mode”); Examiner note: if only one item is on a list, then that item is, by default, the first item) (para[0091], [0093], [0098]-[0099]).
In regard to claim 3, Liao and Seregin teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Liao teaches wherein the candidate combination list comprises a plurality of candidate combinations (i.e., geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is supported for inter prediction; signaled using a CU-level flag as a kind of merge mode, together with other merge modes such as the regular merge mode, the merge mode with motion vector different (MMVD) mode, the combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode, and the subblock merge mode (e.g., “K prediction modes” and “K>1”); blending process with adaptive weights; weights for each part of a geometric partition are derived (note: GPM having its own type of “weight derivation mode”); Liao also discloses AWP, see, for example, para[0102]-[0103]) which has a different method for “weight derivation” using a weight array) (para[0091], [0093], [0098]-[0099]), and determining the first combination according to the candidate combination list comprises:
decoding the bitstream to obtain a first index, wherein the first index indicates the first combination (i.e., prediction data 206 decoded from binary decoding stage 302 by the decoder can include various types of data, depending on what prediction mode was used to encode the current BPU by the encoder; for example, if intra prediction was used by the encoder to encode the current BPU, prediction data 206 can include a prediction mode indicator (e.g., a flag value) indicative of the intra prediction, parameters of the intra prediction operation, or the like; for another example, if inter prediction was used by the encoder to encode the current BPU, prediction data 206 can include a prediction mode indicator (e.g., a flag value) indicative of the inter prediction, parameters of the inter prediction operation, or the like; the parameters of the inter prediction operation can include, for example, the number of reference pictures associated with the current BPU, weights respectively associated with the reference pictures) (para[0080]); and
determining a candidate combination corresponding to the first index in the candidate combination list as the first combination (i.e., based on the prediction mode indicator, the decoder can decide whether to perform a spatial prediction (e.g., the intra prediction) at spatial prediction stage 2042 or a temporal prediction (e.g., the inter prediction) at temporal prediction stage 2044; for example, if the current BPU is decoded using the intra prediction at spatial prediction stage 2042, after generating prediction reference 224 (e.g., the decoded current BPU), the decoder can directly feed prediction reference 224 to spatial prediction stage 2042 for later usage (e.g., for extrapolation of a next BPU of the current picture); if the current BPU is decoded using the inter prediction at temporal prediction stage 2044, after generating prediction reference 224 (e.g., a reference picture in which all BPUs have been decoded), the decoder can feed prediction reference 224 to loop filter stage 232 to reduce or eliminate distortion (e.g., blocking artifacts); note: decoder applies the decoded prediction modes to the data) (para[0081]-[0082])).
In regard to claim 4, Liao and Seregin teach all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Liao teaches wherein the first-component block is a first-component block in a current picture which is in a same space as the current-component block (i.e., for example, a basic processing unit of a color picture can include a luma component (Y) representing achromatic brightness information, one or more chroma components (e.g., Cb and Cr) representing color information, and associated syntax elements, in which the luma and chroma components can have the same size of the basic processing unit; any operation performed to a basic processing unit can be repeatedly performed to each of its luma and chroma components) (para[0045]).
In regard to claim 13, Liao teaches a video encoding method (i.e., Figs. 2A and 2B), comprising:
determining a first-component block corresponding to a current-component block (i.e., a basic processing unit of a color picture can include a luma component (Y) representing achromatic brightness information (e.g., “first-component block”), one or more chroma components (e.g., Cb and Cr) representing color information, and associated syntax elements) (para[0045]);
constructing a candidate combination list based on the first-component block (i.e., a geometric partition index indicating the partition mode of the geometric partition (an angle and offsets) is signaled; then two merge indices (one for each partition) are further signaled)) (para[0093]), wherein the candidate combination list comprises at least one candidate combination, and any one of the at least one candidate combination comprises one weight derivation mode and K prediction modes (i.e., geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is supported for inter prediction; signaled using a CU-level flag as a kind of merge mode, together with other merge modes such as the regular merge mode, the merge mode with motion vector different (MMVD) mode, the combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode, and the subblock merge mode (e.g., “K prediction modes”); blending process with adaptive weights; weights for each part of a geometric partition are derived (note: GPM having its own type of “weight derivation mode”); Liao also discloses AWP, see, for example, para[0102]-[0103]) which has a different method for “weight derivation” using a weight array) (para[0091], [0093], [0098]-[0099]);
determining a first combination according to the candidate combination list, wherein the first combination comprises a first weight derivation mode and K first prediction modes, and K is a positive integer and K> 1 (i.e., geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is supported for inter prediction; signaled using a CU-level flag as a kind of merge mode, together with other merge modes such as the regular merge mode, the merge mode with motion vector different (MMVD) mode, the combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode, and the subblock merge mode (e.g., “K prediction modes” and “K>1”); blending process with adaptive weights; weights for each part of a geometric partition are derived (note: GPM having its own type of “weight derivation mode”); Liao also discloses AWP, see, for example, para[0102]-[0103]) which has a different method for “weight derivation” using a weight array) (para[0091], [0093], [0098]-[0099]); and
…wherein the current-component block comprises a second-component block or a third-component block (i.e., a basic processing unit of a color picture can include a luma component (Y) representing achromatic brightness information, one or more chroma components (e.g., Cb and Cr) (e.g., “second-component block” and “third-component block”) representing color information, and associated syntax elements) (para[0045]).
However, Liao does not explicitly teach predicting the current-component block according to the first weight derivation mode and the K first prediction modes, to obtain a prediction value of the current-component block.
In the same field of endeavor, Seregin teaches predicting the current-component block according to the first weight derivation mode and the K first prediction modes, to obtain a prediction value of the current-component block (i.e., c[x, y] is the set of combination parameters; the value of the weight c[x, y] may be a value between 0 and 1; in certain examples, it may not be practical to have a set of parameters as large as the number of pixels in the block; in such examples c[x, y] may be defined by a much smaller set of parameters, plus an equation to compute all combination values from those parameters; Equation (2); pr [x, y] and qs [x, y] are prediction values computed) (col. 12, line 51-col. 13, line 150).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Liao and Seregin because Seregin teaches computing all combination values for a smaller set of parameters which would improve efficiency of the encoding/decoding as taught by Liao (See, for example, col. 12, line 62-col. 13, line 150 of Seregin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Liao with those of Seregin.
In regard to claims 14-16, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 2-4 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regard to claim 20, Liao teaches a video decoder (i.e., Figs. 3A and 3B), comprising:
a memory configured to store computer programs (i.e., apparatus 400 can also include memory 404 configured to store data (e.g., a set of instructions, computer codes, intermediate data, or the like)) (para[0084]); and
a processor configured to execute the computer programs stored in the memory (i.e., processor 402 can access the program instructions and data for processing) (para[0084]), to:
decode a bitstream (i.e., a decoder can decode video bitstream 228 into video stream 304) (Figs. 3A, 3B; para[0075]) to determine a first-component block corresponding to a current-component block (i.e., a basic processing unit of a color picture can include a luma component (Y) representing achromatic brightness information (e.g., “first-component block”), one or more chroma components (e.g., Cb and Cr) representing color information, and associated syntax elements) (para[0045]);
construct a candidate combination list based on the first-component block (i.e., a geometric partition index indicating the partition mode of the geometric partition (an angle and offsets) is signaled; then two merge indices (one for each partition) are further signaled)) (para[0093]), wherein the candidate combination list comprises at least one candidate combination, and any one of the at least one candidate combination comprises one weight derivation mode and K prediction modes (i.e., geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is supported for inter prediction; signaled using a CU-level flag as a kind of merge mode, together with other merge modes such as the regular merge mode, the merge mode with motion vector different (MMVD) mode, the combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode, and the subblock merge mode (e.g., “K prediction modes”); blending process with adaptive weights; weights for each part of a geometric partition are derived (note: GPM having its own type of “weight derivation mode”); Liao also discloses AWP, see, for example, para[0102]-[0103]) which has a different method for “weight derivation” using a weight array) (para[0091], [0093], [0098]-[0099]);
determine a first combination according to the candidate combination list, wherein the first combination comprises a first weight derivation mode and K first prediction modes, and K is a positive integer and K> 1 (i.e., geometric partitioning mode (GPM) is supported for inter prediction; signaled using a CU-level flag as a kind of merge mode, together with other merge modes such as the regular merge mode, the merge mode with motion vector different (MMVD) mode, the combined inter-intra prediction (CIIP) mode, and the subblock merge mode (e.g., “K prediction modes” and “K>1”); blending process with adaptive weights; weights for each part of a geometric partition are derived (note: GPM having its own type of “weight derivation mode”); Liao also discloses AWP, see, for example, para[0102]-[0103]) which has a different method for “weight derivation” using a weight array) (para[0091], [0093], [0098]-[0099]); and
However, Liao does not explicitly teach predict the current-component block according to the first weight derivation mode and the K first prediction modes, to obtain a prediction value of the current-component block.
In the same field of endeavor, Seregin teaches predict the current-component block according to the first weight derivation mode and the K first prediction modes, to obtain a prediction value of the current-component block (i.e., c[x, y] is the set of combination parameters; the value of the weight c[x, y] may be a value between 0 and 1; in certain examples, it may not be practical to have a set of parameters as large as the number of pixels in the block; in such examples c[x, y] may be defined by a much smaller set of parameters, plus an equation to compute all combination values from those parameters; Equation (2); pr [x, y] and qs [x, y] are prediction values computed) (col. 12, line 51-col. 13, line 150).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Liao and Seregin because Seregin teaches computing all combination values for a smaller set of parameters which would improve efficiency of the encoding/decoding as taught by Liao (See, for example, col. 12, line 62-col. 13, line 150 of Seregin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Liao with those of Seregin.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cao et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0394269) which discloses derived intra prediction modes and most probable codes for video coding.
Chiang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,924,413) which discloses using weightings to combine multiple hypotheses of prediction.
Choi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0177878) which discloses component prediction modes.
KRISTIN DOBBS
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/KRISTIN DOBBS/Examiner, Art Unit 2488