DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Application No. 19/003,252, filed on 27 December, 2024, were presented for examination, and are currently pending in the application.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it does not describe the inventive technical detail which is an improvement on an old apparatus. As shown by the references (almost all of them which read on claim 1 and the abstract) in attached PTO Form 892, the instant application is not of a basic nature such that the entire technical disclosure is new in the art, in which case the abstract could be only directed generally/generically to the entire disclosure. Instead, the application is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, such that the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3 of ¶ 0073 the bearings are listed as reference numeral 300, which is the reference numeral for the shaft. The “300” should be changed to “340” to conform to the drawings and the rest of the written description.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 20220096800 A, provided herein with machine translation).
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches a motor assembly [motor module 200] (see fig. 1 and ¶ 0040 of the provided translation) comprising:
a rotary shaft [240];
a fixing unit [combined bearing 244, stator can 220, and bearing holder 270] configured to support the rotary shaft [240] such that the rotary shaft [240] is rotatable (see ¶ 0066 and 0071-0073 and the annotated excerpt of fig. 3 attached below); and
a motor housing (combined packing mounting part 211 and plug packing 280) accommodating at least a portion of the fixing unit [244/220/270] (it is within it in fig. 3), and directly contacting the fixing unit [244/220/270] (it contacts the can 220) to support the fixing unit [244/220/270].
With respect to claim 2/1, Lee teaches the assembly of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the fixing unit includes:
a bearing [244] coupled to be adjacent to one end of the rotary shaft [240] (the end visible in fig. 3 above);
a stator can [220], in which at least a portion of the rotary shaft [240] (see ¶ 0064) is accommodated (still referring to the fig. 4 excerpt above); and
a bushing holder [combined bearing holder 270 and plug 310], in which the bearing [244] is accommodated, and at least a portion of which is accommodated in the stator can [220], and wherein the motor housing [211/280] contacts the stator can [220] (see ¶ 0077).
With respect to claim 3/2/1, Lee teaches the assembly of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the bushing holder [27/310] includes:
a bushing holder body (labeled by the Examiner in the new fig. 3 excerpt attached below), to which the bearing [270] is coupled; and
a holder neck (also labeled by the Examiner in the fig. 3 excerpt above) extending along an extension direction (toward the left in fig. 3) of the rotary shaft [240] from the bushing holder body to an outside of the stator can [220], and
wherein the motor housing [211/280] includes a support flange [cover portion 281] contacting the holder neck (see ¶ 0098-0100).
With respect to claim 20, Lee teaches a boiler (¶ 0002 recites “the use of the pump may include a circulation pump provided in a heating pipe to circulate heating water in a boiler…) comprising:
a pump [pump module 100]; and
a heat exchanger configured to receive water from the pump (¶ 0002 recites “the use of the pump may include a circulation pump provided in a heating pipe to circulate heating water in a boiler. The boiler is configured to heat heating water in a heat exchanger using heat generated… and then circulates the heating water…” – since the water is circulating {whose root “circ” refers to circular motion just like circuit} through the pump, the boiler water will both receive water from the pump and pass it to the pump eventually, as they are in a circuit);
a motor assembly [motor module 200] (see fig. 1 and ¶ 0040); and
an impeller [130] configured to be rotated by the motor assembly [200] (see ¶ 0053 and 0064),
a rotary shaft [240] coupled to the impeller [130] (see ¶ 0064);
a fixing unit [combined bearing 244, stator can 220, and bearing holder 270] configured to support the rotary shaft [240] such that the rotary shaft [240] is rotatable (see ¶ 0066 and 0071-0073 and the annotated excerpt of fig. 3 attached below); and
a motor housing (combined packing mounting part 211 and plug packing 280) accommodating at least a portion of the fixing unit [244/220/270] (it is within it in fig. 3), and directly contacting the fixing unit [244/220/270] (it contacts the can 220) to support the fixing unit [244/220/270].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Takano (JP 2016200122 A, provided herein with machine translation).
With respect to claim 7/2/1, Lee teaches the motor of claim 2, further comprising a stator [260] between the can [220] and the housing [210], but Lee omits explicitly teaching a core formed by stacking a plurality of stator core thin plates and a winding wound on the core, and including a through part passing through the core and a bunch part facing the core.
Takano discloses a pump (compressor, see abstract) driven by a shaft [10] in turn driven by a rotor [3a] that is energized for rotation by a stator [3b], and is deemed analogous art.
Takano teaches the stator comprising a core [30b] formed by stacking a plurality of stator core thin plates [30b,T] {¶ 0025 states that “the stator iron core 30b is constituted by a plurality of ring-shaped electromagnetic steel sheets (not illustrated) stacked in the axial direction…” but then fig. 4 does illustrate them without accompanying discussion – the Examiner believes this firmly establishes the stator core thin plates}; and
a winding [31] wound on the core [30b], and including a through part passing through the core [30b] (see fig. 5) and a bunch part [coil end part 31a] facing the core (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the motor assembly of Lee, while incorporating the stator core thin plates and winding of Takano, in order to provide an electric field in order to drive the rotor, as is well known in the art.
With respect to claim 8/7/2/1, Lee in view of Takano teaches the motor of claim 7, Takano further teaches wherein thin plate grooves [30c] are formed in the plurality of stator core thin plates [30b,T], respectively, and the thin plate grooves [30c] are located to be aligned with each other in one direction [the axial direction] (see the fig. 2 excerpt below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the motor assembly of Lee in view of Takano, while further incorporating thin plate grooves, as taught by Takano, in order to form a stator air hole between the stator and the housing, in order to create a return oil path for lubricating oil (Takano ¶ 0025). This feature is also well known in the motor arts to reduce heat transfer to the housing from the stator and also to enable an interference fit between the stator and housing, such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the thin plate grooves for various reasons.
With respect to claim 9/7/2/1, Lee in view of Takano teaches the motor of claim 7, Takano further teaches an insulator [insulating bobbin] located between the bunch part [31a] and the motor housing [1a] to prevent the bunch part [31a] from contacting the motor housing [1a], and surrounding at least a portion of the bunch part [31a] (see also figs. 3 and 6 as well as ¶ 0028-0030).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the motor assembly of Lee in view of Takano, while further incorporating the insulator between the bunch part and motor housing, as taught by Takano, in order to guide the winding and ensure electrical insulation between the stator core and the winding (Takano ¶ 0028).
With respect to claim 10/9/7/2/1, Lee in view of Takano teaches the motor of claim 9, Takano further teaches wherein the insulator includes an insulator body [wall 33b] contacting the core [3b/30b] to prevent vibration of the core [3b/30b] (see fig. 6 and ¶ 0030).
With respect to claim 14/9/7/2/1, Lee in view of Takano teaches the motor of claim 9, Takano further teaches wherein the insulator [33] is fixed to the motor housing [1a] (they are both rigidly connected to the stator and therefore are fixed relative to each other – see fig. 1).
With respect to claim 15/9/7/2/1, Lee in view of Takano teaches the motor of claim 9, Takano further teaches wherein the core [3b/30b] contacts the motor housing [1a] (see fig. 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Takano as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Sheeran (US 2001/0006312 A1).
With respect to claim 11/10/9/7/2/1, Lee in view of Takano teaches the motor of claim 10, Takano further teaches wherein thin plate grooves [30c] are formed in the plurality of stator core thin plates [30b,T], respectively, and the thin plate grooves [30c] are located to be aligned with each other in one direction [the axial direction] (see the fig. 2 excerpt below).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the motor assembly of Lee in view of Takano, while further incorporating thin plate grooves, as taught by Takano, in order to form a stator air hole between the stator and the housing, in order to create a return oil path for lubricating oil (Takano ¶ 0025). This feature is also well known in the motor arts to reduce heat transfer to the housing from the stator and also to enable an interference fit between the stator and housing, such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate the thin plate grooves for various reasons.
Neither Lee nor Takano teaches wherein the insulator further includes fixing ribs extending from the insulator body to be accommodated in the thin pate grooves.
Sheeran discloses an electric motor having a stator [22], wherein an insulator [shroud 25] including an insulating body contacting the core is located between the bunch part [end turns 16] and the motor housing [20].
Sheeran teaches wherein the insulator [25] further includes fixing ribs [stator slot posts 66] extending from the insulator body [25] to be accommodated in the stator.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the motor assembly of Lee in view of Takano, while further incorporating fixing ribs extending to be accommodated in the stator, as taught by Sheeran, in order to align the cooling slots of the insulator with the bunch portions during assembly. It would have been further obvious to said person of ordinary skill in the art to put the fixing ribs on the outer perimeter of the insulator body in order to utilize the thin plate grooves of Takano, since they are already there.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16-19 are allowed.
With respect to claim 16, and claims 17-19 which depend thereon, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest a pump comprising:
a motor assembly; and
an impeller configured to be rotated by the motor assembly,
wherein the motor assembly includes:
a rotary shaft coupled to the impeller;
a bearing coupled to be adjacent to one end of the rotary shaft;
a stator can, at least a portion of the rotary shaft is accommodated, and in which the bearing is accommodated;
a bushing holder coupled to the bearing, and including a holder neck extending along an extension direction of the rotary shaft such that at least a portion thereof protrudes to an outside of the stator can;
a plug bolt coupled to an end of the bushing holder along the extension direction of the rotary shaft; and
a motor housing accommodating the stator can, and including a support flange located between the plug bolt and the bushing holder, and configured to contact the holder neck to prevent distortion of the rotary shaft.
Lee teaches a pump (see title) comprising:
a motor assembly [motor module 200] (see fig. 1 and ¶ 0040); and
an impeller [130] configured to be rotated by the motor assembly [200] (see ¶ 0053 and 0064),
wherein the motor assembly [200] includes:
a rotary shaft [240] coupled to the impeller [130] (see ¶ 0064);
a bearing [244] coupled to be adjacent to one end of the rotary shaft [240] (the end visible in fig. 3 below);
a stator can [220], at least a portion of the rotary shaft [240] is accommodated (see ¶ 0064), and in which the bearing [244] is accommodated (see fig. 3 excerpt below);
a bushing holder coupled to the bearing, and including a holder neck extending along an extension direction of the rotary shaft.
However, there are two ways to interpret Lee. On one hand, if the plug bolt is considered part of the bushing holder such that the bushing holder has a neck portion extending to an outside of the stator can, then the plug bolt cannot be coupled to an end of the bushing holder, which is required by the claim – this would require it being coupled to itself. On the other hand, if the plug bolt is not considered part of the bushing holder, such that it can be coupled thereto, then the bushing holder does not have a holder neck protruding to an outside of the stator can, which is required by the claim.
Other references in attached PTO Form 892 teach many of the limitations of claim 16, and some have been summarized in the Conclusion section below. For instance, Miyazaki (US 2004/0076532 A1) has a bearing bushing holder but it does not have a holder neck protruding to an outside of the can. Kobayashi (US 5,888,053 A) in fig. 6 can be said to have a bushing holder protruding to an outside of the stator can, but the housing does not include a support flange located between the plug bolt and the bushing holder. White (US 2,763,214 A) does not have a support flange of the housing located between the plug bolt and the bushing holder and the plug bolt is not coupled to an end of the bushing holder
Claims 4-6 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, and claim 5 which depends therefrom, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, inter alia, a motor assembly comprising:
a rotary shaft;
a fixing unit configured to support the rotary shaft such that the rotary shaft is rotatable; and
a motor housing accommodating at least a portion of the fixing unit, and directly contacting the fixing unit to support the fixing unit;
wherein the fixing unit includes:
a bearing coupled to be adjacent to one end of the rotary shaft;
a stator can, in which at least a portion of the rotary shaft is accommodated; and
a bushing holder, in which the bearing is accommodated, and at least a portion of which is accommodated in the stator can, and
wherein the motor housing contacts the stator can;
wherein the bushing holder includes:
a bushing holder body, to which the bearing is coupled; and
a holder neck extending along an extension direction of the rotary shaft from the bushing holder body to an outside of the stator can, and
wherein the motor housing includes a support flange contacting the holder neck;
wherein the fixing unit further includes a plug bolt coupled to the holder neck along the extension direction of the rotary shaft, and
wherein the support flange is located between the bushing holder body and the plug bolt.
The rationale for indicating allowable subject matter in claim 4 is very similar to that for the allowance of claim 16 – specifically, there are two ways to interpret Lee. On one hand, if the plug bolt is considered part of the bushing holder such that the bushing holder has a neck portion extending to an outside of the stator can, then the plug bolt cannot be coupled to an end of the bushing holder, which is required by the claim – this would require it being coupled to itself. On the other hand, if the plug bolt is not considered part of the bushing holder, such that it can be coupled thereto, then the bushing holder does not have a holder neck protruding to an outside of the stator can, which is required by the claim.
Also like claim 16, other references in attached PTO Form 892 teach many of the limitations of claim 4, and some have been summarized in the Conclusion section below. For instance, Miyazaki (US 2004/0076532 A1) has a bearing bushing holder but it does not have a holder neck protruding to an outside of the can. Kobayashi (US 5,888,053 A) in fig. 6 can be said to have a bushing holder protruding to an outside of the stator can, but the housing does not include a support flange located between the plug bolt and the bushing holder. White (US 2,763,214 A) does not have a support flange of the housing located between the plug bolt and the bushing holder and its plug bolt is not coupled to an end of the bushing holder
With respect to claim 6, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, inter alia, a motor assembly comprising:
a rotary shaft;
a fixing unit configured to support the rotary shaft such that the rotary shaft is rotatable; and
a motor housing accommodating at least a portion of the fixing unit, and directly contacting the fixing unit to support the fixing unit;
wherein the fixing unit includes:
a bearing coupled to be adjacent to one end of the rotary shaft;
a stator can, in which at least a portion of the rotary shaft is accommodated; and
a bushing holder, in which the bearing is accommodated, and at least a portion of which is accommodated in the stator can, and
wherein the motor housing contacts the stator can;
wherein the bushing holder includes:
a bushing holder body, to which the bearing is coupled; and
a holder neck extending along an extension direction of the rotary shaft from the bushing holder body to an outside of the stator can, and
wherein the motor housing includes a support flange contacting the holder neck;
wherein the fixing unit further includes a holder packing located between the stator can and the support flange.
Lee omits teaching a holder packing between the stator can and the support flange.
Coyac (US 2002/0135248 A1 – see conclusion below) has a packing [60] between a housing [10] and the stator can [sealing bell 62]. However, if the race of the bearing were interpreted as being the bushing holder, the latter cannot be said to be accommodated in the stator can, which is required by intervening claim 2. There are other elements of intervening claims 2-3 that also cannot be proven to exist in the way put forth by claims 2-3. There were other references like Coyac in this respect, but the Examiner did not consider them for omitting the various teachings of the intervening claims 2-3.
With respect to claim 12, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, inter alia, a motor assembly comprising:
a rotary shaft;
a fixing unit configured to support the rotary shaft such that the rotary shaft is rotatable; and
a motor housing accommodating at least a portion of the fixing unit, and directly contacting the fixing unit to support the fixing unit;
wherein the fixing unit includes:
a bearing coupled to be adjacent to one end of the rotary shaft;
a stator can, in which at least a portion of the rotary shaft is accommodated; and
a bushing holder, in which the bearing is accommodated, and at least a portion of which is accommodated in the stator can;
further comprising:
a stator located between the stator can and the motor housing,
wherein the stator includes:
a core formed by stacking a plurality of stator core thin plates; and
a winding wound on the core, and including a through part passing through the core and a bunch part facing the core;
further comprising:
an insulator located between the bunch part and the motor housing to prevent the bunch part from contacting the motor housing, and surrounding at least a portion of the bunch part;
wherein the insulator includes an insulator body contacting the core to prevent vibration of the core;
wherein thin plate grooves are formed in the plurality of stator core thin plates, respectively, and the thin plate grooves are located to be aligned with each other in one direction, and
wherein the insulator further includes fixing ribs extending from the insulator body to be accommodated in the thin plate grooves;
wherein an outer surface of the fixing rib has a curved surface located on an imaginary curved surface, on which an outer surface of the core is formed.
The last clause does not exist in Sheeran. The Examiner believes that the evidence to suggest that the feature (which probably exists on this type of insulator in the prior art) would be obvious for modification of Lee in view of Takano, further in view of Sheeran, is insufficient, and alleging that it would be obvious would be hindsight reasoning in light of the present application. The claim is extremely narrow and the chances a person of ordinary skill in the art would come to the claimed device are minimal.
With respect to claim 13, the prior art of record does not teach or reasonably suggest, inter alia, a motor assembly comprising:
a rotary shaft;
a fixing unit configured to support the rotary shaft such that the rotary shaft is rotatable; and
a motor housing accommodating at least a portion of the fixing unit, and directly contacting the fixing unit to support the fixing unit;
wherein the fixing unit includes:
a bearing coupled to be adjacent to one end of the rotary shaft;
a stator can, in which at least a portion of the rotary shaft is accommodated; and
a bushing holder, in which the bearing is accommodated, and at least a portion of which is accommodated in the stator can;
further comprising:
a stator located between the stator can and the motor housing,
wherein the stator includes:
a core formed by stacking a plurality of stator core thin plates; and
a winding wound on the core, and including a through part passing through the core and a bunch part facing the core;
further comprising:
an insulator located between the bunch part and the motor housing to prevent the bunch part from contacting the motor housing, and surrounding at least a portion of the bunch part;
wherein the insulator includes an insulator body contacting the core to prevent vibration of the core;
wherein thin plate grooves are formed in the plurality of stator core thin plates, respectively, and the thin plate grooves are located to be aligned with each other in one direction, and
wherein the insulator further includes fixing ribs extending from the insulator body to be accommodated in the thin plate grooves;
wherein the insulator has a concave interference preventing groove at a portion, at which the fixing rib starts to extend, in an opposite direction to a direction, in which the fixing rib extends.
The last clause does not exist in Sheeran. The Examiner believes that the evidence to suggest that the feature (which probably exists on this type of insulator in the prior art) would be obvious for modification of Lee in view of Takano, further in view of Sheeran, is insufficient, and alleging that it would be obvious would be hindsight reasoning in light of the present application. The claim is extremely narrow and the chances a person of ordinary skill in the art would come to the claimed device are minimal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fig. 6 of Kobayashi (US 5,888,053 A) is relevant to the claims. The bearing [31] is held by a bushing holder [22] inside of a can [17]. If the bearing holder is interpreted as including the thrust bearings [24] and the holder clamping them down, the bearing holder can be said to protrude to outside of the can. However, the housing [16/21] cannot be said to have a flange between a plug bolt and the bushing holder (with respect to claims 4 and 16). The Examiner cannot even establish that it has a plug bolt. Also, there is no holder packing between the can and a support flange of a housing (with respect to claim 6).
Moriya (US 5,401,146 A) is very similar to Kobayashi, and omits the same features as Kobayashi vis-à-vis claims 4, 6, and 16.
White (US 2,763,214 A) teaches the bearing [65] held by a bushing holder [46] that can be said to have a neck that protrudes to outside of the can [60]. There is also a plug bolt [15]. However, White does not have a support flange of the housing located between the plug bolt [15] and the bushing holder [46] and the plug bolt [15] is not coupled to an end of the bushing holder [46] (with respect to claims 4 and 16). Also, there is no bolt packing located between the plug bolt [15] and the holder neck (with respect to claim 6).
Coyac (US 2002/0135248 A1), with respect to claim 6 and the indication of allowable subject matter therein, has a packing [60] between a housing [10] and the stator can [sealing bell 62]. However, if the race of the bearing were interpreted as being the bushing holder, the latter cannot be said to be accommodated in the stator can, which is required by intervening claim 2. There are other elements of intervening claims 2-3 that also cannot be proven to exist in the way put forth by claims 2-3.
/Daniel K Schlak//Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834