DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oas et al., US 5,761,908 in view of Sham et al., US 6,464,760 B1.
Regarding claim 1, Oas teaches a ventilation unit 10, which reads on the claimed “ventilation apparatus.” See Oas Figs. 1–5, col. 3, l. 66–col. 4, l. 2. The ventilation unit 10 comprises:
A housing 12 (the claimed “housing”). See Oas Fig. 4, col. 3, l. 66–col. 4, l. 2.
A fresh air inlet opening 34 (the “inlet”) formed on one side of the housing 12 such that outside air is introduced into the housing 12, as claimed. See Oas Fig. 1, col. 4, ll. 29–40.
A fresh air outlet 28 (the “outlet”) formed on another side of the housing 12 such that the air introduced into the housing 12 through the inlet opening 34 is discharged to indoors, as claimed. See Oas Fig. 4, col. 5, ll. 29–34.
An air-to-air heat exchanger 52 (the “total heat exchanger”) arranged between the inlet opening 34 and the outlet 28, and including an inlet opening 82 (the “intake end”) into which air introduced through the inlet opening 34 and flowing toward the outlet 28 is introduced, as claimed. See Oas Fig. 4, col. 5, ll. 9–26.
A pre-filter 78 (the “filter”) arranged in the housing 12 and arranged between the inlet opening 34 and heat exchanger 52, as claimed. See Oas Fig. 4, col. 5, ll. 12–18.
The pre-filter 78 includes two vertical sides extending in a vertical direction (on the left and right-hand sides) and two horizonal sides extending in a direction perpendicular to the vertical sides (on the top and bottom), as seen in Fig. 1. The left-hand side of the pre-filter 78 reads on the “first side extending in a vertical direction.” The bottom side of the pre-filter 78 reads on the “second side extending in a direction perpendicular to the first side.”
Oas differs from claim 1 because it is silent as to a sterilizing lamp configured to sterilize the pre-filter 78 where the sterilizing lamp is arranged between one end of the pre-filter 78 in a direction in which the bottom side (“second side”) of the pre-filter 78 extends and one end of the inlet opening 82 in the direction in which the bottom side extends, as claimed.
But Oas teaches that an ultraviolet lamp (not labeled) can be mounted in the air ducts (including the duct 76 containing pre-filter 78). See Oas col. 5, ll. 29–33. Also, Sham teaches an apparatus comprising a filter and a UV light source positioned downstream of the filter. The UV light source is provided to sterilize the filter and the air stream drawn through the apparatus. See Sham col. 2, ll. 49–52, col. 4, ll. 29–52.
It would have been obvious to provide the ultraviolet lamp of Oas in the duct 76 of the pre-filter 78 in a location downstream of the pre-filter 78 where it can sterilize both the air and the pre-filter 78 to improve the air quality supplied to the indoor space. It also would have been obvious to locate the ultraviolet lamp so that it is between one end of the pre-filter 78 in a direction in which the bottom side (“second side”) extends and one end of the inlet opening 82 of the heat exchanger 52 in the direction in which the bottom side extends, because Sham teaches that the UV light can be located downstream of the filter for sterilizing air and the filter, with locating the ultraviolet lamp in this way merely representing obvious rearrangement of parts. See MPEP 2144.04, subsection VI, C.
Regarding claim 2, Oas in view of Sham teaches that the sterilizing lamp extends vertically (“a direction in which the first side of the filter extends”), as claimed, because Fig. 5 of Sham illustrates UV light source 6 extending vertically. See Sham Fig. 5, col. 4, ll. 40–52.
Regarding claim 3, Oas in view of Sham teaches that the pre-filter 78 includes a plurality of crests (the peaks of the waves seen in Fig 4) extending toward the heat exchanger 52 and a plurality of troughs (the valleys of the waves seen in Fig. 4) arranged between the plurality of crests, as claimed. The plurality of crests and the plurality of troughs extend into the paper (in Fig. 4) which is the horizontal direction (the “direction in which the second side extends”), as claimed.
Claims 4–12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oas et al., US 5,761,908 in view of Sham et al., US 6,464,760 B1 and in further view of Garfield et al., US 2008/0286163 A1.
Regarding claims 4–7, Oas in view of Sham teaches the limitations of claim 1, as explained above.
Oas in view of Sham differs from claims 4–7 because it is silent as to a reflector configured to reflect light emitted from the ultraviolet lamp to the pre-filter 78 being bent around the ultraviolet lamp and extending along the vertical direction (the “direction in which the first side extends”).
But Garfield teaches a filter apparatus comprising a UV light source 130 with a reflector element 120 bent around the UV light source 130, with the reflector 120 extending in a vertical direction (claim 4). See Garfield Figs. 3, 4D, [0063]. The reflector 120 includes a first reflector, second reflector bent from one side of the first reflector, and a third reflector bent from another side of the first reflector, as claimed, as seen in the figure below (claim 5). The first reflector and the third reflector are arranged to form an obtuse angle with each other, as claimed, as seen in the figure below (claim 6). While Garfield is silent as to the dimensions of the reflector 120, the angle formed by the first and second reflectors is above 90 degrees while the angle formed by the first and third reflector is also above 90 degrees. It would have been obvious for the angle formed by each of the first/second and first/third reflectors to be 110 degrees because this would merely represent obvious change in dimensions (claim 7). See MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV, A. The reflector 120 is beneficial because it is configured to reflet UV light from the UV light source toward its desired location. Id.
It would have been obvious to provide the reflector 120 of Garfield around the ultraviolet light source of Oas to direct the UV light toward the pre-filer 78 and the incoming air.
Regarding claim 8, Oas as modified teaches that the ultraviolet light source includes a cylindrical shape. See Sham Figs. 5, 12.
Oas as modified differs from claim 8 because it is silent as to the dimensions of the device. Therefore, the prior art fails to provide enough information to teach that the ratio of a length of the first reflector in a direction perpendicular to an extension of the left-hand side (n) to a vertical distance between a center of the ultraviolet light source and the pre-filter 78 (h) is between 0.05 to 0.2, with a ratio of a length of the second reflector (p) and (h) is between 0.05 and 2. But it would have been obvious for the ratio of n/h and p/h to be between 0.05 and 0.2 because this would merely represent obvious change in dimensions. See MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV, A.
Regarding claim 9, Oas as modified teaches that the ultraviolet light source includes a cylindrical shape. See Sham Figs. 5, 12.
Oas as modified differs from claim 9 because it is silent as to the dimensions of the device. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach a ratio between a length of the third reflector in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the left hand side of the pre-filter 78 (q) to a vertical distance between a center of the sterilizing lamp and the pre-filter 78 (h) is between 0.08 and 0.4, as claimed. But it would have been obvious for the ratio of q/h to be between 0.08 and 0.4 because this would merely represent obvious change in dimensions. See MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV, A.
Regarding claim 10, Oas as modified teaches that the ultraviolet light source includes a cylindrical shape. See Sham Figs. 5, 12.
Oas as modified differs from claim 10 because it is silent as to the dimensions of the device. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach a ratio of a vertical distance between a center of the ultraviolet light source (h) and a length of the bottom side of the pre-filter 78 (L) is between 0.15 and 0.6. But it would have been obvious for the ratio of h/L to be between 0.15 and 0.6 because this would merely represent obvious change in dimensions. See MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV, A.
Regarding claim 11, Oas as modified teaches that the ultraviolet light source includes a cylindrical shape. See Sham Figs. 5, 12.
Oas as modified differs from claim 11 because it is silent as to the dimensions of the device. Therefore, the reference fails to provide enough information to teach a ratio of a vertical distance between a center of the ultraviolet light source and the pre-filter 78 (h) and a vertical distance between a vertical line from the center of the ultraviolet light source to an extension line of the bottom side of the pre-filter 78 and an end of the pre-filter 78 adjacent to the vertical line (m) is between -0.2 and 0.5. But it would have been obvious for the ratio of h/m to be between -0.2 and 0.5 because this would merely represent obvious change in dimensions. See MPEP 2144.04, subsection IV, A.
Regarding claims 12, 14, and 15, Oas as modified teaches the limitations of claim 4, as explained above.
Oas as modified differs from claims 12 and 13 because it is silent as to the apparatus comprising front and rear frames having the claimed structure.
But Garfield teaches a filter apparatus comprising a filter housing 151 comprising an upstream panel (the “front frame”) including an opening where air can enter, and a bottom panel that extends to the rear of the housing 151 (the “rear frame”) configured to support the upstream panel and the reflector 120 with the bottom panel being capable of being coupled to another structure (claim 12). See Garfield Fig. 4B, [0062]. Also, the fresh air inlet 34 of Oas comprises an open grill 36 (the “gride frame”) (claim 14). The housing 151 also has a lower rail 508b (the “inner wall”) arranged at one side of the housing 151 adjacent to the upstream side and including seating flange 509 (one being the “fixing groove”) into which one side of the bottom frame relatively close (adjacent) to a filter is inserted (claim 15). See Garfield Fig. 10, [0068].
It would have been obvious to use the filter housing 151 of Garfield to hold the pre-filter 78, ultraviolet source, and open grill 36 of Oas to provide a structure for holding these features.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oas et al., US 5,761,908 in view of Sham et al., US 6,464,760 B1 in view of Garfield et al., US 2008/0286163 A1 and in further view of Latham, US 2018/0224153 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Oas as modified teaches that bottom panel of Garfield (the “rear frame”) includes a support plate for the reflector 120 that is formed to correspond to a bent shape of the reflector 120 to support the reflector, as claimed, because the bottom panel has a plate-like shape with an area that holds the bent shape of the reflector 120, as seen in Fig. 4B.
Oas as modified differs from claim 13 because it is silent as to the support plate being reflective. But Latham teaches an air conditioning housing where the housing is made of sheet metal, which is a reflective material. See Latham [0032]. It would have been obvious to make the bottom panel of Garfield from sheet metal because this would merely represent the selection of a known material based on the suitability of its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wetzel, US 2008/0250800 A1 (air purification system comprising a heat exchanger and UV light source near a filter).
T. BENNETT MCKENZIE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776
/T. BENNETT MCKENZIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776