Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“delivery mechanism” and “delivery control mechanism” and “vibration isolator” in claim 1.
“delivery mechanism” - spec para. 0011 robotic arm, gangway, crane
“delivery control mechanism” - spec para. 0012 controller 410 capable of acquiring moment data
“vibration isolator” - spec para. 0035, actuator 322
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. US 2022/0112934 A1 in view of Pivac US 2019/0224846 A1.
Phillips teaches:
1. A storage tank delivery system for delivering a storage tank in which predetermined energy is stored, from a floating body that is floating at sea to an energy recovery site at sea or on land, the storage tank delivery system comprising:
a delivery mechanism [Fig. 5 504 - articulated robotic arm] including at least one vibration isolator [Fig. 2 actuator 204] with a function of canceling a moment generated by an external force; [para. 0076, “In some examples and as shown in FIG. 2, the controller 202 is coupled to the actuator 204 and configured to produce an actuator control signal (e.g., control output 222) in response to the detected movement error (e.g., movement error detected by movement detector 210). Here, the control output 222 is configured to cause the actuator 204 to move the reaction mass 206 to reduce the movement error of the payload 208.” And para. 0008, “In some examples, the movement error results from at least one of: a force to the payload from an external environment, oscillations to the payload from the external environment, and resonances of the payload.”] and
Phillips does not teach the following limitation, however, Pivac teaches:
a delivery control mechanism for controlling the vibration isolator of the delivery mechanism [para. 0047, robot arm controller dampens movement of arm based on feedback data from tracker system] so as to
acquire moment information [sensors 33, 37 and 41] relating to the moment generated in at least one of the floating body and the energy recovery site [Figs. 9-11 and para. 0110, “Ship to ship, or ship to oil rig, or ship to gas rig, or ship to wind turbine, transfer of goods, liquids or personnel, is a potential application for the control system of the invention.”] and
to deliver the storage tank while canceling the moment [para. 0065, “FIG. 9 is a side view showing use of a boom with a robotic arm mounted to a floating facility, in use to transfer items from a vessel subject to movement in ocean swell;”]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Pivac with those of Phillips. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because Pivac teaches that a feedback control system for external movement between two floating vessels can be used for ship to ship transfer of goods. (See para. 0101).
Pivac teaches:
3. The storage tank delivery system according to claim 1, wherein the energy recovery site is a recovery vessel, and the delivery control mechanism controls the vibration isolator such that the moment is cancelled by acquiring the moment information for each of the floating body and the recovery vessel. [para. 0110-0112; vessel to vessel in rough weather]
Pivac teaches:
5. The storage tank delivery system according to claim 1, wherein the delivery mechanism includes a robot arm with a plurality of joints [robotic arm 25], and the vibration isolator is provided in at least one of the joints. [para. 0077, robot arm actuator controlled with fast dynamic response]
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. US 2022/0112934 A1 in view of Pivac US 2019/0224846 A1 and further in view of Kingsley US 2018/0320277 A1.
The combination of Phillips and Pivac does not teach the following limitation, however, Kingsley teaches:
2. The storage tank delivery system according to claim 1, wherein the floating body is a non-moored power generation floating body , to which a kite [Fig. 7 718 wind capture kite aerostat attached to power generator system 400] used for power generation is attached, the floating body including a kite recovery mechanism[Fig. 7 700 710 Tether in retrieval model uses motor 704 to withdraw the kite] that stows the kite away at a time of delivery of the storage tank.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of Kingsley with those of Phillips and Pivac. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because Kingsley teaches that wind capture kites can be tethered to power generators for example hydrogen producing to create “green” hydrogen without need to be grid connected. (See para. 0011).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phillips et al. US 2022/0112934 A1 in view of Pivac US 2019/0224846 A1 and further in view of KIM et al. US 2019/0022853 A1.
The combination of Phillips and Pivac does not teach the following limitation, however, KIM teaches:
4. The storage tank delivery system according to claim 1, wherein the delivery control mechanism cancels the moment taking into consideration a change in weight of the storage tank accompanying the delivery between the floating body and the energy recovery site. [para. 0032-0033, “According to the example embodiments of the present invention, a compensation torque may be properly changed according to a change of the pay load of the robot which is a weight gripped by the robot, and the proper compensation torque may be generated for the pay load.
[0033] In addition, even though the weight of the robot arm is changed or the distance between the joint of the robot arm and the weight center is changed, the proper compensation torque may be generated.”]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to combine the teachings of KIM with those of Phillips and Pivac. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings because KIM teaches that a change in pay load from the weight gripped by the robot can be used to properly compensate torque and zero the moment. (See para. 0072-0074).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kupersmith US 2011/0174206 A1 - large ocean platform with controls for attenuating wave forces. Calculates polar moment.
Blumenthal US 2011/0281478 A1 - high altitude kite used for hydrogen generation system derived from ocean water. Generated electricity is either used for ship propulsion or electrolysis and stored.
Bergem et al. US 2016/0039644 A1 - crane device with adjustable dampening to operate above and below water line. Automatically corrects for changes in weight of the load.
Soundararajan et al. US 2018/0303566 A1 - robotic system for surgery, teaches techniques for dampening vibration.
Sheldon-Coulson et al. US 2021/0354791 A1 - system for converting energy from ocean waves into hydrogen. Hydrogen transferred to transport ship via hose.
Podhola US 2024/0034443 A1 - off shore charging station, part of hydrogen powering system in a buoyant container.
ITO US 2024/0217628 A1 - transport system for energy by ship. Uses robotic arm for connection to off shore collection device.
Zhang US 2025/0051152 A1 - robotic arm with controls for shock and vibration isolators.
MEDLAND et al. US 2025/0178712 A1 - maritime vessel for generating, storing and transporting energy. Harvests fuel from deep ocean. Also uses a sea kite.
/GARY COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115