DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the blood pressure pulse sensor comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor that is pressed against the wrist via the pressing of the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly against the wrist.” The element of a PPG sensor is not shown with elements capable of providing applanation pressure. As per Paragraph 0010, it appears the pressure waveform signals are from at least one PPG sensor or, alternatively, an applanation tonometer. Examiner requests clarification if the applanation tonometer operates through optical sensing, where Applicant would consider such operation as encompassing a PPG sensor.
Therefore, the claimed subject matter identified above must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2, 3, 6-9, 11, 13, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Each claim has been analyzed to determine whether it is directed to any judicial exceptions. Examiner notes that claims 4, 5, 10, 12, 14, and 15 are directed to structures for data-gathering which are embodied on a particular machine, with no prior art reference identifying the combination of elements recited in claims 4, 5, 10, 12, 14, and 15 as well-understood, routine, or conventional.
Step 2A, Prong 1
Each of the claims recites steps or instructions for ascertaining and processing data to assess quality of sleep of subject, which is grouped as a mental process. Accordingly, each of the claims recites an abstract idea.
Independent claim 1 recites:
pressing a blood pressure pulse sensor assembly of a wrist-worn device against a wrist of the user at an applanation pressure via the wrist-worn device, wherein the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly comprises a blood pressure pulse sensor that is pressed against the wrist via the pressing of the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly against the wrist (additional element);
generating, by the blood pressure pulse sensor, a blood pressure pulse sensor output signal indicative of a varying pressure of blood pressure pulses within an artery within the wrist adjacent to the blood pressure pulse sensor (data-gathering, additional element);
generating, by a height measurement sensor, a height measurement sensor output signal indicative of a relative height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to a heart of the user (data-gathering, additional element);
monitoring the blood pressure pulse sensor output signal and the height measurement sensor output signal to identify a reference applanation height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to the heart (observation, evaluation, or judgement); and
calculating the mean arterial blood pressure based on the applanation pressure and the reference applanation height (observation, evaluation, or judgement).
As indicated above, the independent claim recites at least one step or instruction grouped as a mental process. Therefore, each of the independent claims recites an abstract idea. Each limitation, aside from language reciting a generic computer components, can be grouped as a mental process (see italicized portions above), and is addressed as follows:
The limitation of monitoring the blood pressure pulse sensor output signal and the height measurement sensor output signal to identify a reference applanation height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to the heart can be interpreted as an individual observing gathered data and labeling a subset of the data as a reference data point.
The limitation of calculating the mean arterial blood pressure based on the applanation pressure and the reference applanation height is an evaluation encompassed by any evaluations an individual may make mentally to relate mean arterial blood pressure and a reference applanation height.
No limitations are provided that would force the complexity of any of the identified evaluation steps to be non-performable by pen-and-paper practice.
Alternatively or additionally, these steps describe the concept of using implicit mathematical formula(s) (i.e., calculation of mean arterial blood pressure from prior variables) to derive a conclusion based on input of medical data, which corresponds to concepts identified as abstract ideas by the courts, such as in Diamond v. Diehr. 450 U.S. 175, 209 U.S.P.Q. 1 (1981), Parker v. Flook. 437 U.S. 584, 19 U.S.P.Q. 193 (1978), and In re Grams. 888 F.2d 835, 12 U.S.P.Q.2d 1824 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The concept of the recited steps above is not meaningfully different than those mathematical concepts found by the courts to be abstract ideas.
Dependent claims 3, 6-9, 11, 13, and 16-21 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea or limitations relating to the data gathered or necessary components therefor and amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed. Particularly, claims 3, 6-8, and 19-21 are related to pre-solution data-gathering activity or post-solution output. Claims 9, 11, 13, and 16-18 relate to details of data-gathering elements.
Thus, these concepts are similar to court decisions of abstract ideas of itself: collecting, displaying, and manipulating data (Int. Ventures v. Cap One Financial), collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis (Electric Power Group), collection, storage, and recognition of data (Smart Systems Innovations).
Step 2A, Prong 2
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements, either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use.
More specifically:
Independent claim 2 recites the additional elements of:
a blood pressure pulse sensor assembly of a wrist-worn device comprising a blood pressure pulse sensor that is pressed against the wrist;
a height measurement sensor.
Such additional element are a generically recited elements which do not improve the functioning of a computer or any other technology or technical field. The claim recites merely acquiring data from generically recited sensors, having no operative connection to abstract idea recited in independent claim 2 besides communication of obtained data, which amounts to insignificant, extra-solution activity in the form of mere data gathering, which does not constitute an integration into a practical application. Although the sensors may imply particular structure, their use in the mental process is merely extra-solution. See MPEP 2106.05(b).III:
“Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more. See Bilski, 561 U.S. at 610, 95 USPQ2d at 1009 (citing Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 590, 198 USPQ 193, 197 (1978)), and CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, 654 F.3d 1366, 1370, 99 USPQ2d 1690 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (citations omitted)”
Thus, such additional elements do not serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application.
Dependent claims 3, 6-8, and 19-21 are related to pre-solution data-gathering activity or post-solution output, and thus are considered insignificant extra-solution activity. Claims 9, 11, 13, and 16-18 recite additional structural elements of the wrist-worn device; however, such details amount to no more than details of data-gathering elements.
Accordingly, the claims are each directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
None of the claims include additional elements that, when viewed as a whole, are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for at least the following reasons:
Independent claim 2 recites the additional elements of:
a blood pressure pulse sensor assembly of a wrist-worn device comprising a blood pressure pulse sensor that is pressed against the wrist;
a height measurement sensor.
A blood pressure pulse sensor assembly of a wrist-worn device comprising a blood pressure pulse sensor that is pressed against the wrist are common elements required for a technique known in the art as radial tonometry. Radial tonometric techniques and accompanying elements are considered well-understood, routine, and conventional by at least:
Galea et al. (US 20140073931 A1) – Paragraph 0006: “Conventional devices are known which utilize a pressure wave in the wrist (radial tonometry) and provide a value for an Augmentation Index which is a measure of the resistance of the peripheral vasculature.”
Bridger et al. (US 6491647 B1) – Col. 9, lines 35-43: “Other tonometric devices are described in U.S. Pat. Nos. 4,269,193, 4,799,491 and 4,802,488 to Eckerle, U.S. Pat. No. 4,423,738 to Newgard, U.S. Pat. No. 5,033,471 to Yokoe, and U.S. Pat. No. 5,165,416 to Shinoda, and a commercial implementation is available through Colin Medical. This device uses a multielement piezoresistive sensor to pick up the amplitude of the pulse at the wrist and use this to follow blood pressure trends between oscillometric cuff readings.”
Chowienczyk et al. (US 20140316288 A1) – Paragraph 0008: “The most commonly employed method involves the measurement of a peripheral blood pressure waveform from the radial artery by applanation tonometry (holding a pressure sensor over the radial artery to gently compress it against underlying bone). This pressure waveform may then be calibrated from oscillometric measurements of pSBP and DBP.”
Amano (US 20020177781 A1) – Paragraph 0005: “It is also known in the art that the pressure pulse wave in the peripheral artery such as the radial artery can be non-invasively detected with high precision using applanation tonometry which measures the pressure using a pressure sensor pressed against the artery so that part of the blood vessel wall is flattened.”
Naqvi et al. (US 20100228311 A1) – “The commercial SphygmoCor.RTM. system includes a hand-held tonometer that is normally held against the patient's wrist by a pen like device or a wrist band, in order to collect pressure waveform data from the patient's radial artery.”
Eckerle et al. (US 5176143 A)– Col. 2, lines 57-62: “Referring to the drawings in more detail and to FIG. 1 in particular, the components of a tonometric blood pressure monitoring system are shown. As is conventional, the sensor assembly 10 is held on the wrist of the subject by a suitable means, such as strap 12, to sense blood pressure within the radial artery.”
Jackson et al. (US 5485848 A) – Col. 2, lines 9-14: “Non-invasive blood pressure monitoring transducers are known in the prior art as exemplified by U.S. Pat. No. 4,423,738 (Newgard). The Newgard patent is directed to a transducer array for arterial tonometry. This invention includes a transducer provided in a case similar to that of a conventional wristwatch. The case is held in place over the radial artery in a human wrist by an expansion band.”
Regarding the additional element of a height sensor, the most detail regarding the operation of such a sensor is described at Paragraph 0156, which recites: “an accelerometer and gyroscope on the wrist could be used to trace the trajectory of the wrist during daily movements and, hence, determine the height between the wrist and the shoulder, the heart-to-wrist height can then be determined by a single measurement of the shoulder-to-heart height.” Thus, Applicant’s disclosure is not particular regarding the particular structure of either the accelerometer or gyroscope elements which may embody the height sensor. No special programming or algorithms is indicated for how such sensors operate. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the medical technology arts. Thus, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the medical technology industry or medical technology arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional element because it describes such an additional element in a manner that indicates that the additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3). Adding hardware that performs “well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications).
Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear from the claims themselves and the specification that these limitations require no improved computer resources and merely utilize already available sensors with their already available basic functions to use as tools in executing the claimed process.
Dependent claim 9 requires the additional element of a wrist band configured to be adjusted to adjust the applanation pressure, which is already considered well-understood, routine and conventional as per Naqvi, Eckerle, and Jackson cited prior.
Dependent claim 11 requires an inflation of a fluid bladder to apply applanation force, and similarly, dependent claim 13 requires the additional element of one or more applanation actuators of the wrist-worn device to apply an applanation force to the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly to apply the applanation pressure to the wrist. Each of these elements are considered well-understood, routine and conventional by at least:
Tochikubo et al. (US 5840037 A) – Col. 1, line 10 – Col. 2, line 46: discussion of conventional air-bag structure utilized for a “tonometry hemadynamometry method.”
Dependent claims 16 and 17 requires the blood pressure pulse sensor to be comprised of a piezoelectric film pressure sensor or piezoresistive microelectromechanical system (MEMS) pressure sensor. Such an additional element is considered well-understood, routine and conventional by at least:
Kato et al. (US 20160310021 A1) – Paragraph 0002: “In a known example of this type of pulse wave detection apparatus, a sensor chip, on which a pressure sensor (strain sensor) array has been formed using MEMS (Micro Electro Mechanical Systems) technology, is pressed against a measurement site through which an artery passes, and change in the internal pressure of the artery, that is to say a pulse wave, is measured in a noninvasive manner using tonometry, as disclosed in Patent Literature 1 (JP 2011-239840A) for example.”
Tanabe (US 20040199080 A1) – Paragraph 0083: “… the pulse wave measuring apparatus of the present invention is not limited to the usage of pressure sensors obtained by processing expensive semiconductor silicon through MEMS (Micro Electro Mechanical Systems) that had to be used in a conventional pulse wave measuring apparatus employing tonometry. Other sensors using piezoelectric ceramic, piezoelectric polymer, thin metal film strain gauge, or the like can be used to allow reduction in cost.”
Dependent claim 18 requires the height measurement sensor comprises an accelerometer and/or gyroscope. As discussed prior with regards to the height sensor, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional element because it describes such an additional element in a manner that indicates that the additional element is sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (see Berkheimer memo from April 19, 2018, (III)(A)(1) on page 3).
Each other dependent claim merely recites steps which further define the abstract idea and data/data-processing steps. Examiner notes that the dependent claims recite limitations which are extra-solution or part of the abstract idea itself do not constitute significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(a):
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below. In addition, the improvement can be provided by the additional element(s) in combination with the recited judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.04(d) (discussing Finjan, Inc. v. Blue Coat Sys., Inc., 879 F.3d 1299, 1303-04, 125 USPQ2d 1282, 1285-87 (Fed. Cir. 2018)). Thus, it is important for examiners to analyze the claim as a whole when determining whether the claim provides an improvement to the functioning of computers or an improvement to other technology or technical field.
For at least the above reasons, the claims are directed to applying an abstract idea using known sensor structures without (i) improving the performance of the sensors or technology itself, or (ii) providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field. In other words, none of the claims provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in the independent claims do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (evaluation of sensor data from known sensors). That is, no additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. As such, the above-identified additional elements, when viewed as whole, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Accordingly, the claims are not patent eligible and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to abstract ideas implemented using known sensors in view of the Supreme Court Decision in Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 9-13, 18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Butterfield et al. (US 6290650 B1) (hereinafter – Butterfield) in view of
Asada et al. (US 20070055163 A1) (hereinafter – Asada.
Re. Claim 2: Butterfield teaches a method of measuring a mean arterial blood pressure of a user (Fig. 6: step 260: “Estimate tonometric blood pressure including systolic, mean, diastolic”),
the method comprising:
pressing a blood pressure pulse sensor assembly of a wrist-worn device against a wrist of the user at an applanation pressure via the wrist-worn device (Fig. 1),
wherein the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly comprises a blood pressure pulse sensor that is pressed against the wrist via the pressing of the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly against the wrist (Fig. 1: sensor 24; see Figs. 3-5a regarding pressing against the wrist and sensing location above radial artery 52);
generating, by the blood pressure pulse sensor, a blood pressure pulse sensor output signal indicative of a varying pressure of blood pressure pulses within an artery within the wrist adjacent to the blood pressure pulse sensor (Abstract: “A system for noninvasively continuously monitoring arterial blood pressure includes a tissue stress sensor that has a continuous diaphragm for sensing stress within tissue adjacent a preselected artery caused by arterial pulsations within that artery. The stress sensitive diaphragm is coupled with electromechanical means for producing electrical signals that represent the stress within the tissue that is communicated to the sensor. These signals are then processed electronically in order to yield an output that is indicative of the arterial blood pressure of the preselected artery;” Col. 4, lines 22-26: “Tonometry system 20 facilitates continuously monitoring the patient's arterial blood pressure non-invasively by sensing the time varying surface tissue contact stresses in regions immediately over and in the vicinity of the preselected artery:” Col. 13, lines 23-34: “Once proper initial positioning is established, stress sensor 24 collects contact stress data 254. Once the stress data has been collected, applanation means 94, 96 (see FIG. 4) moves sensor 24 thereby establishing a new compression level. This process of collecting stress data continues for each unique applanation state. The movement of applanation means 94, 96 is preferably accomplished in a step-wise fashion or in a continuously varying fashion. Once applanation means 94, 96 has completed its applanation cycle, systolic, diastolic, pulsatile, and waveform mean contact stresses are derived as functions of position along the stress sensitive element and also as functions of applanation state”).
Butterfield does not teach the invention further comprising:
generating, by a height measurement sensor, a height measurement sensor output signal indicative of a relative height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to a heart of the user;
monitoring the blood pressure pulse sensor output signal and the height measurement sensor output signal to identify a reference applanation height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to the heart; and
calculating the mean arterial blood pressure based on the applanation pressure and the reference applanation height.
Asada teaches analogous art in the technology of arterial blood pressure sensing using pressure applying devices (Abstract). Asada further teaches the invention further comprising:
generating, by a height measurement sensor, a height measurement sensor output signal indicative of a relative height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to a heart of the user (Paragraph 0014: “Measurement of a plurality of heights of the sensor may be derived from at least one angular displacement of the extremity, with an angular displacement of the extremity obtained by means of an accelerometer;” Abstract: “Arterial blood pressure is derived from a circulatory measurement performed on an extremity of a subject and the circulatory measurement is normalized to account for the instantaneous vertical displacement of the extremity. The vertical displacement of the extremity relative to the heart of the subject is obtained using the angular orientation of the subject's extremity;” Fig. 2: steps 202, 208 describing sensor placement relative to a heart);
monitoring the blood pressure pulse sensor output signal and the height measurement sensor output signal to identify a reference applanation height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to the heart (Fig. 2: step 206, measuring sensor output Fig. 4C: determination of a maximum sensor signal at variety of heights); and
calculating the mean arterial blood pressure based on the applanation pressure and the reference applanation height (Paragraph 0013: “In accordance with other embodiments of the invention, the method may have additional steps of modeling the relationship of a derived arterial pressure to the plethysmographic signal by fitting parameters of a specified functional relationship, or, more particularly, modeling the relationship of a derived mean arterial pressure to the peak plethysmographic signal by fitting parameters of a specified functional relationship”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Butterfield to include an accelerometer for measuring differing heights of a pulse waveform sensing device relative to a heart and to use such variables as taught by Asada, the motivation being that doing so accounts for measurement error due to hydrostatic pressure caused by varying the elevation of the device relative to the vertical location of the heart (Paragraphs 0052-0053, 0055).
Re. Claim 3: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Asada, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the reference applanation height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to the heart is identified so that an alternating blood pressure component within the artery is maximized (Fig. 4: maximal alternating pulsatile component identified and correspondent to mean arterial pressure, as described in Paragraph 0074, at a point where hydrostatic pressure combined with cuff pressure is maximal; see process described at Paragraphs 0076-0078: identifying maximal signal peak at various heights).
Re. Claim 4: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Butterfield further teaches the invention wherein the blood pressure pulse sensor comprises a photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor that is pressed against the wrist via the pressing of the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly against the wrist (Fig. 2, as described at Col. 5, lines 6-13: “Sensor base portion 56 includes electronic circuitry and other mechanical support structure necessary for properly operating sensor head 54. Sensor head 54 preferably includes six elements: sensor wafer 40, spacing structure 58, infrared emitting diodes (typified at 60), photoreceivers (typified at 62), emitter/detector substrate 64 and circuit traces 66, 68;” Examiner notes that such a sensor may be considered a photoplethysmograph, i.e., a sensor which detects volumetric changes in a body part via detection of absorbed/reflected light).
Re. Claim 5: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 4. Asada, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the reference applanation height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to the heart is identified so that an alternating blood flow component through the artery is maximized (see citations of rejection of claim 3).
Re. Claim 6: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 6. Asada, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, teaches further instructing the user to raise and/or lower an arm of the user on which the wrist-worn device is worn (Paragraph 0089: “In alternate embodiment; feedback, such as visual, audio, or tactile cues, can be used to guide the patient to appropriate actions. The appropriate actions can include recalibrating the PPG-ABP relationship, changing the height of the sensor, or positioning an extremity in a certain position. For example, when a chime is sounded, the patient might be directed to place his/her hand directly over the heart. In such an embodiment, the ABP may not be continuously measured, but measured at those instances when the patient has been notified that the hand/arm should be in a specific position”),
and wherein the height measurement sensor output signal is indicative of an angular orientation of the wrist (Fig. 5: see angle theta 2).
While Asada does not explicitly require instructing the user to keep the arm straight, Asada contemplates a range of motion where the arm is kept straight (Figs. 7A-7C: acceleration vectors 506a and 506b from Fig. 5 are shown in alignment as 506a-b and following the same angle relative to the acceleration of gravity). Additionally, single-accelerometer embodiments are contemplated (Paragraph 0105), whereby an inferred distance of the sensor relative to the heart indicates that the positioning of the single accelerometer would be at the location of the wrist-worn sensor.
Thus, providing instructions to the user to maintain a straight arm while attaining different heights allows the system to simplify calculation in the two-accelerometer embodiment (see – single angle identified in Figs. 7A-7C), and further allows for identification of notable endpoints of hydrostatic pressure application, including a level where the wrist-worn device is approximately at the level of the heart and at a user’s side in both the single- and two-accelerometer embodiments.
Re. Claim 7: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 6. Asada, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the reference applanation height is further determined based on anthropometric data for the user (Fig. 6: arm lengths l1 and l2; Paragraphs 0100-0101: arm lengths may be approximated in calculations).
Re. Claim 9: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Butterfield further teaches the invention wherein the wrist-worn device comprises a wrist band configured to be adjusted to adjust the applanation pressure (A strap 88 may be fastened and released (i.e., adjusted) to adjust a position of applanation pressure, as described at Col. 6, lines 26-42: “When it is desirable to use wrist mount apparatus 28 for placing tissue stress sensor 24 in operative engagement with the tissue surrounding the preselected artery, the following approach is preferably used. First, transducer platform 82 is moved laterally 84 such that first window 90 is generally unobstructed. Next, base portion 80 is placed on wrist 22 of the patient such that the first window 90 is generally centered upon the tissue overlying the artery of interest. Once this initial positioning has occurred, restraining strap 80 is placed around the wrist thereby securing base portion 80 to wrist area 22. Next, the artery of interest is palpated (generally by the medical professional using an index fingertip) to ensure that the artery of interest properly lies within the area framed by first window 90. If no arterial pulse can be detected with the current position, strap 88 is released and window 90 is moved to a new location where palpation is attempted once again”).
Re. Claim 10: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 9. Butterfield further teaches the invention wherein the wrist-worn device comprises an actuator operable to adjust the wrist band to adjust the applanation pressure (Fig. 3: control electronics 108, fluid displacement control source 102, and fluid operated slave bellows 94 operate in conjunction to adjust tension applied to wrist strap 88 to cause change in applanation pressure as bellows 94 presses sensor 24 in downward motion 100 against radial artery 52).
Re. Claim 11: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Butterfield further teaches the invention comprising inflating a fluid bladder of the wrist-worn device to apply an applanation force to the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly to apply the applanation pressure to the wrist (Fig. 3: slave bellows 94 or master bellows 96, whereby a bellows is a flexible, fluid-filled chamber which expands and contracts based on a degree of fill/inflation).
Re. Claim 12: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 11. Butterfield further teaches the invention wherein the wrist-worn device comprises a rigid driver element disposed between the fluid bladder and the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly (Fig. 3: see: any portion of the device which is rigid between master bellows 96 or slave bellows 94 and sensor 24; Examiner notes that a “driver” is defined by as “a part that transmits force or motion;” https://www.dictionary.com/browse/driver; Examiner further notes that mechanical bellows constructed with rigid portions on either end of the longitudinal compression direction of an air chamber (i.e., direction 100 of Butterfield), indicating that the portion of slave bellows 94 directly before sensor 24 is rigid in order to compress it towards the measurement site).
Re. Claim 13: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Butterfield further teaches the invention comprising operating one or more applanation actuators of the wrist-worn device to apply an applanation force to the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly to apply the applanation pressure to the wrist (Fig. 3: control electronics 108, fluid displacement control source 102, fluid operated slave bellows 94, and interconnecting components thereof).
Re. Claim 18: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Asada, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the height measurement sensor comprises an accelerometer and/or gyroscope and is configured to measure the relative height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to the heart throughout a period of time as the user carries out daily activities (Paragraph 0014: “Measurement of a plurality of heights of the sensor may be derived from at least one angular displacement of the extremity, with an angular displacement of the extremity obtained by means of an accelerometer; Paragraph 0106: “Once calibration is complete, the subject moves his arm performing daily activities. As the subject's arm moves, the height of the sensor unit changes relative to his heart. The measurement system 500 acquires the height of the sensor unit relative to the subject's heart. From the previous calibration, the pressure change due to the current displacement of the extremity can be found. This pressure change is accounted for in the current pressure measurement”).
Re. Claim 20: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Asada, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein the reference applanation height of the blood pressure pulse sensor relative to the heart is in a range from -40 cm to 40 cm (Paragraph 0067: calibration process involves the following steps: “The wearer's arm and sensor unit are raised to a maximum comfortable height above the heart 202 (typically this is a height of nearly 30 cm above the heart)… After an initial rest period of approximately two minutes, the arm height is decreased from 30 cm above the heart to 30 cm below the heart in decrements of 10 cm with a rest period of 20 seconds between each height change 208.”).
Re. Claim 21: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Asada, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention wherein determining the mean arterial blood pressure comprises accounting for a hydrostatic pressure difference resulting from the reference applanation height (Paragraph 0095: “In order to implement the algorithm described above, however, it is advantageous to measure the height, or vertical displacement, of the sensor relative to the heart;” Paragraph 0070: “Consequently, it is possible to estimate the internal mean arterial pressure (MAP) by finding, for a given cuff pressure, the height at which the amplitude of the PPG signal is a maximum. Once a MAP has been determined, and assuming that the monitoring conditions remain unchanged, it is then possible to continuously estimate the MAP as a function of time, MAP(t), or more generally, ABP(t) for all Y.sub.AC PPG (t)”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Butterfield et al. (US 6290650 B1) (hereinafter – Butterfield) in view of
Asada et al. (US 20070055163 A1) (hereinafter – Asada in further view of
Martin et al. (US 20080064968 A1) (hereinafter – Martin).
Re. Claim 8: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2. Asada teaches identification of a similar waveform (Fig. 1: radial ABP waveform); however, such a waveform is attained via non-descript pressures applied externally via a cuff (Fig. 1). Butterfield attains radial arterial pressure waveforms, but is silent regarding specific pressures used to attain analogous waveforms via tonometry.
Martin teaches analogous art in the technology of blood pressure measurement radial tonometry (Paragraph 0023: “In one exemplary embodiment, blood pressure is measured tonometrically from an artery (e.g., radial artery)…”). Martin further teaches wherein the applanation pressure is in a range from 80 to 120 mmHg (Fig. 2b: see Y-axis ranges for tonometric pressure).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the tonometric sensor of Butterfield in the combination of Butterfield as modified by Asada to utilize applanation pressure ranges taught in Martin (i.e., between 60 to 120 mmHg, as shown in Fig. 2b), the motivation being that Martin identifies such ranges provides optimal applanation and provides an optimal waveform (Paragraph 0117).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Butterfield et al. (US 6290650 B1) (hereinafter – Butterfield) in view of
Asada et al. (US 20070055163 A1) (hereinafter – Asada in further view of
Sunagawa et al. (US 6428482 B1) (hereinafter – Sunagawa).
Re. Claim 14: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2, but does not teach the invention wherein the blood pressure pulse sensor assembly comprises a plurality of blood pressure pulse sensors that includes the blood pressure pulse sensor.
Sunagawa teaches analogous art in the technology of estimating arterial blood pressure using pulse pressure waveforms (Abstract). Sunagawa further teaches…
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the sensor of the tonometric pulse pressure waveform sensor of Butterfield in the combination of Butterfield as modified by Asada to instead utilize the array of sensors and methods of use in the pulse pressure waveform sensor of Sunagawa, the motivation being that doing so allows for detection of a maximum amplitude pulse to attain an optimum pressing position within the area of the press surface and further allows for determination of an optimum force using the optimum pressing position (Col. 6, line 38 – Col. 7, line 21).
Re. Claim 15: Butterfield as modified by Asada and Sunagawa teaches the invention according to claim 14. Sunagawa, in teaching further detail regarding the modification, further teaches the invention comprising selecting the blood pressure pulse sensor from the plurality of blood pressure pulse sensors based on a respective output signal from each of the plurality of blood pressure pulse sensors (Col. 5, line 59 – Col. 6, line 2: “In a state in which the PWB sensor 58 is pressed against the radial artery 44 via the body surface 52 of the wrist 54, each of the pressure-sensing elements detects a pressure pulse wave (PPW), P(.sub.RA), i.e., an oscillatory pressure wave which is produced from the radial artery 44 and is transmitted to the body surface 52, and supplies a PPW signal, SM.sub.2, representing the detected PPW P.sub.(RA), to the control device 28 via an A/D converter 72. FIG. 3 shows a waveform of the PPW P.sub.(RA) represented by the PPW signal SM.sub.2 produced by one of the pressure-sensing elements of the PPW sensor 58;” Col. 6, lines 41-65: “The press-position changing condition is that one of the pressure-sensing elements, E, arranged in array in the press surface 70 which one element is a maximum-amplitude detecting element (i.e., an active element), E.sub.O, is positioned within a predetermined number of elements counted from each of opposite ends of the array of elements E, or within a predetermined distance inward from the each end. This condition may be satisfied when the PPW detecting probe 38 is initially worn on the wrist 54 of the patient. The press-position changing operation includes moving the PPW sensor 58 away from the body surface 52, operating the widthwise-direction moving device 68 to move the pressing device 66 and the PPW sensor 58 relative to the radial artery 44 by a predetermined incremental distance, and operating the pressing device 66 to press the sensor 58 against the surface 52 with a considerably small, first hold-down pressure, HDP.sub.1. In this state, it is judged whether the press-position changing condition is satisfied again. The press-position changing operation and the judging operation are continued or repeated till the PPW sensor 58 is brought into a state in which the press-position changing condition is not satisfied, more preferably, till the active element E.sub.O is positioned or found at substantially the center of the array of elements E. Thus, the PPW sensor 58 is positioned at an optimum press position relative to the radial artery 44”).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Butterfield et al. (US 6290650 B1) (hereinafter – Butterfield) in view of
Asada et al. (US 20070055163 A1) (hereinafter – Asada in further view of
Phillips et al. (US 20120253154 A1) (hereinafter – Phillips).
Re. Claim 16: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2, but does not teach the invention wherein the blood pressure pulse sensor comprises a piezoelectric film pressure sensor.
Phillips teaches analogous art in the technology of sensors utilizing tonometry (Paragraph 0029-0031). Phillips further teaches the invention wherein the blood pressure pulse sensor comprises a piezoelectric film pressure sensor (Fig. 3: piezoelectric transducer, as described at Paragraph 0052: “In one embodiment of the present invention, a piezoelectric transducer 35 (e.g., a piezoelectric film) produces an analog signal proportional to the pulse. This can be in place of, or in addition to the optical pulse sensors discussed above”).
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. That is in the substitution of the piezoelectric film transducer of Phillips (which is indicated as a suitable replacement for optical pulse sensors by Phillips) for the pulse wave measuring transducer of Butterfield in the combination. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another (pulse wave measuring transducers in a tonometer) producing a predictable result (identifying a pulse wave) renders the claim obvious.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Butterfield et al. (US 6290650 B1) (hereinafter – Butterfield) in view of
Asada et al. (US 20070055163 A1) (hereinafter – Asada in further view of
Masunishi et al. (US 20150338293 A1) (hereinafter – Masunishi).
Re. Claim 17: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2, but does not teach the invention wherein the blood pressure pulse sensor comprises a piezoresistive microelectromechanical system (MEMS) pressure sensor.
Masunishi teaches analogous art in the technology of pressure sensors for blood pressure sensing (Title; Abstract; Paragraph 0020). Masunishi further teaches pressure sensors based on MEMS technology include piezoresistive sensors (Paragraph 0003).
Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself. That is in the substitution of the piezoelectric resistive sensor of Masunishi (which is indicated as a suitable replacement for pressure sensors for the purpose of sensing blood pressure as taught by Masunishi) for the pulse wave measuring transducer of Butterfield in the combination. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another (pressure sensors in a tonometer) producing a predictable result (identifying a pulse wave) renders the claim obvious.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
Butterfield et al. (US 6290650 B1) (hereinafter – Butterfield) in view of
Asada et al. (US 20070055163 A1) (hereinafter – Asada in further view of
Jaime et al. (US 20050228300 A1) (hereinafter – Jaime).
Re. Claim 19: Butterfield as modified by Asada teaches the invention according to claim 2, but does not teach the invention further comprising transmitting the mean arterial blood pressure to a second wrist-worn device, mobile device, tablet, computer, or database.
Jaime teaches analogous art in the technology of blood pressure monitoring (Abstract; Title). Jaime further teaches the invention comprising transmitting the mean arterial blood pressure to a second wrist-worn device, mobile device, tablet, computer, or database (Abstract; Paragraph 0012: “The present invention provides a cuffless, wrist-worn blood-pressure monitor that features a form factor similar to a conventional wristwatch. The blood pressure monitor makes a transdermal, optical measurement of blood pressure and wirelessly sends this information to a mobile device (e.g., a conventional cellular phone or PDA). The mobile device preferably features an embedded, short-range wireless transceiver and a software platform that displays, analyzes, and then transmits the information through a wireless network to an Internet-based system”).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Butterfield as modified by Asada to include transmission to a mobile device as taught by Jaime, the motivation being that doing so enables a medical professional to continuously monitor a patient's blood pressure during their day-to-day activities, thus minimizing erroneous measurements due to “white coat syndrome” and increases the accuracy of a blood-pressure measurement (Paragraph 0012).
Conclusion
/JUSTIN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791