DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 19/003,385 originally filed 12/27/2024. The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 03/18/2026 which provides amendments to claims 1, 8, and 15 and claims 2, 7, and 16 are cancelled is hereby acknowledged.
Currently claims 1, 3-6, 8-15, and 17-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0301180 A1 hereinafter Iwamoto and further in view of Pang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2026/0011315 A1 hereinafter Pang.
Consider Claim 1:
Iwamoto discloses a display device, comprising: (Iwamoto, See Abstract.)
a liquid crystal display panel; (Iwamoto, [0017], “An embodiment of the disclosure is a display device in which, in addition to the configuration of any one of (1) to (10) described above, the display panel is a liquid crystal panel.”)
a backlight configured to output a light to the liquid crystal display panel, (Iwamoto, [0047], “As illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, the backlight device 30 includes a generally box-shaped chassis 31 (housing member) that opens toward the front side, and includes a diffuser plate 60 disposed to cover the opening of the chassis 31, and an optical sheet 33 that imparts a predetermined optical effect to light emitted from the diffuser plate 60. Within the chassis 31 is housed LEDs 52 (one example of a light source) disposed to face the back side of the diffuser plate 60, a LED substrate 51 on which the LEDs 52 are mounted, and a reflection sheet 70 that reflects light in the chassis 31 toward the diffuser plate 60 side. The backlight device 30 forms a so-called direct type backlight device in which the LEDs 52 are arranged in a surface form on the back side of the liquid crystal panel 20.”)
wherein the backlight includes one or more light sources and the light source includes a KSF (Potassium fluorosilicate) phosphor; (Iwamoto, [0051], “Specifically, a KSF phosphor (K.sub.2SiF.sub.6), which is a type of bifluoride red phosphor with a main emission wavelength of approximately 630 nm, is used as the red phosphor. The KSF phosphor has characteristics of both high color reproducibility and high luminance for emitted red light, while the response speed for excitation light (blue light) from the blue LED element is slow. Thus, the KSF phosphor may continue to emit red light for a predetermined period of time after the supply of blue light is interrupted, or may not emit light immediately after starting the supply of blue light. A sialon phosphor (β-SiAlON), which is a type of oxynitride phosphor, for example, with a main emission wavelength of approximately 540 nm, can be used as the green phosphor. The β-SiAlON has both high color reproducibility and high luminance for emitted green light, and the response speed for blue light is also fast.”)
a light source driving circuit configured to generate a light source driving signal with a duty for controlling light output of the backlight; and a controller. (Iwamoto, [0056], “In the backlight device 30, the LEDs 52 are periodically flashing by inputting a pulsed voltage signal (pulse signal), and the amount of emission of the LEDs 52 is controlled by changing the time ratio (duty ratio) between the lighted period and the extinguished period. In other words, the LEDs 52 are driven by Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) light modulation. The duty ratio (one example of the luminance light modulation data PWMI) of the PWM signal for driving by PWM light modulation is generated at the host 100 and is supplied to a PWM change amount detection circuit 93 (one example of the detection circuit) in the control substrate 90. The PWM change amount detection circuit 93 measures an amount of change (PWM change amount) in a unit time in the luminance light modulation data PWMI (duty ratio), and outputs an output value based on the result to a display data correction circuit 94. The display data correction circuit 94 corrects a gray scale value D1 output from the display data generation circuit 92, based on the output value, and generates a corrected gray scale value D2. The corrected gray scale value D2 is output to the source drive circuit 26.”)
Iwamoto however does not appear to expressly provide a controller configured to: when the display device is operating in an image output mode that inserts a black frame between image frames, control the light source driving circuit to apply a backlight on signal having a duty which is smaller than the duty of the light source driving signal to the light source in an insertion interval of the black frame.
Pang however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide black insertion periods within a frame. Pang thus teaches a controller configured to: (Pang, [0147], “In some embodiments, at least one processor 250 may include a backlight controller (Bcon) or at least one dimming controller (Dcon), which may be configured to obtain processed data associated with backlight data, generate and output drive data using the processed data.”)
when the display device is operating in an image output mode that inserts a black frame between image frames, (Pang, [0301], [0373], [0375], [0380-0392], [0740-0742], [0383], “In some embodiments, the processor 250 adopts joint dimming, that is, in the process of displaying a frame of image, in the drive data provided by the processor 250, the amplitudes of the currents are the same, and different duty ratios correspond to different light-emitting time lengths, thereby corresponding to different numerical values in the backlight data. Among them, the larger the numerical value in the backlight data, the brighter the brightness provided by the light-emitting unit group in the backlight assembly, and the larger the duty ratio in the drive data provided by the processor for the light-emitting unit group; the smaller the numerical value in the backlight data, the smaller the duty ratio in the drive data provided by the processor for the light-emitting unit group.”)
control the light source driving circuit to apply a backlight on signal having a duty which is smaller than the duty of the light source driving signal to the light source in an insertion interval of the black frame. (Pang, [0380-0392], [0740-0742], [0790], “FIG. 7 is a hybrid dimming schematic diagram provided by the present application, which may include drive data corresponding to a four-row and five-column light-emitting unit group. The current values of the backlight sub-units are the same, which are 70 mA, and the duty ratios of the backlight sub-units are different. The brighter the brightness, the greater the duty ratio, and the darker the brightness, the smaller the duty ratio.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to provide a black insertion between frame images based on the duty ratio as this was a known technique in view of Pang and would have been readily recognized by those of skill in the art and would have been utilized for the purpose of the consistency of the backlight circuit based on hybrid dimming ensures the accuracy of determining the power supply voltage, thereby ensuring the display accuracy. (Pang, [0799])
Consider Claim 3:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the light source driving circuit to apply a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source in the insertion interval of the black frame, and the time intervals at which the plurality of backlight on signals are applied to the light source are the same each other. (Pang, [0281], [0664], “In this embodiment, the black insertion period corresponding to each backlight data can be guaranteed to remain unchanged, and the time length of the first light-emitting period is always fixed. For different backlight data, the luminous brightness can be adjusted by adjusting the duty ratio of the pulse signal segment in the first light-emitting period. Then, for each frame display period, it is only necessary to continuously output the pulse segment with the same duty ratio after the black insertion. It is only necessary to adjust the amplitude of the pulse segment, and there is no need to calculate the time length of the black insertion period, which further simplifies the calculation process.”)
Consider Claim 4:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the light source driving circuit to apply a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source in the insertion interval of the black frame, and the time intervals at which the plurality of backlight on signals are applied to the light source are different from each other. (Pang, [0631], [0709], [0790], “FIG. 7 is a hybrid dimming schematic diagram provided by the present application, which may include drive data corresponding to a four-row and five-column light-emitting unit group. The current values of the backlight sub-units are the same, which are 70 mA, and the duty ratios of the backlight sub-units are different. The brighter the brightness, the greater the duty ratio, and the darker the brightness, the smaller the duty ratio.”)
Consider Claim 5:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 4, wherein the time intervals between the plurality of backlight on signals gradually increase or decrease. (Pang, [0380-0392], [0740-0742], Iwamoto, [0064], “As shown in FIG. 11, in a case where the duty ratio of the luminance light modulation data PWMI increases from 10% to 100%, the blue light emitted from the blue LED elements 53 of the LEDs 52 increases the luminance (lightens) rapidly following the change in the duty ratio as shown in FIG. 12C. Since the green phosphor (sialon phosphor) has a fast response speed with respect to the blue light, the green light rapidly increases in the luminance following the change in the blue light (FIG. 12B). In contrast, since the red phosphor (KSF phosphor) has a slow response speed with respect to the blue light as described above, the red phosphor cannot instantly follow the change in the blue light as illustrated in FIG. 12A, and the luminance of the red color reaches a steady state of the luminance corresponding to the duty ratio of 100% through a transient state (transition phase T2) in which the luminance of the red color gradually increases. In the transition phase T2, the light emission amount of the red light is smaller than the light emission amounts of the blue light and the green light, so that the emission light of the LEDs 52 is colored closer to a mixed color of the blue light and the green light.”)
Consider Claim 6:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the light source driving circuit to apply a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source in the insertion interval of the black frame, and duties of the plurality of backlight on signals are the same as each other. (Pang, [0664], [0281], “In some embodiments, the drive signal pulse signals output by the drive chips in the backlight assembly during a frame of image display have the same cycle, the same duty ratio, and the same amplitude. Then, the drive terminal of each drive chip adjusts the quantity of pulses it outputs within a display cycle of one frame based on the drive data to adjust the luminous brightness of the light-emitting unit group it drives.”)
Consider Claim 8:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein duties of the plurality of backlight on signals sequentially increases or decreases. (Pang, [0741-0742], [0383], “In some embodiments, the processor 250 adopts joint dimming, that is, in the process of displaying a frame of image, in the drive data provided by the processor 250, the amplitudes of the currents are the same, and different duty ratios correspond to different light-emitting time lengths, thereby corresponding to different numerical values in the backlight data. Among them, the larger the numerical value in the backlight data, the brighter the brightness provided by the light-emitting unit group in the backlight assembly, and the larger the duty ratio in the drive data provided by the processor for the light-emitting unit group; the smaller the numerical value in the backlight data, the smaller the duty ratio in the drive data provided by the processor for the light-emitting unit group.”)
Consider Claim 9:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the light source driving circuit to apply a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source in the insertion interval of the black frame, and amplitudes of the plurality of backlight on signals are the same each other. (Pang, [0664], [0281], “In some embodiments, the drive signal pulse signals output by the drive chips in the backlight assembly during a frame of image display have the same cycle, the same duty ratio, and the same amplitude. Then, the drive terminal of each drive chip adjusts the quantity of pulses it outputs within a display cycle of one frame based on the drive data to adjust the luminous brightness of the light-emitting unit group it drives.”)
Consider Claim 10:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the light source driving circuit to apply a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source in the insertion interval of the black frame, and amplitudes of the plurality of backlight on signals are different from each other. (Pang, [0648], [0662-0664], [0741-0742], [0384], “When the processor 250 uses joint dimming to display different frame images, the amplitudes in the drive data generated based on the backlight data are not completely the same. The application of joint dimming can make the backlight provided by the backlight assembly controlled by the control method provided in the present application more delicate, and the display apparatus using the backlight assembly has better display quality.”)
Consider Claim 11:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 10, wherein amplitudes of the plurality of backlight on signals sequentially increase or decrease. (Pang, [0741-0742], [0711], “Since the luminous brightness of the light-emitting display group needs to be compensated during the light-emitting period, the amplitude of the current signal can be increased according to the light compensation coefficient. When the loss occurs during the compensation light-emitting period, the product of the light compensation coefficient and the amplitude of the current signal can be used as the amplitude of the compensated current signal.”)
Consider Claim 12:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein amplitudes of the plurality of backlight on signals are the same each other, and duties of the plurality of backlight on signals are the same or different from each other. (Iwamoto, [0015], “An embodiment of the disclosure is a display device in which, in addition to the configuration of (5) described above, the light source is driven by PWM light modulation, the luminance light modulation data is a duty ratio of a PWM signal for driving the light source by PWM light modulation, the display data generation circuit generates display data to be input into the display pixels as gray scale values, based on color information included in the image data, and the display data correction circuit corrects to decrease the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the red color in a case where the duty ratio decreases, and corrects to decrease the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the green color and the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the blue color in a case where the duty ratio increases.”)
Consider Claim 13:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 3, wherein the amplitudes of the plurality of backlight on signals are different from each other, and duties of the plurality of backlight on signals are the same each other or different from each other. (Iwamoto, [0015], “An embodiment of the disclosure is a display device in which, in addition to the configuration of (5) described above, the light source is driven by PWM light modulation, the luminance light modulation data is a duty ratio of a PWM signal for driving the light source by PWM light modulation, the display data generation circuit generates display data to be input into the display pixels as gray scale values, based on color information included in the image data, and the display data correction circuit corrects to decrease the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the red color in a case where the duty ratio decreases, and corrects to decrease the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the green color and the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the blue color in a case where the duty ratio increases.”)
Consider Claim 14:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to control the light source driving circuit to apply a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source according to increased driving frequency when a driving frequency of the light source driving signal is increased. (Iwamoto, [0015], “An embodiment of the disclosure is a display device in which, in addition to the configuration of (5) described above, the light source is driven by PWM light modulation, the luminance light modulation data is a duty ratio of a PWM signal for driving the light source by PWM light modulation, the display data generation circuit generates display data to be input into the display pixels as gray scale values, based on color information included in the image data, and the display data correction circuit corrects to decrease the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the red color in a case where the duty ratio decreases, and corrects to decrease the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the green color and the gray scale value of the colored pixel of the blue color in a case where the duty ratio increases.”)
Consider Claim 15:
Iwamoto discloses a method of operating a display device, wherein the display device comprises (Iwamoto, See Abstract.)
a liquid crystal display panel, (Iwamoto, [0017], “An embodiment of the disclosure is a display device in which, in addition to the configuration of any one of (1) to (10) described above, the display panel is a liquid crystal panel.”)
a backlight configured to output a light to the liquid crystal display panel, (Iwamoto, [0047], “As illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, the backlight device 30 includes a generally box-shaped chassis 31 (housing member) that opens toward the front side, and includes a diffuser plate 60 disposed to cover the opening of the chassis 31, and an optical sheet 33 that imparts a predetermined optical effect to light emitted from the diffuser plate 60. Within the chassis 31 is housed LEDs 52 (one example of a light source) disposed to face the back side of the diffuser plate 60, a LED substrate 51 on which the LEDs 52 are mounted, and a reflection sheet 70 that reflects light in the chassis 31 toward the diffuser plate 60 side. The backlight device 30 forms a so-called direct type backlight device in which the LEDs 52 are arranged in a surface form on the back side of the liquid crystal panel 20.”)
wherein the backlight includes one or more light sources and the light source includes a KSF (Potassium fluorosilicate) phosphor, (Iwamoto, [0051], “Specifically, a KSF phosphor (K.sub.2SiF.sub.6), which is a type of bifluoride red phosphor with a main emission wavelength of approximately 630 nm, is used as the red phosphor. The KSF phosphor has characteristics of both high color reproducibility and high luminance for emitted red light, while the response speed for excitation light (blue light) from the blue LED element is slow. Thus, the KSF phosphor may continue to emit red light for a predetermined period of time after the supply of blue light is interrupted, or may not emit light immediately after starting the supply of blue light. A sialon phosphor (β-SiAlON), which is a type of oxynitride phosphor, for example, with a main emission wavelength of approximately 540 nm, can be used as the green phosphor. The β-SiAlON has both high color reproducibility and high luminance for emitted green light, and the response speed for blue light is also fast.”)
a light source driving circuit configured to generate a light source driving signal with a duty for controlling light output of the backlight, (Iwamoto, [0056], “In the backlight device 30, the LEDs 52 are periodically flashing by inputting a pulsed voltage signal (pulse signal), and the amount of emission of the LEDs 52 is controlled by changing the time ratio (duty ratio) between the lighted period and the extinguished period. In other words, the LEDs 52 are driven by Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) light modulation. The duty ratio (one example of the luminance light modulation data PWMI) of the PWM signal for driving by PWM light modulation is generated at the host 100 and is supplied to a PWM change amount detection circuit 93 (one example of the detection circuit) in the control substrate 90. The PWM change amount detection circuit 93 measures an amount of change (PWM change amount) in a unit time in the luminance light modulation data PWMI (duty ratio), and outputs an output value based on the result to a display data correction circuit 94. The display data correction circuit 94 corrects a gray scale value D1 output from the display data generation circuit 92, based on the output value, and generates a corrected gray scale value D2. The corrected gray scale value D2 is output to the source drive circuit 26.”)
Iwamoto while teaching a type of liquid crystal panel having a light source formed of KSF and a controller does not appear to further detail wherein the method comprises: when the display device is operating in an image output mode that inserts a black frame between image frames, controlling the light source driving circuit to apply a backlight on signal having a duty which is smaller than the duty of the light source driving signal to the light source in an insertion interval of the black frame.
Pang however teaches that it was a known technique to those having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide black insertion periods within a frame. Pang thus teaches method comprises: when the display device is operating in an image output mode that inserts a black frame between image frames, (Pang, [0301], [0373], [0375], [0380-0392], [0740-0742], [0383], “In some embodiments, the processor 250 adopts joint dimming, that is, in the process of displaying a frame of image, in the drive data provided by the processor 250, the amplitudes of the currents are the same, and different duty ratios correspond to different light-emitting time lengths, thereby corresponding to different numerical values in the backlight data. Among them, the larger the numerical value in the backlight data, the brighter the brightness provided by the light-emitting unit group in the backlight assembly, and the larger the duty ratio in the drive data provided by the processor for the light-emitting unit group; the smaller the numerical value in the backlight data, the smaller the duty ratio in the drive data provided by the processor for the light-emitting unit group.”)
controlling the light source driving circuit to apply a backlight on signal having a duty which is smaller than the duty of the light source driving signal to the light source in an insertion interval of the black frame. (Pang, [0380-0392], [0740-0742], [0790], “FIG. 7 is a hybrid dimming schematic diagram provided by the present application, which may include drive data corresponding to a four-row and five-column light-emitting unit group. The current values of the backlight sub-units are the same, which are 70 mA, and the duty ratios of the backlight sub-units are different. The brighter the brightness, the greater the duty ratio, and the darker the brightness, the smaller the duty ratio.”)
It therefore would have been obvious to provide a black insertion between frame images based on the duty ratio as this was a known technique in view of Pang and would have been readily recognized by those of skill in the art and would have been utilized for the purpose of the consistency of the backlight circuit based on hybrid dimming ensures the accuracy of determining the power supply voltage, thereby ensuring the display accuracy. (Pang, [0799])
Consider Claim 17:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the method of the claim 15, wherein a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source in the insertion interval of the black frame are applied, and the time intervals at which the plurality of backlight on signals are applied to the light source are the same each other or difference from each other. (Pang, [0281], [0664], “In this embodiment, the black insertion period corresponding to each backlight data can be guaranteed to remain unchanged, and the time length of the first light-emitting period is always fixed. For different backlight data, the luminous brightness can be adjusted by adjusting the duty ratio of the pulse signal segment in the first light-emitting period. Then, for each frame display period, it is only necessary to continuously output the pulse segment with the same duty ratio after the black insertion. It is only necessary to adjust the amplitude of the pulse segment, and there is no need to calculate the time length of the black insertion period, which further simplifies the calculation process.”)
Consider Claim 18:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the method of the claim 15, wherein a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source in the insertion interval of the black frame are applied, and duties at which the plurality of backlight on signals are applied to the light source are the same each other or difference from each other. (Pang, [0664], [0281], “In some embodiments, the drive signal pulse signals output by the drive chips in the backlight assembly during a frame of image display have the same cycle, the same duty ratio, and the same amplitude. Then, the drive terminal of each drive chip adjusts the quantity of pulses it outputs within a display cycle of one frame based on the drive data to adjust the luminous brightness of the light-emitting unit group it drives.”)
Consider Claim 19:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the method of the claim 15, wherein a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source in the insertion interval of the black frame are applied, and amplitudes at which the plurality of backlight on signals are applied to the light source are the same each other or difference from each other. (Pang, [0664], [0281], “In some embodiments, the drive signal pulse signals output by the drive chips in the backlight assembly during a frame of image display have the same cycle, the same duty ratio, and the same amplitude. Then, the drive terminal of each drive chip adjusts the quantity of pulses it outputs within a display cycle of one frame based on the drive data to adjust the luminous brightness of the light-emitting unit group it drives.”)
Consider Claim 20:
Iwamoto in view of Pang disclose the method of the claim 15, wherein the controlling step comprises: controlling the light source driving circuit to apply a plurality of backlight on signals to the light source according to increased driving frequency when a driving frequency of the light source driving signal is increased. (Pang, [0596], [0515], “In some embodiments, the waveform output by the modulation unit 251 is shown in FIG. 38, where the second power source signal is a high level signal, and the drive data is a signal having a frequency higher than that of the second power source signal. The level state corresponding to the drive data includes a high level state or a low level state.”)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon which is still considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is cited in a current or previous PTO-892. The prior art cited in a current or previous PTO-892 reads upon the applicants claims in part, in whole and/or gives a general reference to the knowledge and skill of persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention. Applicant, when responding to this Office action, should consider not only the cited references applied in the rejection but also any additional references made of record.
In the response to this office action, the Examiner respectfully requests support be shown for any new or amended claims. More precisely, indicate support for any newly added language or amendments by specifying page, line numbers, and/or figure(s). This will assist The Office in compact prosecution of this application. The Office has cited particular columns, paragraphs, and/or line numbers in the applied rejection of the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within each claim, however other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing a response, should fully consider the cited reference(s) in its entirety and not only the cited portions as other sections of the reference may expand on the teachings of the cited portion(s).
Applicant Representatives are reminded of CFR 1.4(d)(2)(ii) which states “A patent practitioner (§ 1.32(a)(1) ), signing pursuant to §§ 1.33(b)(1) or 1.33(b)(2), must supply his/her registration number either as part of the S-signature, or immediately below or adjacent to the S-signature. The number (#) character may be used only as part of the S-signature when appearing before a practitioner’s registration number; otherwise the number character may not be used in an S-signature.” When an unsigned or improperly signed amendment is received the amendment will be listed in the contents of the application file, but not entered. The examiner will notify applicant of the status of the application, advising him or her to furnish a duplicate amendment properly signed or to ratify the amendment already filed. In an application not under final rejection, applicant should be given a two month time period in which to ratify the previously filed amendment (37 CFR 1.135(c) ).
/Michael J Jansen II/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626